Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Crushed (Soul Eaters, #2)” as Want to Read:
Crushed (Soul Eaters, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Crushed

(Soul Eaters #2)

by
4.08  ·  Rating details ·  3,159 ratings  ·  372 reviews
Meda Melange has officially hung up her monstrous mantle and planted her feet firmly on the holy and righteous path of a Crusader-in-training. Or, at least, she’s willing to give it a shot. It helps that the Crusaders are the only thing standing between her and the demon hordes who want her dead.

The problem is, the only people less convinced than Meda of her new-found role
...more
Kindle Edition, 271 pages
Published August 5th 2014 by Strange Chemistry
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Crushed, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Eliza Crewe Hi Megan! Good news, I got the rights back from my publisher a couple weeks ago and so am releasing an e-version myself on Monday, Sept. 22nd. I'm…moreHi Megan! Good news, I got the rights back from my publisher a couple weeks ago and so am releasing an e-version myself on Monday, Sept. 22nd. I'm planning on releasing a print version too, but that's going to take me a bit longer to pull together.(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Khanh, first of her name, mother of bunnies
EDIT: IT'S RELEASED!!!!!!
I am not sick, or crazy, or broken.

I am Meda Melange, demon-saint monster girl. I make full-grown men scream in terror. I break bones and drain blood. I turn nightmares into reality.

I am the most powerful creature on earth.

I stand, near-giggling over the destroyed corpse, surrounded by the sweet scent of blood and revenge.

I am what I am and I am not ashamed.
It is so rare that a second installment is better than the first, and it has happened.

Do you like female demonic
...more
Lola
Sep 25, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Meda is eternal; she will live in my heart forever. When this series will be over, I will not be forgetting her.

She is an utterly unforgettable character. And so developed you could even think she is a real person from time to time.

I love her.

description

Although, what I like the most about her is the fact that she neither is good nor bad. She’s not perfect as a person—not at all—but that’s what makes her so easy to connect with. Maybe not relate to, but connect for sure. You may be surprised to hear this
...more
Navessa
Dear Everyone Who Hasn’t Read This Series Yet,

WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR LIFE?!

Seriously. You have no excuse. These books aren’t expensive, they’re three bucks a piece. They aren’t 700 pages long, but are relatively quick reads (because of how un-put-downable they are). They aren’t filled with your typical YA angstapalooza, but with well-rounded characters. There’s no slut shaming, but rather strong yet subtle feminist themes fill these pages. And this female lead isn’t your standard washed-o
...more
Aj the Ravenous Reader
May 14, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: lol, young-adult

Be witness to how the most infamous half-demon heroine called Meda as her

soul gets CRUSHED…

her selfish intentions get CRUMBLED…

and

her wall of pride TRAMPLED!

all in the name of

Lo…lo…lo…

Loyalty to friendship!

And well yes, love! Love for a best friend.

"What is it about love, whether it be motherly love, or friendly love that has the ability to devastate and uplift all at the same time?"

This is one of the most surprisingly touching story of friendship presented in the most unconvention
...more
Anne
Jun 09, 2014 rated it really liked it
Meda is back, and STILL a badass!

description

I loved Cracked so much that I doubt anything could've compared to it. And, yeah, this one was less...something. But not bad! Just not as good. Ugh. I'm botching this. What I'm trying (but failing) to say, is that while it wasn't quite as epic as the first book, it was still an excellent read.
My biggest fear was that Crushed was going to be a huge letdown. I mean, not only is Second Book Syndrome running rampant these days, but Meda was officially trying to be a
...more
Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘


BR with Armand's biggest fangirl, Chelsea ;) (click to read her review)

I'm the black sheep of the crowd on this one (view spoiler), and to be frank, it's the first time I pondered if I would post a review or not, because at first I felt like I wouldn't be able to explain my feelings. But it was without counting my complete inability to shut up. Hey, everyone has his own flaws, right?

Just - hear me out : I can't deny that Eliza Crewe does an INCREDIBLE job at ruining all th
...more
Melissa (Ever So Mela)
How is this series not freaking famous?!

Seriously, how come a lot of other crappy books squeeze the life out of advertising and yet this doesn't make a dent? I don't even know...

You know, I have a shelf for second book syndrome and trust me when I say there are few second books out there that don't make that list. I mean I usually stack them there one after another, after another, after another, after-you get the point. It's more often than not that a series usually disappoints after the first
...more
Shelby *trains flying monkeys*
I don't even know how to begin reviewing this book. Meda is beyond kick ass. She realizes the Crusaders are using her. Keeping her behind lock and key. The Demons want to use her. So she decides hell with them all.
She will do it her way or no way.



I do hope this series gets the praise it deserves. Meda shows girls that they are strong. Can have a mind of their own. She stands up for herself and her beliefs.

My kindle battery was dying right as I was finishing this and I swear I think I would hav
...more
Eliza Crewe
Jun 24, 2014 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
UPDATE 10/29/2015: Canadians, CreateSpace now distributes to Canada, so if you've been waiting for the print edition, wait no more! http://amzn.to/1kVA7jM

Print Edition (US):
https://www.createspace.com/5065931

E-versions:
Kindle: http://amzn.to/1uxcCw2
B&N: http://bit.ly/1E8UoYd
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1BDouiq

If I'm missing a store you like (other than ibooks--I'm still working on it), or you're in a territory where you're having trouble getting it, let me know in the comments and I'll see what I c
...more
Aly's Bookish Wonderland



Buddy read with Figgy! We sort of lost sight of each other, to which I apologise and I promise I will be a better reading buddy on our next book. <3

Actual rating: 4.5



I am Meda Melange, demon-saint monster girl. I make full-grown men scream in terror. I break bones and drain blood. I turn nightmares into reality.
I am the most powerful creature on earth. I do not wear a leash.


For a while, Crushed seemed to be suffering with Middle Book Syndrome – when a sequel tries hard to live up to the a
...more
Chelsea ❤Peril Please❤
Buddy read with my favorite French Frowner.... Anna :P


"It's illegal, you know," he murmurs. "Stealing."
I clear my throat. "Stealing?"
"My heart. I could have you arrested."


 photo Vcu0jUi_zpswnugpqif.gif


Holy Shit. Holy freakin' (SEVERELY HOLDING IN STRONG CURSING) cow. This book. This. Fucking (whoops, I tried). Book. I liked book one, okay? I really did. Meda is a bona fide badass and the story (felt) unique and original. Now, to be fair, I don't really read many demon books. I don't. Really. So to say it's original? I mi
...more
shady boots | #WatchPOSE
I'm furious. Completely furious.

Why? Because this series is so mind-blowingly incredible. It breaks the mold of YA in so many ways.

But I'm furious because it doesn't nearly have as much success or recognition as it deserves. There is no reason--no fucking reason--why this book is less successful than the cliched, pandering bullshit that dominates the YA world. It's not fucking fair.

This series dares. It dares to stand out. It dares to create an anti-hero heroine who is so loveable that if I had
...more
Natalie Monroe
EDIT 29/9/2014: Eliza finally got the rights back and it's out!

Welcome, my GR buddies and other random strangers.


Yes, I opened with an Aladdin gif. Fear not, my sweet, I will explain.

When I first found out there would be a sequel to Cracked, I admit I squealed a bit.



I was also a bit wary because the first book had ended on such a lovely note. It didn't help that the blurb sounds exactly like The Liberator. You know, recently-reformed-bad-girl meets bad boy and struggles with her morality once mo
...more
Nasom
May 06, 2018 rated it really liked it
“I am Meda Melange… I make full-grown men scream in terror. I break bones and drain blood. I turn nightmares into reality”

This book is more character driven than plot which was fine because Meda is a badass and I can read about her all day. Crushed is mostly about Meda trying to be good especially since she’s amongst people that judge her for being half monster. She had to constantly prove that she would not give into her monster instinct.

What I liked
- I loved the introduction or shall I sa
...more
Vanessa J.
Mar 09, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: People who want to restore their faith in the YA genre.
I didn't think I would say this, but this book is better than three important things:

1) Cracked, the first book in the series. Very few sequels are an improvement over the first book. Nay, very few middle books are better than the first book in a series. And this freaking book managed to do so.

2) This:



3) This:



Yes, people. I'm telling you this book is better than the first installment in the series and better than ice cream, unicorns and Batman together. How is that even possible? You should be a
...more
Brigid
May 30, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Euphoria should have been the title of this book. Seriously, I had an incurable state of euphoria. There was no end. It still lingers.

I’m going to steal this phrase from the Aussies:

This is my jam. This book is completely my jam.

I would’ve rather jammed a giant poker in my eye than admit that this book is better than the first. I would’ve done it. No way that Crushed could be better than Cracked. YOU LIE KHANH, YOU LIE!!!!

*she says while pointing her nose up in defiance*



Ass handed.

But now, havin
...more
Kathe L
Jul 27, 2015 rated it really liked it
So... the third book isn't out yet?

description

I didn't think I would do a review for this but then I just needed to do it. LOL

- Starting with Armand. Hey, bad boy! You surprised me. I mean, I liked, liked you. Since book one, I was mesmerized by you. And while I always forbid me to do it, I always try to guess what a character is thinking. So yeah, I knew you were selfish, greedy, and yes, I knew you wanted what you wanted and still, I didn't like you less because of it. Crazy, huh? I guess when you are su
...more
JAIME
Mar 08, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites, read-2015
I'm too bloody busy to review this properly, so you will get unimaginative bullet points.

- The Templars are dicks.

- I want Armand to be my boyfriend forever.

- Meda will be my spirit animal for life.

- Meda should join the Demons already, cos fuck the Templars.

- This book is awesome.

You're welcome.
Dilinna
Mar 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This was me throughout this book

description

I loved it so much more than the first book...so so much more. Although Meda was so annoying that i wanted to smack her real hard sometimes and sometimes her actions were understandable. I hated that she caused a whole lot of issues for everyone...it annoyed the hell out of me but damn this book was still so damn good.

Oh my ships😍😍😍😍😍 still sailing real good and i honestly want more more more!!!! It was quite emotional but not as much as in the first book. Jst rea
...more
Robin (Bridge Four)
May 05, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Lovers of Dexter, Angelfall and awesome girls in general
4.5 Soul Drunk Stars Read this Series!!!

Were you looking for a book about a good nice girl who falls in love with the bad boy just in need of a good girl, captain of (insert favorite sport here) and they have fabulous friends and happy dates with a dance of some sort thrown in somewhere? THIS IS NOT THAT BOOK!!! Put this book down and step away slowly. Better yet turn and run.

Meda is a monster, well at least half of her is and the monster half eats people. Think of her as the Dexter of the monst
...more
Annika
Jan 27, 2016 rated it it was amazing
description

Holy hell, is it possible that this series has gotten even better?

I am Meda Melange, demon-saint monster girl. I make full-grown men scream in terror. I break bones and drain blood. I turn nightmares into reality.
I am the most powerful creature on earth. I do not wear a leash.

Shunned by her own people, tempted by the enemy.
When taken in by the Crusaders after the shocking revelations in the Acheron, Meda finds herself in a situation where she has to choose between friendship and pride, loyalt
...more
Kaora
Dec 28, 2014 rated it really liked it
Meda is back and proving again why she is one of my favorite characters.

This time Meda is doing her best to stay on her path to becoming a Crusader, however she is being kept literally under lock and key, by those who don't trust her. Robbed of her freedom, she jumps at the chance when a hot incubus-in-training comes to help her. Caught in the middle, its up to her to decide which side she is really on.

Why has it taken me SO long to find a character like Meda? She is strong, kicks ass and doesn'
...more
Paige  Bookdragon
Feb 26, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: to those who love bad ass MC's
OUR FAVORITE HALF-DEMON BAD ASS IS BACK.

Meda Meda Meda. You define snarky. If ratings of this book is not enough to convince you to pick this one up, then you're bonkers mate.This is the second book of Soul Eater series and Eliza Crewe has done an amazing job to make it better.


This book has it all.

Action.
Drama.
Teenage angst.
Love.
Sarcasm.
Demons.
And Armand...

description


In case you loopies forgot who Armand is, let me refresh your memory.
Remember the hottest piece of demon ass that was Meda's dungeonm
...more
♛Tash
May 11, 2015 rated it really liked it
Tough one to rate and review
Liz
A word of warning: Now comes a rant.

I don't want to offend anybody, so in case you are totally enamored with this book, better stop reading right here. RIGHT. HERE.



Tell me why do authors come up with ideas that have enormous potential but don't do anything about it? Soul Eater. Do you have the slightest idea how promising that sounded to me? Finally something badass and dark. I had hoped. Why did I do it? Why hoping?

The plot, forgive me this remark, but it was next to nonexistent. The bit t
...more
✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans)
I enjoyed Cracked, the first instalment in this series, but I can’t say I was over-enthusiastic about it. It was fun but not great. Meda is a fantastic character and her inner dialogue was hilarious but the rest of the book was a bit meh. The plot was alright but the whole thing was a bit too YA for me (I know, this is YA, but sometimes YA isn’t that YA – think Daughter of Smoke & Bone). Meda was both the main strength and weakness of Cracked as her character pretty much over-powered everyth ...more
AH
Update 12/25/14 Crushed was chosen as one of Badass Book Reviews favorite Young Adult/New Adult Paranormal books of 2014. Read all about it here.

Sad news from Strange Chemistry I was planning to read this closer to the release date which was supposed to be August 5, 2014. In the meantime, the publisher has closed down Strange Chemistry books so the release time is now unknown. If any of you have read Cracked, you know how wonderful this series is. I know a lot of readers have been anxiously w
...more
Erica Ravenclaw
Jun 18, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: netgalley, favorites
☆☆☆☆

No Spoilers! Definitely colorful language abound!


If you haven't read this series yet, I envy you. Reach for it when you need something to swallow up reality and replace it with something better. It pulled me from a deep-dark funk, and I hope it does the same for you.

I think it's time for some realness. I've had this book for almost an entire year, I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review...11 months ago. Thanks NG?

I could be all upset with myself being that I waited this long t
...more
Alexa
Jun 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: awesome, ya
Meda is back in all her awesome insane glory! We get more quotes, more laughs and even a tear drop or two.

WARNING! There might be some fangirling involved in this review. I can't help it, I just love this series too much.

While I felt the first book was a short study in the ideas of nurture over nature, this one delved more into the old good vs evil problem.

Where exactly do we draw the line of good and evil?

Does the end justifies the means?


I love that we get to see that good and bad are very s
...more
Brandi
Apr 18, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: ALL THE PEOPLE. If you like books you should read this series.
Recommended to Brandi by: Myself, because I have fabulous taste.
Shelves: favorites



I can't give a full review till closer to release date, but reasons why you should be reading this series:

-badassery by the boatload.
-sophomore book that reads with none of the sophomoric problems.
-an author who is not only gifted as a writer, but also as a storyteller- Eliza Crewe is the real deal, and about as nice a person as I've ever met.
-snark!
-humor.
-intrigue.
- FEELS. So. Many. Feels.
-NEVER KNOWING HOW THINGS WILL TURN OUT! GAH!

If you haven't read Cracked you need to go fix yourself-
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Buddy Read Zone: Crushed (Cracked 2) 8-23-14 26 18 Sep 27, 2014 09:44AM  
  • Haze (The Rephaim, #2)
  • Chaos (Guards of the Shadowlands, #3)
  • Drop Dead Demons (Divinicus Nex Chronicles, #2)
  • Delete (Shift, #3)
  • Outcast
  • Ignite (Ignite, #1)
  • Dark Craving (Dark Calling, #2)
  • Wicked Little Secrets (Prep School Confidential, #2)
  • The Seers (Holders #2)
  • Knight Assassin
  • When There is Hope
  • Skulk (Skulk, #1)
  • Angelbound (Angelbound Origins #1)
  • Scorn of Angels (The Descended, #2)
  • Lab Rat One (Touchstone, #2)
  • The Deep End of the Sea
  • Promise of Shadows
  • Scorch (Croak, #2)
718 followers

My Ratings:

5 stars = If I weren't taken, I'd marry this book and have its delightful little book babies.

4 stars = goin' steady (or whatever you crazy kids call it these days). So good I'd read it again.

3 stars = A great, one-time fling. I enjoyed it but it probably won't be a reread.

2 stars and below = The pretty thing didn't make it past the pick-up line. I don't rate these because I don't finis
...more

Other books in the series

Soul Eaters (3 books)
  • Cracked (Soul Eaters, #1)
  • Crossed (Soul Eaters, #3)
“You can love a monster, it can even love you back, but that doesn’t change its nature. This isn’t Beauty and the Beast where my kiss would transform the monster to a prince. If anything, it’s Shrek, and his kiss brings out the ogre in me.” 65 likes
“What a foolish thing, the human heart, being both fragile and reckless. No wonder we spend such an inordinate amount of time in pain.” 38 likes
More quotes…