Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Spartan and The Green Egg: A Trip to the Rainforest (Spartan and The Green Egg #1)” as Want to Read:
Spartan and The Green Egg: A Trip to the Rainforest (Spartan and The Green Egg #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Spartan and The Green Egg: A Trip to the Rainforest

(Spartan and The Green Egg #1)

by
3.94  ·  Rating details ·  81 ratings  ·  59 reviews
Spartan, his three friends, and his dog, Grimm, as they travel the Universe. The mission of this talented team is to gain and share knowledge of their amazing discoveries. With the power of their minds, they made contact with a race of alien explorers, who communicate with them via an egg-shaped spaceship that is itself an organic alien being. Their expeditions are made ev ...more
Hardcover, 59 pages
Published 2013 by Full Cycle Publications
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Spartan and The Green Egg, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Spartan and The Green Egg

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.94  · 
Rating details
 ·  81 ratings  ·  59 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Amanda Masters
Lily says:

This book is about Spartan and his friends going on a adventure i their imaginations in the big round thing called egg.

the pictures were awesome and they were one of the best parts of the book.i like the pictures with just juma and yara because I like their regalia's and I really like the logo for the book.

My favourite part was when they met the two native children juma and yara. they were fun and I learned a lot from them about their people.

It made me sad when they where cutting down
...more
Sadie Forsythe
Aug 25, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
My six year old and I read this together. She was really enamoured with the maps. In fact, it took us three tries to sit down and actually read the book because she just wanted to look at the maps and find all of the fun little treasures in them. Once we finally made it past the decorations to the actual book itself she loved the full-color comic book styling and I have to agree with her. It gave the book a little something different.

The environmental themes are ones we've all heard before, but
...more
Athena Nagel
Aug 10, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: reviewed
This was a terrific book. The premise of the children (Explorers) using their imagination and having it take them to some great places is terrific. I also love that the story has a message - a global message even. Protect what you use and replace what you take. The illustrations are masterful and colorful. The style is that of a comic book type flow and perhaps that is the feature I most strongly like. My son has special needs and it is often difficult to get him to try to read. But he loves co ...more
Donald Armfield
I received this book for review purpose, trying to read a graphic novel to your kids I find a little tricky.

The story is about Spartan and his friends. They go on an adventure to a rain forest and discover and learn wonderful things. Kinda reminds me of the show "Little Einsteins"

The artwork is a cutesy anime very colorful, and the whole book is made from recycled papers. Good for childrens beginning in graphic novel reading.
Jennifer
Aug 28, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: i-own, read-in-2013
I thought this book was great. The colors are really bold and bright. I like that it reads like a comic book because who doesn't like a good comic. Nabila takes readers on an adventure but also teaches something on the way which I found informative.
Susan
Oct 22, 2013 rated it liked it
The illustrations were wonderful. Story line was easy to follow for the kids. It would have been nice to see the children be more hands on involved with solving the issue. I would be clear with children when reading that this story is fantasy with a good environmental theme.
Meshell
Oct 31, 2013 rated it liked it
Shelves: first-reads
Won thanks to Goodreads!

Good book, my nephew loved it. Fun, colourful and imaginative a must read for those who have children who are just starting to read.
Peter Broughton
Oct 02, 2013 rated it really liked it
This book is a graphic novel aimed at children and possibly early teens. It's the story of a group of friends who through the power of their minds, make contact with an alien on a distant planet. He sends a green egg to them which is both a massively technologically advanced spaceship, but also his means of communicating with the group of friends from his home world. The group of friends then set off on their first adventure inside the green egg. On this occasion, they visit the Amazonian rainfo ...more
Vermicious Knids
Oct 24, 2013 rated it liked it
Shelves: first-reads, reviewed
When I first pulled this book out and showed it to my son who is in first grade, he danced around, wanted to look at it and promised he would hurry and do his homework. He thoroughly enjoyed the book so I seriously considered rating this 5 stars for his review.

This book is a graphic novel about four kids, a dog and an alien egg that travel to the Amazon rain forest. The book teaches some beginning science and ecology concepts. If your kids like The Magic School Bus series (mine does) they probab
...more
Lucinda
Oct 24, 2013 rated it liked it
An exciting educational adventure story that’s an imaginative visionary masterpiece!

Spartan and the green egg is a must-have for any child’s bookshelf, as it is great fun and is essentially educational as well as enjoyable. It is a children’s fantasy adventure in the style of a comic book, containing pictures and maps. This book in the form of a brightly colored, eye-catching graphic novel this easy-to-read story will appeal to the younger reader in addition to those being introduced to reading
...more
Jalynn Patterson
About the Book:

Spartan, his three friends, and his dog, Grimm, as they travel the Universe. The mission of this talented team is to gain and share knowledge of their amazing discoveries. With the power of their minds, they made contact with a race of alien explorers, who communicate with them via an egg-shaped spaceship that is itself an organic alien being. Their expeditions are made even more exciting through the use of new technology and cool gadgets, provided by their new friend, who goes by
...more
Jake Hainey
Nov 26, 2013 rated it it was ok
A trip to the Rainforest is the first in a series of graphic novels for children, which follow the adventures of a group of children, led by the eponymous Spartan, who make contact with an Alien who offers to take the children anywhere they wish.
The book is an educational comic intended to teach children about the Rainforest and the dangers that deforestation causes, both for the wildlife and indigenous people that inhabit it.
As an educational book it works well. I can imagine children being
...more
M.M. Hudson
Sep 15, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition


Recently I was asked to review the book Spartan and The Green Egg by Nabila Khashoggi. I thought it would be an interesting book to review due to my love of nature. I was not disappointed.


This hard cover book is the first in a series for Ms. Khashoggi. The story opens with the main character Spartan and his three friends, meet up in the tree club house. Spartan proceeds to tell the group about a book he has received that mentions how to contact aliens.


The group collectively decides, through the
...more
Lisa
Oct 25, 2013 rated it liked it
Shelves: review-read
I received this book as a Goodreads giveaway.

It took me a while to write this review because I wanted to share it with some of the kids I know to get their thoughts, but the book was a little too advanced, so I will have to base it on my own impressions.

Spartan and The Green Egg: A Trip to the Rainforest is a wonderful idea. Spartan and his friends travel to the rainforest in a alien spaceship and learn about the people of and the dangers to the rainforest. It is a cute story, though I would hav
...more
Skjam!
Oct 24, 2013 rated it it was ok
Recommends it for: children starting to wonder about the Amazon
Recommended to Skjam! by: Goodreads
Disclaimer: I received this book as a Goodreads giveaway on the premise that I would review it.

Spartan, an adventurous boy, his three human friends, and his dog Grimm make contact with an alien that manifests itself in the shape of an egg. Using its vast powers, they go on exploration journeys. In this introductory volume, the kids travel to the Amazon rainforest and learn a little bit about the locals, as well as about deforestation.

This graphic novel is intended for kids about eight to ten, an
...more
Vera Godley
Sep 01, 2013 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
About the book: Spartan and the Green Egg Children’s Book Takes a Trip to the Rainforest - Author Nabila Khashoggi has written a fun and educational new children’s book, Spartan and the Green Egg, a Trip to the Rainforest that is sure to provide excitement and wonder as young readers travel to the rainforest to experience an amazing journey.

A Trip to the Rainforest is the debut book in a continuing series of ten adventures with Spartan, his three friends and his dog, Grimm and their travels of t
...more
Savannah Mae
May 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing
“Spartan & The Green Egg” by Nabila Khashoggiis a graphic novel for youngsters that will taken them on a trip to the rainforest. My almost four year old was mesmerized by the illustrations and was captivated by the story. While I feel like the book is geared to kids a little older than mine (possibly 8-12), Miles was overjoyed while we read this book. We did read the story over several nights and he was more than ready to find out about the green egg. Miles asked me several times if we could ...more
Kris
Dec 13, 2013 rated it it was ok
I was fortunate to receive a copy of 'Spartan and the Green Egg: A trip to the Rainforest' through Goodreads. The book is the first in a children's graphic story series and focuses around four children who learn how to communicate with aliens. The alien, which takes the shape of a green egg transports the children to various locations so that they can learn about the world around them. In 'A trip to the Rainforest' the four children learn a bit about the Amazon and the dangers of over logging.

On
...more
Alex
Oct 24, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: won
(Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.)

This book follows a young boy named Spartan, his three friends, and his dog on an adventure to the Amazon rainforest. They get there with the help of a magical alien called Egg which they summon using their imaginations. Once there they meet up with two natives who show them their village. The Shaman of the village makes them aware of the logging going on not too far away, and they decide that they must do somethi
...more
Gayle Pace
Aug 22, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
REVIEW:

This is a wonderful children's book. It's about Spartan and his friends. It is the debut book in a series of ten adventures with Spartan, his three friends and his dog. They made contact with some alien explorers with the power of their minds, through an egg-shaped spaceship. The spaceship was actually an alien being. The alien becomes their friend and is called Egg. They go on an exciting and educational journey to the Rainforest.Their mission is to gain and share knowledge of the unive
...more
Logan Caine
Jun 29, 2014 rated it it was amazing
There are some books out there that capture the imagination and spin fantastic tales for all of us to enjoy. They stay with us for years after we've read them as children and we can then go back as adults and enjoy them with new eyes.

This is one of those books. The comic book style of the delivery, the art, the description to back up the pictures, and the dialogue itself were all fantastic. As an adult I could enjoy this book the same way I can enjoy any comic. The themes were rather adult, but
...more
Alyson
Oct 23, 2013 rated it really liked it
This was a fun book. Once my 3 year old was convinced that it did not contain a monster, he loved it and wants us to read it to him all the time. The story is simple (this is a children's book, it is not intended for adults--it should be simpler than something targeted at my age), but is a good story and is one that is important. The artwork is cute, and makes for a more entertaining storytime for my toddler.

The reason this loses a star is because some of the sentences and writing are a little
...more
Sally Wolf
Dec 01, 2013 rated it really liked it
When his friends come to the tree house, Spartan tells them about a book his father found in an old bookstore. According to the old book, with the power of the mind they can communicate with aliens. When they all think about it, an alien comes into the clubhouse. It takes Spartan and his friends on a trip of a life time to the rainforest. This is a fun and educational book about the rainforest. It is one of the most unique books I have ever read. It is laid out in a format similar to that of a c ...more
Terri Christie
Oct 02, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
Green Eggs hold the ham!

Spartan and his friends contact aliens with their imaginations but the response is not exactly what they were expecting. When Egg appears in their tree house they have no idea what kind of adventures he will take them on. One of the last mystical places on earth, the Amazon holds new enlightenment and adventure for our young foursome.

This book is a great addition to the literary world, teaching the next generation about the importance of their imagination and conservin
...more
Catherine
May 10, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Star Rating: 5 Stars

This Book was sent to me by the Author following a request I made to her for it before reading the next Book in the Series which I found out about via Bostick Communications.

This was the first Comic Book/Graphic Novel that I have ever read & loved it which is why I read it in a couple of hours. It is for these reasons that I gave it 5 stars out of 5.

The Illustration's in the Book were fantastic and kept me engaged in the story.
The book started with a young boy telling his
...more
Ashley Gibson
Oct 24, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I got this book for free through Goodreads First Reads!

I absolutely loved this book. The illustrations are absolutely beautiful! The book also teaches a good lesson. Spartan and his friends travel to the rainforest after contacting aliens. The alien life form takes them to the amazon where they learn loggers are destroying the beauty and the wonderful lifegiving ecosystem that is the amazon. With the help of the green egg (alien) they tell the loggers to plant a new tree for each one they cut do
...more
Kai
Nov 13, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
Spartan & the Green Egg is a story told in comic book format. The story is about the adventure of Spartan and his friends Max, Katie, and Tor and their dog Grimm. The story starts off with Spartan discovering instruction from a book that his father bought him to contact aliens. Once they contacted the aliens, a green egg appeared and took them on an adventure in the Amazon rainforest. From there they learn about the natives living in the Amazon rainforest and how the outside world is impacti ...more
Rosanna
Nov 23, 2013 rated it liked it
This graphic novel is striking with its bright colours and illustrations including much detail. I think that children could spend hours appreciating the pictures, even without the story. The story itself is one of magic, which is obviously an interesting topic to most children. The most significant underlying theme is that of sustaining the rainforest and the perils of deforestation. This is introduced in an informative yet simple enough way for children (I would say around age 7) to understand ...more
Amanda
Jul 12, 2018 rated it really liked it
-Thanks to the @kidlitexchange network for the review copy of this book— all opinions are my own-
____

Spartan and the Green Egg Series is a fun, unique graphic novel collection. With three books, each take us to an exciting part of our world!

The first book, A Trip to the Rainforest, Spartan and his friends discover an alien life who shapes itself into a green egg. The green egg takes them on an adventure to the rainforest in the Amazon where they learn about deforestation and how the planet is b
...more
Loren
Oct 24, 2013 rated it did not like it
Shelves: first-reads
I won this book through the Goodreads First-reads program and would like to thank Goodreads, Nabila and anyone else involved in supplying me with my copy.

While this book had the potential to be used as a classroom resource to raise awareness about environmental issues, it unfortunately didn't hit the mark for me. There was a lot of emphasis on spirits/alien forces and the resolution of the story (involving a magical giant) was over-simplified. There were also typos that distracted me from the st
...more
« previous 1 3 next »
  • If You Were Me and Lived In... Turkey: A Child's Introduction to Culture Around the World
  • The Case of the Chocolate Snatcher
  • Sir Princess Petra's Talent (The Pen Pieyu Adventures #2)
  • Keeper of Reign (Reign #1)
  • Grace Unplugged
  • The Dragon Machine
  • Beneath the Bleak New Moon
  • Baffin's Sister Swap Scandal - A Dragonasaurus Tale (Dragonasaurus Tales)
  • The Peacekeeper's Photograph (Master Sergeant Lauren Harper Mystery,#1)
  • Glitter Girl
  • CAT SAYINGS: wit & wisdom from the whiskered ones
  • Kevin and the Three-Headed Alien (Kevin's Books, #2)
  • The Adventures of Blue Ocean Bob: A Journey Begins
  • Portal Through the Pond (Empty World, #1)
  • Are the Dinosaurs Dead, Dad?
  • Limos, Lattes & My Life on the Fringe (Real Life, #4)
  • Mice & Spiders & Webs...Oh My!
  • Smokestack Lightning
14 followers
Nabila Khashoggi is the author of the Spartan & the Green Egg series of books, whose proceeds from sales go in part to support a nonprofit organization helping children in areas of extreme poverty around the world. Inspiring young readers to develop a thirst for travel, a respect for different cultures, and to view themselves as part of a larger global community, this unique series of graphic ...more