Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Bridge to Cross (Throckmorton Family #3)” as Want to Read:
A Bridge to Cross (Throckmorton Family #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

A Bridge to Cross

(Throckmorton Family #3)

by
4.43  ·  Rating details ·  46 ratings  ·  27 reviews
This is an ACE for ISBN10:1494972824 A Bridge to Cross

"A Bridge To Cross" is a historical fiction set in 1927. The story begins in Buffalo, NY when the lives of young, vigorous Leopold Throckmorton and vivacious Phryne Truffaut are driven to drastic change by deception, betrayal and violence. Phryne and Leopold have kept steady company for almost two years, and are a dynam
...more
Paperback, 256 pages
Published January 14th 2014 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Bridge to Cross, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A Bridge to Cross

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.43  · 
Rating details
 ·  46 ratings  ·  27 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of A Bridge to Cross (Throckmorton Family #3)
Edward Hackemer
Feb 16, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Goodreads asks the author for a review of their work:
Here it is!
Of course, it's a biased review.
I wrote it then read it.
Lots of times.

This is book #3 of the Throckmorton Family Novels. It's the story of two brothers, Nicholas and Leopold, and how crime, tragedy and love shape their lives and those of their friends and loved ones.
Stacy
Mar 02, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Well this is the 4th book I have read of the "Throckmorton Family" series, and I have enjoyed them all so far. This particular book delved into the early days of Leopold and Phryne's relationship-- from seriously dating into marriage during the Prohibition era. Prior to marriage, they would sneak over the Canadian border with friend Eloisa and her beau Dillon. (I didn't like Dillon at all-- I don't think anyone would-- he was a huge jerk.), to the nightlife in Niagra Falls where alcohol was stil ...more
Sharon Huether
Mar 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: historical-novel
The title has a lot to say in this story. The characters crossed this bridge from Buffalo to Canada; left in a rush amid a hail of bullets. Later one of the characters returns to find a job and lose himself in a crowd of humanity. This book really is the beginning of this story of family and friends. After a horrid loss of life in a fire , one of the brothers goes to Canada for work. The other brother along with his girlfriend takes a train to California for a new life. Great book. I loved how t ...more
Tina Smith
Sep 16, 2020 rated it liked it
First let me say I wish there were 1/2 stars. This is a 3.5 to 4 stars. This book although fiction, to me read more like a historical memoir. The story takes place in the roaring twenties during the time of the Prohibition. It’s is a love story amidst some conflict in the beginning that involves a whiskey run that prompts Leopold and Phryne’s elopement to California. Starting at Buffalo and headed across the country by train they begin their new life together on the run.
This book is part of a s
...more
Sophie Dufort
May 12, 2014 rated it really liked it
A review copy was provided by the author in return for an honest review.
I recently read and reviewed ‘In A Cream Packard’ by the same author. In spite of my lengthy criticism of that novel, the author did not back down, instead requesting reviews of two other books that he wrote. Few authors take criticism well, and I truly appreciate Edward in this regard.
‘A bridge to cross’ has stirred my interest for several reasons. To start with, I was very curious to see how Edward’s writing has evolved.
...more
Mkittysamom
Mar 16, 2014 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Roaring 20's decade history, anyone who is curious about Alex's father and family
Shelves: historical, series
Wow! Alex Throckmorton's family was really interesting! I hope we get to find out more about Leopolde's family! This story was a fun read, width mystery, murder and mayhem in the roaring 20's! I am amazed at the prices of food, hotels, toiletries, trains, etc. I see the theme in all the cars the three P's! There is so much packed into this novel, and the details are extraordinary! I loved the cd that came with it as well! All around awesome!

Re Read-1-29-2016
I was jilted.. Because in the 3rd book
...more
Peter Difatta
Apr 05, 2015 rated it really liked it
A Bridge to Cross

For anyone who has an intense interest in the 1920s period, you will find this an extremely interesting read. The author obviously has a thorough grasp of the details of the period including dress, buildings, trains and train stations and other transportation, everyday accessories, and just about anything else from that time. It is well written, and the author paints a vivid picture of the characters and their surroundings. I was drawn in and willing to ride along with the two c
...more
Antoinette Famiano
I really liked the book. I took you back to the Roaring 20's with the many detailed accounts. The story line was great, but the tragedy that occurred in the story was sad. I think it had a great ending. I would like to read more about Phyrne, Leopold and Nicholas as their lives continue.
Debbi DuBose
A Bridge to Cross is the third book in the "Throckmorton Family Novels". The author, Edward Hackemer, takes us back to 1927 Buffalo, New York. We find Nicholas "Nick" Throckmorton, a character familiar to those who've read: A Cream Colored Packard and Katydid, living with his mother and three sisters. He is all of 19 years old, and unbeknownst to him; his life is about to take a 180 degree turn. This book will help you better understand how the boy, Nicholas became the man, Nick. However, this n ...more
Nikki Sue
Dec 09, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: submissions
A Bridge to Cross by Edward Hackemer started off slow in what I believe was an effort to get the reader acquainted with the characters. The dialogue felt forced through the first chapter but from there on A Bridge to Cross enraptured me, feeling like I was right alongside Phryne and Leopold. This historical romance novel, set in the 1920’s, is a whirlwind of adventure and emotions. The story follows two young lover’s journey running for their lives away from their home in Buffalo, New York after ...more
Jayna
Mar 11, 2015 rated it liked it
I'm struggling with writing a concise review. I have a lot of random thoughts floating through my head.

Especially in the beginning, I feel like the setting was really the main character. It was very detailed. Some people will love that about this book. For me, I found it to be too detailed. After a while I began skimming parts.

I found the story interesting and sad. I was honestly more interested in Nick and his story than anyone else.

Overall, I liked a lot of things, but there were also some th
...more
Kathy
Mar 27, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
OK, so it started with a slow read, or maybe I just could not get into it, but I picked it up again a few days ago, and read right through it. Now I am waiting to find and read Dollar to Doughnut!
I did not like the guy that got killed, was glad he left the story, was sorry that the brother did not find the car.
But, I did like the book as a whole. The CD, I am not a big fan of, maybe I need to re-listen to it now that I have been able to read the book.
Over all, this is a very good story, it bri
...more
Suzanne
Jan 27, 2015 rated it really liked it
I won this book on Goodreads! What a great story from the Roaring Twenties! It is humorous, informative, suspenseful, and thoroughly entertaining!
The story starts out on a light note, following two couples who appear to be your normal young adults of this decade, daring to seek fun and adventure by crossing the Canadian border to take advantage of the younger drinking age and dancing on week-ends.. (I, myself can remember doing the same about four decades later!!)
Soon, the fun and frolic turns
...more
Annette
Jan 27, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
Thank you Edward Hackemer, Goodreads and Amazon. I received a copy through Goodreads. Thoroughly enjoyed reading the third book in the series.
The story takes place during the Roaring Twenties and Prohibition in the United States where there was a national ban on beer and liquor. Canada did not have a ban.
Starts in Buffalo, NY where four friends would get together and travel to Canada to the Lafayette Hotel ballroom to dance and drink.
Phryne and Leopold who are deceived by their friend Dillon w
...more
Alice
Mar 14, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Thank you Edward for this book. I loved it. Right from the beginning the characters and places were vivid in my mind as you described each of them. I was able to clearly picture the scenes you set throughout this book. There was lots of action and adventure. I liked that this book was not full of profanity and there was enough romance without all the unnecessary details. I grew up north of Detroit so I enjoyed reading of the young man's travels through there and the historical details you wrote ...more
Kathy
Oct 19, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I received an ARC in exchange for a honest review. This is the first book I have read by Edward Hackemer and it won't be my last! This is the first book in the Throckmorton Family Series and it transported me to 1927 with it's language, detailed descriptions of transportation, food and dress. I loved Leopold and Phryne's story as well as Leopold's younger brother Nicholas' own hardships during this definitive time in our history. Beautifully and expertly written. A nostalgic and remarkable journ ...more
Cathy
Jan 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: first-reads
I really enjoyed this travel back in time to the 1920s. It felt authentic, written from experience, rather than from what the author has seen in movies. It took a little while to warm up to some of the characters, but it was clear from the start that Phryne and Leopold had the special relationship we all dream of.

I am looking forward to devouring the next book very soon. Thanks to the author who sent me a copy of this book and Dollar to Doughnut in spite of not winning the Goodreads First-reads
...more
Kathy
Oct 31, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A Nostalgic Trip to Depression-Era!

I received an ARC in exchange for a honest review. This is the first book I have read by Edward Hackemer and it won't be my last! This book transported me to 1927 with it's language, detailed descriptions of transportation, food and dress. I loved Leopold and Phryne's story as well as Leopold's younger brother Nicholas' own hardships during this definitive time in our history. Beautifully and expertly written. A nostalgic and remarkable journey that will touch
...more
Melissa B
May 19, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
What a fun, engrossing story!
With my parents from the Niagara Region, much of the setting was familiar to me. My Dad lived there in that era.
This book had it all: gangsters, murder, love, history!
The details of this era of the late 1920's seemed to be accurate; language, dress, transportation.... all seemed authentic.
The storyline pulled me in, but left me hanging at the end! I want to read more about the characters. I want to read more from this author!
Kathy Heare Watts
A historical romance set in the roaring twenties with Phryne Truffaut and Leopold Throckmorton.

I have this on my Kindle but I also won an autographed copy of this book during a Goodreads giveaway. I am under no obligation to leave a review or rating and do so voluntarily. So that others may also enjoy this book, I am paying it forward by donating it to my local library.
msleighm
Jul 18, 2014 rated it really liked it
4 stars.
 
Sent to me by the author in exchange for an honest review. 
 
The research into the time, 1927, and locations around Buffalo and Niagara Falls seemed well researched and I actually felt as though I were there. That's not easy to do, congratulations.
 
The book could use another set of eyes in editing. 
Emily
Jun 17, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
This is a great book! Even though it had tragedy, it was a fun read and an accurate depiction of the Roaring 20's. I'm looking forward to reading more from this author.

I received a copy of this book for free through Goodreads Giveaways.
Midge
Jun 17, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Ed was kind enough to send me a signed copy to get me started in the series. I loved the historical parts. The characters I found to be brave to go through so much and have to start out on their own so young. The book makes me want to read to rest of the series just to see what happens with them.
Renate Dusquesne
Four and three quarter stars ... because I wanted more of Leopold and his girl Phryne.
Loved her! Flapper, flapper, flapper. A good story that goes back in time
and tellss us a little bit about about Alexander's mysterious father Nicholas.
This is part three! I'm half way done!
Gwynn
Jun 27, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Interesting story of life in the late 1920's in Buffalo, New York. Want to read the rest of this series.
Vickie
Mar 16, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: give-away-wins
An amazing read.
Terry
Mar 16, 2014 rated it really liked it
I have thoroughly enjoyed this series. Longer review to follow.
Komal
rated it really liked it
Mar 16, 2014
Jeannie Smalley Baratta
rated it really liked it
Aug 14, 2019
Johann Laesecke
rated it it was amazing
Mar 28, 2017
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Vicious (Sinners of Saint, #1)
  • Fallen King (Court of the Sea Fae, #2)
  • The Peer and the Puppet (When Rivals Play, #1)
  • The Hunter (Boston Belles, #1)
  • Birthday Girl
  • The Air He Breathes (Elements, #1)
  • Dacia Wolf & the Prophecy (Dacia Wolf, #1)
  • String of Pearls (The Mulligan Sisters #3)
  • Cyanide Kisses: The works of a manic, bipolar, dissociative mind.
  • My Secrets are in the Stardust: A book of poetry.
  • Our Song
See similar books…
201 followers
¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
Edward R Hackemer lived in Western New York for 55 years before retiring from government service and moving to North Georgia; roughly halfway between Atlanta & North Carolina.
His college education was abbreviated by induction into the US Army in 1968. Ed's civilian employment history runs from paperboy, dishwasher, paper mill laborer, laboratory technician, warehous
...more

Other books in the series

Throckmorton Family (6 books)
  • In a Cream Packard (Throckmorton Family #1)
  • The Katydid Effect (Throckmorton Family #2)
  • Dollar to Doughnut (Throckmorton Family #4)
  • The Flying Phaeton (Throckmorton Family #5)
  • Sangria Sunsets (Throckmorton Family #6)

Related Articles

Let’s face it, 2020 is making us long for other timelines. Luckily, these 32 novels are ready to sweep you away to vastly different eras and...
169 likes · 145 comments