Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Dead Shall Live” as Want to Read:
The Dead Shall Live
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Dead Shall Live

(The Fury Triad #2)

by
4.53  ·  Rating details ·  59 ratings  ·  21 reviews
At last--the sequel to the award-winning fantasy romance This Crumbling Pageant is here.

At midnight on Samhain, the dead shall roam.

The Dead Shall Live begins the moment the award-winning dark YA fantasy, This Crumbling Pageant, ends—with two kings but only one throne. Persephone Fury’s Dark powers are finally under control but at a horrific price, and she is married to a
...more
ebook, 520 pages
Published 2017 by Story Spring Publishing, LLC
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Dead Shall Live, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Dead Shall Live

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.53  · 
Rating details
 ·  59 ratings  ·  21 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Dead Shall Live
Willow
Oct 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arc
Holy moly, or should I say, buggering hell! My head is spinning, as I am finally released from the spell of words that the author had woven over me. Some parts were slow, subtly drawing you in until you find yourself helplessly immersed in Persephone's journey. The twists, the sacrifices, the choices! You need to read this book. Actually, you need to re-read book one, then jump into this one. Such a great read! I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
Gloriamarie
Mere moments ago I finished The Dead Shall Live in a tumult of emotion, the primary one is “I can’t believe it is better than This Crumbling Pageant” I truly can’t believe it, but so it is.

Of course, I hardly know how to write this review without spoilers because the dead who lived is not really the dead I expected to live, but know that that person is living, I see where the clues led. I mean, before that dead person actually drew breath, I had it figured out, but throughout the reading, I didn
...more
Lisa C
Nov 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I would give this book more than 5 stars if I could!
This book is described as the second in a series. Actually its the second part of a full book. In this case you need to read the first book. That being said, I highly recommend the(se) book(s).
Ms Burroughs has created an incredibly in depth fantasy world where the Ordinaries and the Magic live together, but the Magic are unknown to the others. The H and h are Magic, in more ways than one. They are on a quest to save their kind, and reluctantly
...more
Linda
Nov 02, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I received this book for free in return for an honest review.
Wow! This book is amazing. It is the second in the series of The Fury Triad and I think it is even better than the first. This book starts off with a bang. It is simply a continuation of This Crumbling Pageant, but it doesn't let up through the entire story. I was totally immersed in this story and couldn't put it down. The story is set in Ireland, but the world building and descriptions are wonderfully done. The characters are fantast
...more
Wendy
Oct 31, 2017 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Fiona
Aug 02, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: lter
Disclaimer: I was given this book for free as part of the Library Thing Early Reviewer (LTER) program for an honest review. 

This book picks up where book one left of. The book continues to have great story and character development. Persephone continues to explore her powers and how they intertwine with Vespasian.

It was great to see Persephone grow and mature as the story progresses. I found myself liking her and many of the decisions she had to make. I also like her and Vespasian as a couple, a
...more
Raquel Walker
Jan 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Best Series Ever!

I downloaded the first in this series, The Crumbling Pageant, months ago but never got around to reading it. I'm so glad that i finally did,I'm in love! Patricia creates a world with characters in our that draw you in and you never want to leave. Her stories kept me up until 3am, only going to bed because i literally couldn't keep my eyes open any longer.

The Dead Shall Live was just as good as the first in this triad. The worst part about it is that the third is not out for me
...more
Toni Nyman
Nov 28, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I didn't think it was possible to come close to the first book in this series, but this does and then some! I am so invested in these characters I don't want the series to ever end. Persephone and Vespasian have a love-hate relationship that neither one is truly aware of. At times you just want to shake them. It is hard for them given their pursuit of evil in the courts. Between the war and the changes in her family, she truly seems alone at times. This is a very complicated story line that keep ...more
Patrice Hamill
Nov 06, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This review will contain spoilers.

This is a staggering novel that kept me up late every single night until I finished reading - a masterful blending of fantasy, mystery, and romance. And if you're a sucker for romance like I am, you will not be disappointed.

I am putty in the hands of an author who can portray a protagonist whose journey checks off all my boxes. Give me a man from a family cursed with poverty that brings about neglect of all his needs, emotional as well as physical. Let him have
...more
Csrygley
Dec 05, 2017 rated it it was amazing
All the heart eyes for this one! Book two does nothing but extend and improve the amazingness from book one. I would normally be so sad at having to wait what will probably be years before book three comes out, but then I think about how I’ll get to re-read the first two several times between now and then, and the wait doesn’t seem so bad. Persephone and Vespasian may have taken over a spot in my top three otp’s. Forget Willow and Tara. Perspasian for life!
Sarah Arabi-Katbi
Feb 09, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Better than the first. Character development, action packed, lots and lots of...wounds. It hurts. She hurts, she grows, she feels.
I knew it was coming. muahaha.
Cherie
Feb 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I REALLY enjoyed The Dead Shall Live! Vespasian reminds me of Snape in the Harry Potter series. Is he evil? or is he good? As I mentioned before, I am a fan of legends like King Arthur, and your books really are wonderful. I am really looking forward to the next book in the series.
Rasheda
Dec 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Amazing world of historical fantasy!

All I can say is WOW! Can’t wait to read the next book! The author paints such vivid and moving words in both books! I am officially a fan!
InD'tale Magazine
This fierce story has the power to transport its readers to a time and place where magic abounds.

Read full review in the 2018 April issue of InD'tale Magazine.
...more
Emily
Apr 07, 2018 rated it really liked it
This book put me under a spell and I rushed through it breathlessly to see what would happen.

It continued with the lovely evocative language of the first book, with its own fair share of twists that I didn’t see coming, but it’s a very different book. The reason I couldn’t give it 5 stars is that Persephone never gets a break from beginning to end, and just has to slog on trying to achieve her goal against all odds. Even though it’s a terrific story, I felt exhausted reading it! I guess that’s
...more
Jennifer
Can't say I liked this book better than the first, and this book was even more drawn out than the last, but it never really loses momentum.
I have very mixed feelings about this story. I can't imagine Persephone ever really loving Vesparian, so I feel this relationship is just miserable. I hate it that she's not with Robin, and despite what Persephone thinks, she doesn't need Vesparian to validate her as a person, nor does it mean she has to be with him because he has the same magic, which I'm st
...more
Cathy Pagano
Dec 07, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
It hurts so good.

Persephone is a great character. A perfect Fathers Daughter who lives by the fathers rules. Even in rebellion. She so honorable she chooses guilt and suffering over forgiveness. Very patriarchal.
I feel sorry that Vesp must constantly put her down. Yes it comes from his own hurt, but it’s painful when you know what’s causing it and the character stays so blind.
This abuse builds her strength but her underworld suffering is hurtful to me as a reader. She touches on all the pain
...more
Alaina
Jan 15, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: young-adult
Book 2 - this was more difficult for me to plow through. That's probably because our main character, Persephone, was going through her own rebirth of sort - from pampered/loving familial upbringing to hard scramble/scrutinized newlywed. Still plenty of twists and surprises, and the magical abilities will never cease to amaze me! The author is never stingy with vocabulary, something I admire because I savor learning new adjectives! Only 3 stars because I am not committed to Book 3 when it is publ ...more
Desi
Sep 26, 2018 rated it liked it
I'm still really impressed with this series and can't wait for book 3! There were a few editing issues that made it into this Kindle edition or I would have rated it 4 stars. Great depth of character development, this combined with the fantastic world development are what make this such a stand out series. It ranks in one of my favorite series overall. Can't wait to see where this author goes!
Heidi Dover
Mar 07, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: liked-minus
Enjoyed, but this really did get draggy and hard to push through. I liked the action and parts where something actually happened, but there seemed to me to be a lot of stuff I skimmed over to get tot the interesting parts. Not sure if I have the wherewithall to push through the last book, but we'll see if it goes on sale.
Monika
Dec 11, 2018 rated it really liked it
For she was the cursed daughter, with the burden of Death upon her soul.
And surging inside her like life itself

Summary
Persephone finally learned to embrace her Dark powers, but that lesson had a terrible price. But still, there is no time for her to rest. A mysterious prophecy sends her on a quest to Ireland. Before all of this is over she will have to decide how much is she willing to give up to Darkness. And the answer might be everything


Writing
Burroughs' writing style is one of the

...more
Ailsa
rated it it was amazing
Nov 17, 2017
Lynn
rated it it was amazing
Nov 21, 2017
Katrina
rated it it was amazing
Feb 27, 2019
Patricia
rated it it was amazing
Dec 27, 2017
Christina
rated it it was amazing
Jan 17, 2018
Mary Bush
rated it it was amazing
Jul 19, 2020
Patti
rated it it was amazing
Dec 03, 2017
Pamela Bloink
rated it it was amazing
Sep 07, 2017
Ellenm
rated it it was amazing
Oct 20, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Farrier's Daughter (Irish Witch #1)
  • Dark Choices: Paradigm Shift (The Children Of The Gods Paranormal Romance Series Book 42)
  • The Witch's Daughter (Irish Witch #2)
  • The Chieftain's Daughter (Irish Witch #3)
  • A Chieftain's Wife (Irish Witch series # 4)
  • Colony (Final Days #2)
  • Rise of the Elder (The Dark Ability, #7)
  • The Guild Secret (The Dark Ability, #6)
  • The Shadowsteel Forge (The Dark Ability #5)
  • Blood of the Watcher (The Dark Ability, #4)
  • The Tower of Venass (The Dark Ability, #3)
  • The Heartstone Blade (The Dark Ability, #2)
  • The Dark Ability (The Dark Ability, #1)
  • Dark Choices: The Quandary (The Children Of The Gods Paranormal Romance Series Book 41)
  • Dragons Need Love, Too (I Like Big Dragons, #2)
  • Bound by a Dragon (The Dragon Archives, #1)
  • Constellation (Waypoint #2)
  • Final Days (Final Days #1)
See similar books…
228 followers
I love to check out your [yes, your] ratings and comments about the books I love, the books I hate, the books I am not sure I want to read and am trying to decide, and books I'm not sure that I've read before and am skimming your comments to see if they shake a memory loose. But the best is when I can wallow in your love for the books I love and your annoyance for the books that annoy me. Best eve ...more

Other books in the series

The Fury Triad (3 books)
  • This Crumbling Pageant (The Fury Triad #1)
  • Untune the Sky (The Fury Triad, #3)

Related Articles

Magic and myth, getting real and standing up for what’s right, love and longing, growing up and falling in love. Get ready for some of the best...
156 likes · 77 comments