Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Seventh Night” as Want to Read:
Seventh Night
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Seventh Night

by
3.68  ·  Rating details ·  31 ratings  ·  21 reviews
A romantic, comic, action, adventure fantasy in which a princess attempts to marry a prince while someone has set out to sabotage their wedding and the resulting alliance.
Hardcover, 260 pages
Published November 7th 2013 by Amoeba Ink
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Seventh Night, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Seventh Night

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.68  · 
Rating details
 ·  31 ratings  ·  21 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
♥♡¢σσкιє♥♡ (Krystle)
You can read this review and more on my blog:


I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.


Because I am a huge fan of fairy tales I am constantly in search of a good one. But you would be surprised how difficult that can be to find. Most fairy tale/fairy tale retellings are either high fantasy or romance novels. I have nothing against high fantasy, but it takes a lot for me to commit to those because they tend to be long, part of a series, or complica
...more
Bret James Stewart
Feb 05, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

And, to be honest, this is one of the best books I have ever read.

To start, the cover is well done. It looks almost exactly like the design of the AD&D Complete Handbook series from TSR, but I don’t know if Iscah is a Dungeons and Dragons gal or if this is coincidental. Regardless, it is fairly plain, but this nests well with the way the book is designed and arranged. It is also appropriate as pegasus (as Iscah
...more
Pauline Ross
The novella prequel to this book, 'The Girl With No Name', was hugely entertaining, a charming fairytale which was anything but traditional, with a nice line in humour and, for its short length, a surprising number of delightfully unexpected twists along the way. This is a full length (albeit still fairly short) novel in similar style, which somehow fell a bit flat for me. Maybe the charm of the novella just doesn't scale up, or maybe my grumpy pre-Christmas mood is at fault, but somehow the whi ...more
Ange
Jan 25, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A formula of Princes, a Princess, castles, wizards, witches, sorceresses, a betrothal, magic, monsters, unrequited love, deceit, sabotage, a murder plot... and did I mention unicorns?....It equals AWESOME! What's there not to like?!

Seventh Night, the Princess of Tivin, is on her way to the kingdom of Cordance to marry her betrothed, Prince Neithan, when the carriage she is traveling in with her father, becomes victim of sabotage. So Seventh Night mounts her unicorn Toshk and rides like the wind
...more
Suanne Laqueur
Nov 20, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This one dragged a bit in places but still a good read. The Girl With No Name is unquestionably the best one of the trilogy and I highly recommend it.
Wendy C
Feb 19, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Seventh Night by Iscah

Seventh Night by Iscahwe meet Seventh Night (Princess of Tivin) who is in a hurry to get to Pinnacle City to meet her betrothed, Prince Neithan before the deadline is up. She stops and asks a farmhand (Phillip), who is quite rude to her, to get some water for her unicorn, Toshk. Phillip tells her to get it herself. He then tells her she shouldn’t ride in the woods by herself because of bandits and if she waited until tomorrow he would ride with her because he was starting a
...more
Angie
Synopsis: "A romantic, comic, action, adventure fantasy in which a princess attempts to marry a prince while someone has set out to sabotage their wedding and the resulting alliance."

My Review: I have been going back and forth on this review since finishing the story. I read the novella prequel "The Girl With No Name" which totally blew me out of the water, so many interesting twists that you couldn't stop reading. However Seventh Night at time hit some real lulls and I had to push on because I
...more
D.G. Driver
Feb 20, 2015 rated it really liked it
I encountered this book a handful of times because I'd run into Iscah at writing events in Nashville, and I was not drawn to buy it. The cover is very stark and unappealing to me, and forgive me, I judged the book by that. However, I was interested in the way that she described the book as being similar to "The Princess Bride" and was curious about it. So, I entered a FB contest and won it. To my great surprise, this was actually a very delicious fairy tale. Not quite like "Princess Bride" but I ...more
Nick Olinger
Jun 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing
SEVENTH NIGHT is a whole-some classic fantasy tale written by ISCAH as if she had actually been there in person. There were many places throughout the book that can leave the reader needing to know more because of the way events and people were described in a way that did not give out too much information too soon. This book is great for young adults because of the perfect scariness to comfort ratio. Also, in the Kindle version, there was a nice Celtic knot-work drawing that separated scenes and ...more
Liza Shaw
Jan 29, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Seventh Night by Iscah is a book well written. Although I wouldn't choose to read a Fantasy, this is one that could change my preferences.

The story is full of intrigue, excitement, twists, suspense and much more. If you're looking for an engaging read to settle down with, you would not be disappointed in this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it and hope Iscah writes more.

So anyway, the story: Boy meets girl, he warns her of danger but she ignores him, he then rescues her. As they are both travelling t
...more
H. Blalock
Jul 28, 2014 rated it it was amazing
There's a plot to prevent the treaty between Cordance and Tivin, but the identity of the conspirator is a mystery. When the marriage between the princess of Tivin and the prince of Cordance is interrupted by an attempt on the prince's life, things begin to heat up in this delicious fable. A beautiful princess, a magician's apprentice, a mysterious sorceress, and a surfeit of princes lead to a convoluted but enjoyable tale of intrigue, magic, betrayal, adventure, and true love.

Iscah's "Seventh Ni
...more
Becky
Apr 30, 2014 rated it it was ok
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Hilary
Feb 24, 2014 rated it really liked it
I received this book free as an advanced copy and was asked to write a review.

I really liked this book. It is a spin-off of sleeping beauty. The characters are rich and real. I enjoyed following their adventures. It's about a girl who is engaged to a Prince, but she finds out a secret that she wasn't expecting about her dear prince that changes everything. Then she is kidnapped by creepy flying beasts and taken to a secret palace. A stable boy and her prince must set out to rescue her before war
...more
Wen's Buzzing Reviews
Aug 22, 2014 rated it it was amazing
First let me thank Iscah for lending me Seventh Night to write an honest review on. This was a totally awesome book and I had a hard time putting it down. Seventh Night has a bit of everything in it from your fairytale characters (Prince,Princess,Witches and Wizards) to your mystical creatures (Unicorns,Pegues) and your non mystical creatures such as Cyclops and Two headed sea monsters. Even though this is an Fantasy novel, it was quite uncanny. In fairytales you think of happy endings/ever afte ...more
Janice Spina
Nov 18, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A fascinating and magical fairy tale for young and old. This story kept me enthralled as the author weaves a delightful story around two princes and one unlikely princess, an apprentice to the magician, and a shape shifter.

There are twists and turns and surprising events that will keep the reader swiftly turning pages to find out what happens next. This is an imaginative and worthwhile read for all ages.

I look forward to more incredible stories from this talented author. A must read!
Shelly
"Seventh Night", which I recieved through First Reads, is a sweet fantasy drawn from several familiar fairytales and fantasy stories. The story, though it has many twists, is simple and somewhat predictable. The characters are likable and they speak in language that is easy to understand rather than complicated or archaic ways common in fantasy. In short, it was fun and easy, and just what I needed.
Lisa M. Green
Apr 03, 2014 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: dnf
I received a copy of this book by contributing to the Kickstarter. I tried. I really did. But I just can't do it. Maybe I'll come back later and try again, but I've only made it about 20 to 30 percent through, and it only seems to be more annoying the harder I try. The writing is extremely amateurish. Sorry.
Justyn Simon
Nov 24, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: people who either like unicorns, pegasus and romance or cliff hangers
Recommended to Justyn by: Iscah
This is interesting; it was full of action. Although I'm not into unicorns, pegasus and romance, I got hooked into reading this book. It was like the princess bride, but with magic. Also everything is not what it seems.
I would recommend the book to people who either like unicorns, pegasus and romance or cliff hangers
Hemantkumar Jain
Apr 18, 2014 rated it liked it
A simple tale of prince, princes, a sorceress, a cruel king of wizards and a whole wizard kingdom.

An interesting read .. nice characterization ...
Suzy-Q
Aug 26, 2016 rated it did not like it
Dnf. Cardboard characters, not interesting at all.
Tristan Williams
rated it it was amazing
Feb 27, 2014
Melissa Wegman
rated it really liked it
Dec 30, 2018
dalia ioana
rated it it was amazing
May 07, 2016
Ashley Wolford
rated it it was ok
Jun 01, 2017
Bob
rated it it was amazing
Feb 09, 2018
Ayelmar
rated it it was amazing
Jun 20, 2015
Jen
rated it liked it
Jul 18, 2016
Laurene Bales
rated it it was ok
Jul 17, 2015
Lolster98
rated it did not like it
Nov 28, 2015
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
The Perks Of Bein...: Ebook and Hardback Giveaways for new Fantasy Novel 10 35 Feb 20, 2014 05:02AM  
Goodreads Authors...: Seventh Night, New Fantasy Novel by Iscah 1 4 Dec 13, 2013 09:24AM  
The Sword and Laser: Seventh Night 1 25 Nov 15, 2013 11:20AM  
  • Watersmeet (Twelve Baronies #1)
  • Orlind (Draykon, #3)
  • Ice Diaries
  • The Ritual (Theft and Sorcery, #1)
  • From a Far Land (Jaben's Rift, #1)
  • The Machine God (The Drifting Isle Chronicles #3)
  • The Kaiser Affair (The Drifting Isle Chronicles #1)
  • The Nullification Engine (The Alchemancer #2)
  • A Question of Hats: An Angela Marchmont Short Story (An Angela Marchmont Mystery)
  • Seeking a Scribe (Enchanted Bookstore Legend #1)
  • The Duchess of the Shallows (The Grey City #1)
  • Treespeaker (Treespeaker #1)
  • Blood of the Falcon (The Falcons Saga, #1)
  • Grim Haven (Devilborn #1)
  • Fargoer
  • The Light of Kerrindryr (The War of Memory Cycle, #1)
  • The Girl on the Swing
  • Dragon's Bride (The Dragon and the Scholar #4)
27 followers
Iscah is too young to be called old and too old to be called young. It is rumored that Iscah was born, and it is prophesized that Iscah shall one day die. Despite a couple near misses, the prediction goes unfulfilled...

Iscah reads a lot and has read a lot but decided to only add 5-star books to this list.
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »