Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Song of the Cypress” as Want to Read:
The Song of the Cypress
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Song of the Cypress

by
4.71  ·  Rating details ·  17 Ratings  ·  11 Reviews
Annie sets out to make a better life for herself in a mystical, timelessly beautiful Tuscan valley. Intrigued by Joe, her American neighbour and strangely drawn to the ancient cypress which protects her new home, she begins to stretch the boundaries of her world. Her inner journey is guided by the cypress and by its old guardian Fiammetta, who the locals believe to be a wi ...more
Paperback, 310 pages
Published November 12th 2013 by Sussurro Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Song of the Cypress, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Song of the Cypress

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-25)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Kate Pill
Feb 12, 2015 rated it it was amazing
The Song of the Cypress This novel, by Tonia Parronchi, is to put it simply, an absolutely beautiful read. There is something about it that reminds me of the evocative sensitivity of Joanne Harris’, Chocolat. It is a novel about journeys; a journey to find oneself, to connect with others and a journey to the essence of what it truly means to be a part of the world that surrounds us. Without giving too much away, Annie moves from her busy city lifestyle to a village in the Tuscan countryside that ...more
Bonnie
Jul 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I thought that this story was written beautifully. It's a magical love story with alluring descriptions of the cypresses and of an area in Tuscany. It's about self-discovery and learning to trust and love. I was spellbound by the writing. I highly recommend this book for those who love reading about the Italian countryside and its people.
Vanessa Wester
Jan 09, 2015 rated it really liked it
It's hard to even begin to explain what I thought of "The Song of the Cypress". This novel is so unique and beautifully written that I feel inept at writing down my own views about it.

Ultimately, the story is about the self-discovery of Ann (or Annie). A woman who needs to find herself as a person, spiritual soul, lover and member of a community. Until she dreams of the "Cypress" her life has been depressed. Following the needs of her mother, she has no time for herself. When her mother dies, sh
...more
Stephanie Parker
Jun 24, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I’m not skilled enough as a writer to pen a review for Tonia Parronchi’s The Song of the Cypress. Her poignant word artistry crosshatches Annie and Joe’s idyllic love story in luminous, pulsing colors that splash off the page.
While the Cypress sings its cadence of circular links of time and the opulence of changing seasons in the Italian landscape, Annie transforms from the shadow person created by the unrelenting demands of a demented mother into a real person, capable of loving and being loved
...more
Alison
Jan 19, 2015 rated it really liked it
Ann is a woman who is only half alive, caring for a mother who has sunk into depression and illness since the death of her husband, leaving Ann to a lonely childhood and a miserable adulthood. Her mother’s death offers the chance of a fresh start and Ann dreams of the cypress on the night before her mother’s funeral.
Ann travels to Tuscany, and in a small village finds the cypress. She begins her transformation, embracing her new life and her neighbours, the chatty Lucia and Pietro, Lucia’s quiet
...more
Bev Spicer
Jan 26, 2015 rated it really liked it
I won’t give a summary here, as other reviewers have already very efficiently done so.

I really enjoyed reading this book. Tonia Parronchi’s practically flawless prose flows beautifully and is at times poetic. The story itself is a mix of fairytale romance and mystical folklore, which I haven’t come across before. I must say that the enchanted Cypress did not appeal to me much to start with, but as I progressed with the story, I understood that it added an interesting dimension to Annie’s new li
...more
Joan Anddavid
Jul 10, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This is an enchanting and heartwarming story. The setting of Tuscany is described in wonderful detail - so much so, that I felt as if I was there. It certainly made me want to pack my bags and travel there to experience it for myself. Although I found the story exciting, I also found it very relaxing and it had a high comfort factor. It is not, as such a 'love' story, but goes much, much deeper - a story about human love, it's power and it's depth. I would certainly recommend it.

Jo Cooper
Catherine Scott
Jun 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I could not put this book down ... It made me yearn to move to the Italian countryside! Tonia has a unique voice, poetic without being cloying, full of humanity and wonderful descriptions of nature. Far more evocative than "Under the Tuscan Sun", in my opinion.
Themah Carolle-casey
Jun 17, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This is a beautiful book written with great sensitivity. I have just read it for the second time and have found even more riches within its magically woven story of love, nature and spirit. A must for anyone's reading list.
Barbara
Jun 20, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Iread it twice !!!
Anna Staak
rated it it was amazing
Jun 18, 2014
Patrick Parronchi
rated it it was amazing
Jun 14, 2014
Maureen Anderson
rated it it was amazing
Jun 14, 2014
Joan
rated it liked it
Apr 27, 2015
James Drake
Jun 21, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Fantastic book full of mystery that will make you truly care for both the characters and setting.
Rex
rated it it was amazing
Jun 14, 2014
Bevk
rated it it was amazing
May 23, 2018
Julie Haigh
marked it as to-read
Feb 16, 2015
Norma
marked it as to-read
Mar 02, 2015
Janice
marked it as to-read
Jun 28, 2015
Angelia
marked it as to-read
Aug 28, 2015
Susan Joyce
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2015
Beverly Mcclain
marked it as to-read
Mar 30, 2016
Barbara
marked it as to-read
May 29, 2018
Kim
marked it as to-read
May 29, 2018
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goose bumps 1 4 Jun 15, 2014 11:29PM  
11 followers
Although she was born and brought up in England, Tonia has lived in Italy since 1990 and her books reflect this intimate knowledge of the country. Living in Tuscany gives her a unique point of view, a deep knowledge of the local ways and people whilst keeping her intrinsically British sense of humour. Read more about her life and work on her website http://www.toniaparronchi.com
More about Tonia Parronchi
“Time and space flowed around me in never-ending circles.
I delighted in each moment of day or year.
I dreamt through centuries yet focused on the intimate second.
I felt my strength grow until it was too great to be constrained by bark and leaf and then, as I expanded, stretching out toward the universe, I felt the shock of connection with someone who stopped to rest in my shade. This was only the first of many such communions with the human soul; so fragile and yet so brave. Now and then, as centuries passed, a special soul drew near, one who could hear my song and who, for a short time sang with me.”
0 likes
“There was something about that cypress-lined track that drew me to it, tempted me further along it, in spite of the rough road surface that strained the car’s suspension to the limit. I began to feel strangely elated, my early tiredness slipping away. I unwound the window to let the dusty air bring the scents of spring woodland to me and I laughed out loud. It was like being on a ride at the fair, bumping over stones and swerving around the torturous bends while breathing in unfamiliar scents and a general air of excitement.
I came to a fork in the road and stopped, unsure which direction to take. As I hesitated, an old woman stepped into view, startling me as she emerged from a half-hidden track in the undergrowth. She stared at me piercingly with clear blue eyes set in a maze of sun-baked wrinkles. She looked such a part of the landscape, in her faded brown dress, her white hair shimmering in the sun like fluffy dandelion seed, and I was so taken aback by her sudden appearance, that I just sat and returned her stare. The sound of the engine idling quietly seemed to echo the beat of my heart.”
0 likes
More quotes…