Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Plundered Hearts: New and Selected Poems” as Want to Read:
Plundered Hearts: New and Selected Poems
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Plundered Hearts: New and Selected Poems

3.44  ·  Rating details ·  9 ratings  ·  1 review
At last, a definitive selection of the elegant work by a poet at the forefront of American poetry for more than three decades.

With his first several books, J. D. McClatchy established himself as a poet of urbanity, intellect, and prismatic emotion, in the tradition of James Merrill, W. H. Auden, and Elizabeth Bishop––one who balances an exploration of the underworld of des
...more
Paperback, 288 pages
Published February 2nd 2016 by Knopf (first published January 1st 2014)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Plundered Hearts, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Plundered Hearts

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-39
3.44  · 
Rating details
 ·  9 ratings  ·  1 review


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Doc
Dec 06, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Some solid writing from a poet who was heretofore unknown to me.
Vance
rated it really liked it
Mar 14, 2014
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
rated it it was amazing
Oct 26, 2015
Ivanna Soto
rated it liked it
Jun 09, 2017
Jacquelyn
rated it liked it
Dec 02, 2014
Rambling Reader
rated it it was amazing
Jun 15, 2018
Quincy Lehr
rated it it was ok
Jun 04, 2014
Burl Horniachek
rated it it was ok
Aug 13, 2016
Robert Garraty
rated it liked it
Aug 13, 2015
Jenny (Reading Envy)
marked it as to-read
Mar 03, 2014
Lynn
marked it as to-read
Mar 26, 2014
Casey
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2014
alex wesley moore
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2014
Deni
marked it as to-read
Apr 02, 2014
Grace
marked it as to-read
Apr 02, 2014
Sophie
marked it as to-read
Apr 27, 2014
Adr
marked it as to-read
Jul 15, 2014
Beth
marked it as to-read
Jul 31, 2014
Caitlin
marked it as to-read
Aug 01, 2014
Larry
marked it as to-read
Aug 02, 2014
Gabriella
marked it as to-read
Aug 03, 2014
Catherine
marked it as to-read
Aug 04, 2014
Kate
marked it as to-read
Jan 15, 2015
Kei Blackthorne
is currently reading it
Jan 31, 2015
K.C.
marked it as to-read
Feb 17, 2015
Terry Everett
marked it as to-read
Aug 12, 2015
AK
marked it as to-read
Aug 18, 2015
Matthew Stone
marked it as to-read
Oct 29, 2015
Selene
marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2016
Forest
added it
Feb 28, 2016
Astoria
marked it as to-read
Apr 05, 2016
Allison Diffey
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2016
Jude Alford
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2016
Cassie Sampson
marked it as to-read
Apr 26, 2016
Casey
marked it as to-read
May 01, 2016
abcdefg
marked it as to-read
May 26, 2016
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
22 followers
McClatchy is an adjunct professor at Yale University and editor of the Yale Review. He also edits the "Voice of the Poet" series for Random House AudioBooks.

His book Hazmat (Alfred A. Knopf, 2002) was nominated for the 2003 Pulitzer Prize. He has written texts for musical settings, including eight opera libretti, for such composers as Elliot Goldenthal, Daron Hagen, Lowell Liebermann, Lorin Maazel
...more