Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Grave Beginnings (The Grave Report, #1)” as Want to Read:
Grave Beginnings (The Grave Report, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Grave Beginnings

(The Grave Report #1)

by
4.42  ·  Rating details ·  1,381 ratings  ·  239 reviews
-- Winner of Best Book of 2015 A Drop of Ink Reviews

Thirteen...

As far as numbers go, it isn't a great one. Hell, it's not even a good one and Vincent Graves is going to find out just how unlucky of a number it can be.
Because someone, or something, is killing people in the Empire state, and whatever it is, it gives people everything they ever desired and more. And it's t
...more
Kindle Edition, 310 pages
Published December 19th 2013 by Amazon Digital Services
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.42  · 
Rating details
 ·  1,381 ratings  ·  239 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Grave Beginnings (The Grave Report, #1)
Skye Hegyes
Sep 16, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2017
I've read and loved the first few Dresden Files books as well as the show Quantum Leap, which a lot of people are comparing this series too, and I must admit that it kinda intimidated me to think about it because I wasn't quite certain how it would work out. Still, the concept and the blurb hooked me and so I finally sat down to read it.

Loved it! Monsters based on mythological lore, believable details about how supernatural entities live along-side humans and a kick-ass, smart-ass character who
...more
Shelly McDonagh
Sep 14, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Oh my god, Jim Butcher wearing a fancy pirate outfit and hat sold me this book at DragonCon, and he got the author to sign it for me.

It was hyped as Jim's Dresden Files meets Quantum Leap, and it delivers. It's hilarious, full of action, and really reminds me of Storm Front, except the main character isn't a wizard, he's a soul without a body. Vincent Graves wakes up in the bodies of people killed by monsters and has to use their bodies, minds, and skills to solve their murders.

It's a fresh tak
...more
Montzalee Wittmann
Grave Beginnings
Grave Report, Book 1
By: R.R. Virdi
Narrated by: Travis Baldree
I was immediately hooked on this story and stayed intrigued until the very end! Vincent Graves is the main character who comes into the story in the most unusual fashion, by coffin! This guy's soul is put in recently deceased people who have been killed. Not just killed like the Butler with the candlestick in the parlor! No, killed by supernatural creatures or means! He is a supernatural hunter. He is given a time limit
...more
Chris
May 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing
R.R. Virdi has managed to craft a story that is thrilling, accessible, and intelligent without forgetting that these types of books are supposed to be, above all, fun. Grave Beginnings is instantly fun and thrilling in the first paragraph and doesn't stop until the end.

First of all the plot is wonderful in its simplicity, it doesn't try to bash you over with exposition like some eBook authors have a tendency to do. He shoves you right into the plot and expects you to keep up and figure the worl
...more
Ariane Galloway
Apr 20, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Just like you can't look at lobsters the same way after biology class, you can't look at others' writing the same way once it's what you spend your time doing. It's kind of a curse. But, once in a while, a story exceeds your expectations and makes you forget to take your writerly notes and just enjoy it. The Grave Report is one of those stories! I loved the main character's sense of humor through all that he goes through, showing he's been in tighter places than this. But even a seasoned, accomp ...more
Casey Griffith
Jul 11, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Grave Beginnings is a high octane adventure that keeps the hits coming from page one. Most Urban Fantasy books have close to the same gimmicks. Wizards, Witches, Vampire Hunters.

R.R. Virdi, though, gives a unique protagonist that can take a hit as good as Harry Dresden, has the smarts of Anita Blake, and the tenacity to keep going to the very end.

The Antagonist also ends up being a unique being who throws our Hero some curve balls in his search for answers and it doesn't help that our Heroes bo
...more
Malinda
May 12, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I absolutely love paranormal reads I'm what you would call a paranormal fangirl, but they were becoming boring and repetitive. Grave Beginnings reawakened my love and passion for this particular genre. The plot and concept grabbed me right from the start.I could not turn the pages fast enough. In this story we follow a soul stuck in limbo who calls himself Vincent Graves a paranormal investigator. He is tasked with solving the murders of those killed by the supernatural by inhabiting their bodie ...more
Abby Tennyson
Jun 04, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: urban-fantasy
This book is what made me fall in love with urban fantasy. As an introduction to the genre, to the Grave Report series, and to R. R. Virdi's work, "Grave Beginnings" is edge of your seat storytelling that I couldn't put down the moment I started. The characters have just enough snark to balance the dangerous situations with humor; the pace is set steadily, with enough of a suspenseful slow burn to keep my attention and never guess what's coming around the corner.

Highly recommend this book and se
...more
Jessica
Dec 10, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Right from the opening chapter I was grabbed by the collar and thrown into a wild ride of a story. This was a really, really fun read! The concept was unique and that opening chapter was the perfect way to introduce us to Vincent Graves. Graves (not his real name) is a paranormal investigator who soul hops into the bodies of those murdered/killed through supernatural means. His task is to solve the crime, but there's a catch! He has only a certain amount of time to break the case. In this story ...more
Sara Mefford
Sep 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Every Jim Butcher fan needs to read this book! I bought a copy from the same booth he was signing at at DragonCon and he recommended it!

Anything good enough for him is good enough for me. It follows a lot in his vein and writing style. It's hilarious first person dialogue that's reminiscient of Harry Dresden without being a copy like so many others cropping up in the genre. Vincent Graves is unique, an amalgamation of so many other memories, thoughts, and quirks from the people he's inhabited. T
...more
Charlene
Dec 18, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: everyone
Grave Beginnings is the start to what I hope becomes a new successful paranormal series. Break neck pacing, cutting witty dialogue and boundless sarcasm. What's not to love? The main character is a disembodied soul named Vincent Graves, but wait, that's not his real name! It's one he's conjured up himself. He's forgotten his own name and identity. Why? Because he's a soul forced to hop into the bodies of those murdered by monsters. His job, obvious! He takes over the bodies of those recently kil ...more
Larry Brickwell
Aug 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The next jim butcher. Is going to be a blowup new york times best-seller? I'm not sure, but I can hope. Virdi I think is going to do what Butcher did for urban fantasy and breathe some fresh air into the genre. Sure, his first book is like Storm Front in quality. It's a little rough, but the story is all there and deserves a glowing five. It makes up for the few things I noticed like in Butcher's first book: a few redundant lines through chapters, some ramblings, but it's first person, so that h ...more
Leslie
Feb 17, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
As intrigued as I was by the blurb, I have to say, it did the job of drawing interest while revealing nothing of the impending adventure awaiting!

Vincent Graves typically begins each of his countless lives in a grave. His body died long ago, but his soul lives on at the behest of a higher power that commissions him to inhabit a recently-deceased-by-mysterious-supernatural-causes body and interact with beings of supernatural lore to solve the murder and catch the killer.

Oh, and he has a time limi
...more
Larry  Loveday
Jan 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Fun and quick read

First foray into urban fantasy, and to be honest it was a great ride. The main character is a bit of a smart a, something I've been accused of more than once, and I found myself really pulling for him. Enjoyed it and I look forward to reading the next two installments in the series.
...more
Matthew Dale
Jan 04, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Holy Urban Fantasy Batman!

This is exactly what I wanted. The characters are amazing, and believable. Their dialogue is what I would hope people would say while fighting the supernatural, instead of the almost comical TBS grade censoring you get on t.v.

It's funny, dark, tragic, frightening and did I mention funny? Because holy crap was I laughing at Vincent a lot.

The story is also unique. Right from the first paragraph it is clear this is not the average "hardboiled, supernatural detective, film
...more
C.D. Coffelt
Mar 10, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Vincent Graves probably isn’t his real name. But he’s used it so many years he’d forgotten his own. He’s a soul and he investigates murders using memories of the deceased.

This latest case is driving him bonkers though. Someone is trying to kill him. Again.

Fast paced, humorous, with action and drama on every page and paragraph, this paranormal thriller is reminiscent of one of my all-time favorite authors. I absolutely agree with one of the reviews. This is like Jim Butcher’s The Dresden Files b
...more
Zara Chapman
May 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Really good book

Since page 1, I was drawn into the story. Not my type of book, but it was a great book. It was amazing, and I was drawn in by every page. Already have the 2nd book, and really cannot wait to start reading it :) great read 10/10
Bonnie Dale Keck
Kindle Unlimited, didn't notice reviews until after because 1 never look for them and 2 personal opinion of other reviwers is just that AND for those reviews that don't actually say why they did or did not like a book are useless. In my case, I read though only part of it on ku...THEN stopped and BOUGHT the book, and will look in to getting the others. It is somewhat like Butcher, and it somewhat like Quantum Leap {I should know, watched every episone, all of them more than once} and even a touc ...more
J.D. Cunegan
Sep 17, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I hardly ever breeze through books anymore. That's not an indictment of the quality of the books I read, but between a full-time job, writing/editing three manuscripts at once, and several other interests, it takes a bit to hold my interest and focus enough to actually tackle something on my TBR list.

But Grave Beginnings sucked me in immediately, and I found myself reading one of the best, most interesting murder mysteries I've read in a long, long time. R.R. Virdi has created a fantastic world
...more
Kelly Cox
Jul 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This book had bee hooked from the first page. The concept is original but familiar at the same time. The pace of the book was good over all. Although a couple places dragged. The mystery was complex enough I almost didn't figure it out. It was close though.

I loved the character of Graves. You can tell that he was well thought out. Church is a wonderful sidekick type. The interactions between them were some of my favorites.

My only compliant is there isn't another book. I would love to read more
...more
Jennifer
Vincent Graves has a rather interesting "job". He wakes up in someone's dead body and has to solve which supernatural being killed the person. This time around he finds himself in the body of Norman, a curator at the museum. Vincent is just beginning to piece together what happened to Norman, when things start trying to kill him, drawing the FBI's attention to him. He teams up with Agent Ortiz who is curious about the supernatural world. Together, they solve the case. Yay.

I liked the premise of
...more
Mina Jameson
Aug 24, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I see the Jim Butcher Dresden comparisons in the novel. They're fair to make, however, the book and author do carry their own voice, so I'll address that. It has the similar first person, and snarky tone that's common in first novels in the urban fantasy genre. I'm saying this having read book two. There's some roughness: repetition, a bit too much snark in places (not a bad thing if you like that and wiseass characters), some waffling on some parts, but it's minor. Reads more like first publish ...more
Sarah
Sep 23, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
*Received Free during a promotion*

I got this book in exchange for an honest review. Where to start? First person is not something I'm used to and it was a bit jarring at first. Pretty soon though I was caught up in it. It's like reading a comic honestly. You get descriptions of what's going on as well as the main characters thoughts and point of view on things. It took a while but now I'm a fan.

Honestly I thought this book was a mystery at first and very quickly it started seeming like Buffy o
...more
Barbara Groh
Mar 28, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I fell in love with this book and feel so sorry for Vincent, the main character, I didn't know an author could be so cruel to their characters! Poor Vincent is a man with serious memory issues, so like most men. He is a soul who if forced to go into the bodies of people murdered by monsters, solve their murders for them all while trying to figure out what killed him in the first place. He's done it so much that he's collected so many of other peoples memories, that he doesn't have any left of hi ...more
Amy Lancaster
Sep 14, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Reminds of an old anime: Yu-yu Hakasho. The main character (Vincent Graves) is someone who was murdered sometime ago (we're not given the time as uncovering this is part of the series plot it seems) and left as nothing but a soul. Some higher power forces him to inhabit the bodies of others killed like him and use their restored bodies to pursue the paranormal creatures that killed them.

It's a very interesting premise. The series feel touches notes upon many others in the genre: The Dresden Fil
...more
Anthony
Jan 05, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A touch of Quantum Leap, a dash of Dresden Files and Person of Interest makes Grave Beginnings Excellent Beginnings for any fan of the noir investigator genres, detective fans and people who like their action/monsters.

It fulfills on every level. I came across this after my daughter dragged me out to Dragon Con. Okay, maybe I dragged her out. It was nominated there alongside Jim Butcher and Larry Correia, two names people know well in the genre.

If the second book in the series was nominated next
...more
Elizabeth
Jun 13, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: EVERYONE
This book is absolutely fantastic! This was an absolutely amazing story! I couldn't put it down. I would recommend this book to anyone! The character interactions are fantastic and I LOVE this pop culture references (STILL NOT A GINGER!) EVERYONE should read this book. ...more
G
Jun 03, 2017 rated it it was ok
What do you get when you join some big community and make a review for review deal?
A below mediocre book with about 4.5 rating on goodreads.

The bit about communities and reviews for reviews is just conjecture on my part, especially after going through most comments with 5 stars where other authors have posted links to their blogs etcetera.

The review may contain some spoilers so you may not want to read after this point.

There is a lot that's wrong with this book.
Vincent Graves is a horribly writ
...more
Katherine Hollins
Aug 17, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Fast paced, hard hitting, witty and snarky. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, I will say off the bat that there were a few editing mistakes that looked like word's spell check rewrote them but it didn't detract from the novel in the slightest. I've found errors in traditional hardbacks so for a 99 cent ebook I let it slide. Now for why I enjoyed the story, SPOILERS!!!!!


The story was truly unique and I loved how it was pulled off. Vincent Graves ( the protagonist) is a soul without a body, you're
...more
Bwkwrm
Apr 03, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I've never ever read anything like this novel before and that is a great thing! It was so different, a blend of science fiction, supernatural and mystery. It is very much it's own unique wonderful world that seems so much like ours. This novel gave me the sense that I could walk down the street and at any moment, my world could change into one with monsters and magic. Its set in modern day new york and follows the cases of Vincent Graves. He's a soul without a body. We don't know what killed him ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
The Sword and Laser: Grave Beginnings- Paranormal detective 1 27 Sep 30, 2015 04:54PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Forged (Alex Verus, #11)
  • Blood Tally (Valkyrie Collections, #2)
  • In Plain Sight (Arcane Casebook #1)
  • Tombyards & Butterflies (Montague & Strong Case Files #1)
  • Crimes Against Magic (Hellequin Chronicles, #1)
  • Ballistic Kiss (Sandman Slim, #11)
  • The Long Way Down (Daniel Faust, #1)
  • The Devil You Know (Felix Castor, #1)
  • Battle Ground (The Dresden Files, #17)
  • Rhythm of War (The Stormlight Archive, #4)
  • A Time for Witches (The Ghosts of Gotham Saga, #2)
  • The Roach
  • Peace Talks (The Dresden Files, #16)
  • Baron Steele
  • Redemption Song (Daniel Faust, #2)
  • Game of Cages (Twenty Palaces, #2)
  • Second Chance Bear (Return to Bear Creek #22)
  • Born of Hatred (Hellequin Chronicles, #2)
See similar books…
117 followers
R.R. Virdi is a two-time Dragon Award finalist and a Nebula Award finalist. He is the author of two urban fantasy series, The Grave Report, and The Books of Winter. The author of the LitRPG/portal fantasy series, Monster Slayer Online. And the author of a space western/sci fi series, Shepherd of Light. He has worked in the automotive industry as a mechanic, retail, and in the custom gaming compute ...more

Other books in the series

The Grave Report (3 books)
  • Grave Measures (The Grave Report #2)
  • Grave Dealings (The Grave Report, #3)

News & Interviews

Happy Women's History Month! One of the undisputedly good things about modern scholarship is that women’s history is finally getting its due....
64 likes · 10 comments
“Every winter it snows and rains as it always has, but every time it does, people forget how to drive, despite having lived there all their lives.” 1 likes
“There was a part of my brain that wanted to ask if his wife had a beard, verify my theory. I told that part of my brain to shut up.” 1 likes
More quotes…