Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Life Singular - Part One” as Want to Read:
A Life Singular - Part One
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

A Life Singular - Part One (A Life Singular #1)

by
4.13  ·  Rating details ·  24 Ratings  ·  14 Reviews
First in Epic 7-part Series: Love and Loss, Celebrity and Secrets The Endless Pursuit of Love and Wisdom In essence a love story, "A Life Singular" is a seven-part contemporary fiction serial. Recipient of a WILDsound Review Award (November 2015), official selection for the New Apple Awards for Literary Fiction (October 2015) and a Shelf Unbound Notable Book of 2014 (Decem ...more
Paperback, 722 pages
Published June 28th 2013 by Lorraine Pestell (first published May 1st 2013)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Life Singular - Part One, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A Life Singular - Part One

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-54)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Jenny
Dec 28, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Could not put this book down!

There is a so much happening in what is a beautiful story about life and love. Even more appealing than your typical love story is how the author has embedded into the storyline some of the more difficult social questions that we often avoid addressing, making it more intellectual than your typical love story.

I can't wait to read the next book in the series!

A Life Singular - Part One
Dianne
A beautiful tale of true love, devastating loss and the pain of rebuilding a new life from the emotional ashes, A Life Singular by Lorraine Pestell is an emotionally charged, eloquently written struggle of one man’s journey through the steps of loss and grief when he loses his best friend and wife to a gunman’s bullet. The Diamond family had it all, shared love and respect, wealth, beauty and fame, a fairy tale life to the world who adored them. Jeff’s wife was the stabilizing factor that ground ...more
Misha Almira
An engaging story of love and loss. The basic plot revolves around celebrity Jeff Diamond, as he struggles to keep his family together, following the tragedy of losing his wife. The Diamonds have a beautiful love that is the admiration of many, and nothing could prepare them for the choices they would be forced to make.

As the story begins, Jeff and his wife Lynn are preparing to celebrate their anniversary of twenty years. They begin to reminisce about years spent apart and their life together,
...more
Marissa
May 28, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: goodreads-win
Goodreads Win Copy (The win was actually for Part 3)

In Part One of this six part series, we watch as our celebrity writer learning to move on after the unexpected murder of his wife as he copes with his depression along the way as his teenager children try to be there for him.

What was supposed to be a normal getaway at a hotel turns out to be a trigger of unhappy events. While parking their car as his wife checks in, quickly turns into a nightmare when a jealous immigrant shoots his wife dead wh
...more
Eileen Thornton
Feb 16, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Lynn and Jeff Diamond are due to spend their wedding anniversary in their favourite hotel. However, while Jeff is parking the car, a man filled with jealousy and hate, shoots and kills his beloved wife, Lynn.
Nothing will ever be the same again for Jeff. How will he cope with the loss of his soul mate. His two children are also devastated, but Jeff knows they are young and will get over their loss.

I found the story to be very interesting. I did enjoy reading how Jeff learns to cope with his loss
...more
Janec
Sep 29, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I found myself captivated by this book and can not wait for the next instalment to find out what happens with the Diamond family.
Amy Marbach
Please note: I received a copy of this book for free to consider for review, however the words and thoughts in the review are my own opinions.

I had great hopes for this book but it wasn't quite what I had hoped for. The story is a compelling story of loss and how to move on after suffering such a devastating loss. However as a reader my attachment to the characters fell a bit flat due to the author's writing style. I think the flatness of the characters caused me to have trouble getting into the
...more
Ebook Planet
Jul 19, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A Life Singular is part one of an emotional, and epic, story of love, pain and growth. At 722 pages for this part alone, the quadrilogy must be approaching 3000 pages, so this is going to be quite an investment for any reader who decides to stick with it. Thankfully, the quality is high enough to justify such an investment.

The protagonist, Jeff, suffers the pain of losing his wife in a shooting, causing his perfect world to fall apart. Jeff has to endure the pain of a murder trial; that combined
...more
Sandi Whipple
Sep 21, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The story begins with the tale of a family, pillars of their community, who seem to have everything. The greatest of that everything, is a love as strong as steel.

But life can turn as quickly as a snap of two fingers, as the famous Jeff Diamond sadly discovers. Jeff’s almost forgotten past, seems to surface, causing things to happen that could crush the happiness of the last twenty years.

He suddenly loses his whole world. The greatest wife a man could have. And in a way that is unforgiving, mu
...more
Jujumoomoo
Jan 31, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
If you are looking for a complex protagonist, you won’t be disappointed with Jeff Diamond, a man who appears to have it all. Blessed with good looks, a loving wife and family, wealth, talent and influence, Jeff leads a seemingly charmed life until an unexpected tragedy befalls the faultless Diamond family and things quickly unravel.

Readers are then given glimpses into Jeff’s dark past which sheds some light on his somewhat unconventional relationship with his children and continuous struggle to
...more
Aisha-Kimberly Hashmi
Oh. My. God. I received this book from the author, writing a review to show my appreciation for her sharing her work with me, with no strings attached, and I cannot even begin to tell you, I could not put this down! If you know me and have read my reviews, you know I do not not like to base liking or disliking a book based on someone else's reviews, or many a wonderful book I would have never read and missed out on as it is subjective, such as it is with beauty. I do not like to discuss the plot ...more
Samreen Ahsan
This story is a journey of a rich, successful man who loses his wife one fine day when suddenly fate knocks at his door. He never thought he'd lose love of his life, his best friend, mother of his two kids and the person who was his better half. The characters are believable and endearing as we take a journey with Jeff through the writer's beautiful words and very well written book. It is indeed a long book but once you read it, you will realize that no matter how BIG the loss is, you still heal ...more
Linda Rutland
This was an interesting story but I thought it dragged. The main character was a rock star and humanitarian. I wanted to get to the end of the story but it was difficult. He loved to hear himself talk and I tired of hearing him. This was a long book and I see that it is the first in a series of seven equally long books. I've read enough. I don't think I could take listening to this character and his philosophy on life any further. I see other reviews that are very favorable, maybe this just isn' ...more
Destiny Brown
Aug 24, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Contemporary Fiction with Love & Loss

A Life Singular Part One is the first book in the Life Singular Drama. This is a love story that deals with social issues of today including mental illness and loss of a spouse. It is captivating, yet emotional. Sad yet lovely.

A truly real story that could be taken straight out of today's newspaper headlines.

Highly recommended extraordinary Read!!







G.L. Cromarty
rated it it was amazing
May 08, 2017
Mia Redgrave
rated it it was amazing
Dec 30, 2013
Ashley
rated it it was amazing
Jan 22, 2014
Hannah
rated it did not like it
Aug 04, 2015
NewAppleBookAwards
rated it it was amazing
Mar 01, 2016
Lorraine Pestell
Feb 03, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Lisa Gillis
rated it it was amazing
Jan 01, 2014
Betsy
rated it did not like it
Mar 08, 2015
R.D.
rated it it was amazing
Jul 19, 2015
Lamar
rated it it was amazing
Sep 27, 2017
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Betty
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Vykki
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Nicola Fantom
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Daniel
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Daryl Moad
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Richard Tyler
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Rhonda
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Laura Dobb
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Sally
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Olena
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Julia
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Beth
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Patricia Lauderdale
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Carolyn
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Sonia
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Kiran Parry
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Kim Coomey
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Sylvie
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Haven Gordon
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Karen Bainbridge
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Jazz
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2013
Traci Hearty
marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2013
Daniela
marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2013
Linda Todd
marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2013
Christine
marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2013
Melody
marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2013
  • Eclipse Lake
  • Surviving the Rachel
  • Braedric's Bane (Golden Key Chronicles, #4)
  • Perfect Need - Seven Tales of Love and Passion
  • The Mirror (Northwest Passage, #5)
  • Witness to my Heart
  • The Weakness in Me
  • Twelve Houses
  • The Twilight Swimmer
  • My Forever June
  • Far Shore
  • Creating Fate (Unspun, #1)
  • Before (Betwixt, #0.5)
  • Dark Surrender (Gothic Historical Romance, #1)
  • What Happens To Men When They Move To Manhattan?
  • Along the Watchtower
  • The Town Square (Dare Valley, #5)
  • Signed, Sealed, Delivered (The Ladies Who Lunch, #2)
119 followers
Lorraine Pestell was born in London and has had a successful career as an Information Technology professional in the UK, US, Europe, Singapore, and more recently Australia. She currently resides in central Victoria, and began her literary journey in 2008.

Lorraine has two main goals for her writing: first, to encourage fellow sufferers of mental illness to rise above their symptoms; and second, to
...more
More about Lorraine Pestell

Other books in the series

A Life Singular (6 books)
  • A Life Found (A Life Singular #2)
  • A Life Entwined (A Life Singular #3)
  • A Life Lived (A Life Singular #4)
  • A Life Tested (A Life Singular #5)
  • A Life Loved (A Life Singular #6)