Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume 30” as Want to Read:
L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume 30
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume 30

by
4.08  ·  Rating details ·  317 Ratings  ·  91 Reviews
Embark on Voyages of Imagination and Wonder. Discover the new visionaries of imagination. Experience the thrills, laughs, heartbreak and tears that can all be found in this fabulous new anthology. We’ve scoured the globe to find the most powerful new writers, and then paired them with the most gifted new illustrators to bring you L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Futu ...more
Paperback, 400 pages
Published May 6th 2014 by Galaxy Press (first published February 1st 2014)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

Be the first to ask a question about L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume 30

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Meghan
Oct 30, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I have loved science fiction since I was little, sitting next to dad watching Star Trek episodes on TV. So when this book came across my desk, I decided to give it a read. It is really a great read and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading different kinds of science fiction. Each author - and each story - are very different and the artwork that the illustrators did were beautiful. What an awesome idea to put all of these together every year, giving these authors the opportunity to get thei ...more
Juliet
Apr 07, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This was a great collection! Very original stories from authors with a diverse range of imagination. There was great zombie story by Orson Scott Card and a robot story from Mike Resnick.

There was such a wide variety of stories, it is difficult to descirbe the book susinctly! But I can say, that each story grabbed me from the get go, and I did not want to put it down until I finished it. Great read.

Good luck to this year's winners. The future of Science Fiction and Fantasy is certainly bright!
Thomas
Apr 05, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: tom-s-picks
This year’s historic 30th anniversary anthology also marks the 25th anniversary of the Illustrators of the Future contest. I was a guest at the awards ceremony in Hollywood and met the talented creators of Writers of the Future Volume 30. In all of thirty years each anthology has become a collector’s item, and this year the anthology was published in a larger paperback format and featuring full-color illustrations. It’s a beautiful book, and the stories and illustrations are all top-notch creati ...more
Mike
Apr 06, 2014 rated it really liked it
I received this book via Netgalley from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

The Writers of the Future contest is held in high regard within the SFF field, largely because of the many fine writers who have had a boost to their early careers through it and the prominence of the judges (and despite its association with L. Ron Hubbard, of which more later). This volume contains some excellently-written stories, some of which weren't to my taste but were well done anyway.

I'll go through t
...more
David Caldwell
I won a copy on Goodreads Firstreads.

This collection represents the 30th year of the L.Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest (and the 25th year for the Illustrators of the Future Contest). It comprises the 3 winners of each quarter and the grand prize winner of the year. In addition to these 13 stories. it also has bonus stories from Orson Scott Card, Mike Resnick, and L.Ron Hubbard and 3 essays on writing and illustrating. Of course all of the stories are illustrated by the winners of the i
...more
Tabby Shiflett
4.5 Stars
A great compilation of speculative fiction by new (or newer) Sci-Fi/Fantasy writers. The short stories included are wonderful and remind me so much of pulp magazine stories from a bygone era. The readers will be thinking about some of these novellas long after they have finished the book. Although all the works are creative, moving, and well-written, I really enjoyed Rainbows for Other Days, Robots Don't Cry, The Shaadi Exile, The Pushbike Legion, and Memories Bleed Beneath the Mask. Th
...more
Daniel (Attack of the Books!) Burton
The thing about I like about short stories is that you don't have to commit much to get a certain amount of satisfaction.

Any novel worth reading will spend a certain portion of time introducing conflict, stringing together a plot, creating characters and relationships, and, if were in science fiction or fantasy, building a world. After all, in these genres, the world is as much a character as the characters all. It's what makes science fiction different from science fact.

With a short story, you
...more
Teressa Morris
May 10, 2014 rated it really liked it
Last year, I was given the opportunity to review Writers of the Future Volume 28 and Volume 29.  I loved them both so much!!  I was beyond excited when I was asked to review this year's edition, Volume 30.
As usual, the stories were all first-rate.  My favorites from the contest winners were Animal by Terry Madden, about the last zoo in the world, and The Shaadi Exhile by Amanda Forest.  How would the concept of an arranged marriage work over light years?
In addition, there was another batch of i
...more
Bruce Deming
Apr 05, 2014 rated it really liked it
This is a superb anthology.

There are a lot of humanistic and environmental themes in this Writer's of the Future Volume 30.

I drove a taxi for years and Orsen Scott Card's CAROUSEL, a special feature story from one of the judges, can be read for enjoyment or read on a broader analogy of 'disenfranchisement.'

The attitudes and drama of his formerly living resurrected ghost people
seem to match quite closely if not exactly attitudinally those living but disenfranchised by such social disruptions as
...more
Christopher
May 04, 2014 rated it really liked it
Writers of the Future is a great collection of very promising writers and artists. I enjoyed most of the stories a lot. I'm not really into hard core science fiction so I couldn't really get into some of the darker sci-fi.

I figured it would be best for me to give a 1-5 star rating of the individual stories.

"Another Range of Mountains", by Megan E. O'Keefe *****

"Shifter", by Paul Eckheart **

"Beneath the Surface of Two Kills", by Shauna O'Meara **

"Animal", by Terry Madden *****

"Rainbows for Other
...more
Gabrielle
Apr 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I received a copy of this book Free from the Good-Reads First-Reads program. I loved this book!! This is the first Science Fiction book that I have ever read and I honestly couldn't get enough. Every story took me on a new adventure with new characters. I simply could not stop reading! The two stories that stand out for me are Long Jump by Oleg Kazantsev and Robots Don't Cry by Mike Resnick. However, all the stories are fantastic and I cannot wait to read more Sci-Fi!! I think Orson Scott Card s ...more
Lesa Neace
Sep 25, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I've been reading the Writers of the Future anthologies for many years. This one did not disappoint. Though the quality of the stories do vary (as it does in any anthology pursuant to each reader’s personal taste) this is a solid entry in the series. As these stories are by mostly new authors we can also look forward to more to come.
Margaret Fisk
Aug 14, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: reviewed
Originally published on Tales to Tide You Over

As with any collection, there were stories here that worked better for me than others, but all of them had some aspect that appealed. It was an overall strong grouping with a few exceptional ones. Collections are difficult to review as a whole, so I’ll just put my reactions to the stories below. I only commented on one of the essays, but the personal narratives of those involved in the contest were interesting to read. You will note that I don’t comm
...more
Coolcurry
May 17, 2014 rated it liked it
Writers of the Future is a contest for new or amateur writers of science fiction and fantasy. It’s an entirely legitimate contest – there’s no entrance fee, the prize money is good, and the judges are all professional writers, some of whom I’m already familiar with (Todd McCaffrey, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, and Orson Scott Card were among this issue’s judges). There’s also a parallel contest of Illustrators of the Future, the winners or which were included in this collection.

My biggest umbrage is
...more
David
Jan 21, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: short-stories
This is the first volume of Writers of the Future that I've ever read, and I have to say, it's a pretty solid collection. I hope all of them are this good.

Another Range of Mountains by Megan E. O'Keefe (5/5)
I enjoy all different kinds of short stories, but there are two particular flavors that I really fall for. The first are the kind that feel like modern fairy tales and trick you into thinking they were written long before they actually were. Strange, fragile things like The 13 Clocks by Jame
...more
Meghan Riley
May 05, 2014 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Anyone who loves science fiction short stories.
In 1983, L. Ron Hubbard created the Writers of the Future Contest to help discover and nurture aspiring new science fiction writers by giving them a workshop for developing their skills and the opportunity to be professionally published. Since then, it has expanded to include its companion contest, Illustrators of the Future, and an impressive list of well-known judges compiled throughout the years. This year’s Writers of the Future anthology marks the 30th year of the publication (the 25th year ...more
Anthony
Jul 01, 2014 rated it really liked it
I found it hard to try and write a review of Writer's of the Future, Vol. 30. Because books like these use stories from multiple authors, you cannot approach reviewing the book as you would if you were to review a novel written by a single person. Each writer has their own style of writing, each with their own pros and cons. The point of these anthologies is to give the reader a wide range of writers and give them a sampling of what type of stories are out there. In the case of Writers of the Fu ...more
Jaki
May 11, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review and more at http://tangledbookmarks.com

*I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I’ve mentioned before that anthologies by various authors can be a real hit’n’miss affair. You may find a couple of stories that you love, and the rest you hate. So how do you rate an anthology volume? Is finding three stories that you totally love and discovering new authors worth the book? Or d
...more
Craig
Apr 25, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads, 2014
*free copy received from publisher in exchange for an honest review*

I believe this is the first time that I can honestly say that I enjoyed every story in a compilation book. My overall rating would be a 4 1/2 stars. Each author, new to the craft with a couple of notable exceptions, created future worlds wonderfully. They made me feel and breathe the worlds. If I hadn't know better I would have sworn they were veteran authors.

I personally much prefer the trade paperback format the publisher has
...more
Tara
May 06, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I was very impressed by the quality of writing found within this book. It can sometimes be hit-or-miss with multi-author anthologies (or even single author anthologies), but this one is almost entirely hits.

Obviously what constitutes a good story and good writing is somewhat subjective; if you don’t care for science fiction or fantasy, you probably won’t enjoy most of the stories in Writers of the Future. If you’re a fan of the genre(s), though, you’re in for a treat with this book. I’m a fan o
...more
Shawn
Jul 12, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: owned, sci-fi, giveaways
First off, I have to say that I enjoy sci-fi short story anthologies over all, having read various collections of differing themes. Moreover, Having read and enjoyed other editions of Writers of the Future, I was thrilled when offered a copy of the 30th edition.

The publisher has made some changes with this edition which I enjoyed. First off, the copy I have is (large) trade paperback size. This is a great format for not only reading (although it makes the book a big harder to pack), but a bette
...more
Darlene
Apr 01, 2014 rated it it was amazing
An amazing collection of sci-fi/fantasy short stories with beautiful illustrations!
While I felt some of the short stories were "meh", I still was able to find some that were just... epic! There's definitely at least a few short stories in there for everyone, which is why I felt the need to rate this 5 stars. It's hard (rather, "impossible") to please everyone, so I wasn't expecting every short story to please me. In the end, all of them had excellent concepts and kept me thinking and re-writing
...more
Jessica Jett
Apr 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I received this book free of charge through Goodreads First Reads giveaways, this review may contain spoilers.

I absolutely loved this book! I'm so glad that I was lucky enough to get a copy. Also, the bookmark that came with it was greatly appreciated, you can never have too many of those :)

This anthology had such diverse and interesting pieces from talented writers with beautiful artwork to accompany them. Each short story captured my attention and kept it until the very last page. The stories
...more
Tony Parsons
Aug 07, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This year’s 2014 sci-fi winners include approximately 15 original stories by new writers & 16 story-specific illustrations.

The very competitive superstars of sci-fi & fantasy writers return once again.

My favorite: Robots don’t cry (Mike Resnik). My other favorites: Shifter (Paul Eckheart), Animal (Terry Madden), & Giants at the end of the world (Leena Likitalo),

A shout out to all the illustrators’ remarkable work. Seonhee Lim & Andrew Sonea a tie for my favorites.

Awesome book
...more
Angie Lisle
May 21, 2014 rated it really liked it
A collection of science-fantasy/speculative-fiction short stories featuring the winners of the annual Writers and Illustrators of the Future contest.

I enjoyed the majority of stories in this collection. A couple stories couldn't hold my attention but I'm not going to name them because they just weren't my cup of tea. That doesn't mean they won't appeal to others. Each story was well thought out and it shows in the quality of the writing.

I received a free copy of this book from Library Thing in
...more
Sam
May 18, 2014 rated it really liked it
I was lucky enough to win this book through Goodreads Giveaway. Thank you!

It's very difficult to find quality anthologies, and Writers of the Future Volume 30 is definitely one of the few best I've ever read. The creativity of the authors and their ability to stretch the limits of the imagination intrigued me with every story. The authors combined science fiction and fantasy elements within familiar societies, elevating the stories to thought-provoking entertainment. I will definitely be checkin
...more
Jeff Stockett
I received this book for free in exchange for my honest opinion in this review.

The Writers of the Future is an amazing program! This is the second of their collections that I have read, and I am just as impressed as I was with the first. It's so neat that they are able to find amateur writers that can write such quality fiction. This is a truly solid collection of stories from amateurs with a few veterans peppered in as a bonus. (Since it's the 30th anniversary, they had some established writers
...more
janice g. phelan
Some ideas never visited by others and well worth the fantastic read. Thank all of you, writers and illustrators.

This anthology of new writers is totally unique. Imagination was in great supply among all the new writers. This bodes well for all of the avid science fiction and fantasy readers and hopefully all the new writers and illustrators as well. Thank you all for the wonderful readings and the thought processes needed at the end of each tale to figure out what just happened.
Jan Phelan
Temple
...more
Sumit
Mar 18, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: science-fiction
.
Victoria
Feb 20, 2018 rated it liked it
3.5
”Shifters” and ”Robots don’t cry” are two of the stories that made a bigger impression on me.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 next »
  • Writers of the Future: 29 (L Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future)
  • Chasing Vegas
  • Armored
  • Before They Were Giants: First Works from Science Fiction Greats
  • The Crimson Pact Volume 2 (The Crimson Pact #2)
  • The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume 6
  • A Thousand Bayonets
  • Bad Apples: Five Slices of Halloween Horror
  • Warrior Women
  • Unidentified Funny Objects 2 (UFO #2)
  • Lights in the Deep
  • She Speaks to Angels (AngelFire Chronicles, #1)
  • A Lifetime to Die
  • Tales From The SFR Brigade
  • The Alter Ego of Marjorie Primm
  • Specter Spectacular: 13 Ghostly Tales
  • Monstrous Little Voices: New Tales from Shakespeare's Fantasy World
  • Have a Nice Weekend
90 followers
Dave Wolverton (born 1957) is a science fiction author who also goes under the pseudonym David Farland for his fantasy works. He currently lives in St. George, Utah with his wife and five children.

(Wikipedia entry: Dave Wolverton)
More about Dave Wolverton

Fantasy & Science Fiction Deals

  • Bright Smoke, Cold Fire (Bright Smoke, Cold Fire, #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • The Gold-Son
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Trail of Dead (Scarlett Bernard, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Regulars
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Childhood's End
    $8.99 $1.99
  • The Mirror
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Nyxia (The Nyxia Triad, #1)
    $10.99 $1.99
  • The Voyage to Magical North (The Accidental Pirates)
    $5.67 $2.99
  • Raven's Peak (World on Fire, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Swords and Deviltry (Lankhmar, 1)
    $17.99 $1.99
  • Rebel Wing (Rebel Wing #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes, #1)
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The Garden of Stones (Echoes of Empire, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Dracula [Kindle in Motion]
    $1.99 $0.99
  • The Autumn Republic (Powder Mage #3)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Thickety: A Path Begins
    $6.24 $1.99
  • Stinger
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Lost Voices
    $5.99 $2.99
  • The Blade Itself (The First Law, #1)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Extracted (Extracted Trilogy #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity, #1)
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Dragon Haven (Rain Wild Chronicles, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Isle of Blood and Stone
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Spirit Hunters
    $6.99 $1.99
  • Haven (War of the Princes, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Immortal Circus (Cirque des Immortels, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Brilliance (Brilliance Saga, #1)
    $5.49 $1.99
  • The Immortal Circus: Act Two (Cirque des Immortels, #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • A Better World (Brilliance Saga, #2)
    $5.49 $1.99
  • Written in Fire (Brilliance Saga, #3)
    $5.49 $1.99
  • The Immortal Circus: Final Act (Cirque des Immortels, #3)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Secret of the Sirens (The Companions Quartet, #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Ocean of Storms
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Sword of Shannara Trilogy (Shannara, #1-3)
    $19.99 $2.99
  • Artful
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Till We Have Faces: A Myth Retold
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Beautiful Darkness (Caster Chronicles, #2)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Chains of Command (Frontlines, #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Angles of Attack (Frontlines, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Lines of Departure (Frontlines, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Now I Rise (The Conqueror's Saga #2)
    $10.99 $1.99
  • Into the Dim
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Terms of Enlistment (Frontlines #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Altered Carbon (Takeshi Kovacs, #1)
    $11.99 $2.99
  • Kull: Exile of Atlantis
    $8.99 $2.99
  • Fury (Blur Trilogy #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Oryx and Crake (MaddAddam, #1)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Gears of War  Aspho Fields
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Midnight Robber
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Taken (Taken, #1)
    $2.99 $0.99
  • Lion of Senet (Second Sons Trilogy, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • The Third Kingdom (Sword of Truth Book 13)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Pillars of Creation (Sword of Truth, #7)
    $8.99 $2.99
  • Severed Souls (Sword of Truth)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Phantom (Sword of Truth, #10)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • City
    $7.99 $1.99
  • The First Confessor: The Legend of Magda Searus (Richard and Kahlan)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Confessor (Sword of Truth, #11)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Faith of the Fallen (Sword of Truth, #6)
    $8.99 $2.99
  • Naked Empire (Sword of Truth, #8)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Debt of Bones (Sword of Truth)
    $6.99 $2.99
  • Warheart: Sword of Truth - The Conclusion (Richard and Kahlan)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Omen Machine (Richard and Kahlan, #1)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Chainfire (Sword of Truth, #9)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • You Suck (A Love Story, #2)
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The Chocolate Touch
    $6.99 $1.99
  • Storm (Elemental, #1)
    $6.99 $1.99
  • A Perfect Blood (The Hollows, #10)
    $6.99 $1.99
  • Mama Day
    $17.99 $1.99
  • Dreamfall (Dreamfall #1)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Imitation (Clone Chronicles #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Infinite
    $5.99 $2.49
  • Boundary Lines (Boundary Magic, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Mermaid's Sister
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Space Between Heartbeats (Betwixt #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Boundary Crossed (Boundary Magic, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Boundary Born (Boundary Magic, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Warded Man (Demon Cycle, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Kissed by Darkness (Sunwalker Saga, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Dragon Marked (Supernatural Prison, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Blood Kissed (Lizzie Grace, #1)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • A Glimmer of Hope (The Avalon Chronicles #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Celia and the Fairies
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Best Served Cold (First Law World, #4)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Valor (The Faithful and the Fallen, #2)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Last One
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Genesis
    $11.99 $1.99
  • To Honor You Call Us (Man of War, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Hunter's Trail (Scarlett Bernard, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Abyss Beyond Dreams (Commonwealth: Chronicle of the Fallers, #1)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Wool: The Graphic Novel
    $7.99 $2.99
  • And I Darken (The Conqueror's Saga, #1)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Ticker
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Barsk: The Elephants' Graveyard (Barsk, #1)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Dead Spots (Scarlett Bernard #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Concealed (Lakewood, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
“One ought to have some sort of transcendent realization that the world exists because the gods are trapped in the same abyss you've occupied for three years. It should be inspiring or comforting or, I don't know, cathartic.” 0 likes
More quotes…