Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “You're Going to Miss Me When You're Bored” as Want to Read:
You're Going to Miss Me When You're Bored
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

You're Going to Miss Me When You're Bored

by
4.50  ·  Rating details ·  22 ratings  ·  5 reviews
Poetry. The poems in YOU'RE GOING TO MISS ME WHEN YOU'RE BORED integrate the sublime and the mundane, the destined and the happenstance, the dire meaningfulness of the moment and the absurd lack of consequence in the infinity. In some, the trivial becomes transcendent and in others, the transcendent turns out to be a mirage. Justin Marks treats both moments with equity, qu ...more
Paperback, 74 pages
Published February 18th 2014 by Barrelhouse Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about You're Going to Miss Me When You're Bored, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about You're Going to Miss Me When You're Bored

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-48
4.50  · 
Rating details
 ·  22 ratings  ·  5 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Chris
May 30, 2014 rated it it was amazing
What strikes me most about YGTMMWYB is that, at certain times, our most basic elements swell into philosophy: “My hair getting / unwieldy in a world filled / with an abundance that approaches / formlessness.” But at just as many other times, the romance peters out: “Riding in a cab / up the West Side Highway, / a little tipsy, / the salt-water air / and boat fumes… / I get incredibly inspired, / but not for long." In fact, the latter moments feel like just what Marks calls them: “magnificent dec ...more
Joe
Aug 20, 2014 added it
Shelves: poetry
"The emperor of hair
does not compare"

"Innumerable people of creative talent
I must express my joy"

"The bad guys rehearsing
their latest number--
high kicks and all--the good guys watching
videos of unrest in real time"
Julie
Mar 08, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: book-fair-finds
I think the cover makes it look a bit more relatable to all people than it truly is. There were some poems I didn't connect with at all, other poems I did; but most importantly, there were a few lines of genius. I appreciated the honesty of it. And there was that feeling as I was immersed in it; you know, that feeling when you are getting the art feeling of what the art is trying to make you feel feeling. Worth reading for sure.
Jeremy
Dec 26, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Marks expresses his interest in big questions through poems that veer happily from the big picture to small scale. I know that's vague, but all I can say is you should read him, and to me one of his main subjects is life in all its surprises and weirdness, sometimes with jokes, always with a sense of appreciation that is wilier than theology and smart enough to hang in the background of these poems, more powerful and distinctive for its subtlety.
Kevin Summers
Dec 21, 2015 rated it liked it
Shelves: adult
Sample quote from "They're There":

Raising children is boring./Sublimely so./
I walk in the door and my mind/erases./
Things go well, then don't./But then, increasingly./
There is never not a narrative./
Little is lonelier/than being married. Except not./
Whatever. Whoever/you are.Amputations all around.

Ryan
rated it liked it
Jul 10, 2017
Tom
rated it it was amazing
Apr 14, 2014
Tim Paggi
rated it really liked it
Apr 13, 2015
Mark Cugini
rated it it was amazing
May 09, 2014
Dennis James Sweeney
rated it really liked it
Sep 17, 2014
Paula
rated it it was amazing
Jan 12, 2018
Mellow Pages Library
rated it it was amazing
May 05, 2014
Melissa Reddish
rated it really liked it
Mar 29, 2014
Michael
rated it it was amazing
Sep 30, 2014
Madison Flanders
rated it really liked it
May 07, 2018
Will Mercier
rated it it was amazing
Jul 26, 2014
Rob
rated it it was amazing
Aug 03, 2014
Jessica Webster
rated it it was amazing
Feb 07, 2016
Meridith
rated it it was amazing
Sep 29, 2014
E. Anderson
rated it really liked it
Nov 24, 2014
Justin
Apr 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Grace
rated it really liked it
Dec 26, 2016
Dan
rated it it was amazing
Apr 14, 2014
Erica Wright
marked it as to-read
Apr 14, 2014
Dave Mcgurgan
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2014
Laura
marked it as to-read
May 15, 2014
Howard Parsons
marked it as to-read
Jul 02, 2014
Leena
marked it as to-read
Jul 08, 2014
Mike Kleine
marked it as to-read
Aug 16, 2014
Zack
added it
Sep 11, 2014
April Biggs
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2014
Kimberly Ann
marked it as to-read
Nov 03, 2014
Megan Rowe
marked it as to-read
Nov 15, 2014
Michael
marked it as to-read
Nov 19, 2014
Jeremy
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2014
Megan
marked it as to-read
Nov 25, 2014
Barton Smock
marked it as to-read
Dec 17, 2014
Laura Brisson
marked it as to-read
Mar 01, 2015
Jessica
marked it as to-read
Mar 09, 2015
Amelia
marked it as to-read
Jul 12, 2015
Desiree Lim
marked it as to-read
Aug 04, 2015
Sara
marked it as to-read
Aug 27, 2015
Jeremy Marsh
marked it as to-read
Dec 16, 2015
Gwendolyn Layton
marked it as to-read
Jun 18, 2016
Dragos Alexe
marked it as to-read
Nov 18, 2016
Kristy Mutchler
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2017
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
11 followers
Justin Marks’ books are, You’re Going to Miss Me When You’re Bored, (Barrelhouse Books, 2014) and A Million in Prizes (New Issues, 2009). His latest chapbook is We Used to Have Parties (Dikembe Press, 2014). He is a co-founder of Birds, LLC, an independent poetry press, and lives in Queens, NY with his wife and their twin son and daughter.