Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Saving Hitler (Maddox #3)” as Want to Read:
Saving Hitler (Maddox #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Saving Hitler

(Maddox #3)

by
4.24  ·  Rating details ·  70 ratings  ·  8 reviews
For Captain Maddox, it will be the strangest mission of a long and hard war.

Not killing Hitler...but saving him.

Poor health has forced Maddox into retirement after a series missions that would have finished off lesser men.

He thinks his war is over.

Then Major Lyle turns up at his door with one last job.

The Allies want to capture one of Hitler's many doubles - a man who
...more
Kindle Edition, 230 pages
Published March 17th 2014 by Endeavour Press Ltd.
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Saving Hitler, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Saving Hitler

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.24  · 
Rating details
 ·  70 ratings  ·  8 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Saving Hitler (Maddox #3)
Patrick Noble
Mar 31, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I have just finished reading Saving Hitler and I am grinning from ear to ear.
This is a breathlessly fast story that should be nominated for a World Record for the most action sequences in a short novel.
Reading it evoked a strong sense of nostalgia in me for when I was a child, watching war films with my brothers.
Where Eagles Dare, Guns of Navarone, Dirty Dozen, The Eagle Has Landed: name your poison, this is more than an homage, it is in many ways simply a modern rewrite (even more so than th
...more
Ian
Jun 17, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: thrillers, war
It's close to the end of the second world war and the Germans are losing. In Britain retired SOE operative Maddox is recalled to complete one last mission, helping one of Hitler's doubles defect to the allies. From the outset, however, it becomes clear that there's more to this task than meets the eye.

With a complex plot and fast moving action this is a thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat all the way through.

Sadly it's lacking the attentions of a good copy editor. There are far
...more
Karen Sweiger-Veil
Jun 30, 2014 rated it really liked it
Strategic Plan

Nice twists and turns in this WWII tale involving Americans, British, and Russian agents. A race against time as each group, including the Germans, try to fufill their agendas involving Hitler and a look alike. The author leads you to believe the missions consist of a specific end, but then you are given clues that assist you to understand the true purpose of each mission. Nice bits of humor placed throughout the story.
David Seddon
Apr 13, 2014 rated it really liked it
Where eagles dare part 2. A damn fine read though.
Boss Hogg
Apr 17, 2014 rated it really liked it
Good fun read that follows closely in the footsteps of Blood Red Sea.

The plot is exciting and one of those that makes you think 'What if history had happened like that?' which is something I like. I am a comic book fan so the greater focus on action in this one made it really enjoyable. By the end my head was spinning.

I think that although it helps to have read the first in the series you would not be too lost if you picked this one up as it explains most of what you need to know from the earli
...more
Claire
May 20, 2014 rated it really liked it
Once you get over the startling similarities with the film "Where Eagles Dare" this is an exceptionally well written and fast moving book. I'm not a great fan of war stories but I was soon well into this one and was very glad I had finally decided to start reading it as I'd had it on my kindle for a while. Maddox is a wholly believable character and as the plot twists and turns you will find yourself unable to put this book down. Definitley well worth reading, highly recommended.
Andy
Mar 31, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Good read. Lots of fun. A worthy sequel.
Owen Beattie
Nov 13, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Another amazing story with Maddox, thoroughly exciting, can't get enough!
Wayne Kercher
rated it really liked it
Nov 11, 2016
Mike Gilmer
rated it really liked it
Oct 01, 2019
Sarah
rated it liked it
Jun 08, 2014
Steve
rated it it was amazing
Aug 31, 2019
Caiti Kilroy
rated it liked it
Feb 08, 2017
jan hermann
rated it it was amazing
Jun 16, 2020
Cynthia Bodkin
rated it liked it
Mar 14, 2017
Mr G M Back
rated it it was amazing
Nov 01, 2015
Joel Huxley
rated it really liked it
Feb 28, 2018
Aaron
rated it it was amazing
Dec 17, 2015
Keith
rated it it was amazing
Oct 28, 2018
Stephen J Tidy
rated it liked it
Dec 16, 2015
Thomas Hardicre
rated it it was amazing
Jun 13, 2018
Howard Keller
rated it liked it
Jul 07, 2016
David Carter
rated it liked it
Jan 04, 2019
john.j.mayor
rated it it was amazing
Dec 21, 2015
l broadhurst
rated it it was amazing
Jan 09, 2016
Robbie
rated it it was amazing
Dec 17, 2015
Barbara Abbott
rated it really liked it
Mar 01, 2017
Greg Oaster
rated it really liked it
Nov 23, 2019
Jamie Magee
rated it it was amazing
Aug 08, 2016
Julie A. Boston
rated it really liked it
Nov 01, 2018
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Gone Again (Jack Swyteck, #12)
  • Black Horizon (Jack Swyteck, #11)
  • Blood Money (Jack Swyteck, #10)
  • Operation Armageddon
  • Afraid Of The Dark (Jack Swyteck, #9)
  • To So Few: A Novel of the Battle of Britain (A Harry Rose Novel Book 1)
  • Beaufighter Blitz: A Novel of the RAF (A Harry Rose Novel Book 2)
  • Headcase
  • Born to Run (Jack Swyteck, #8)
  • Where Eagles Dare
  • A SEVENTY-FIVE percent SOLUTION
  • Last Call (Jack Swyteck, #7)
  • The Eccentric's Tale: Harriet (A Jacobite Chronicles Story)
  • The Ravenglass Chronicles: Episodes one to eleven of the coming of age epic fantasy
  • The Whore's Tale: Sarah (A Jacobite Chronicles Story)
  • The Lost Spear (Lost #0.5)
  • Tides of Fortune (Jacobite Chronicles Book 6)
  • When Darkness Falls (Jack Swyteck, #6)
See similar books…
275 followers
Jack Hayes is a journalist for one of the world's largest news companies. He has reported from Ethiopia, Mozambique, Bahrain, Egypt, Israel, Palestine, Saudi Arabia and many others.

When he's not reporting or writing novels, he enjoys music, reading, Italian cuisine and spending time with his two-year-old son.

For the latest on his upcoming books, join the official Jack Hayes twitter feed:

http://ww
...more

Other books in the series

Maddox (4 books)
  • When Eagles Burn (Maddox #1)
  • Blood Red Sea (Maddox #2)
  • No Easy Mission (Maddox #4)

Related Articles

While dealing with her husband's illness, this debut author turned to the refuge of Jane Austen's work. That refuge turned into her highly anticipa...
88 likes · 13 comments