Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Sword of Demelza” as Want to Read:
The Sword of Demelza
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Sword of Demelza

by
4.35  ·  Rating details ·  37 ratings  ·  23 reviews
Cynric, King of Demelza, is haunted by his past. In an effort to escape it, he wields a powerful sword, commanding his dragon lizards and a malevolent thylacine, to wreak havoc throughout the realm. Villages are burning and innocent creatures are dying.

Erik and Emma, two young marsupials, and Devon, an orphaned red fox, are on their own personal quests; two to save a life,
...more
Paperback, 338 pages
Published by Acadia Publishing Group, LLC (first published April 5th 2013)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Sword of Demelza, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Sword of Demelza

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.35  · 
Rating details
 ·  37 ratings  ·  23 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Brenda
Devon, a red fox, had known sadness in his short life. But witnessing a further tragedy caused by evil dragon lizards meant he needed to avenge his losses. A powerful king and the owner of the sword ruled the Fortress Demelza and the surrounding countryside. His orders to his minions were to destroy the villages by fire, in turn killing many of the peaceful creatures who lived there.

Erik and Emma, siblings and young marcupials called kowaris were full of fun and life. Hunting berries for their m
...more
Fizza
Jan 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: children-books
An entertaining as well as informative read for children. It's about the wild life of Australia. Although the book is meant for children, I enjoyed it just as much as any child will.
As we embark on an adventure with Erik and Emma, two kowaris, many unexpected things happen. They are both on a quest to save their mother. She has been bitten by a brown snake and now they need certain ingredients to make a potion which will revive her. Aldon (the keeper of the forest) and Oswin (the owl) are guidin
...more
Diane Robinson
Jun 03, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: children-y-a
A wonderful and brilliant fantasy story that incorporates the characters of the wildlife of Australia, which makes it unique to the genre. An entertaining and educational read that children and adults will thoroughly enjoy. The Sword of Demelza is a well written young adult fantasy with delightful illustrations. A pure joy to read!
Dianne
Join in the journey of two young kowaries as they go in search of a special flower that will save their mother’s life. What is a kowari, you ask? Well, its also known as the brush-tailed marsupial rat and is one of the many fascinating and different animals who live in Australia. The Sword of Demelza by author Jeanne E. Rogers is a fanciful, yet educational tale for middle grade readers that entertains while *secretly* teaches of creatures native to another land, the importance of family, frien ...more
Demelza Carlton
Apr 09, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: children, adventure
My name is Demelza and I'm not missing a sword. Believe me, I checked.

The title of the book caught me…then the setting…and the compelling story was just the icing on the cake. Pretty decadent icing, though.

This one took me longer to read than most books – and it's because every time a new creature or setting popped up, I'd go, "Oooh, I've been there!" or "Ooh, I've seen that," and, quite frequently, "I have a cool photo of that!" The exceptions were gang-gang cockatoos and kowaris. We don't get
...more
Booksniffer Tours
REVIEW OPPORTUNITY from Booksniffer Review Tours: The Sword of Demelza by J.E. Rogers - Middle Grade Fantasy!

Sign Up Here: http://booksnifferreviewtours.blogspo...
Joe Bonadonna
Oct 22, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This book is driven by its characters, with the perfect balance of plot to keep the reader entranced by and invested in the overall story. Unlike so many novels, where formula and tired old clichés drive the story, The Sword of Demelza is something new and fun—partly because the setting, a fully-realized, alternate version of Australia, is so masterfully handled by J. E. Rogers. But it isn’t just the setting that draws you into this novel, like so many deeply woven fantasy stories, although the ...more
Lorinda Taylor
Sep 12, 2014 rated it really liked it
The Sword of Demelza is a dressed animal story – anthropomorphized animals – comparable to The Wind in the Willows, but where Kenneth Grahame’s tale presents familiar British animals like badgers, moles, and toads, The Sword of Demelza utilizes Australian animals, giving it an appealing uniqueness.
It’s a heroic fantasy that incorporates magic as a motivating force, especially good versus evil powers who help the characters to reach their potential. The occasional moral points are never intrusive
...more
Anne (Angel Anne Reviews) Nelson
Firstly I'd like to thank author J.E. Rogers for the opportunity to read this truly amazing, wonderful novel "The Sword of Demelza".

The Sword of Demelza is a middle grade fantasy where the reader will find an array of endangered animal heroes pop right out of the pages, as they journey the Australian landscape as they coms alive!

I absolutely loved the wonderful illustrations that are throughout the book, bringing all the creatures to life. Just amazing!!!

As you read through The Sword of Demelz
...more
Gayle Pace
Nov 16, 2014 rated it it was amazing
REVIEW

This book is made of its characters, a balance that keeps the reader turning the pages and becoming interested in the story overall. This book doesn't have the normal boring cliches that put the story together.THE SWORD OF DEMELZA is different, new and fun. The setting is part of that, a different version of Australia. It'a a lesson about all the endangered species of animals. Simply wonderful for any reader.The author has definitely done a large amount of research and has done her homewor
...more
Lee Dunning
Aug 11, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Yes, I know, this is a young person's book. I picked it up anyway - two reasons. First, the cover grabbed me, I love the fairytale-like art (and there is more throughout the book). Two, it's about Australian animals, and includes info in the back that teaches a bit about them. Even with those two reasons in its favor, I wasn't sure I would like the book - I feared it would be just too young for an adult to enjoy.

No worries, as they say. The action started in the first chapter and didn't let up u
...more
Chuck Miceli
Oct 24, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Stories like Peter Pan and songs like Toyland painfully remind us that once we traverse into the realm of adulthood, we can never again return to our childhood world. Fortunately for the rest of us, writers like Jeanne E. Rogers refuse to believe that. They insist upon inhabiting the world of children and writing stories that young readers can relate to. Some, like Rogers, even take it a step further by instilling human-like qualities into the animals that inhabit the story. The Sword of Demelza ...more
The Loopy Librarian
Feb 13, 2014 rated it really liked it
Animals of Australia, Rejoice! The Sword of Demelza is obviously written by an author who adores you, and she does a good job of presenting you to young readers. The illustrations of the animal characters in their armor are regal and inspiring. The beginning is exciting and frightening. The scenes are vividly described although sometimes repetitive (i.e. the sky and clouds were ‘angry’ quite a bit). The author does a great job building suspense and tension, and the overall story is very adventur ...more
Krissys
Jan 20, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: featured-books, star
Received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.


A delightful read for children and adults alike. Great for young children and families that enjoy reading to their kids and youth that love adventure.
Great illustrations give readers a picture of the characters taking them along the journey from chapter to chapter. The Sword of Demelza reminds me a lot of Disney's Robin Hood with the group of friends that band together against a tyrant king.
J.E. does a wonderful job including several subtl
...more
Vickianne Caswell
Jan 11, 2015 rated it it was amazing
The Sword of Demelza is a very suspenseful book written by J.E. Rogers. The book is about a few things, starting off with the prologue where you learn a bit about Devon, a fox who lives at the Acadia Abbey with with the monks there.

The book introduces you to many other characters all of whom play an important role in the story. Each of these begin with their own quest and eventually meet each other. They soon learn that they must work together and help each other out. I found each of the charact
...more
Janice Spina
Jul 29, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
An Exciting Adventure!

The Sword of Demelza is a fascinating story involving different animals indigenous to Australia. The author created an adventure involving a wide variety of animals, some known to be on the endangered list while another one, a thylacine, is extinct. This is a cleverly weaved tale that connects all the animals in some way as they battle against the evil King, Cynric, to protect their families and homes. The power of the sword has caused much heartship and death to these anim
...more
Brae Wyckoff
Dec 03, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Sword of Demelza, written by J.E. Rogers, is a fun ride and a great adventure...two ingredients that I look for in a book. The author is very clever in taking the reader on an educational treat without them truly knowing it until you get to the end and read the glossary of the animals. I now know that a Kowari is not a rodent...lol.
I absolutely loved the pictures when a new creature was introduced as they really enhanced the story and brought the characters to life.
I'm an author of epic fant
...more
Fee Roberts
Jul 16, 2016 rated it really liked it
The Sword of Demelza by J.E. Rogers is a middle grade fantasy centered around some of Australia's endangered species. Devon, an orphaned red fox, is on a personal quest of revenge. Erik and Emma, two young marsupials, are on a quest to find the ingredients for a potion to cure their mother. Devon, Erik and Emma encounter each other, realizing that they need to work together to stop the devastation, and end the reign of the evil king, Cynric. This book is beautifully illustrated, and the story is ...more
Jason
Dec 05, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Others here have written plenty of wonderful and appropriate comments of praise for The Sword of Demelza by J.E. Rogers. I can only add that this book should be translated to the screen for a fun animated motion picture.
Clancy Tucker
Jun 29, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A brilliant book written about my country and it's animals. Highly recommend it to anyone. Jeanne has done an outstanding job and I take my hat off to her.
Clancy Tucker
www.clancytucker.blogspot.com.au
Daniel
Apr 15, 2016 rated it liked it
This book is supposed to be educational, but it is took educational to pull me in. There seemed to be too many animals the author wanted to put in the book, so he introduces so many new characters it's not funny.
Dawnette
Aug 28, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I had the chance to read the book when it debut, and I must say Rogers did an excellent job in keeping her readers interested and suspended all the way to the end of the book!
PickinDavis
Dec 04, 2014 rated it it was ok
Didn't enjoy it as much as others, apparently.
Sabrina Atwood
rated it it was amazing
Feb 07, 2014
Adam Gritel
rated it really liked it
Aug 20, 2017
Rune Woodman
rated it it was amazing
Aug 04, 2013
Melissa Cunningham
rated it really liked it
Feb 07, 2014
Amang Berangas
rated it really liked it
Jan 08, 2014
Melanie
rated it it was amazing
Jul 11, 2013
Retha DeLaRosa
rated it liked it
Jan 25, 2015
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Great Middle Grad...: Writer's Digest eBook Awards - 2013 9 10 Dec 29, 2013 06:07PM  
The Sword of Demelza 1 1 Dec 24, 2013 11:14AM  
Free On Amazon 1 1 Jul 17, 2013 08:21AM  
The Sword of Demelza 1 1 Apr 27, 2013 02:18PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Talonridge
  • The Ugly Teapot: Book One: Hannah
  • Rabbit Hole (The Paradox Series, #1)
  • Music Box (Dollhouse, #4)
  • Charis: Journey to Pandora's Jar
  • The Spirit of Imagination (The Spirit Series Book 1)
  • City in Ruins
  • Lucid Dreaming (Lucid Dreaming, #1)
  • Remedy Maker
  • Birthright
  • The Amber Isle (Book of Never, #1)
  • Original Sin (Crimson Shadow Series)
  • Snowball (Chronicles of a Wererabbit, #1)
  • Nikki Powergloves- A Hero is Born (Nikki Powergloves, #1)
  • Rock Star (Dream Weaver, #2)
  • Do Not Open!: The Story of Pandora's Box
  • Peril in the Park (Jamie Quinn Mystery #3)
  • The Christmas Gate
See similar books…
47 followers
I am the author of the Writer's Digest Award winning middle grade fantasy, The Sword of Demelza. I have always loved to read fantasy. Now I love to write fantasy. I take much of my inspiration from Brian Jacques’ Redwall Series, The Mismantle Chronicles, by M.I. McAllister, and The Red Wolf Conspiracies, by Robert Redick, just to name a few. I am an avid student of all things Australian, and this ...more
“The cover of a book is akin to the door of a home; if it is welcoming and enticing, it beckons you and your visit will be all the more pleasurable and desirable.” 0 likes
More quotes…