Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Madness in the Family: Stories” as Want to Read:
Madness in the Family: Stories
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Madness in the Family: Stories

4.12  ·  Rating details ·  133 Ratings  ·  6 Reviews
A collection of short stories that were originally published in the 1960s and 1970s in The New Yorker, Atlantic Monthly, and Harper's.
Paperback, 141 pages
Published May 17th 1990 by New Directions (first published 1988)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Madness in the Family, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Madness in the Family

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
dara
Oct 23, 2008 rated it liked it
Despite the title of the collection, the family depicted in this collection of short stories doesn't seem all that insane to me (at least in comparison to the insanity I know). The most "insane" tendency within the family is to be "stupid" when it comes to marriage.

All of the stories are very short--some not even two pages--and so it was a quick, enjoyable read. There were some aspects that I couldn't relate to very well because they seemed unique to the Armenian community or to the family in q
...more
Joseph
Oct 05, 2008 added it
Shelves: 2008
I like this book for Saroyan's sympathy toward children and the child's imagination. Something like in the tradition of Dahl's "Katina" and Salinger's "For Esme--with Love and Squalor" but in a less tragic and more domestic setting. In fact, as the title suggests, all the stories center around domestic issues, either when Saroyan was a boy in an Armenian community in California, or as a father with children in France.

As a writer (and as a person), William Saroyan is positively, beautifully heedl
...more
Vderevlean
un volum foarte bun de proză scurtă. mai toate povestirile, ironice, melancolice, cu aer de legendă au legătură cu armenii dintr-un mic orășel american. peripeții, divorțuri, certuri, filosofii de bătrânețe - micile întâmplări ale străinilor veniți în state pentru o lume nouă. comunitatea armenilor seamănă cu cea a unor evrei, închisă și misterioasă, însă e mai degajată, înțelept-amuzantă și deseori autoironică. e o lume a nebunilor, așa cum spune și autorul :)
Susan
Favorite story - Gaston
Beverley
Dec 16, 2013 rated it liked it
I was struck by William Saroyan's wit and compassion. Some stories were very nice.
Veronika
rated it liked it
Nov 14, 2015
Rob
rated it liked it
Oct 02, 2016
Remi
rated it really liked it
Jun 23, 2014
Gelu
rated it liked it
Oct 24, 2015
Night
rated it it was amazing
Jul 12, 2008
Clay
rated it it was amazing
Aug 21, 2013
Jane
rated it liked it
Nov 27, 2012
Jana Olehlová
rated it liked it
Dec 17, 2015
Natasha
rated it it was amazing
Jan 16, 2017
Jeremy
rated it liked it
Oct 30, 2011
Chris
rated it really liked it
Jan 08, 2013
Bianca Leuca
rated it really liked it
Mar 28, 2015
E-jana
rated it really liked it
Mar 10, 2011
Marshall
rated it liked it
Jun 12, 2011
Josh Sherman
rated it really liked it
Jan 02, 2012
Scarlat
rated it it was amazing
Jul 12, 2010
Megan
rated it really liked it
Jan 03, 2009
Sigurður Jón
rated it it was amazing
Mar 30, 2013
Ivy Jeanne
rated it it was amazing
Nov 10, 2008
Waj Da
rated it really liked it
Nov 14, 2013
Karyaye
rated it really liked it
Mar 09, 2015
kristen irene
rated it it was amazing
Aug 05, 2012
անի ասատրյան
rated it really liked it
Aug 08, 2013
А. Людогусь
rated it it was amazing
Jul 16, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Selected Stories
  • Portrait of the Artist as a Young Dog
  • Գևորգ Մարզպետունի
  • A Capote Reader
  • The Knock at the Door: A Journey Through the Darkness of the Armenian Genocide
  • Bad Boys, Bad Men: Confronting Antisocial Personality Disorder
  • Success Stories
  • The Cult of the Presidency: America's Dangerous Devotion to Executive Power
  • The Theatre of Tennessee Williams: Battle of Angels, The Glass Menagerie , A Streetcar Named Desire (the Theatre of Tennessee Williams, #1)
  • Պապ Թագավոր
  • No Love Lost
  • Black Friday and Selected Stories
  • The Mysteries of Sherlock Holmes
  • Սամվել
  • Collected Stories and Other Writings
  • The Orange Fish
  • Seventeen
  • Safelight: A Novel
360 followers
William Saroyan was an American - Armenian author. The setting of many of his stories and plays was Fresno, California (sometimes under a fictional name), the center of Armenian-American life in California and where he grew up.
Saroyan was born in Fresno, California to Armenian immigrants from Bitlis, Turkey. At the age of three, after his father's death, Saroyan was placed in the orphanage in Oakl
...more
More about William Saroyan
“She cried a little, but only inside, because long ago she had decided she didn't like crying because if you ever started to cry it seemed as if there was so much to cry about you almost couldn't stop, and she didn't like that at all.” 61 likes
“What do you mean, what's the matter with him? Nothing's the matter with him, everything's the matter with him, the same as it is with everybody else. He's just fine. He gets overwhelmed now and then, and he doesn't know how to say what he feels or means, so he cries and runs off a little, trying to find out where to go, for God's sake. Where can you go?” 30 likes
More quotes…