Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Stay (Alexa Reed, #1)” as Want to Read:
Stay (Alexa Reed, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Stay

(Alexa Reed #1)

by
4.20  ·  Rating details ·  698 ratings  ·  147 reviews
Set against the steamy and sultry world of South Beach, Florida, a modern romance unfolds in Stay. Alexa is beautiful, independent and hard to resist for serially unattached Julian. Neither one is looking for a relationship, but their palpable chemistry and instant emotional connection is too strong to ignore.

For the first time in years, Julian is interested in more than
...more
Paperback, 364 pages
Published November 18th 2013 by iUniverse.com
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Stay, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Leslie Clifford
Jul 31, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I am stunned at the ending of this book. I feel like I have been on an emotional roller coaster since the beginning of the story. Alexa is a broken and tormented woman that hides behind the pretense of having everything together. A good job, good friends, an obsession with shoes and that is still not enough to hide the guilt that she lives with over the death of her ex-boyfriend. After a chance meeting with Julian, Alexa is ready to take back her life. She tries to be in a relationship but refus ...more
Ann Marie
Jul 30, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
Carnal; relating to physical, especially sexual, needs and activities.

Alexa Reed is a 25 year old woman who has had one hell of a year, through it all she has had her friends Marissa, Shannon, Krista and Luke her best friend. Tonight she is going out with them to meet up at Stellar night club located within Hotel Del Marco to celebrate his birthday. Luke is a bartender at Orion which is the rooftop bar. Upon arrival everyone proceeds to get their drinks in hand and head to the dance floor downst
...more
Penny Maun
Dec 31, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I couldn't put this book down and read it in two and a half days. It was exciting, romantic and at times intense. I did not want the story of Alexa and Julian to end and I can't wait for the next book to be out already! Being a former student at FSU I loved the references to some of the popular bars that I remember going to in college too! As I was reading the book it took me right back to being in my mid-twenties and the feelings of really being in love and finding that one special person that ...more
Brianne
Jul 30, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Major applause goes out to Hilary Wynne for writing what I have to say is one of the best novels of 2014. The story about Alexa (or Lexie) as she is known to her friends and the intense relationship between her Julian, will leave you wanting more. Wynne touches the hearts of her readers and digs deep into the soul with her writing and brings out only the best in her beautifully written novel Stay.


There were many of times she had me near tears with the words she wrote, so poetically written and
...more
Tina Lee Harris
Aug 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing
4.5 stars

What an explosive emotion ride this book will take you on. I am like WOW. The chemistry between Alexa and Julian is almost like another character in itself. The supporting characters were great too. Their dialogue and interaction throughout the story make it all work perfectly.

Alex Reed is a very independent individual who seems to be dealing with a tragic event in her life her way. She sees a therapist once a week but still holds the secrets close to her. She is unable to trust anyone
...more
Kel
Aug 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Wow...what an intense and steamy read! A story that will pull your emotions in all different directions. Definitely a story that you will love!

I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know all the characters. My fav being Julian. He is sweet, passionate and REALLY knows the right thing to say and do. The sexual chemistry between him and Alexa is mind blowing. I simple could not get enough of it. He also showed his vulnerable side which made me love him even more. And don't even get me started on the span
...more
Ashley Jasper
Nov 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This book had me hooked from the first page. It is the first thing I've read from this author and won't be the last. Her writing style had me furiously turning the page and staying up til 2 am to finish the story. The book had the right mix of sweetness, steam and angst. I also enjoyed all of her references to music because I am a firm believer that music has the power to heal.

It follows the story of Alexa who is struggling to move on from a tragic event that happened a year ago. She is a strong
...more
Amber Karas
Jul 16, 2014 rated it it was amazing
First off, let me tell you, this book is a huge emotional roller coaster! There is so much drama and heartbreak in this story, that you may feel the need to cry. There will be other times in which you will want to celebrate or just throw your hands up in the air and scream in frustration. I felt all these emotions and more because of this book.

The main character, Alexa, has a troubled past in which causes her to become guarded in everything she does. But when she (literally) runs into wealthy ba
...more
Victoria Rainey
Mar 16, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: romancebookworm
Alexa is not just a beautiful woman but also independent. She is a strong woman who reminds me of the girl next-door type. She loves shoe shopping when she is upset to the point her closet if full to the brim. She hides from her past not willing to discuss it with anyone other than her therapist but even then does not get the whole story. She continually blames herself for her past.

Julian is the owner of Hotel del Marco. He is fascinated with Alexa and can’t get enough of her. He is a hot and s
...more
Nerd Alert
Jul 16, 2014 rated it it was amazing
First off, let me tell you, this book is a huge emotional roller coaster! There is so much drama and heartbreak in this story, that you may feel the need to cry. There will be other times in which you will want to celebrate or just throw your hands up in the air and scream in frustration. I felt all these emotions and more because of this book.

The main character, Alexa, has a troubled past in which causes her to become guarded in everything she does. But when she (literally) runs into wealthy ba
...more
Rita Henriques
Mar 21, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I didn't know much about this book when i started reading it. All i knew was that we would have a love triangle.
OMG: the story is absolutely overwhelming!!
The characters are so real that you can actually see them, feel them and the story is so beautifull and sexy at the same time.
We have a beautiful young woman, Alexa, that has some secrets from the past. Luke is her best friend from a long time ago and he is hot. Then she meets Julian, Luke's boss and her life changes. I felt completely in love
...more
Lisa
Jul 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I was given a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I will admit that when I first started reading I thought, "Oh No, I know what is going to happen with Luke". Then I started reading and thought, who the heck cares. The chemistry between the characters and the plot had me hooked from the beginning. Oh and the ending, not what I was expecting.

Julian.... Julian... Julian... holy friggen hot tamale! This man just oozes sexy, at all times. Just something as simple as lean
...more
Michie Scott
Aug 07, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Characters - Alexa Reed and Julian Bauer

Genre - Contemporary Romance

Author - Hilary Wynne

Rating - 5 Books

Source - ARC in exchange for an honest review


I like Alexa's character, she is so smart,witty,insecure and fragile as well. I like how she valued her friendship with Luke. Julian is a typical male alpha who really showed his love to Alexa. He really tried to understand Alexa's attitude because he love her so much. Alexa was so scared to trust anybody she tried to hold back her feelings to Juli
...more
Catherine  Wright (Cat's Guilty Pleasure)
This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Lexie is a strong woman but has had a damaging past. She has a major secret that makes her feel incapable of loving and living her life. She meets Julian, and has secrets from his past too. He feels as if he can't love anyone. They are both strong people, but keep their past and hearts guarded. Both feel if the other learns their secrets they won't be willing to stick around. They have a hot chemistry together and both hav
...more
She Hearts Books
Alexa definitely has some intimacy and trust issues, but all with good reason due to her previous boyfriend. We see early on that she has these and is working on it with the help of a therapist. Her friends talk her into going to a club and she comes face to face with Julian. There is an instant connection and they are combustible together.

Julian is one spicy Spanish speaking naughty talker. He is also the more open one in the relationship and spends most of the time not sure where he stands wit
...more
Darcy Denton
Jan 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Stay by Hilary Wynne is a steamy, sexy, can't put it down, modern day fairy tale. The characters are so engaging and relatable that I had to stay up until 1:00 a.m. just to see what happens to Julia and Alexa! The chemistry between the main characters is extremely hot, like the South Miami Beach setting, but at the same time realistic. As soon as I finished the book I wanted more Julian and Alexa in my life. I am looking forwar to the next book!!
Katie Kofemug
blogging the romance ... a new trend?
Written in the first person, this modern romance is like reading a blog with the comments turned off. At the end of the novel I feel as conflicted and overwhelmed as Alexa and, surprisingly, as glad to be serially unattached as Julian. It's rare to read a romance and not sigh just a bit for what you don't have at the end of the story. Stay is the only exception to that experience in my ferocious reading history.

The first seventeen chapters interested and amus
...more
Brittany Alexander
Feb 28, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites, romance
“You know now that this is really going to happen, right, Alexa? And it’s going to be amazing.”
“Not just amazin, Julian. It’s going to be epic.”
I was approached by Hilary Wynne to read and review her debut novel, Stay. Stay is the first in this series and after reading this, I am hooked.
Alexa Reed has been just barely getting through life, ever since her ex-boyfriend and her broke up, almost a year ago. When her friends finally convince her to go out, Alexa literally runs into a man that will
...more
Jackie's Book Review
I was contacted by the author Hilary Wynne to do a honest review for her book Stay. When I first started to read the first couple of pages I wasn't sure how the title Stay was incorporated in this book. Well as you read the book you will come to understand that Stay was the perfect title for this book.

The book's main characters are Alexa Reed who is 25, single, living in South Florida, has a great job, has great friends basically has it all. Well she really doesn't, what you find out as the book
...more
Spunky N Sassy
Sep 20, 2014 rated it really liked it
Oh where to start…I loved this book. In Stay you meet Alexa or Lexie and her close group of friends. First thing you notice about Lexie is she is hiding a very traumatic event. One that will rock your world when she finally reveals it. This book took me on an emotional roller coaster that I did not want to end.

There is two sides to Lexie, pre and post Brady. Brady is a boyfriend that sets her on a painful two year path, that comes crashing down around her. Her best friend Logan reveals that he
...more
Sherry
Feb 05, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Yet another debut author that now has me stalking her Facebook page!

Meet Alexa. She's the everyday girl next door with a shoe fetish and deep dark past she's been trying to run away from, and boy does this girl run! Literally and figuratively. She blames herself for the past, when her boyfriend deceived her in more ways than one. She's smart and she's even getting professional help. The only problem with that is she won't tell anyone the truth about what really happened to her.

She meets Julian a
...more
Amazeballs Book Addicts
Sep 29, 2014 rated it really liked it
Stay is a good read. It's an emotional roller coaster of a read. Alexa is a great character but she is all over the place with her feelings. In the beginning of the book Alexa is seeing a therapist to help with the lost of her ex Brady. She has divided her "adult life into three phases: pre-Brady, during Brady, and post-Brady." Just from reading that I know Alexa was going to have an emotional story to tell.

Luke is one of Alexa's best friends. He is very protective of Alexa. He is also a very
...more
Maria Lourdes Mendoza
Nov 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Be ready to fall inlove with Julian. He's very hot abd romantic. He's someone you'll wish for.

This book made me feel a lot of emotions. It's an amazing book with great story and amazing characters.

This is one of the best for me so far. I love Hilary Wynne's style of writing. I didn't have a hard time getting in the book, however I had a hard time putting it down. It was just so good that you'll just want to finish everything before putting it down.

4 thumbs up including my toes!
Amanda
Sep 19, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Love this book and author Hilary Wynne. You will fall in love with Julian Bauer, he exudes power and sex appeal. In walks Alexa Reed and his life is turned inside out! You will be hooked from the beginning and have to know their story!a must read!
Blushingdivasbookreviews
Mar 18, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: great-books
5 Blushing Stars!!!!!
What a great story! I fell for the characters right away! Loved there chemistry together! Couldn't put it down, and wanted more. I love a story that can make me laugh! I can't wait to find out what is next from Hilary Wynne! Loved her writing style!
Tina "IRead2Escape"
Hotness rating 4 out of 5

Do you love an emotional roller coaster peppered with hot Latin love? Well, then this is the book for you. Stay is the first book in the Alexa Reed series by Hilary Wynne and it delivers all of this and more.

Julian is young, handsome, and rich. He has everything he wants and nothing that he doesn't. At least that was the case until Alexa literally stumbled into his life. Women come and go in his life and that's exactly how he likes it. Alexa has changed that. He wants h
...more
Kim
Jan 30, 2015 rated it did not like it
I hate leaving bad reviews but with all of the really high ratings I felt I had to in order to show a differing opinion. The beginning of this book was okay. I liked Julian from the start and had hope that Alexa would get her act together and grow up a little bit. Unfortunately that never happened, in fact through the course of the book her maturity level seemed to go from a 16 year old to a 12 year old. This is not an attractive feature in a heroine. I get that something bad happened to her but ...more
Tracy
Sep 06, 2014 rated it it was amazing
STAYed with me...
This story takes you up to your highest and down to your lowest. I was captured by all of the main characters right off, and slowly with all the rest. The story line is so believable with that of two damaged and seemingly broken people who have instant chemistry. Julian and Lexie have a fast paced romance with steamy erotic scenes that captivate and titillate you almost from the start. With other characters trying to break them apart at every turn, it makes you not want to put i
...more
Melissa
Jul 01, 2014 rated it really liked it
Stay by author Hilary Wynne is a beautifully written novel, and is very hard to put down. Stay has yumminess, and is indeed flutter worthy! The portrayed characters written had amazing chemistry, and the author nailed it in plot development and character pairing. I really loved Stay by author Hilary Wynne, and would definitely recommend for a nice weekend leisure read. I received a complimentary copy courtesy G the Book Diva blog in exchange for review. I can't wait to read more from this author ...more
Jenn of Rave and Rant about Raunch
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Unscripted
  • Finding Solace (Flawlessly Broken #1)
  • Worth The Price (The Worth, #5)
  • Releasing Kate (Acceptance, #2)
  • Too Sexy for His  Stetson
  • Love Burned Deep
  • Desired (Vice, Virtue, & Video #3)
  • Broken
  • Texas Twist (Texas Montgomery Mavericks, #4)
  • Covert (Chicago Angels, #1)
  • Perfect Chemistry (Kinky Chronicles, #1)
  • The Truth in Lies (The Truth in Lies Saga #1)
  • The Life You Left
  • More Than This (The O'Learys, #1)
  • Enough Isn't Everything (The Everything Trilogy #1)
  • Never Close Enough (The Never, #1)
  • Mine to Lose (Mine to Love, #1)
  • Perfectly Broken (Broken, #1)
161 followers
Have you ever woken up one day and said, “Today’s the day I’m going to do (insert thing here)?” Well, I did, and the result is my first novel, Stay. I always thought of myself as a decent writer, and then a trip down memory lane through my ninth grade book of poetry confirmed it. I realize that I have always had a romantic side and a way with words. With support from my husband and kids (and an un ...more

Other books in the series

Alexa Reed (3 books)
  • Hold On (Alexa Reed, #2)
  • Promise Me (Alexa Reed, #3)
“There is nothing more comforting than hearing lyrics to a song you could’ve written yourself.” 1 likes
More quotes…