Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “What Is Node?” as Want to Read:
What Is Node?
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

What Is Node?

3.40  ·  Rating details ·  586 ratings  ·  24 reviews

Node.js. It’s the latest in a long line of “Are you cool enough to use me?” programming languages, APIs, and toolkits. In that sense, it lands squarely in the tradition of Rails, and Ajax, and Hadoop, and even to some degree iPhone programming and HTML5.


Dig a little deeper, and you’ll hear that Node.js (or, as it’s more briefly called by many, simply “Node”) is a

...more
Kindle Edition, 25 pages
Published July 13th 2011 by O'Reilly Media (first published July 1st 2011)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about What Is Node?, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about What Is Node?

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.40  · 
Rating details
 ·  586 ratings  ·  24 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of What Is Node?
Nels
May 04, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
As long as you're clear what this is, I think it delivers on it. It's basically a 30 minute read about what Node is and when/why you would use it. It doesn't teach you Node, but it doesn't purport to do so either. Plus it's free (at least it was when I got it). If I'd paid more than $1 for it, then I'd probably give it 1 star.
Eder Sanchez
May 07, 2015 rated it it was ok
Pude haber leído la entrada de Wikipedia y habría aprendido más. Buen post para un blog (que es de donde supongo que salió).
Seth Duncan
Aug 20, 2019 rated it really liked it
Didn't expect the brevity but it did a good job introducing you to the concepts.
Ricardo Lino
May 13, 2017 rated it liked it
It's a good introduction
Erik Molnar
Dec 11, 2017 rated it it was ok
Why this is a book and not a blog post, I have no idea?.? I have seriously read blogs longer than this. Don't waste your time unless you are already a Node developer.
Dhawal Joshi
Oct 03, 2019 rated it it was ok
More of an article in a kindle book form
Jim Mccullen
Dec 10, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Great overview of Node JS

I manage an it department. This book provided a great overview of why you would use node JS. Well done !
Manojkumar
Aug 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Good

Good book for node js and easy to pickup the complex topics. It is expressed in simple and straightforward approach.
Bereket
Feb 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Good book

I find this book very easy to understand and concepts were explained very well. I recommend this book for any reader experienced or not.
Mark Bondurant
Jul 24, 2015 rated it it was ok
It's an essay, not a book, or perhaps the introduction to a book. As far as an explanation goes, it's not good. It's unnecessarily simplistic, with way too much hand holding for "non-coders." Who is going to want to read this? Non-coders? I doubt it. The truth is it's a free give away on a hot topic. McLaughlin is building download numbers to establish credibility without have to do any work, a gambit that will probably work.
Akashdeep Singh
Mar 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Good introduction to Node

The book answers the basic questions which many beginners in NodeJS usually have. Examples are basic, easy to follow & provide the idea of simplicity.
Why Pool
Sep 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Quick good explanation of what node is and what it does server-side javascript is a game changer on. Programming language for a full stack devoplment with node as the backend.

Good quick and to the point it doesn't teach you javascript but tells you what node is and what it can do i enjoyed it because of this no code just an better understanding of what node is and can do.
Jerold Haas
Dec 25, 2016 rated it really liked it
Good Intro

Great introduction for those uninitiated. Spelling correction for next revision: "As simple as it sounds, there are tends[tens] of thousands of web applications submitting forms with Ajax, just because the lead web developer is up on Ajax."
Erich Cervantez
Aug 22, 2015 rated it liked it
Short and to the point

Very short but somewhat effective introduction to Node. Examples of typical node architectures would have been nice to see what other technologies would play nicely with Node.
Miguel Arvelo
Jul 14, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2016, programming
The title says it all....

Good paper for explaining what Node is, what it is that it does, what it is best at and so forth. A must read for anyone thinking whether or not they should invest time on learning it.
Enmanuel Toribio
This may as well have been an article in some webpage. Very good lecture though. Also i got it for free on amazon so no complains on the price. If you are a bit curious about nodejs, have half an hour free and you can get it for free go ahead and read it.
Joel Jucá
Aug 21, 2014 rated it it was amazing
What Is Node is an interesting introductory book about Node.js. It'll explain you what the technology is and what it's designed for. I recommend the reading! :-)
Eric Gragsone
Certainly explained the reason for using Node.js, but left me wanting to learn more.
Vedran
Oct 08, 2012 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Basic introduction to the Node.js technology. A nice and short read, up to the point.

Seems too short though for such a technology, hence the 3 stars.
Dhul Wells
Mar 27, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Great introduction

Being wanting to dive deep into Node for a while now and this book really gave me the head start. Thanks!
Marwa Eldawy
Jan 11, 2016 rated it liked it
A simple introduction to NodeJS. Not suitable for people who want a complete reference for NodeJS. For me, this book is like reading a wiki page on NodeJS. Don't expect more than this!
Robert Rusu
Nice introduction to Node.js
Steven
Good introduction for the first thing you ever read about Node. It gives you a solid start and points you in right direction to continue.
Serge Boucher
Nov 01, 2015 rated it liked it
It's good for what it is, but it's too short to really provide much value.
vivek kumar
rated it really liked it
Feb 18, 2017
Prashant GANESH
rated it liked it
Dec 19, 2018
Eugene Rudenko
rated it liked it
Dec 17, 2014
Erik
rated it liked it
Sep 07, 2014
Richard Hoffbeck
rated it it was ok
May 23, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions
  • How To Keep Your Best Programmers
  • Automated Planning: Theory and Practice
  • You Don't Know JS: Up & Going
  • CSS and Documents
  • The Holy Bible: English Standard Version
  • Introduction to Algorithms
  • Future Visions: Original Science Fiction Inspired by Microsoft
  • Clean Architecture
  • A Philosophy of Software Design
  • System Design Interview – An insider’s guide
  • Nikola Tesla: Imagination and the Man That Invented the 20th Century
  • The Captain Class: The Hidden Force that Creates the World's Greatest Teams
  • Philosophy of Physics: Space and Time
  • Modern Information Retrieval
  • Eloquent Ruby
  • Slow Sex: The Path to Fulfilling and Sustainable Sexuality
  • Start Small, Stay Small: A Developer's Guide to Launching a Startup
See similar books…

Goodreads is hiring!

If you like books and love to build cool products, we may be looking for you.
Learn more »
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“Node.js (or, as it’s more briefly called by many, simply “Node”) is a server-side solution for JavaScript, and in particular, for receiving and responding to HTTP requests.” 0 likes
“But this inertia often causes you to use a tool because you know it, rather than because it’s the right tool.” 0 likes
More quotes…