Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Urban Mermaid” as Want to Read:
Urban Mermaid
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Urban Mermaid

by
4.21  ·  Rating details ·  29 ratings  ·  24 reviews
Can a mermaid find love and happiness working in the big city?
What will her parents say if she chooses a human for a mate?

Penelope Tench works in the city as the comptroller for a publishing house. She's not happy living and working amongst humans but she has no choice as her home on Colony Island, FL holds nothing for her.

This is the first book in the Colony Island series
...more
Paperback, 457 pages
Published November 30th 2015 by Moonlight Gardens Publications
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Urban Mermaid, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Urban Mermaid

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-47
Average rating 4.21  · 
Rating details
 ·  29 ratings  ·  24 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Urban Mermaid
Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin
MY BLOG: Melissa Martin's Reading List



I thought this book about mermaids was so cool!!

 :

Penelope can't seem to find a mate. So, she decides to just leave Colony Island where her parents and other mermaids and mermen are and live with humans. She lives close to the sea so she can still go for her swims. On of of these swims she hiding in a little secret area, or so she thinks, until the guy comes along the boardwalk. Even though it's forbidden for the merpeople to show themselves to humans,
...more
S.K. Munt
Jan 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: mermaid, romance
I knew that Howard Parson's was sort of a Mermaid-expert going into this. Okay so there's no doctorate one can obtain to officially qualify for such a title but if there was, this author would have the certificate, the trophy, the PHD, the Monopoly board-game mermaid edition and some sort of Nobel prize. Howard knows these creatures so well that I'd bet good money that if there is one in existence- she's on his Facebook and he's on her in case of emergency contact list.

What I didn't know, was
...more
Jen
Jan 05, 2014 rated it it was amazing
4.5 stars

Urban Mermaid is a light and easy read with a fun, new take on mermaids. This story refreshed my love of mermaids. Although Parsons mermaid's spend the majority of their time on two legs, the thrall of the mermaid is not lost, in fact the mythology is unique and sets them apart from the rest. It was refreshing to read a mermaid tale that doesn't focus solely on the superficial perfection of the siren that we have come to know and often tire of.

Urban Mermaid tells the story of a young
...more
Paige Bleu
Oct 01, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I was given an ARC copy of 'Urban Mermaid' in exchange for a fair & honest review. Now that being said, in hindsight I would have purchased this book regardless. It is a genre that I particularly love & the story was presented in a fresh and bold new way, while still managing to incorporate some traditional mythology. This was an enjoyable read and I found myself delving deeper & deeper into the story & feeling emotionally invested rather quickly. Howard portrays a colorful ...more
Chip
Jun 28, 2016 rated it liked it
The book had its problems - inconsistent facts, HORRIBLE formatting (short lines, hard returns, double spacing - fix it Parsons!), characters that acted like teenagers in heat, VERY repetitious and slow pacing with almost no action, paranoid characters that would make up super bad situations out of nowhere in their minds and then have the other person apologize for it, should of removed about 150 pages, etc. The portion about mer-people lore, customs and history was interesting. The love story ...more
R.G.
Feb 21, 2016 rated it did not like it
This book had several points that showed it had potential and yet it was just boring, and at times actually made me angry. There was too much of Parson’s telling me what happened, instead of showing me. You rarely got full conversations, usually someone might say something and then the rest is summarized. You don’t really get any description of the places or the people, and you don’t get to share in the experiences because everything is just kind of told to you in an overall summary of their ...more
Katie O'Sullivan
May 18, 2014 rated it really liked it
This is not your daughter’s mermaid novel.

URBAN MERMAID is an old-fashioned novel with an omniscient, head-hopping narrator but with modern day twists and adult situations. Author Howard Parsons lays out his mermaid world with loving detail, explaining the real world of merfolk that coexist with American coastal communities, from their mythical origins story to the real-world challenges facing them today. Yes, this is fantasy, but the author lays out the complex societal web with precision and
...more
Cheryl Washburn
Sep 30, 2015 rated it really liked it
Urban Mermaid was a fun, easy book to read. It is a love story of two people, one just happens to be a mermaid living in the human world. Howard has successfully blended the new and the old, mythology and reality, together in one story. A couple meeting, living, and loving in modern day society yet it is full of Mer folklore & tales (and I must say, I think patience of Peter is as much a fantasy as a present day mermaid). Although it is a romantic comedy, the story does touch on the serious ...more
Devyn Lynn Cullipher
May 31, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Please Note: I received an ARC of Urban Mermaid in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Urban Mermaid was a treat to read. From the very beginning page to the last lingering sentence, I loved every moment of it. If this is just the start of something greater--for it is, being the first installment in the "Tails from Colony Island" series--I personally can't wait to read the rest.

The novel focuses on the main character, a mermaid by the name of Penelope Tench. She has yearned for a mate since
...more
Ali
Sep 26, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I was given a copy of Urban Mermaid in exchange for a fair and honest review.
Penelope Tench is very much like a human young girl. She has always dreamt of finding the right young man to spend her life with. Her problem is that being a mermaid, her choices are very limited. Growing up in a small seaside town that is inhabited almost exclusively by other mer folk,she has yet to find her mate.
Penelope leaves the island after getting her degree in finance.
Moving to the city means only being able to
...more
Becky
Aug 17, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I won this in a giveaway. I really enjoyed the story. The relationship between Peter and Penelope started pretty fast, but I liked it and how the mermaids transform in this series. The characters are great and if Colony Island existed I would love to visit such a nice place. This is a nice contemporary mermaid tale. I also liked the ending. :)
M.
Sep 28, 2016 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Pete Tarsi
Apr 21, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: mermaids
I finished this book last fall, having received an ARC (Advance Reader Copy) from the author in exchange for an honest review. Author Howard Parsons knew I was a fan of mermaids—though admittedly not as well-researched and well-versed one as he is—so I accepted the book with much enthusiasm to dive in.

Being a YA author, I read a lot of YA fiction. Many YA mermaid stories often center on teen girls learning they’re part mermaid princess or on mermaid royalty coming on land to experience or
...more
Seraphia
Feb 24, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received this book for free in exchange for my unbiased review of it. All the opinions expressed are solely my own.

When I started this novel I was expecting more to be reading about a mermaid learning how to live in the city or growing up in the city and wanting to know more about other mermaids. What I got was a boy meets girl (girl meets boy) story that pulled me in in the beginning with the interesting prologue that had me hopeful only to be dragged down more often than not by repetitive
...more
Paul Franco
Mar 08, 2016 rated it really liked it
Problems of a shy young female mermaid who can’t find a guy. Then she finds a guy, but he’s human, which is a big no-no in the quasi-human/quasi-fish community.
There’s a cute interesting prologue on how mermaids came to be, but basically this is a love story, which is different than a romance, as they get together relatively early in the story. In fact, about a third of the way through they’re already engaged, and you wonder what’s gonna take up the rest of the book. It’s actually kinda amazing
...more
Vibha Hegde
Apr 02, 2016 rated it it was ok
Review posted initially on : https://dreambookreviews.wordpress.co...

You can kind of guess where the story is heading to after a point and feel irritated when the story starts dragging. Also if you are planning a wedding, read this book. You will get a detailed insight as to how to organize the wedding and even change into a “mer” folk.

But this book does have some redeeming qualities as well. The book gives a deep insight on “mer” life and depth of thoughts of few characters which have have
...more
Anne Martin
Feb 28, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: from-the-author
Urban Mermaid takes you in another world, where people are mer humans. They switch from legs to a tail and have other great possibilities, telepathy, very long lives, and an island just for them, with free housing.
Yes, the book is cute and funny. What is badly missing, I think, was the work of an editor, of someone to guide the author and make him shorten the book as well as use a more womanly approach.
This book is mostly meant for girls to read. New adults, dreaming about their futures and
...more
Heather Stanley
Feb 16, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This was a new take on mermaids, it has become such a done story choice but I went in with a clear and open mind. I'm glad I did because Howard Parsons did a amazing job putting a new spin on the topic!!!!
The setting for the most part is Colony Island. This beach town is so well done that you are drawn into it, the shops, beach fronts, and Mer who live there come alive. They become like friends, family and neighbors you would want to have. Because it is so well done it leads to the love story
...more
Heather Stanley
May 28, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was a new take on mermaids, it has become such a done story choice but I went in with a clear and open mind. I'm glad I did because Howard Parsons did a amazing job putting a new spin on the topic!!!!
The setting for the most part is Colony Island. This beach town is so well done that you are drawn into it, the shops, beach fronts, and Mer who live there come alive. They become like friends, family and neighbors you would want to have. Because it is so well done it leads to the love story
...more
Sheri
Feb 10, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This book ended up being different than I thought it would be, but in a good way. Penelope has trouble fitting in and finding a mate, not easy for a mermaid to fit in. I love how the story didn't just focus on the supernatural aspect, but in growing relationships, learning to appreciate and accept differences in others and fitting in, in her own special way.

I really enjoyed this book and recommend it. I'm hoping the author writes more books set in this location and make it a series.

*I'd like to
...more
Daniel Casey
Feb 12, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: reviews
Urban Mermaid mixes the mundane and the fantastic creating a mermaid story that goes beyond mere fairytale but never abandons the charm of the genre. The couple’s meet-cute, their developing romance, and the meet-the-parents interlude leading up to the inevitable provides little in the way of surprise but never disappoints.

Read more of my review here: http://misanthropester.com/2016/02/26...

Elisa
Feb 26, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Penelope a shy natured mermaid who just wants to find someone to love her.

Peter a really sweet human guy who seems to have been rejected his whole life by woman.

Can Penelope and Peter become friends and maybe one day more than friends?

Hopefully with the help of Poseidon as a matchmaker, Peter and Penelope will get their Fishtail ending.
Ils
Jan 13, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Just finished reading this amazing story! More detailed review to follow!
Samantha Fenn
rated it it was amazing
Aug 31, 2014
Natasha
rated it really liked it
May 14, 2016
Paula M. Keller
rated it it was amazing
Dec 23, 2015
Jaclyn
rated it liked it
Oct 01, 2015
Yivy
Feb 20, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2016
Howard Parsons
Feb 20, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Tracy
marked it as to-read
Oct 03, 2013
Rebecca
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2013
Jeremy Whitley
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2014
Becki
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2014
Wicked  Lovely
marked it as to-read
Oct 10, 2014
Rebecca
marked it as to-read
Jan 20, 2015
Stacey Schmidt
marked it as to-read
Apr 21, 2015
Louisa
marked it as to-read
Apr 22, 2015
Sirenita
marked it as to-read
May 06, 2015
Gabrielle
marked it as to-read
Jul 14, 2015
Maciej
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2015
Night Goddess
marked it as to-read
Oct 19, 2015
Ella
marked it as to-read
Dec 07, 2015
Alice Edwards
marked it as to-read
Dec 12, 2015
Deanna
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2015
Candess
marked it as to-read
Dec 25, 2015
Schuyler Munden
marked it as to-read
Dec 27, 2015
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
27 followers
Howard Parsons was born in Petersburg, VA during the final days of King George VI's reign. He grew up and attended school in nearby Hopewell, VA.
The eldest son of Lucile and Howard T. Parsons Sr., he attended North Carolina College in Rocky Mount, NC and graduated in 1974 with a BS degree in Biology. Although his interests lay in both Virology and Marine Biology, the need to earn a living led him
...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »