Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Hold On (Alexa Reed, #2)” as Want to Read:
Hold On (Alexa Reed, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Hold On

(Alexa Reed #2)

by
4.50  ·  Rating details ·  499 ratings  ·  92 reviews
The sizzling, second installment in the Alexa Reed series.

Beautiful and successful Alexa Reed has dark secrets in her past that prevent her from trusting in love. Her fears start to fade when she meets charismatic, South Beach hotel owner, Julian Bauer, who is willing to put his extravagant playboy lifestyle behind him just to be with her.

He’s a man who likes a challenge
...more
Paperback, 520 pages
Published April 11th 2014 by Hilary Wynne
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Hold On, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Ann Marie
Jul 30, 2014 rated it it was amazing
5+ Amazing stars

You know how you feel when you get off a rollercoaster and your belly has butterflies and you’re a little giddy your whole body has been heightened by the ride? Well I must say that the rollercoaster ride that is Hold On was the best damn ride I have been on since I can’t remember when. You made me cry, you made me laugh but most of all you made me feel compassion for two people who were so totally screwed due to circumstances but loved each other so much. This story between Alex
...more
BethyMac
Aug 07, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: read-2014
5+ Sensational Sexy Hot Stars

I fell in love with this series when I recently picked up Stay and could not wait to dig into this one when I finished the first one. I thought the first book was an emotional rollercoaster, compared to this book, that one was definitely a kiddie coaster.

Hold On is the second book in the Alexa Reed series and picks right up where we left off in Stay so if you haven’t read Stay, stop right now, read no further and go read it, you won’t be sorry. Like Stay, Hold on on
...more
Whitney Mcgregor (A Literary Perusal)
4.5 stars

I literally just closed my e-reader after finishing Hold On. And while I'm having trouble processing the roller coaster of emotions I'm still feeling, I know I just read a great book.

I can sum up this book with one word. Drama (and really, that should be Lexie's middle name). This is a pretty long book and a lot happening. Julian and Lexie's relationship is very fragile and despite the work both of them put into it, there are still hurdles to overcome. Julian's past catches up with him
...more
Brittany Alexander
Apr 07, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites, romance
Wow! I absolutely love Hilary Wynne. Her first book, Stay, was phenomenal, and this one is even better! Hold On continues the story on Alexa Reed and Julian Bauer, as they continue on through a rocky relationship together.
Alexa Reed has been struggling this past year to get over the death of her boyfriend. When she meets Julian Bauer, sexy hotel owner, she immediately feels a connection to him. Their relationship starts off as just a lot of hot sex, but soon it grows as she opens up to him, tel
...more
Rita Henriques
Mar 25, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I’m speechless and I don’t know what to say. When I started to read the 2nd book of this series, I had some expectations and ideas. But I wasn't prepared for what was about to come.
Alexa is still struggling with her past demons but we are able to see that she is really trying to get over it and move on.
But in this book, I think the leading role belongs to Julian. He leads the whole story. And what a story!
And don’t forget Luke, surprises us in the best way possible.
The story is amazing and inten
...more
Book Junky Girls
Aug 25, 2014 rated it it was amazing
4.5 Stars

There are those books that you read that have your sporting an emotional burn deep in your chest throughout the story line. The ones that have you on the verge of tears, at every turn you are feeling that knot in you throat.
The emotional connection you feel for the characters and the battles that are forced to fight.
Hold On is just that.

It has those twists that keep you hooked and the angst that grips you. There is heated hot scenes that have you fanning you face and the ones that have
...more
Eye Candy Bookstore
Jun 23, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Hilary Wynne has completely blown me away yet again! This series has quickly became a favorite of mine. I became emotionally attached to these characters in book 1 "Stay". This book was no different. In this book I cried a lot, got so frustrated and then said WTF. Hilary hits you with a twist you don't see coming.


Alexa learned keeping secrets was holding her back from really moving on. Once she lets Julian and her friends know all her secrets she is finally able to start to live again. Alexa and
...more
Shannon Hewitt
Apr 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I absolutely LOVED Hold On!! I'm not the emotional type, but it had me on the edge of my seat with tears in my eyes multiple times. Great ups and downs & it was easy to relate to the characters. I loved the continuation of existing characters and the introduction of new ones. I was taken back, and surprised by some of the events...totally unexpected and not the typical storyline where you can guess what the next chapter will hold. I recommend starting it when you know you have a couple days ...more
Ashlie L
May 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Hold On to your Seat for this one! Fantastic second book in this series. Alexa remains hard headed but she's starting to Crack! Julian still holds on to her for dear life when I really wanted to bitch slap some sense into her. They had ups and downs but Alexa is finally on board and is trying to get her shit together. Julian... oh Lord... Julian.... Seriously I lurve you! Book three is still being written but this one does not really end on a cliffy. Cannot wait till the next book!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dea
...more
Chrissy
Jul 18, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-in-2014, series
5+ Stars!

Wow, as soon as I finished reading Stay I knew I had to immediately grab Hold On and find out what happens to Julian and Alexa, and Hold On did NOT disappoint!

I fell in love with Julian and Alexa’s story in Stay, but fell deeper in love with them (and I truly did not think that could happen) after reading Hold On. In this installment of the series, we have very happy times with these two characters and other times where you are reduced to tears because you’re not sure how or if they ca
...more
Twin Sisters Rockin' Book Reviews
Overall Rating: 5 Rockin’ ★★★★★

Sometimes you can be so damaged that nothing can heal the destruction that has been caused your soul. But then sometimes if you are really blessed you will be given a second chance and that is what this installment of Alexa’s life is all about. While reading this book your emotions will run rampant with what ifs and why nots! The feelings that you experience as you read this story make an unforgettable impression on your heart and will not be easily forgotten.

It s
...more
Lorena  Garcia -- Brittany's Book Blog
**Received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review**

WOW, I can't express how much I loved this book! I was in a turmoil reading the continuation of Alexa and Julian's story. So much happens to them in this second book that you don't know if you want to scream, laugh or cry.

Alexa, I just feel for her because it seems like nothing goes right in her world. She loses her first boyfriend by committing suicide, then she loses her best friend Luke when he confesses his real feelings for
...more
Sherry
Apr 06, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Are you ready to hop back on this crazy train we call love in the form of Lexie and Julian?!?! I was so excited to read this book! Ms. Wynne literally broke my heart in this book and put it all back together. Plus, she left me with big 'ole butterflies in my stomach.

We all know Lexie likes to run, and boy did she run in the last book. This time around she's finally facing her demons and coming to terms with what she's been dealing with silently for the last year. This shoe-loving, drama-filled,
...more
Your Favorite Book Corner Blog
Once again, Hilary Wynne has managed to draw us in to the world of Alexa Reed and Julian Bauer. Hold On picks up where Book 1 - Stay, leaves off. Everything seems to be just fine for the couple, good even. Until something throws them off kilter. Things start to spiral out of control. Then, you have to ask yourself, is love really enough?

Hilary Wynne draws you in in Stay and keeps you there for Hold On. You fall in love with the characters from page one in book one, and only want the best for the
...more
Victoria Rainey
Apr 06, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Hold On is the second book in the Alexa Reed series by Hilary Wynne. This book continues where the first book left off so it’s a good idea to read the first book in the series to understand everything.

Alexa Reed is still coping her all her dark secrets and surviving and just as independent as ever. No matter how difficult her personal life she manages to keep her work separate. Alexa is starting to work through her problems and issues. I do admire Alexa for eventually letting a select few know
...more
Sarah
Mar 28, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Abbr. version. Come visit me for the full review, plus author interview @ http://thelast2know.wordpress.com/201...

This was an exciting moment for me.. to be given the chance to be among the first people to read this book.. and after how much I loved the first, Stay, I was stoked to be back with Alexa, and the shoes, and the Julian (yep ‘the’ Julian, because there’s no other like him!) so soon.

I enjoyed the heck out of this book. The characters develop in interesting ways, especially Julian. He w
...more
Megan
Jul 21, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
5 Emotionally Scarred Stars

Reviewed for Crazy Daisy Book Whore

This is one of those books that left me with a major book hangover. I cried and cursed. I even sat shaking my head repeating, "No, no, no," over and over again during a part in this book. I am emotionally scarred. Ugh!
I truly experienced so many emotions while reading this book. I was elated, content, furious, and moved. I connected with the emotions of the characters, once again, and could feel what they were feeling. I couldn't put
...more
Ashley Jasper
Nov 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing
After reading Stay, I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book and I was not disappointed.

We continue to get the story of Alexa and Julian. I figured that this would be a continuation of the happiness that they were feeling at the end of the first book. Boy was I wrong. Kudos to Alexa for getting stronger and know what she can and cannot handle. She was able to open up and share more with Julian, her roommates & Ellen. There is also some closure on the Brady situation. At the same time, I,
...more
Catherine  Wright (Cat's Guilty Pleasure)
This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Lexie is still struggling with her past, but is making a honest effort in trying to overcome it all and finally move on and live her life. Lexie suffers so much in this book, you can't help but feel it with her. Just when you think things are going good a situation comes up that devastates both her and Julian. She makes some bad choices. Julian is so in love with her and he tries his hardest to make her see what's right in
...more
Leslie Clifford
Aug 11, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This was book two in the Alexa Reed series and this story continues to get better and better. There was so much drama and suspense that once you start reading be prepared to stay until the end. Alexa is again dealing with the death of her ex-boyfriend and the fact that she has shared her secret with Julian. Alexa has decided that she wants to move forward with her life. She shares her secret with her friends and family and believes that her nightmare is over. You know it is not. Just when you th ...more
Joelene
Apr 30, 2014 rated it it was amazing
We'll I have to say that I just loved this book! Love, love, loved it! I loved Alexa and I loved Julian and all their friends. I also loved that even though Alexa went dark and it was sad during quite a bit of it that it had an amazing story to it and it kept me wrapped up through most of the book. I admit the first couple chapters were a little slower for me, I still loved it! It has a great story that shows a lot of truth about the world and how crappy it can be and how there are a lot of peop ...more
Stefanie D.
Jul 11, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Hold On, the second book by Hilary Wynne in the Alexa Reed Series, jumps right into the aftermath of Alexa's revealing secret. Her startling admission affects all of those around her, and weave into a tangled web of coincidence, confrontation, heartbreak, and self-actualization.

As Alexa deals with moving on from her past into a new job and happy future, we learn more about Julian's emotional past. He is dealing with serious issues of his own, and that threatens the dreamy life Alexa is finally o
...more
Claire
Apr 13, 2014 rated it it was amazing
WOW, was very lucky to win a copy of Hold on from Hilary Wynne herself, though it was on my list to buy either way. I received my copy last night (and finished it this afternoon) and barely put it down except to sleep and cook dinner. The continuation of Lexie and Julian's story is fantastic, full of intense, passionate, heart warming and heart breaking moments (and shoes lots of shoes), on more than one occasion I found myself crying. I won't say anymore as I don't want to spoil it for those ye ...more
Erin
Jun 27, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I didn't think it could get any better, but boy-o-boy was I wrong!! WOW I can't even describe the plethora of emotions I felt while reading the 2nd book! Laughing, crying, empathy - you name it and this book has it. I absolutely love Ms. Wynne's style of writing. It's so realistic.

The emotions between Alexa and Julian are so raw - you feel them in the pit of your stomach while reading. The bar has been set after reading this book and I don't know how another will satisfy - and I've read them all
...more
Maria Lourdes Mendoza
Nov 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This is bloody hell an amazing book! No.1 on my list for the best books this year. I can give it 10 stars if I could but the option only has 5 so I'll just add the other 5 here. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This is really an amazing book. good storyline, conflict with substance, characters with great personality and emotions are well justifiable.

Have you ever tried riding a roller coaster? Well, you will experience it here with a really good roller coaster of emotions.

It literally made me mad, in love, sad and happy. I
...more
Michelle
Mar 05, 2015 rated it it was amazing

Hold On the second book in the series left me drained, this book starts right from where Stay ends, Alexa & Julian start off in a very happy place, things move along very quickly and the start of a wonderful future develops. Until a very unexpected twist shatters the bubble leaving Julian & Alexa broken and lost.

Luke comes back into Alexa's life at the request of Julian, one which I think he will regret forever.

Hold On was well written made me smile, laugh, cry and wanting to drive strai
...more
Amber Karas
Jul 20, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Hold On
This book is Part 2 in the Alexa Reed series (Book 1 was Stay) by Hilary Wynne. Alexa and Juilian’s emotional story continues as Alexa battles her way through drama in her life, that sometimes is very unwarranted.
The emotional journey was very tough to get through at times. There were times where I was laughing and celebrating with Alexa and Juilian, while there were other times where I was literally crying and frustrated with Alexa. I wanted to shake her to her senses.
I cannout WAIT for
...more
Maria York
Apr 11, 2014 rated it it was amazing
OMG The second book is just as good if not better then the first one. I am in book love with Julian Bauer and Alexa. Wow just so many different emotions that this poor girl had to endure are just crazy. Alexa is one strong broken woman who has had one hell of a year, but it continues and it's fair. I felt really bad for her, but Julian is just amazing. He's going through his own things and emotions run raw and wild. I am hoping that there is another book to come, because I would love to read mor ...more
Marsha
Aug 26, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2014
Hold On by Hilary Wynne is a really, really good read. I'm not going to lie, its a tough one, just stuffed full of emotions and difficult subjects. So much hits too close to home. I absolutely love Wynne's writing style and had trouble putting this down. Please, Hilary Wynne, give me more. I need to know where this goes. The story line is strong and consistent, even when the characters are not. Alexa and Julian are both so broken, I just want to hug then so much. But they are surrounded by suppo ...more
Melissa
Apr 12, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I laughed, I cried, I felt sick to my stomach right along with Lexie. My poor husband, I couldn't put this down- read it on the way to work and on the way home, stayed up way too late on work nights, I couldn't get enough. I think this was better than Stay. Can't wait for book 3!!!!
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Passion After Dark (Passion, #1)
  • All Wrapped Up (The List, #2)
  • Shattered Lies (The Unraveled Trilogy, #3)
  • Eraser Amber (Eraser #5)
  • Jack Stone - Wild Justice  (The Dark Master #1)
  • Amuse Bouche (The Winemaker's Dinner, #1.5)
  • Surviving (Surrender, #2)
  • Burn Me
  • Double Coverage (Love and Sports, #2)
  • Broken Souls (Broken Hearts, #2)
  • Brazen Seduction (Reckless and Brazen, #2)
  • Their Reluctant Submissive (Knights in Black Leather, #1)
  • Faith’s Temptation (Dueling Dragons MC #1)
  • Don't Deny Me, Part One (Don't Deny Me, #1)
  • Chance of a Lifetime
  • Underground (Secrets, #2)
  • Misfortune's Daughters
  • To Love Again (Repaired Hearts, #1)
161 followers
Have you ever woken up one day and said, “Today’s the day I’m going to do (insert thing here)?” Well, I did, and the result is my first novel, Stay. I always thought of myself as a decent writer, and then a trip down memory lane through my ninth grade book of poetry confirmed it. I realize that I have always had a romantic side and a way with words. With support from my husband and kids (and an un ...more

Other books in the series

Alexa Reed (3 books)
  • Stay (Alexa Reed, #1)
  • Promise Me (Alexa Reed, #3)