Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Allergy-Free Pantry: Make Your Own Staples, Snacks, and More Without Wheat, Gluten, Dairy, Eggs, Soy or Nuts” as Want to Read:
The Allergy-Free Pantry: Make Your Own Staples, Snacks, and More Without Wheat, Gluten, Dairy, Eggs, Soy or Nuts
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Allergy-Free Pantry: Make Your Own Staples, Snacks, and More Without Wheat, Gluten, Dairy, Eggs, Soy or Nuts

by
3.85  ·  Rating details ·  73 ratings  ·  9 reviews
Make your own affordable, delicious, and allergy-free staples, snacks, and meals!

After the cupboards are cleared of problem foods, most people coping with new food allergies (their own or their kids’) are missing staples they have relied on for years. And even though stores are stocking more allergen-free brands, shoppers with severe or multiple allergies can read every la
...more
Paperback, 328 pages
Published September 9th 2014 by The Experiment
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Allergy-Free Pantry, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Allergy-Free Pantry

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.85  · 
Rating details
 ·  73 ratings  ·  9 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Allergy-Free Pantry: Make Your Own Staples, Snacks, and More Without Wheat, Gluten, Dairy, Eggs, Soy or Nuts
Alaine
May 04, 2017 rated it did not like it
Rating based on personal gain rather than as a critique of the book.

I have Oral Allergy Syndrome (OAS). Your body confuses proteins in common produce for proteins in pollens you're allergic to. For example, I'm allergic to ragweed. I tested negative for banana allergy, but when I eat a raw banana (or as most people think of it, a banana), I feel throat-punched and my airways are raw. I can eat cooked bananas. Cooking alters the protein.

You may have OAS if you have pollen allergies. I have a lo
...more
Jill
Aug 05, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I requested and received this book from Netgalley for my honest review.

wow,what an amazingly well though out and organised book.
I am a person who has lived with a gluten intolerance for over 10 years and this book had some things in it that I wish I had known before now. Very informative.
The layout is absolutely stunning, just the way a recipe book should be. I always want to be wowed by the pages and with this I certainly was. I will be telling all my friends with allergies about this book. M
...more
Joanna Davidson
Feb 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Wonderful and well-written to explain how to substitute foods and add more to my diet. As someone who is diagnosed with EoE, my doctor has prescribed a Four Food Elimination Diet. This book greatly helps me avoid allergens and eat healthier. So great to have this on my bookshelf.
Punk
Feb 14, 2018 rated it liked it
Requires four separate custom flour blends—though it does recommend some commercial blends you can use instead—but it also has a lot of information about substitutions for wheat flour, dairy products, and eggs.

The book covers pantry staples like mayo and non-dairy milks, as well as breakfast, breads, pasta, sides, snacks, crackers, cookies, candies, and meals for the freezer. It's comfort food and standards like marinara sauce, pizza, fajitas, chicken tenders, pancakes. Nothing fancy and nothing
...more
Rochie
May 25, 2020 rated it it was ok
I like that it contains recipes for common condiments or pantry items. The recipes for condiments and sauces are easy to follow and works well. For baked goods though, I never had any success. Yes, it tastes okay but the texture is off and never looked as good as the ones pictured.
Lili
Jul 10, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: gluten-free
**I received this book from netgalley in exchange for an honest review**

Years ago (a little more than a decade ago, actually) I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease, this was right at the cusp of it (and other food allergies) becoming what seems like an epidemic. At this time trying to find food I could eat was a nightmare, the selection at most stores was overpriced, small, and usually pretty nasty tasting. My various attempts at cooking were also usually disastrous because finding a reliable cook
...more
Selena Bluntzer
Jun 25, 2014 rated it really liked it
Not everyone can understand what it's like to have to cook and bake with a long list of restrictions. Colette Martin, however, is someone who can understand what it's like to lose a whole series of staple foods, snacks, and treats, and in her books, she helps reader find their "new normal". I love that she provides substitutions for those who cannot use flax as an egg substitute, because that is a particularly tough allergen to avoid, when also avoiding so many other allergens. One can feel so l ...more
Julie  Webb
Sep 26, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: cookbooks, own, 1-18
Perfect for the parent who has limited cooking skills and looking to avoid a specific allergen like gluten. If you know how to cook already or are doing something more strict like AIP or GAPS I'd skip this. Nothing too fancy here. I'd like to think they were going for kid friendly fare?

I almost gave it 3 stars because many of the recipes are almost to simple to need a book (but we all need to start somewhere, so I'm going to cut some slack here), white sugar is in a lot of recipes, but my bigge
...more
Melody Graham
This book is a lifesaver! Such a great resource! I use these recipes all the time and also learned to do lots of new allergy friendly cooking tricks for other recipes.
Sarita Simon
rated it it was ok
Oct 10, 2017
Colette Martin
Jul 08, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Penny Wayment
rated it liked it
Oct 21, 2017
Bev
rated it really liked it
Aug 11, 2014
Christine
rated it liked it
Aug 01, 2014
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
rated it it was amazing
Oct 26, 2015
KDK H
rated it really liked it
May 14, 2019
Veronica
rated it really liked it
Aug 10, 2016
Samantha
rated it it was ok
Jan 29, 2015
Brandy Backen
rated it it was amazing
Sep 05, 2017
Rosanne
rated it really liked it
Apr 13, 2016
Julie
rated it it was amazing
Feb 06, 2018
Melissa Marini
rated it really liked it
Sep 18, 2019
Jess Tudela
rated it really liked it
Dec 20, 2018
Lisa Milton
rated it liked it
Sep 05, 2017
Jacqui Cruz
rated it really liked it
Oct 17, 2017
Hera Phung
rated it really liked it
Feb 21, 2016
Colleen Thompson
rated it it was amazing
Jul 05, 2016
Megan
rated it liked it
May 27, 2018
Gina
rated it liked it
Dec 31, 2014
Meg Lakowski
rated it really liked it
Jan 15, 2018
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • HEAL BREAST CANCER NATURALLY: 7 ESSENTIAL STEPS TO BEATING BREAST CANCER
  • The Matriarch: Barbara Bush and the Making of an American Dynasty
  • Fat for Fuel: A Revolutionary Diet to Combat Cancer, Boost Brain Power, and Increase Your Energy
  • Allergy-Friendly Food for Families: 120 Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Nut-Free, Egg-Free, and Soy-Free Recipes Everyone Will Enjoy
  • The Gratitude Diaries: How a Year Looking on the Bright Side Can Transform Your Life
  • The Descendants
  • Into the Storm: The Assassination of President Kennedy Volume 3
  • Practical Paleo: A Customized Approach to Health and a Whole-Foods Lifestyle
  • SUMMARY: Medical Medium & Medical Medium Life-Changing Foods by Anthony William
  • Chris Beat Cancer: A Comprehensive Plan for Healing Naturally
  • Cooking Allergy-Free: Simple Inspired Meals for Everyone
  • Deliciously Ella with Friends
  • Chia, Quinoa, Kale, Oh My!: Recipes for 40+ Delicious, Super-Nutritious, Superfoods
  • Deliciously Ella: 100+ Easy, Healthy, and Delicious Plant-Based, Gluten-Free Recipes
  • The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B
  • The Ultra Mind Solution: Automatically Boost Your Brain Power, Improve Your Mood and Optimize Your Memory
  • The Happiness Diet: A Nutritional Prescription for a Sharp Brain, Balanced Mood, and Lean, Energized Body
  • How to Make Disease Disappear
See similar books…
11 followers
Colette Martin is a cookbook author, food photographer, food allergy advocate and an expert on how to bake allergen-free. She is the author of the highly acclaimed Learning to Bake Allergen-Free: A Crash Course for Busy Parents on Baking without Wheat, Gluten, Dairy, Eggs, Soy or Nuts and The Allergy-Free Pantry: Make Your Own Staples, Snacks, and More without Wheat, Gluten, Dairy, Eggs, Soy or Nu ...more

Related Articles

In these strange days of quarantine and isolation, books can be a mode of transport. We may have to stay home and stay still, but through t...
58 likes · 39 comments