Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Deadly Dining” as Want to Read:
Deadly Dining
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Deadly Dining

by
3.89  ·  Rating details ·  63 ratings  ·  45 reviews
A triple homicide is caught on tape by a professional photographer yet the person or persons responsible and the motive for this grisly crime are a mystery. This is the kind of high-profile murder case that attorney Paula Waters loves but as she tries to unravel the twisted facts a critical witness is murdered and two others disappear. When the trial finally begins and she ...more
Paperback, 352 pages
Published June 1st 2014 by Top Publications, Ltd.
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.89  · 
Rating details
 ·  63 ratings  ·  45 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Joan Mitchell
Dec 28, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: books-i-have-won
This is a good murder mystery with lots of people who were suspects. As the book went along more suspects turned up. It kept my interest until the end. The story had several parallel stories, some love interests and the inevitable nosey law partner. I received this book from Goodreads for free.
Sharon
Aug 25, 2017 rated it liked it
This was an interesting but somewhat passionless book, partly because everything is set in the context of a law office where a murder case, a civil suit and a bankruptcy are being handled and partly because of the writing style. Even so, watching the cases spool out was interesting and the reader does learn something about the law. As I often do, I think the book could have done without the sex component of the lawyers' personal lives except in the one situation where it was actually relevant to ...more
Judy Kal
Jan 02, 2019 rated it really liked it
I received a free copy of Deadly Dining from Voracious readers only.
I'm glad I did.
This was an easy to read crime/court case novel which kept me interested all the way through with its mixture of plots and unexpected twists and turns throughout.
A good read!
Maryclaire
Mar 03, 2015 rated it it was ok
Recommended to Maryclaire by: free from Goodreads
I also received this book free from Goodreads.

My first impression was "what is the creepy material the cover is made of?" I had to cover it in saran wrap.

I have never read a William Manchee book before. I found the characters and the three cases they worked on interesting; but did no one edit this book before it was printed? There were errors every few pages. Starting with the very first page where Stan takes his cell phone from his pocket - in 1997 cell phones (actually still called mobile pho
...more
Wanda
Aug 25, 2014 rated it really liked it
I have read every Stan Turner book and have never been disappointed. This book has all the ingredients that make this series great. Intrigue, plot on plot, interesting characters and always a question of what is Stan Turner going to do next. In almost every book, there is something that is left to imagine how the plot will end. So, Mr. Manchee, can't wait until 2015. What will happen to Stan and his wife, his partners and other people that are associated with him. All I can say is, it seems the ...more
Claire Barfell
Dec 20, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This was a very good book. There were three separate cases, one murder and two civil cases. They were all quite interesting and it was a big surprise about the murder. I felt like I got to know Stan, Paula and Jodie. There was even a side story about Stan's personal life that was really a surprise. I would definitely recommend this series and want to read more of them. I like that it takes place in Dallas, where I live and I can recognize the street names and some of the locations.
Deb Wade
Feb 01, 2019 rated it liked it
If you are looking for a thrilling roller coaster murder mystery this is not the book for you. However, if you enjoy a slow-boiler courtroom drama with some undercover sleuthing, then you have come to the right book. Deadly Dining is the first book of William Manchee's that I have read and the eleventh in a series about a small legal practise with Stan, Laura and Jodie; three attorneys. While the book references a history of the characters and their practise, it can easily be read as a stand alo ...more
Amanda Lillie
Apr 11, 2019 rated it it was ok
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Cas
Dec 21, 2018 rated it really liked it
I received this book via Voracious Readers Only there are plenty twists and turns that keep you guessing. I found this book a page turner where you really get to know the characters. The author uses very descriptive writing which at times I found a little wordy for my liking but still a good worthwhile read.
Tina
Nov 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Very good book from lawyer point of view. Main story plus side stories about other cases which mold really well within the book. Well written and kept me glued to the pages, didn't want to put the book down!
Shelleymae O'Donnell
Nov 30, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Well defined and eclectic group of characters. A who-done it with twists and turns right until the end!

Enjoyed the ride and am grateful to the author through Voracious Readers Only who gave me a free copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.
Angela Camwell
Jan 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book. I received a complimentary copy from the author via Voracious Readers Oniy and did not know what to expect. A really well written book. Now I have read this one I will be reading other books he has written.
DLV
Apr 11, 2019 rated it really liked it
I received a Complimentary copy of this book from Voracious Readers Only.
This book had twists throughout the book.
The twists kept me
interested!!
Glenda Bixler
Aug 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: reviewed-books
Latest in series, 11th...wish I had time to read from the beginning!

http://gabixlerreviews-bookreadershea...
Carole Yaffe
Jan 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Good book for anyone who enjoys court cases. I don’t usually read during the day but had to keep reading this to the end.
Robin Morgan
Dec 24, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: my-own-books
I won a copy of this book through a giveaway on GoodReads.com and the following is my honest opinion for it.

This is the first real mystery I’ve read/reviewed and the first time I’ve read anything written by William Manchee. The unfortunate thing for me is this is the 11th book in the Stan Turner series of mysteries so I don’t know anything about the main character for the series or any of the other characters, which might be either a good or bad thing.

Reading this book, I had visions of Perry Ma
...more
Trish Goodgame
Jan 31, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: manchee-william
I enjoyed this book about 3 people murdered (poisoned) at a restaurant. There were other investigations going on at the same time, so there were 3 different story lines going at once. Interesting twist to the triple homicide, with several suspects. Not a bad mystery.
Brent Soderstrum
Sep 03, 2014 rated it really liked it
In the 11th Stan Turner novel, Stan, Paula and Jodie have three cases going. The biggest is the poisoning of three customers at Emilio's Restaurant. The second involves the victim of a robbery suing the guy who foiled the robbery which resulted in the victim being shot in the leg. The final matter involves a Pakistan man who is scammed out of his $250,000 investment in a grocery store. All interesting cases but really too much for one book. Manchee tends to do this in his novels. While most book ...more
Cheryl
Dec 27, 2014 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: E
Law office of Stan Turner,Paula Waters and new associate Jodie Marshall find themselves with three important cases. Stan is helping Sammy a Pakistani immigrant defrauded of his life savings when he buys into a grocery store and has to file bankruptcy. Paula is defending Ricardo. the waiter at Emilio's Italian Restaurant where four people were poisoned. three who died. But who really poisoned them was it Rrcardo, another waiter, the mob who are trying to buy the building or someone else. Jodie is ...more
David Ketelsen
Dec 29, 2014 rated it really liked it
I've read about half of Manchee's books and this is the best one yet. The main characters of Stan Turner and Paula Waters are well defined and the cases that their law firm tackle in Deadly Dining are both interesting and complicated.

The main case revolves around 4 people being exposed to poison at a family oriented restaurant and the owner hiring Turner & Waters to defend one of his waiters who's been charged with the crime. Three of the victims end up dying so it's a very high profile case
...more
Margie
Dec 09, 2016 rated it did not like it
Deadly Dining

A Stan Turner Mystery

by: William Manchee


I received Deadly Dining for free in exchange for an honest review. I am not sure if this was an advance reading copy or not as there is nothing marking it as such nor is there a price on the book.


This book sounded like it would be a good mystery--a triple homicide caught on film yet the murderers are a mystery. Boy, was I wrong. I had a hard time getting past the horrible writing and had to force myself not to pick up my red pen to edit the b
...more
Jim
Jan 13, 2015 rated it it was ok
This is a book with a real split personality. On the one hand the plot is intriguing and the author obviously knows his way around a courtroom, but his book has more than its’ share of problems. First are the numerous instances where a copy editor could have made a major improvement. Anything that could get by spell check did. Most annoying for me was when the name of the wrong character was used either in a scene or as a part of a conversation (This happened at least twice!). In addition the di ...more
Lisa Cobb Sabatini
Dec 19, 2014 rated it really liked it
I won Deadly Dining: A Stan Turner Mystery by William Manchee from Goodreads.
William Manchee's Stan Turner series is full of surprises. Much of the plot is carried forward by dialogue, which keeps the pace of the story fast and intense. The three protagonists, lawyers in a small, struggling law firm, are appealing, and their personal actions as they investigate their cases create suspense that keeps readers turning pages. Manchee has a wonderful knack for providing unexpected outcomes. This seri
...more
Martha
Aug 02, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I love a good mystery and Deadly Dining by William Manchee has a triple murder to solve plus the clever steps to help a man from Pakistan keep his grocery store instead of losing his families life savings. Lawyer, Stan Turner. and his co-workers, Jodie and Paula use great reasoning skills and legal procedures to solve the murders, plus they try some pretty clever legal tactics to help Ramadan Bakira keep from lose his store to a crook.
The conversations flowed well and the action kept me turning
...more
natalie
Feb 16, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Thank you once again to Goodreads for giving me this opportunity to win a copy f Deadly Dining. I've never read William Manchee's prior books and if this book was any indication, I know I would have enjoyed them.

This legal/murder mystery book was a page turner with twist and turns which I really liked. Naming the Chapters as the names of the characters was a nice touch too, I thought. There were a lot of characters and 3 separate legal cases, but I could follow them all fairly easily, which is n
...more
Conny
Jul 03, 2015 rated it really liked it
I was a First Read Winner of this book and I really enjoyed it. I have to be honest when I first started to read it I had my doubts weather I would like it or not, but after reading some of the reviews I figured I needed to give it more of a chance. And I am very glad I did! Not only was it a great murder mystery, but it also gave me a real insight into what a trial would look like from the attorney's point of view. I loved the characters and the plot lines, and could not wait to find out how it ...more
Pam Mooney
Dec 21, 2014 rated it really liked it
I am a new fan! I love mysteries and courtroom dramas and this book delivered both. It was so interesting to look at the murder and witnesses from a lawyer perspective rather than from police although there was plenty of investigating going on. I also enjoyed that there were also two civil cases integrated into the book. Another perspective of how lawyers and investigators juggle workload. A fast paced thriller and a good read. Also enjoyed the cover artwork. Sort of like setting the scene.

Glen
Jan 22, 2015 rated it liked it
Shelves: firstreads, mystery
The latest entry in the Stan Turner legal mystery series.

There is a poisoning in a popular restaurant in Dallas. a poor waiter is arrested. The firm represents him. Turner also finds himself representing a Pakistani store owner in a conflict with a fellow countryman.

Overall, the primary mystery isn't too bad. The secondary plot doesn't add a lot to the story. The parts of the book on the personal lives of the characters aren't bad. I thought the book was written at too low a grade level for the
...more
Jennifer
Dec 18, 2014 rated it it was ok
I received this book through the First Reads program.

It took me ages to finish this book because I just couldn't find much about it to like. the writing wasn't up to par, the characters weren't likable, and the story couldn't capture my attention. what surprises me is that this is the 2nd in a series. glad I didn't read the first. not sure what possessed the author to continue the story line or who could have encouraged him to keep it going.
Kathy
Jan 27, 2015 rated it really liked it
This is a Goodreads giveaway book. This is a very good book. It is well written and I like the way the author instead of using chapters used the characters as a grouping; making it very easy to keep the characters straight when there are so many. Each character has their own personality which makes you feel that you know them personally. The storyline is very good and there are turns and twists enough to keep you guessing.
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Murdered Twice
  • Shady Place
  • Murder on the Orion Express
  • The Dead Assassin: The Paranormal Casebooks of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Out of the Storm
  • Murder for the Halibut (A Clueless Cook Mystery, #3)
  • Mercy River (Van Shaw #4)
  • Mephisto Waltz (Liebermann Papers, #7)
  • Murder with a Cherry on Top (A Lickety Splits Mystery #1)
  • The Girl with Kaleidoscope Eyes (Stewart Hoag Mystery, #9)
  • The Sound of Murder  (Ivy Meadows Mysteries, #2)
  • The Sixth Victim (A Constance Piper Mystery, #1)
  • Hook, Line and Murder (Murder, She Wrote, #46)
  • The Faith of Barack Obama
  • After Terra: Year 200
  • The In-Laws
  • Black Sunset: Hollywood Sex, Lies, Glamour, Betrayal and Raging Egos
  • Missing Daughter, Shattered Family (David Lloyd Investigations #1)
180 followers
William Manchee is an attorney by trade and practices consumer law in Dallas with his son Jim. Originally from southern California, he now lives in Plano, Texas.
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »