Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar and Six More” as Want to Read:
The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar and Six More
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar and Six More

4.14  ·  Rating details ·  19,734 ratings  ·  1,123 reviews
The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar and Six More is a collection of seven short stories. In the title story a man gets his wish -- to be able to see through solid surfaces -- and must decide if he should use his power for good or for personal gain. Other memorable characters from this anthology include a boy who can talk to animals, a cunning hitchhiker with an odd talent, ...more
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published May 1st 2000 by Turtleback Books (first published September 12th 1977)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar and Six More, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Martin Jee It's highly likely that Henry Sugar is the same person as Oswald from My Uncle Oswald, as they both have the same motto "it is better to incur a mild …moreIt's highly likely that Henry Sugar is the same person as Oswald from My Uncle Oswald, as they both have the same motto "it is better to incur a mild rebuke than perform an onerous chore," or something along the lines. (less)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.14  · 
Rating details
 ·  19,734 ratings  ·  1,123 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar and Six More
Miranda Reads
A (somewhat) delightful variety of short stories.

After reading Switch Bitch (also a short story collection by Dahl), I did not have much hope for this collection. If you have not read those stories, I could sum them up on three words: Pervy, Misogynistic and Disturbing. While this one was certainly better, this is definitely not one of my favorites.

The Boy Who Talked to Animals - An enormous sea turtle becomes caught by fishermen - who themselves are caught between killing, eating and dismember
...more
Ahmad Sharabiani
The Wonderful Story Of Henry Sugar And Six More, Roald Dahl

The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar and Six More, is a collection of seven short stories written by Roald Dahl. They are generally regarded as being aimed at a slightly older audience than many of his other children's books.

Chapters:
The Boy Who Talked with Animals
The Hitch-Hiker
The Mildenhall Treasure
The Swan
The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar
Lucky Break (non-fictional)
A Piece of Cake

تاریخ نخستین خوانش: روز نوزدهم ماه جولای سال 2005 میلاد
...more
Calista
The short story collection contains 7 stories:
The Boy Who Talked with Animals 4 stars
The Hitch-Hiker 3 stars
The Mildenhall Treasure 3 stars
The Swan 3 stars
The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar 4 stars
Lucky Break 4 stars
A Piece of Cake 2 stars

There are several of these that I really enjoyed and the rest were well done. I love Henry Sugar and the method Henry goes about getting 'powers' after reading about a yogi. Concentration is a powerful thing. That was a well done story and I enjoyed the way it
...more
Jennifer
Didn't everyone try to learn to see through things using the flame trick like Henry Sugar?
PorshaJo
I picked this one up after seeing a review on GR and started it almost two months ago. It's a book of short stories and I would pick it up when I needed a quick break from work, current reading, chores, etc. So it taking me two months to read was not a sign of it being boring. All this and I probably had too many books going on at once.

This book contains stories that are quite different from some of the usual Dahl books. Some are pretty short and some are longer, with a total of seven stories. T
...more
Mariah Roze
Mar 03, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Mariah Roze by: Matt
This book is made up of multiple short stories by Roald Dahl.
- "The Boy Who Talked With Animals - in which a stranded sea turtle and a small boy have more in common than meets the eye.
- The Hitchhiker - proves that in a pinch a professional pickpocket can be the perfect pal.
- The Mildenhall Treasure - a true tale of fortune found and an opportunity lost.
- The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar - in which a modern-day Robin Hood brings joy to the hearts of orphans - and fear to the souls of casino ow
...more
Rich Wong
Dec 19, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Re-reading one of my all time favorite books or more accurately short stories by Road Dahl. While the story of Henry Sugar is far less known than James and the Giant Peach or Charile and the Chocolate Factory ... as much as I loved those stories growing up, its Henry Sugar that stuck with me the most. And despite having first read this over 30+ years ago, enjoy it just as much as an adult. Highly recommended
Hilda
Dec 21, 2009 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Roald Dahl's books always have wonderful effect on me.

When I read The Witches, I thanked God I didn't meet any witch as a child.
When I read Matilda, I think she's the brightest girl ever.
When I read Charlie and The Chocolate Factory, I believe that there is a very big and magical chocolate factory somewhere in this world.
When I read the Magic Finger, suddenly I have some hatred to these animal hunters.
When I read Charlie and The Great Glass Elevator, I wish that I can go to space hotel as well.
W
...more
Rachel
Jul 05, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2015
Jumping back into Roald Dahl literature has been one of the best experiences in terms of reading this year.

I never considered that I would enjoy short stories so much. Stories that you start and finish before going to bed. Such a refreshing feeling. As a lover of Roald Dahl's stories in childhood, his writing style is one of the most easy to read and grabs-you-by-the-writing-and-plot-and-never-lets-you-go. This was such a great read and overall, my rating was based on my enjoyment.

Ratings for ea
...more
Ashley Daviau
Jun 27, 2019 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
This book was a pretty big disappointment after how much I’ve loved all of Dahl’s other work that I’ve read. I feel like he just didn’t capture my attention with these stories. I found myself flipping forward to see how much I still had to struggle through before each story was done. I think I’ll stick to Dahl’s novels from now on and skip past the short stories!
Quirkyreader
May 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book was full of short stories that can be enjoyed by all.

I especially liked "The Boy Who Talked With Animals".
Tasshin Fogleman
Re-read the main story but I read all of them as a kid. Was poking through the others and found this gem, from Lucky Break:

"Here are some of the qualities you should possess or should try to acquire if you wish to be fiction writer:

1. You should have a lively imagination.
2. You should be able to write well. By that I mean you should be able to make a scene come alive in the reader's mind. Not everybody has this ability. It is a gift, and you either have it or you don't.
3. You must have stamina.
...more
Yuthika
Dec 28, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I've always been mesmerised by Roald Dahl - but Henry Sugar holds a special place in my heart. A story I could read again and again.
Neda
Nov 22, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: short-stories
Well I enjoyed this collection of short stories much :) Especially the first two & the last two :)
The Boy who talked with Animals was just a great one & the Hitch Hiker was hilarious :D
The Wonderful story of Henry Sugar was indeed wonderful & the last one which was rather autobiographical was amazing :) Wish these stories wouldn't end..
...more
Dominick
Odd collection. Though clearly marketed as a book for young readers, if not children per se (it says 12 and up), this does not really seem like a kids' book to me. While none of the stories include content that would be inappropriate for young readers (by many people's estimation, anyway), none of it really seems aimed at young readers, particularly. Indeed, some of the pieces--e.g. Dahl's war memoir, or his somewhat fictionalized account of the discovery of a Roman treasure hoard--were clearly ...more
Binibining `E (of The Ugly Writers)
I enjoyed reading this book. It is a collection of Short Stories. Some of my favorites where:

The Boy who talked with Animals. - I love the turtle!!
The Mildenhall Treasure - which is based on a true story
The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar - Sugar Yes Please!! hahaha!!
and
Lucky Break

I love Roald Dahl. I love how his imagination works. I love his books and it is such a great joy to read them. This book tells us of 7 Different Stories which all of them are amazing. I love the story of Henry Sugar and
...more
Rachelle
Sep 18, 2007 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
After falling in love with Dahl (via Matilda), I read this fantastic collection of short stories. A couple are actually written for adults but were tame enough to transfer well to a younger audience. The tales had such a profound effect on me that I remember them clearly to this day (despite not having read this collection since the umpteenth time when I was in my teens), and I still think fondly about one of them in particular on a regular basis. If I were to be trapped on a desert island with ...more
Patrick
Apr 20, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
"In his short story “The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar,” Roald Dahl develops the theme of generosity as virtuous and greed as meaningless. The protagonist, Henry Sugar, is a wealthy and lazy playboy who one day at a party reads an account written by a Dr. John Cartwright about Imhrat Khan, a man in India who could see without his eyes. Reading the account of Imhrat’s training to gain this ability, Henry Sugar decides to practice the same techniques in order to be able to see through cards at ca ...more
Sam
Nov 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I was utterly, completely bowled over by this book of short stories by Roald Dahl. Never in a million years did I expect the person who entertained me throughout childhood to evoke an entirely different range of emotions in adulthood.

The book contained 7 stories and all 7 of them broke my heart in a million pieces. The most poignant story for me was "The Swan" and I recommend that everybody and their dog should read it. The main story, “The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar” was equally engrossing
...more
Meghan Hughes
Dec 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Roald Dahl is a gift to children & adults alike. These stories lit up my life! They brought me joy, immersed me, & one kind of horrified me... But they were incredibly entertaining. Out of all the stories, I loved “Piece of Cake” the most. Mostly because I really enjoyed knowing it was his first story he ever wrote & he didn’t even mean to write it that well 😂 His words on how he even became a writer BLEW MY MIND! What a lucky break indeed! Dahl has stolen my heart with this book & I now need to ...more
Jamie
Dec 17, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The title story, The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar, is really a treasure. A wonderful and inspiring story for both adults and children. I also quite enjoyed The Boy Who Talked with Animals and The Mildenhall Treasure, the latter which is based on a fascinating real-life story of buried treasure. In typical Dahl fashion, many of the stories have some dark elements, deaths, beatings, etc. The Swan in particular is quite dark and sadistic.
PurplyCookie
Apr 12, 2009 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
If you could see with your eyes closed, how would you use your power? That’s what Henry has to decide in one of the seven stories in this extraordinary collection.

"The Boy Who Talked With Animals" >> Is about a young tourist boy at a beach resort who seeks to free a giant sea turtle which has been captured by the hotel management. This sounds like a children's story, but the characterization and the setting are quite adult.

"The Hitchhiker" >> Is an amusing tale about a British hitchhiker who re
...more
Dolly
Sep 25, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: parents reading with their children
This is a wonderful collection of short stories, a collection of tales that could only come from the inimitable Roald Dahl. We read this book slowly, at most one story each night, and savored each one.

That is, until we got to the middle of the book. For some reason, once we came to the title tale, we stopped. cold. As in, couldn't seem to pick the book up again for more than a year. I tried, believe me. I put the book on hold, borrowed it, and even tried to start the story, but we just never go
...more
Maria
Sep 10, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Remembering the joy of reading Road Dahl as a child, I felt very excited when I received ‘The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar, And Six More’ as a birthday present. I read this book eagerly and was not disappointed. With seven short stories to capture the reader; including fiction and non-fiction, Roald Dahl once again writes with imagination, wit and intelligence. His use of description throughout these stories is spot on, enabling the reader to conjure some fantastic images. From a boy who can t ...more
Julie
May 04, 2010 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was really torn about giving this 3 or 4 stars. I loved two of the stories especially, but the others were a little more average. The whole collection really wasn't what I expected, after my many years of reading Dahl's books. Unlike his children's books (which is where this book is shelved), there are very few children involved and while the stories do have some whimsical elements they aren't nearly as fantastical as his books. I was trying to decide the whole time if I would have liked the s ...more
Andy
Jul 31, 2011 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: short-stories, 2011
This is another book which has sat on various shelves for many months now before finally being completed. The short stories (7 of them) are mainly directed at an older age group though touch on similar themes to his younger work. My copy has a different cover which doesn't appear here.

I've read 'The Hitch-hiker' before and enjoyed it, found 'The Swan' quite dark and disturbing (taking the bullying of his younger books to more dangerous regions). 'Henry Sugar' though felt a little disappointing.
...more
Anna Kļaviņa
Seven short stories:
1. The Boy Who Talked with Animals
2. The Hitch-hiker
3. The Mildenhall Treasure nonfiction
4. The Swan
5. The Wonderful Story of Henry
6. Lucky Break nonfiction
7. A Piece of Cake nonfiction

This collection is being labeled by the publisher as teenage fiction which in my opinion it's not. Anyway, grown ups should read this collection too, especially these who only knows Dahl by his children books.

Cristine
Mar 13, 2008 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is one of my favorite books for kids. I remember my Mom reading it to us as kids during our Cape Cod vacation. I read it with Hope, Gracie and Henry (he loves the name of the book). It is a great story about how people can change & has a metaphysical bent. Read it aloud to a kid. ...more
Mike
Jan 05, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A bit of a mixed bag. All of the stories are very readable, but not all of them go anywhere - some of them end quite oddly. Henry Sugar comes to a certain point, the author intrudes thoroughly, and then takes the story off in an almost apologetic way that seems at odds with what's gone before. Similarly in The Swan, one of Dahl's typically grim and nasty pieces, we have an ending that connects in no way with what is an otherwise realistic story.
And there's that odd amoral feeling about some of
...more
Cathleen
I recently read The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar and Six More by Roald Dahl, which tells short stories on a greedy man who changes his lifestyle. In my opinion, Roald Dahl is one of the best authors since he can turn fantasy and unbelievable novels into novels that seem realistic, but still unbelievable. Because of this sense, reading this book has been a wondrous adventure that I couldn't have gotten from other authors. The story of Henry Sugar reminded me a lot of a movie made in 2016 called ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Berenstain Bears on the Job
  • The Berenstain Bears' Four Seasons
  • The Berenstain Bears: Sister Bear Learns to Share
  • The Berenstain Bears' Big Bear, Small Bear
  • The Berenstain Bears Gotta Dance!
  • The Berenstain Bears And The Baby Chipmunk
  • The Berenstain Bears and the Wishing Star
  • Ballet for Drina
  • The Trouble with Jenny's Ear
  • Armadillo and Hare
  • The Plant That Ate Dirty Socks
  • World's Best Life Hacks: 200 Things That Make Your Life Easier
  • Breakshot
  • The Night Flier
  • Edwin Mullhouse: The Life and Death of an American Writer 1943-1954 by Jeffrey Cartwright
  • العلامة
  • Basil and the Lost Colony (Basil of Baker Street, #2)
  • Manners of the Age
See similar books…
20,774 followers
Roald Dahl was a British novelist, short story writer and screenwriter of Norwegian descent, who rose to prominence in the 1940's with works for both children and adults, and became one of the world's bestselling authors.

Dahl's first published work, inspired by a meeting with C. S. Forester, was Shot Down Over Libya. Today the story is published as A Piece of Cake. The story, about his wartime adv
...more

Articles featuring this book

Famous people! Are they really just like us? In the case of these individuals, the answer is a resounding yes when it comes to loving...
228 likes · 169 comments
“Some people when they have taken too much and have been driven beyond the point of endurance, simply crumble and give up. There are others, though they are not many, who will for some reason always be unconquerable. You meet them in time of war and also in time of peace. They have an indomitable spirit and nothing, neither pain nor torture nor threat of death, will cause them to give up.” 44 likes
“And it was then I began to realize for the first time that there are two distinct sides to a writer of fiction. First, there is the side he displays to the public, that of an ordinary person like anyone else, a person who does ordinary things and speaks ordinary language. Second, there is the secret side, which comes out in him only after he has closed the door of his workroom and is completely alone. It is then that he slips into another world altogether, a world where his imagination takes over and he finds himself actually living in the places he is writing about at that moment. I myself, if you want to know, fall into a kind of trance, and everything around me disappears. I see only the point of my pencil moving over the paper, and quite often two hours go by as though they were a couple of seconds.” 18 likes
More quotes…