Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Satan's Garden” as Want to Read:
Satan's Garden
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Satan's Garden

by
4.42  ·  Rating details ·  97 ratings  ·  25 reviews
READERS' FAVORITE 2014 GOLD MEDAL WINNER FOR THRILLER FICTION

Satan's Garden explores the story of ten-year-old twin sisters and how their lives diverge after one is kidnapped. It chronicles their experiences in parallel over the course of six years, unfolding the independent challenges they face while struggling to survive worlds apart from each other. This book club p
...more
Paperback, 318 pages
Published March 30th 2014
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Satan's Garden, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Satan's Garden

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.42  · 
Rating details
 ·  97 ratings  ·  25 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Satan's Garden
Kristen
Apr 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing
***5 Stars*** *The best book I've read so far this year*

“He only came for one, there and gone in the blink of an eye.”

The Skinny:

How can two ever equal three? When you are Dani and Keely, and you believe that the sum of the two of them together equal another person, it is possible. One day, one seemingly ordinary day, a man tries to alter the “three” that the twin girls had come to rely on. He comes for one twin, and leaves the other behind. What follows is a story of how two young girls learn
...more
Joanne
Apr 24, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Great book! Could not put it down. I read it in 2 days. Loved having it told from both characters point of view. Showed great dynamic, almost like 2 stories within one.
Terri Wino
Jun 13, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: year-2014
This book was so much more than I expected. I bought it because the premise hooked me: twin sisters, one kidnapped when they're 10 years old, and each one's journey over the next six years.
I expected a thriller, and it was thrilling and suspenseful. But what I didn't expect to get was an emotional journey. The book alternates between Keely and Dani's points of view. You experience the terror and dispair of a sister snatched from her life, not knowing what is to become of her or if she'll surviv
...more
Kathy Cunningham
May 24, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Kit Lyman’s SATAN’S GARDEN is a powerful, gripping psychological thriller about two young girls caught up in a very dangerous world. Twin sisters Keely and Dani Millen are ten years old when Dani is kidnapped by a man in black bearing a menacing syringe. Keely witnesses her sister’s abduction, and for the next six years she is haunted by her failure to help Dani. The story is told from their two perspectives, with Dani revealing the horrifying truth about her six years in captivity, and Keely re ...more
Lindsay Weise
Apr 01, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I could not put this book down! Such a fast paced page turning thriller. I really connected with both Keely and Dani. I enjoyed reading the story from each point of view. I really enjoyed the extra features on the website. It definitely adds to the reading experience. Kit, you have a bright future ahead of you. I can't wait to see what you write next!
Bruce Scheel
Apr 16, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Wow. That is the first thing that comes to mind when putting this book down. How did we get here? How did the story lead us to this ending? How did this young author manage to include so many different story lines, so many different young adult/high school issues, so many human issues into one novel? How did this author, with her first book ever, manage to imprint the characters of this book on my mind forever?

All I can say after reading this book is that Ms. Lyman is a fantastic author. The st
...more
Badhobbit
Apr 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Ok, so I am a Sci fi guy. Suspense/drama is not my normal genre. So when my wife handed me her tablet and said I had to read this, I decided to humor her.

Little did I expect to be so drawn in to this story that I could barely get to work today. Stayed up most of the night reading. A bad habit to have if you want to keep the day job.

Starts out fast and draws you in. If you are a parent, this story will grip you in unexpected ways...the fears we have that things could go wrong. How you would react
...more
Shelby Murek
May 11, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: contemporary
I love suspenseful novels, so I consider myself a bit of an expert in them. This is one of the best I have ever read. It kept me on my toes throughout the entire story and, when I got close to the end, I couldn't even put it down to eat. This is absolutely, DEFINITELY, a must-read, probably at least once a year for me.
Susan Davis
May 07, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Great book - didn't want to put it down.
Jordan Arnold
Apr 02, 2014 rated it it was amazing
A must read!
Laura Sid
Apr 02, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Absolutely amazing book! Dynamic characters and exciting plot that at times made me laugh and other times brought me to tears. A must-read!!
Stephanie Baiocchi
Nov 17, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: read-in-2016
This book had everything I love in a book - from mystery to little jokes and references - it was so well written. The characters are so well crafted I became connected with them almost immediately. The story pulled me in and I could barely let go.
Christine Archung
Oct 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Couldn't stop reading once started. Very original and captivating. Definitely would recommend to those who like suspenseful and well written novels.
Sandi
Jul 11, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: fiction
Satan's Garden by Kit Lyman
4 ½ out of 5 Stars


Once upon a time. No... wait.

Nothing could be further from a fairytale than the day the bottom falls out of Keely's world. For ten long years -since birth- Keely and her twin sister Dani had lived in each other's footsteps. Dani was tempestuous, extroverted, and mischievous. Keely was calm, introverted, grey and mousy. Still, she followed wherever her sister led her. No greater love between siblings has been found in the annals of literature. The uni
...more
Adrienne LaCava
Dec 16, 2014 rated it it was amazing
SATAN'S GARDEN got my attention because it is a first novel taking honors. It deserves the accolades. Kit Lyman writes great thriller fiction; I look forward to more of her work. And don’t you just love having a talented, emerging author to pass around to reader friends?

In September 2000, an unthinkable crime is committed in New England. Ten-year-old Dani is snatched while gathering colorful leaves of autumn. Drugged at first, she wakes to find herself detained, in the dark, with other kids, and
...more
Jamie Ander
Aug 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This is a really well written book for a debut, kudos for the thriller genre. I really connected so much with Keely and Dani but also their parents, Hillary, Buzz, Fletch, Tommy, Max, Mika, Brook and the other kidnapped children. I feel like the way this was written, you feel immersed in their world. The emotions are so palpable and the characters are fleshed out that you feel like you know them. I like how detailed it is both on the good and bad situations because life is a mixture of both, Kee ...more
Lyssa
May 19, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Grania77
May 23, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Yes
I believe there are two types of books; books that you read and forget quickly and books that stay with you. I have read several books since finishing Satan's Garden, and yet I am drawn back to rereading portions of the book. I have finished the book a month ago and yet the story of Dani and Keely is still with me. That is what I consider a huge feat, especially from a fledgling writer. Bravo Kit! I look forward to reading your next book.
Ayala Mansky
Aug 24, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This book is so phenomenal. Lyman has mastered Gillian Flynn's gift for suspense and narration, but with characters so well developed and perfect in their imperfections that you can't forget them for days after finishing reading. I legitimately miss Keely and Dani. I can't wait for Lyman to come out with another book!
Holly Gollnick Cotta
Jan 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: loved
The summary doesn't really do this book justice. You won't be able to stop reading because you have to understand why this kidnapper does the things he does and has the things he has... The other sister's story is compelling as well, it isn't just about missing her sister. I loved this book and had to read it quickly even though I had to lose sleep to find the time!
Catherine Strait
WOW

WOW

This book was something that I will recommend to my friends. It kept my attention all through it. I figured out early on what was going to happen but it still hooked me. Being a twin I could relate to the closeness of the girls and what they went through.

Highly recommended
Candice
May 18, 2014 rated it it was amazing
An awesome book that sucks you in! I couldn't put it down! Can't wait to see what Kit comes up with next!!
Lindab
May 02, 2014 rated it really liked it
I found this book both suspenseful and hard to put down. The author also does a relatively good job on not requiring the reader to suspend disbelief too often.
Kathy
Jun 02, 2014 added it
what an amazing job! i could not put the book down!!
Kim
Nov 16, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Great first book by a young new writer.....and a local hometown girl!
Agnieszka
rated it really liked it
Nov 04, 2015
Rashel
rated it liked it
Jan 07, 2015
Sarah
rated it it was amazing
Jan 27, 2015
Wendy
rated it it was amazing
Aug 17, 2014
Jodi
rated it liked it
Jun 11, 2017
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Silent Sister (Riley MacPherson, #1)
  • All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
  • Lie to Me
  • The Devil Wears Prada (The Devil Wears Prada, #1)
  • All the Missing Girls
See similar books…
11 followers
I wasn't always a writer. In fact, I was a non-writer, a serial quitter of diaries. If you were to rummage through the "Kit's Pack Rat Box," you would most likely find over twenty different notebooks inside. Each would have approximately five pages of illegible chicken scratch, the remaining sheets left forgotten and blank. It wasn't because I didn't have anything to say, for I was a child rarely ...more

Related Articles

Let's talk books, shall we? As you can imagine, Goodreads editors are voracious readers and there's nothing we like more than talking shop. Seriou...
33 likes · 20 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“We were like bananas. Stuck together, we were ripe and yellow. But the moment one was torn apart, all the rest turned black and rotten.” 1 likes
“As far as I could tell, there were only two phases to losing someone. The separation between each felt something like a teeter-totter; right when I had become comfortable with the first, I was launched straight into the next.” 0 likes
More quotes…