Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Getting Value out of Agile Retrospectives - A Toolbox of Retrospective Exercises” as Want to Read:
Getting Value out of Agile Retrospectives - A Toolbox of Retrospective Exercises
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Excerpt* *Different edition

Getting Value out of Agile Retrospectives - A Toolbox of Retrospective Exercises

by
3.76  ·  Rating details ·  146 ratings  ·  34 reviews
This pocket book contains many exercises that you can use to do retrospectives, supported with the “what” and “why” of retrospectives, the business value and benefits that they can bring you, and advice for introducing and improving retrospectives.

The book is published on InfoQ and Leanpub and in paperback on Amazon and Lulu.

Agile retrospectives are a great way to continuo
...more
ebook, 76 pages
Published December 19th 2013 by InfoQ and Leanpub (Self Published)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

Be the first to ask a question about Getting Value out of Agile Retrospectives - A Toolbox of Retrospective Exercises

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.76  · 
Rating details
 ·  146 ratings  ·  34 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Getting Value out of Agile Retrospectives - A Toolbox of Retrospective Exercises
Alexandre Marreiros
Jan 11, 2014 rated it it was amazing
When i first start this book i had to confess i had not a big expectation, there are so mutch things around agile. Is very difficult to get a good and helpfull book.

But this...Is very well written and approach a lot off real things we found on real world, For newbies to agile or old folks this is a must see definitly.

I also found taht this book can be very handy to agile workshops by the real world exercises he brings.

A great non theorical book. I had recommend this to mall my team leader's

Alexa
...more
Srinath
Jan 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Getting Value out of Agile Retrospectives is a handy book for Scrum masters, agile coaches, Product Owners on retrospective exercises / games. All the games are explained in simple terms and easy to follow even for newbie SMs / teams and a good reference book for experienced SMs / Agile coaches. A good addition to your Agile bookshelf.
Marcin
Dec 28, 2014 rated it liked it
Explains a few different retrospective exercises, both the how and the why. I'm eager to try some of them with my team.

However, the book is filled with links to external webpages which I couldn't access on my offline Kindle; I felt like I was missing out on a lot of context and content. The ebook could use a re-editing to make it more like a book and less like a blog.
Sven
Jan 10, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: scrum
Excellent compilation of techniques that can be used to run effective retrospectives. Mostly they originate from others but its very handy to have them collected in one place. Also having them in a templated format, when to use, what you can expect, how to use is very useful.
Fabian Schiller
Jan 23, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This book is great! Every ScrumMaster and Agile Coach should have it on his bookshelf. You can get many practicable ideas for conducting retrospectives from this book. And it is really easily accessible.
Steve Fenton
Apr 13, 2014 rated it really liked it
You can never have too many ideas when it comes to retrospectives and here are a collection of thoughts that will add to your previous reading on the subject.

I am wary of gamifying the retrospective too much, but there are several methods here I'm sure to use.
Ingus Rūķis
Jul 20, 2014 rated it liked it
Lots of ideas compiled from other sources. Due to the fact that I've read those other sources first, not a lot new things found in this book. If this is the first book you read about agile retrospectives, you might like it more.
Pete
Mar 01, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: think-and-learn
Good and compact pocket book about retrospectives.
Enjoyed reading it.
Not a lot new information, but excellent refresh of known things.
Luigi Berrettini
Apr 14, 2014 rated it liked it
A really good concise way to get an overview of retrospectives!
Ioana
May 09, 2017 rated it really liked it
Excellent little handbook on different retrospective techniques and when it is best to use each of them, for example addressing common team vision, understanding Scrum principles or making the most out of the team members' strengths.
Ben Linders
Jul 16, 2014 added it  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Agile coaches, scrum masters, project managers, product managers and facilitators.
Obteniendo valor de las Retrospectivas ágiles is the Spanish translation of the book Getting Value out of Agile Retrospectives, written by Luis Gonçalves and Ben Linders. It contains many exercises that you can use to facilitate retrospectives, supported with the “what” and “why” of retrospectives, the business value and benefits that they can bring you, and advice for introducing and improving retrospectives. The book is published on Leanpub

For more information, see the author's translation boo
...more
Lorenzo
Jun 26, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: agile
Charming little book that you can easily finish in a few hours -- or less, if you know a little about agile retrospectives already. I recommend in addition to the classic Agile Retrospectives: Making Good Teams Great by Esther Derby et al., because the latter hasn't been updated since 2006.

Takeaways for me were:
- Introduction: inspect & adapt is one of the 12 agile priciples; we're here to learn, not to blame ("Prime Directive")
- Opener: "One-Word Retrospective" exercise
- Timeline of iteration:
...more
Prashant
Aug 05, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Retrospective is one of the most important aspects of agile. It’s a main dimension of agile project management.

Getting Value out of Agile Retrospectives: A Toolbox of Retrospective Exercises by Luis Gonçalves and Ben Linders is a very handy book for novice and experts. The retrospective ceremony is simple but tough to adapt. Once adapted it is easy to become monotonous and teams can lose their interest. Ultimately we may not get value out of it.

Luis & Ben have done a great job by providing a h
...more
Daan Wagner
Aug 11, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: everyone that is involved with a Retrospective
Recommended to Daan by: Ben Linders
Good and compact pocket book about retrospectives.
Enjoyed reading it. It is a very handy book for novice and experts. Just keep it simple.

The retrospective ceremony is simple but tough to adapt. Once adapted it is easy to become monotonous and teams can lose their interest. Ultimately we may not get value out of it. This book gives you many exercises which can help for novices as a launch pad for retrospectives


Retrospective is one of the most important aspects when do a project. It’s a main dim
...more
Jesse Houwing
Jan 04, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: agile, scrum, work, people
Great hands-on book with multiple techniques, tools, aims and all in a very hands-on manner. It's not the end-all book that describes every possible situation that might come up in a retro, nor does it go deeply into the human psyche, it does provide valuable tips and tricks to make a retrospective more interesting and to get people thinking.
Luis Gonçalves
Jan 04, 2014 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
When I was starting up it was hard to find ideas for retrospectives.... they were all boring ... no results.... etc. So I decided to write this book with the hope that you will not face the same problem. This book will help you to conduct fantastic retrospectives.
Olli Sorje
Feb 24, 2015 rated it it was ok
Very thin book that didn't have any additional value for me. Most of the exercises are already well known and they didn't give me any aha-moments. It's not bad but if you have read other books about retrospectives this doesn't offer you that much value.
Jaroslav Urban
Jan 25, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: agile
Very nice summary of most of technics for retrospectives. Reading was smooth with nice explanation. I can really recommend this.
Arseny Burekhin
Jan 27, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: scrum
A useful brief about agile retrospectives
Jirka
Sep 01, 2014 rated it it was amazing
The book is easy, quick and to the point. Does nit go into much details but has olenty of valuable hints and many references.
Evergreenpm
Sep 26, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A concise but enough reference about retrospectives.
Gerard Chiva
Nov 23, 2014 rated it really liked it
Practical and easy read book about Agile restrospectives, with good examples and advice about when to use certain techniques.
Pierre Neis
Feb 02, 2015 rated it really liked it
This is an interesting book to understand and perform Retrospectives for Agile Teams.
Highly recommended for Scrum Masters and Agile Coaches.
Tonći Jajić
Aug 16, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Informative but nothing too groundbreaking.
Zach
Aug 07, 2019 rated it liked it
Quick read for anyone looking for a summary of Retrospectives and/or some basic retrospective ideas. Not as in depth as Agile Retrospectives:..., but a handy reference book to keep around.
Ben Linders
Jan 02, 2014 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Recommends it for: Agile coaches, scrum masters, project managers, product managers and facilitators.
Getting Value out of Agile Retrospectives is the first book that Luis Gonçalves and Ben Linders wrote. It contains many exercises that you can use to facilitate retrospectives, supported with the “what” and “why” of retrospectives, the business value and benefits that they can bring you, and advice for introducing and improving retrospectives. The book is published on InfoQ and Leanpub

For more information, see the author's book page.

With plenty of exercises for your retrospective toolbox, this b
...more
Ben Linders
Jul 26, 2014 added it  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Agile coaches, scrum masters, project managers, product managers and facilitators.
Tirer profit des rétrospectives agiles is the French translation of the book Getting Value out of Agile Retrospectives, written by Luis Gonçalves and Ben Linders. It contains many exercises that you can use to facilitate retrospectives, supported with the “what” and “why” of retrospectives, the business value and benefits that they can bring you, and advice for introducing and improving retrospectives. The book is published on Leanpub

For more information, see the author's translation books page.
...more
Ben Linders
Jul 27, 2014 added it  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Agile coaches, scrum masters, project managers, product managers and facilitators.
アジャイルふりかえりから価値を生み出す - 日本語版 is the Japanese translation of the book Getting Value out of Agile Retrospectives, written by Luis Gonçalves and Ben Linders. It contains many exercises that you can use to facilitate retrospectives, supported with the “what” and “why” of retrospectives, the business value and benefits that they can bring you, and advice for introducing and improving retrospectives. The book is published on Leanpub

For more information, see the author's translation books page.

With plent
...more
Ben Linders
Sep 12, 2014 added it  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Agile coaches, scrum masters, project managers, product managers and facilitators.
Ottieni il meglio dalle tue Retrospettive Agili is the Italian translation of the book Getting Value out of Agile Retrospectives, written by Luis Gonçalves and Ben Linders. It contains many exercises that you can use to facilitate retrospectives, supported with the “what” and “why” of retrospectives, the business value and benefits that they can bring you, and advice for introducing and improving retrospectives. The book is published on Leanpub

For more information, see the author's translation b
...more
Ben Linders
Jul 08, 2014 added it  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
The paperback edition of Getting Value has been published. Available at LuluAmazon or Barnes & Noble.
...more
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Remarks & suggestions for improvement 1 2 Apr 29, 2014 05:18AM  
Translations 1 2 Mar 28, 2014 12:42AM  
Favorite Exercise 1 3 Jan 11, 2014 06:52AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Agile Retrospectives: Making Good Teams Great
  • The Motley Fool Million Dollar Portfolio: How to Build and Grow a Panic-Proof Investment Portfolio
  • 82년생 김지영
  • Locke & Key, Vol. 2: Head Games
  • Radical Candor: Be a Kickass Boss Without Losing Your Humanity
  • Orgasmachine
  • Die wandernde Erde: Erzählungen
  • Desollada
  • Locke & Key, Vol. 6: Alpha & Omega
  • Locke & Key, Vol. 4: Keys to the Kingdom
  • Locke & Key, Vol. 5: Clockworks
  • Réquiem por los cuentos de hadas
  • Haberlas Haylas
  • Cántico por un alma
  • Carmilla y otros cuentos de mujeres vampiro
  • La ladrona de tomates
  • Las mocedades de Rodrigo
  • Ayantek
See similar books…

Goodreads is hiring!

If you like books and love to build cool products, we may be looking for you.
Learn more »
20 followers
Luis Gonçalves is an Entrepreneur, Best Seller Author and International Keynote Speaker.

When consulting he works exclusively with Entrepreneurs, Founders and the Senior Executives of 7 to 8 figure businesses on the implementation of his game changing ‘Organisational Mastery’ Methodology.

By following the ‘Organisational Mastery’ blueprint businesses can scale with speed and simplicity without inc
...more

Related Articles

Famous people! Are they really just like us? In the case of these individuals, the answer is a resounding yes when it comes to loving book...
63 likes · 9 comments
“A retrospective’s huge potential for learning should not be off-limits to any team member.” 1 likes
“Rituals bring people together, allowing them to focus on what is important and to acknowledge significant events or accomplishments.” 0 likes
More quotes…