Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Firedragon (Flynn Nightsider, #0.5)” as Want to Read:
The Firedragon (Flynn Nightsider, #0.5)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Firedragon

(Flynn Nightsider 0.1)

by
4.47  ·  Rating details ·  49 ratings  ·  31 reviews
Almost a hundred years ago, the Enchanters defeated the Lord of the Underworld in one of the most fearsome wars the world had ever seen. The public thinks that this victory means the people are safe. But they're wrong. The supernatural beasts the Lord unleashed remain on the earth, multiplying and ravaging what's left of civilization. As long as these monsters exist, manki ...more
ebook, 95 pages
Published April 8th 2014 by Glass House Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Firedragon, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Firedragon

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.47  · 
Rating details
 ·  49 ratings  ·  31 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Jason Parent
Apr 05, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: fantasy
Disclosure: I was offered a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review, though I would happily pay the 99 cents for this book a hundred times over if not for any other reason than, per its Amazon description, "All revenues will be donated to the San Diego Department of Animal Services Spirit Fund, a nonprofit society dedicated to giving homeless animals the medical care they need." This is that review.

Aurelia Sun, aka the Firedragon, is a 14-year-old girl who knows how to kill things. In
...more
William Herr
Mar 20, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: boys and girls, 12-16 years
Full Disclosure: I recieved the pre-pre release of the final editing copy for Firedragon, by Mary Fan, with the request that I offer an honest review. I will do so now.

First star, for clarity. There is no question on the plot of the book, which is appropriate for YA literature. You know what the characters have to do, and you know why they want to do it. That said, the plot is its own form of brilliance. Mary Fan has taken the classic tale of Pelleus and Ettarre, and twisted it on its ear. In he
...more
Carrie White
I ADORE Mary's world building, and this is one of the most intriguing worlds I've come across. Dystopian? Check. Monsters, magic, and murder? Check. A scheming government who wants to keep the citizens down? Check. A group of young adventurers fighting back? Absolutely. Aurelia is one of my favorite. Characters. Ever. Can't wait for Flynn to come out next year!
Meghan
Oct 17, 2016 rated it really liked it
I have always been extremely impressed with the writing of Mary Fan, so when I was given the opportunity to read this book (and the next one), I was super excited. I read it months ago, and loved it, but every time I sat down to write a review of it, I just could not find the words. Still can't, to be honest. It is such a good story. Her character descriptions are so good, especially when it comes to her monsters. There are lots of dimensions to each person, and the adventure, though far from re ...more
Jacqueline Simonds
Apr 03, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Disclosure: I was given an advance copy to review.

In this fast-paced novella - the introduction to a series - Aurelia Sun is an orphan trained to fight actual no-kidding people-killing monsters since she was four. The future America she finds herself in is ruled by an oligarchy of magic-users, after the Lord of the Underworld breaks free and unleashes his monsters upon an unsuspecting world. Those who have magic defeat him, but the monsters still have full run of Earth, and it’s people like Aure
...more
P.T. McHugh
Mar 27, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I loved every word of this story. Wonderfully crafted, Mary has a great gift for writing. I cannot wait for her next book!
Elizabeth Corrigan
Apr 03, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I enjoyed Mary Fan’s previous books, but I was especially excited about this one because it was a young adult novella. It did not disappoint! Firedragon tells the story of fourteen-year-old Aurelia Sun, aka the Firedragon, demon fighter extraordinaire, as she competes to become the champion monster-killer. She thinks she’s got it in the bag, even though she’s up against some of the toughest fighters—and toughest monsters–the world has ever seen. But she is about to discover that things are not a ...more
B. Eagles
Mar 26, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: people who enjoy books that are awesome, fans of 'the hunger games' and/or dystopian fantasies
Recommended to B. by: Carrie White
Shelves: dystopian
I received an in-house copy prior to release for this review, and so, here it is...

Ok, first things first, I've got to say it... This book is AWESOME!

I'm not one for spoilers- I'd rather leave the surprises for future readers to discover on their own, so you won't find an over abundance of detail related feedback here in.

The wedding of an excellently crafted dystopian setting to a fantasy realm crawling with terrifying monsters was brilliant, and the writer's skill weaves them together perf
...more
Tash McAdam
Mar 26, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Well, now I am really excited for Flynn Nightsider and the Edge of Evil!

What an excellent introduction to a complex mythology; I really enjoyed learning about the different beasts our hero, Aurelia Sun had to face in her adventures. A gutsy, quick thinking young woman, who is easy to empathise with, she is a character in the vein of Alanna of Trebond. In fact, I feel like readers of Tamora Pierce will be very on board with Mary Fan's writing in general.
Believable combat, and fast paced action
...more
Stephen Kozeniewski
Oct 18, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Full disclosure: the author provided me with an advanced review copy. Because I'm fucking boss. This will not affect my review in any way. However, it will affect my bossness level as being notched up to "Full Badass" for the next week or so.

And speaking of badasses...

Let's talk about Aurelia Sun. AKA The Firedragon. Monster to the Monsters.

And oh brother are there monsters.

The monsters in Aurelia's world are all named with the construction "distinguishing adjective" + "distinguishing noun" so h
...more
Ula
Nov 15, 2013 rated it it was amazing
WOW! I was absolutely hooked from the start of this novella, enchanted from the first sentence on. I loved the writing style, simple, fluid, very engaging, a little funny, and mysterious enough to just keep me reading on and on. I had no idea what it'd be about, but I understood quickly because Fan described it all. It wasn't too explanatory, too descriptive, too bothersome. It didn't drive the reader away from the actual story unveiling because Fan provided just enough information to make you u ...more
Ange
May 03, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: reviewed-books
If you are looking for an action packed, quick read with a fierce butt-kicking heroine, then look no further! The Firedragon has left me wanting much, much more and looking for the next part in the Flynn Nightsider series!

Aurelia Sun isn't your typical 14year old teenager. She's an orphan who has been brought up and trained by the Triumvirate government to be a supernatural monster killer. She has worked her way up the ranks to be a cadet at the elite Academy of Supernatural Defense and has been
...more
Lindsay Hiller
Sep 08, 2014 rated it really liked it
Suspenseful and gripping with an unforgettable lead character!

Firedragon stars Aurelia Sun, a non-magical human who is as adept at fighting monsters as the magic-wielding Enchanters. Firedragon is the story of Aurelia’s participation in a monster-fighting competition where she competes against those with magic to prove once-and-for-all that magic is not necessary to fight against monsters. Unfortunately for her, the competition is riddled with politics and the government is rigging the games to
...more
Feed the Indie
Nov 23, 2014 rated it it was amazing
The Firedragon disappointed me – only because I wanted more.

The short story by Mary Fan offers a glimpse into a new world where the earth is being overrun by supernatural beings. Aurelia is a 14-year-old with no magical skills, but she makes up for it with her physical prowess and unmatched fighting ability. Aurelia wants nothing more than to prove that she can fight alongside the enchanters, magical being that keep society safe from monsters. And those in charge – with literally have all the po
...more
Azahara Arenas (Living in Our Own Story Blog)
The Firedragon is full of action from the very first page till the last one. It will grip your attention instantly. The main character, Aurelia Sun is one of a kind, she is stubborn, cocky, loyal and brave. In the beginning I was surprised and pleased with a new kind of heroine, because Aurelia surely knows what she wants and that she is able to do it. Though through the story goes on I sometimes wanted to knock some sense in her, she is too cocky for her own good, but in the end she realizes th ...more
George Ebey
Oct 19, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I can’t begin to express how excellent this story is. It has everything. Monsters. Swords. And enough action to drop your jaw ten times over.

Picture a future where supernatural monsters roam the world. The human race is split into two classes: magic-wielding humans known as Enchanters and those without magical powers known as Norms. In this world, the Norms are looked down upon as second class citizens. But one of them, the feisty Aurelia Sun, is having none of that.

Aurelia is out to prove tha
...more
Linda Foster
I received a pre-release copy of Firedragon by Mary Fan for an honest review. All comments reflect no ones view but my own.

HOLY COW!!

I realize many who have read this raved about her crazy world-building skills, but I'm going to repeat it, because it DESERVES to be repeated! Mary takes hold of you and tosses you into a flawlessly written dystopian world. Feisty Aurelia - who I envision winning the hunger games with her hands tied behind her back - wants to show everyone that she can kick butt
...more
Ivan Amberlake
Oct 19, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Aurelia Sun, a.k.a. the Firedragon, is a Norm, a non-magical being, and Norms—as opposed to Enchanters—are treated as being inferior. To prove all Enchanters wrong, Aurelia enters a dangerous competition where the contestants face fearsome monsters: specters, manticores, spearfiends and what not. As soon as the Challenge starts, Aurelia realizes that all is not as it appears. And to discover the truth, she will have to face the most dangerous monster in the competition that may actually be stron ...more
Tracey Lampley
Aug 23, 2014 rated it it was amazing
The author created a magical world inhabited by monsters. The concept is brilliant. From the start, the author plunges you into suspense. The setting, the characterization and the plot keep you turning the pages. If you’re up for dystopian suspense, this book is for you. I rate this book a five-star read.
Marinka
Jun 10, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This book kind of reminded me of HP, VA and THG at the same time(like it was mixed all together in one story). The story was really good and powerful. Everything in the story was described really good (it contained so much details). I also really liked the world that Mary created :)
Cloud Riser
May 22, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Great world building. Great characters. Great Story. I can't wait for the full novel. :) A must read for fantasy/dystopian fans!
Christopher Vale
Jan 13, 2015 rated it really liked it
"The Firedragon" is a short action packed story about a fourteen year old girl who is in a competition to decide the greatest monster slayer of all time. Aurelia is an orphan who the despotic government that now controls North America has trained since diapers to fight and kill monsters that were unleashed during humanity's war with the Lord of the Underworld. Humanity is now split into a caste system that includes the upper class of magical humans and the lower class of normal humans, known suc ...more
Ross Harrison
Sep 09, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I'm no good at writing reviews, but here's an attempt:

The Firedragon is a YA short story prequel to the upcoming Flynn Nightsider and the Edge of Evil. It details teenage Aurelia Sun's struggle to show the world that she, a non-magical 'norm', can fight the supernatural monsters unleashed by a war with the Lord of the Underworld just as well as the magic-slinging Enchanters.

Armed with nothing more than twin silver swords, she makes good progress on that front. But the Triumvirate - the Enchanter
...more
Sharon Stevenson
Oct 22, 2015 rated it it was amazing
'The Firedragon' is the story of Aurelia, a monster fighting 14-year-old girl. Skilled at what she does, Aurelia wants the chance to prove herself against monster fighters who have magical powers.

I got into this story very quickly. It's very well told and the main character is really well developed. I liked that Aurelia was sure of herself to the point of being cocky and also that she was protective of her friend. The action scenes were great and the plot played out perfectly. I was captivated t
...more
Jacob
Nov 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fantasy, scifi
This is a book that I want you to read so that we can talk about it! Mary Fan does an excellent job of quickly constructing an interesting world and peopling it with characters that are so alive you don't want the story to end!
Nikki Vogel
Jun 10, 2017 rated it it was amazing
The non-stop action forced me to read this in one sitting. Aurelia, a nicely flawed protagonist, faces many demonic obstacles while fighting to maintain self-belief. I can't wait to read more. I want to see how her and Connor's friendship works out.
Kim Dyer
This novella was a bit of a mixed bag for me. There were aspects of it that I thought were really imaginative. The original monsters are creative and memorable while the plot - a combination of Harry Potter and The Hunger Games - was also strangely appealing to me.

Yet it was not without its problems. The story is far too exposition heavy, making the first quarter surprisingly heavy to slog through. While it speeds up significantly after this point, it still felt as though it was trying to cram f
...more
Belle
Feb 03, 2015 rated it liked it
“I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review”.

I really enjoyed this story, I just wish it was a lot longer. From what I understand, there are other books that go with this one and I wish they came together as I wouldn't want to purchase a book that I finished in an hour. That aside, it was a unique take on post the apocalyptic world in a topic that caters only to killer storms, over population, aliens, and zombies. Again, it's a great read, I just wish it had a lot more meat
...more
Genesis Blue
Jan 27, 2015 rated it really liked it
This was an enjoyable, though rather quick read. I love kickass female characters and Aurelia didn't disappoint. She is young, cocky and more than a little arrogant. She definitely has flaws, which are important for a proper character.

The plot has been given in many other reviews, so I won't rehash it. Overall, it was a good story, though I would have liked it to be longer. There was quite a bit of information given at the beginning of the book, but it ended so quickly that I felt there wasn't
...more
Cmhey
Feb 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

This was a great first novel and I want to read the rest of the series! For once, I was not put off by the young age of the main character and that it a true credit to the author. The plot moved at a steady pace. The characters seemed real and their actions were logically motivated. There were even subtle hints that a larger mystery was waiting to be revealed in future installments. This novel was very well written and a creati
...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
291 followers
Mary Fan is a hopeless dreamer, whose mind insists on spinning tales of “what if.” As a music major in college, she told those stories through compositions. Now, she tells them through books—a habit she began as soon as she could pick up a pencil.

Mary lives in New Jersey and has a B.A. from Princeton University. When she’s not scheming to create new worlds, she enjoys kickboxing, opera singing, an
...more

Other books in the series

Flynn Nightsider (1 books)
  • Flynn Nightsider and the Edge of Evil (Flynn Nightsider, #1)