Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Date with the Dead (Ripsters)” as Want to Read:
Date with the Dead (Ripsters)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

Date with the Dead

(Ripsters #1)

by
4.18  ·  Rating details ·  74 ratings  ·  41 reviews
Sixteen-year-old Jolie Livingston's closest and only friend Drew is this really hot dead guy, and it bites that the self-absorbed princesses at school cannot even see him. That's right she can communicate with the dead. It's the living she has trouble with. She and her mom inherited this awesome crib in Plymouth, MA. It's quite a step-up from the homeless shelter in New Or ...more
Kindle Edition, 226 pages
Published April 30th 2013 by Books on the Edge (first published June 16th 2012)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Date with the Dead, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Date with the Dead

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.18  · 
Rating details
 ·  74 ratings  ·  41 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Jennifer  Ricketts (Donnie Darko Girl)
I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review for the blog tour. My stop can be found at Donnie Darko Girl.

Usually I'm not drawn to mysteries, but the premise of a supernatural themed mystery had me intrigued. I love a good ghost story and hunting ghosts is even better. I must admit, I'm jealous of the abilities of Jolie and her mom. I'd love to be able to help spirits cross over and give families closure. Jolie and her mom come from a line of women in their family who all hav
...more
Josheka
More of my reviews @ Reading 24x7


Date with the Dead was brilliantly written. It was mysterious, engrossing, and totally fun to read!
The story was really nicely developed. It had a mysterious edge to it throughout which I liked. Jolie's POV was very interesting to read since the character itself was intriguing. Chris Myers did a wonderful job at executing this story.

Jolie was a fun girl. I liked her from the beginning because even after the hardships she had been through, she was still strong. H
...more
Tiffany
May 01, 2015 rated it really liked it
Jolie Livingston sees dead people. She always has. As a child she was terrified. As a teenager she makes profit from them. She comes from a long line of bad ass women. Psychic women who specialize in the dead.

Hurricane Katrina evacuates Jolie & her mother from New Orleans to Plymouth, MA. Jolie has had a hard life. She doesn't have a father. Her mother is broke. Her only friend is a ghost. But she has a heart of gold and trudges on.

Ripsters Inc gets its first case in Plymouth with an angry g
...more
Katie (Kitkatscanread)
This was a cute read that reminded me of ghost busters.
All the characters are well-developed, and it was full of mystery.
It had me guessing the killer right 'til the end, and even then I was wrong about my suspicions.

Full review: http://kitkat1242.blogspot.co.uk/2013...
Micki
Jan 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I've said this before, but I always mean it. This time is no different. I love this book. I love the main character--so sassy and snarky. So tough and thick-skinned. I know she should be considered flawed and rough around the edges, but she spoke to me.
Oh. And I love a good nerd sidekick.
I need more of this genre. It doesn't get enough recognition. The only thing I can compare it to that was nearly as enjoyable is the Anna Dressed in Blood duology by Kendare Blake, and it's my absolute favorit
...more
Kristina Snyder
Jan 14, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book was a huge surprise. I didn't think I was going to like it at all. I was always told to never judge a book by its cover, but I did. I don't really like the cover of this book, and it made me not want to read it. I am so glad I did though. I loved Date with the Dead. This book was very action-packed and full of mystery. There was also a little romance in there as well for us romance junkies. It is very refreshing to read a book that unique and original. I haven't read a book like this ...more
Athena Stephenson
ARC provided by Netgalley for an honest review *
This was such a fabulous book! I honestly enjoyed it immensely and loved all the supernatural elements! I loved learning about Jolie and her family and which special talents they had as well as seeing the friendships blossom between characters. It was also hilarious at times and creepy too! I really am intrigued by the ending and really really hope there is more to this book!
RoloPoloBookBlog
4 stars out of 5

Jolie Livingston has some pretty cool super powers. She can see the dead, talk to the dead, and help the dead cross over into the afterlife. The down side? Currently, her best and only friend is a ghost named Drew, she and her mom are so poor they are on the verge of being homeless yet again, and, last but not least, Jolie has caught the not-so-wanted attention of the Self-Absorbed Princesses or the SAPs. It’s tough being in high school!

What I liked:
1. The plot. Not only does Jol
...more
Kenzie
Dec 19, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition


This was a tour, come check it out on my blog: http://theread-a-holic.blogspot.com/


How I Acquired This Fantabulous book: Oh, how I loooooooove book tours ^_^ seriously, if you get a review position, it usually means you get a copy of the book. And come one, free books! Who doesn't love that. I should also probably mention that just cuz I got this book free of charge did in no way affect the rate it or review it :) lol, anyway, I'd actually looked at this book before I realized there was a tour a
...more
Paperback Princess
Aug 06, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Paperback Princess by: ATOMR Tours
Shelves: tour, reviewed
This review was originally posted at Paperback Princess

Date with the Dead is a fun murder mystery based novel with loveable characters that make you want so much more. Chris Myers writing is engrossing and the mystery unfolded perfectly, despite the novel revolving around teens the mystery was not easily guessed. There was also several sub-plots which kept the story more interesting. I'd probably say this is somewhat in between the Nancy Drew Series and the mystery-side of Charlaine Harris' Sook
...more
Anie
Dec 06, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: ghosts, favorites
Received from NetGalley

I LOOOVE this book. Such a fun and quick read. I just flew through the pages and couldn't put it down.

Jolie has a very hard life. She lives with her mother. They moved from New Orleans after Katrina, to her aunts place in Plymouth, MA. Aunt died in sea previously and left them the house. There are bills and mortgage payments due and they are about to lose the house, but Jolie has a plan.

She has a special gift that runs in the family, she can talk to ghosts. (Her mom can ch
...more
Lelia Taylor
Jul 17, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: full-reviews
What a lot of fun this book is! With a mix of the paranormal, a bit of romance and a murder mystery that keeps our ghost hunters guessing almost till the end, nearly any reader can find something to like in Date with the Dead. Even the romance is appealing to those of us who’ve grown tired of the insta-love that’s so prevalent in young adult fiction because here it’s natural and, while there are plenty of roadblocks in the way, there’s no overblown angst. As a matter of fact, there’s a good deal ...more
Tammy
Jan 18, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Jolie and her mother have just moved from New Orleans to Plymouth, Massachutes. After loosing their home to hurricane Katrina and living out of shelters, they inhereit her aunt's house after her aunt goes missing and is presumed dead. Jolie is excited about the fresh start. Her only friend is Drew, her handsome spirit that only she can see. She has always been the outcast and the fact that people see her talking to herself doesn't up her social status. Never having enough money, Jolie and her mo ...more
Levian
May 05, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Jolie was a socially awkward girl whose only friend was Drew, a ghost. she had the ability to communicate with the dead, her mom read palms and cards for a living, and they had difficulties paying the rent. to help her mom with the money, Jolie made use of her ability and started a ghost hunting business, called Ripsters (Rest In Peace Sophisticated Technology for Efficient Removal of Spirits). in the previous town they resided, Jolie had a group of ghost hunters that worked with her; but now in ...more
Online Critic
Sep 13, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Date with the Dead is an action-packed mystery filled with romance, edgy suspense, and delightful characters. The main character Jolie has a great, updated teen voice. When she moves from New Orleans to Plymouth, MA, a place teeming with the dead, she starts a business called Ripsters to eradicate pesky spirits and make enough cash to help her mom pay for the mortgage that's in arrears. Jolie is fatherless and often thinks about her missing parent, adding sympathy for this hard-working, ambitiou ...more
Michelle
Jan 14, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I can't even get over how much I loved the idea of Date with the Dead! Girl can see ghosts so she starts up her own ghost hunting/mystery solving business, and hijinks ensue. It was like Nancy Drew meets Medium. Plus the name of her business is called RIPSTERS- Rest In Peace Sophisticated Technology For Efficient Removal Of Spirits. Way too cute!

Jolie and Drew are adorable. I loved the ghost hunting duo they made. It kind of seamed like Jolie was a loner but then right at the start of the story
...more
Tee loves Kyle Jacobson
Date With The Dead is a very funny, unique read. I really loved the descriptions of Plymouth of Plymouth seeing as I live 45 minutes from there. I really enjoyed how Chris took the whole ghost hunter thing to another level. I have read a lot of ghost books but this one by far was the most pleasurable.

Jolie and her mother move into a house that in Plymouth. They both move there to start over because quite frankly they were not making it in New Orleans. Jolie has a gorgeous ghost best friend that
...more
Paula  Phillips
Jun 23, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition

Jolie Livingston could be just like your average sixteen-year old girl but she isn't , ever since Jolie was a baby she has had the ability to not only see the dead but communicate with them. Think Jennifer Love-Hewitt in The Ghost Whisperer or Patricia Arquette in The Medium . When Jolie and her mum move into her Aunt's house after her Aunt Ophelia's death , Jolie can't help but think that things aren't as they seem in Plymouth. Especially when she is called to do a ghost exorcism and help a gho
...more
Kirsty Bicknell
Aug 02, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: ghosts, ya, paranormal
I had purchased Date with the Dead because I am a fan of Chris Myers, and before I had signed up for the Dead and Missing blog tour, but unfortunately I had not had time to read it.
I admit that initially the story did not engage me as fully as I wanted it to but Jolie is an interesting character and the way in which Chris Myers generates mystery is inspired.
I found myself drawn into the story because of the personalities. Jolie struggles with being 'different' and her best friend is a ghost! Ye
...more
Chris Myers
Jun 16, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Publishers Weekly Review:
Plymouth, Massachusetts, is the perfect setting for this tale of ghostly hauntings and murder. High-school student Jolie offers a first person account of her life as a ghost hunter. Working together with cohorts Reese, Hayden, Brittany and Drew (a ghost), Jolie seeks to solve the haunting of a home by John Distal, a man who was most likely murdered. As Jolie gets closer to uncovering the identity of Distal's murderer, she is pursued by an unknown assailant driving an SUV
...more
Mariko Tatsumoto
I think of a book about ghost hunting with ghost characters and talking with the dead as a dark book, but I found Date with the Dead to be witty and humorous despite its serious topics. Jolie is a smart teen with ancestors who can communicate with the dead. She and her mom lost everything in Hurricane Katrina, and they have a hard life. She is strong willed and desperately working at ghost hunting to save the home they inherited from an aunt. You have to feel for a kid who’s an outcast and doesn ...more
Pamela Mingle
Nov 11, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Ghosts, hot guys (dead and alive!), and an intriguing mystery. What’s not to like? And Chris Myers promises more to come.

Spirited (pun intended) main character Jolie has a lot on her plate. She’s just moved from New Orleans to Plymouth, Mass., which means a new high school. She’s different, and doesn’t fit in with the popular set. When she finds out that she and her mom are up to their ears in debt, Jolie realizes there’s no time to waste in getting her ghost hunting business going.

She forms an
...more
Tanya Renee
Apr 30, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
This was a wonderful book! It was very well written and the characters are great as well as the storyline. I loved the whole my best friend is a dead hot ghost and how they relied on each other for a lot of things (even though he was a ghost). And I especially loved the friendly banter between characters. Banter between the characters is probably my favorite thing about a book because it makes me look stupid while I'm laughing and people are wondering what I'm laughing at. This is definitely one ...more
Dakota
Jun 16, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This story kept me up late at night. Teenaged Goth girl Jolie is a ghost hunter at night accompanied by her very dead haunt Drew. Jolie gathers a cast of unlikely friends: Reese--the techie who's allergic to ghosts, Brit--a very pink SAP, and Hayden--Jolie's very cute love interest.

They search for the killer of a ghost haunting a family. The stakes are raised when a young girl becomes ill from the haunting. ROFL humor, great characters, and fast-pace plotting make this a quick read.

The story hea
...more
Marty Banks
Sep 12, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Jolie is one cool girl, even if she is in to dead guys. I love how smart and witty she is, and how she's such an average teenager, even while she's kind of gothy/quirky and dealing with some really heavy grown up stuff, like mortgages. The mix makes it all totally believable and fun. Jolie is such a great character. The story reads fast and is completely engrossing, and even though the dead guy part is, yeah, kind of strange... kind of super cool, too. Loved it.
Kat
Nov 26, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: amazing, epicness
I really liked this book!! It was up my ally. It was so fun and interesting. Really reminded me of my paranormal days too :3 this was Rey fun and interesting, it was a page turner. It's a fun and fast read. Keeps you interested the entire time. The book was filled with mystery, I really had no idea who killed the man, but I was guessing the wife.
Lana
Jan 02, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is a great young adult story! Definitely a page turning read! It has an intriguing mystery, a great cast of characters - each with their own quirks, and a heroine who's clever and smart. The Ripsters were very entertaining and kept me turning pages. I look forward to the next book in this series.
Freddie
Jun 16, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
like that it flows quickly and is a kind of modern day, ghost hunting Nancy Drew with friends. A cooler, less popular Nancy Drew. Looking forward to reading more books by this author.
Caroline Gabel
Dec 04, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
i liked this story, i am looking to see if there are any more.
Susan Underbrink
A big thank you to NetGalley for the ARC. I am voluntarily reviewing this book. First time reading this author. I rate this book 4.5. This is one of the best books I have read all year!! It held my interest, the characters were captivating and fun. The story had a little if everything, romance, jealousy, mystery, intrigue. I think young adults and adults would enjoy this book. I hope there is another book in the works!!
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Indelible (The Yara Silva Trilogy, #2)
  • Starting Over (Cinnamon Girl, #2)
  • Reaper's Novice (Soul Collector, #1)
  • Merch Girl
  • Transcender: First-Timer (Transcender, #1)
  • Good-Bye, Baby Max
  • Polar Opposites (Super Villian Academy, #2)
  • Blog This (Tenderness and Terror #1)
  • Kiss of Awakening (Succubus Kiss, #0.5)
  • Chasing Mercy (Mercy, #1)
  • Lethal Journey
  • The Colors of Friendship (Colors Trilogy, #1)
  • Deja Moo (Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum #3)
  • The Faerie Guardian, Part IV
  • Hollow's End (The Legend Series, Book One)
  • The Weight Of Night (The Progeny #1)
  • Hyperion and the Great Balls of Fire (Heroes in Training, #4)
  • Dear Adam
144 followers
EARLY REVIEWERS PROGRAM
***Interested in becoming an early reviewer?***
Limited copies available on every title. Please contact me to find out details. An ebook copy is given in exchange for an Amazon and Goodreads reviews.

Other books in the series

Ripsters (3 books)
  • Dead and Missing (Ripsters #2)
  • Buried in New Orleans (Ripsters #3)