Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Gabriella and the Curse of the Black Spot (NuGen, #2)” as Want to Read:
Gabriella and the Curse of the Black Spot (NuGen, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Gabriella and the Curse of the Black Spot

(NuGen #2)

by
3.90  ·  Rating details ·  10 ratings  ·  8 reviews
How can unmodified Gabriella compete with genetically designed super athletes? Could it have something to do with her father’s disappearance? And why are people with odd black spots following her? A mind-boggling teleportation machine lies at the center of this riveting adventure.
Paperback, 376 pages
Published January 9th 2015 by Sji (first published January 1st 2015)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Gabriella and the Curse of the Black Spot, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Gabriella and the Curse of the Black Spot

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-40
3.90  · 
Rating details
 ·  10 ratings  ·  8 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Kevin
Mar 20, 2015 rated it really liked it
You hit the ground running with this book as the first few chapters are full of energy. Probably due to the pace of the books I had just come from, or possibly I'm just showing my age, it meant I didn't settle easily into the story for the first dozen or so pages, however the pieces quickly fell into place and once I tuned into the rhythm it because a very comfortable read.

I found the story enjoyable, but mostly I came away impressed at the very delicate balance the author achieved. Chapters are
...more
Samantha
Mar 14, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Authors often take their first book to warm up and let the action build. In this series, this is very much the case. You can read this standaline if you wish, but it will be so much richer an experience if you start with the first book.

This was, is, without question, a masterstroke of story telling! So worth reading. More to follow in the morning, for now be it enough said you'll not go wrong with this series.
Dale Hackett
Feb 08, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A good finish,

Since racing is a theme in this story, a good finish is appropriate. As we grow we learn and sometimes what we learn takes time to understand. Each h time we do understand we grow inside.
Jakenv
Feb 04, 2015 rated it really liked it
Clever well written by author who knows his genre and creates a story which keeps you involved.
Flewts
Jan 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is the second book of the series, but it is not necessary to read the first one in order to enjoy this one. Again, our "hero" is female, but since she is so heavily into a parkour kind of sport, she appeals to everyone.

This book has mystery, suspense, action, and some science in the fiction. Then there are the age-old questions of who am I and why am I here, something that teens first encounter, but the questions are relevant to all ages.

I had trouble putting this book down.
Tracy
Feb 10, 2014 rated it it was ok
I was provided a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

So, overall I have to say that I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I enjoyed 'Gabriella and Dr. Duggan’s Secret Dimensional Transport Machine'. Black Spot felt to me that it was somewhat without a specific plot. To be honest, when I finished the book I wasn’t sure what the clear message in the book was until I read the discussion questions at the back of the book. It was more clear then, that Black Spot was inten
...more
Emily
Nov 19, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fiction, favorites
I've been really looking forward to the second book in the NuGen series, but this one exceeded my expectations!

The author clearly put a lot of time and research into a science fiction series about genetics, also touching on physics - that explained things, making them easy to understand, but did not read like a text book.

As Gabriella navigates a life that quickly seems to be spinning out of control, she learns a lot about her life, her past, her future, her dad, and, most importantly, herself.
...more
Stephen
Jul 08, 2015 rated it it was ok
A teenage girl tries to discover how to remove black spots received in another dimension and the source of an aging disease in a world of genetic modification, extreme sports and new science. Personally I find this a little boring and not to my taste. I read this cause of the author, but was let down. Sorry James. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
rated it it was amazing
Feb 15, 2015
Matthew Van Norman
rated it liked it
Jun 14, 2017
Joe Anshien
marked it as to-read
Jan 19, 2014
Brenda Knight
marked it as to-read
Sep 02, 2014
Linda Todd
marked it as to-read
Oct 21, 2014
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Craig Dean
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
SARIT
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Dr. Cole Marie Mckinnon
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
June
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Donna Schubert
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Amanda
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Nancy Jones
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Davia Taylor
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Karen Thompson
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Sandra
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Vykki
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Michelle Delgado
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Brittany
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Danny
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Sue
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
CJ
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Kay Butz
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Pam
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Sweetpea
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
J
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Sharron
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Max
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Jason
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Heather
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
55 followers
James Cardona received his Bachelor’s degree in Computer Science from the University of Delaware with a minor in Religious Studies.
He enjoys all things creative including the typical things such as drawing, painting, music and creative writing; and the not-so-typical such as building robots and writing computer code.
James has written five books and is planning on writing many, many more.
He also l
...more

Other books in the series

NuGen (2 books)
  • Gabriella and Dr. Duggan's Secret Dimensional Transport Machine (NuGen, #1)