Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dragon Fire” as Want to Read:
Dragon Fire
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Excerpt

Dragon Fire

(Cael Stone #2)

by
3.83  ·  Rating details ·  81 ratings  ·  12 reviews
After learning the Queen of Galia wishes to destroy her, and sent men—including her father’s killer—to Alyria to arrest her, Erynn and her friend, Adena, fled Caraden Castle and set out on a journey to find her birth parents and the Order of the Cael, a group she hopes can help her. Blamed soon after for murdering the King of Alyria, they now find themselves hunted by Alyr ...more
Paperback, 1, 339 pages
Published October 8th 2013 by CreateSpace (first published September 27th 2013)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Dragon Fire, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Colleen Ruttan I had hoped to have it out by the end of 2014, but things haven't quite gone as planned this year. It's looking like early 2015 now.

Thanks…more
I had hoped to have it out by the end of 2014, but things haven't quite gone as planned this year. It's looking like early 2015 now.

Thanks for your interest! :)(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.83  · 
Rating details
 ·  81 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Dragon Fire
Hannah Rush
Nov 30, 2013 rated it really liked it
I was a little confused while reading this book. I think that was mostly because I have not read the first book in this series. I won this book through a Goodreads giveaway. I had entered the giveaway for the first book as well, but only won this one, I guess it was meant to be.
This book took a little longer than usual to get and hold my attention, but once it did I couldn't stop reading it. This is a very fast paced and exciting book. Just like others are saying, this book is a bit like Game
...more
Marie
Jan 01, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2014-bingo
I won this book through the Goodreads First Reads program, and I was super excited. I got my hands on the first book in the series from the library, and I’m glad I did because this book picks up where the last one left off!
Right off the bat, I feel like mentioning that this book is quite a bit heavier and longer than the first in the series. Having set down the first and picked up the second, it was obvious that this was where the story really gets started.
I read on the author’s page that this
...more
Mona
Dec 01, 2013 marked it as to-read
Shelves: first-reads
Just won this from First Reads! This is my first time winning and I'm very excited!

I haven't read the first book in the series though; I hope it isn't mandatory in order to read this book.

Thank you to the author, Colleen Ruttan for the book!
Juliet
Oct 27, 2013 rated it liked it
Shelves: own, fantasy
I liked it but I had quite a few problems with it. I liked how it was about best friends not the same old same old girl meets a boy and he helps her and than fall in love. but the main character seemed to get more annoying and she didn't really do anything but act rely on other people to help and save her and her friends and a lot of luck. also though the dwarfs were mentioned they never appeared. I also wanted a little romance but I did like the fresh take on a ya fantasy. I also wanted more el ...more
Noor Al-Shanti
Dragon Fire, like the first book in the series, is a very fast-paced page-turner of an adventure. It starts just where The Last Falcon left off and very abruptly, having no real beginning of its own. It throws you right into the action, assuming that you've read The Last Falcon and just continuing on from there.

Also like the The Last Falcon it has a few sections that feel like too much telling, with too many names thrown in and too much "pay attention, this is significant back-story information
...more
Kyle P.
Dec 11, 2013 rated it really liked it
I won this book in a contest and never posted a review on it. I was going through my collection of books to read before a few of the newer books I want to read come out and I realized that I had this to reread. This book overall was a really good book, I didnt unfortunately read the first book so I was a bit lost when I started to read it. But in the end of the 2nd read I thoroughly enjoyed it and have reccomended it to a few of my friends who are interested in the same genre books I enjoy. All ...more
Joshua
Dec 02, 2013 marked it as to-read
I will say now that I finally received by copy of Dragon Fire in the post today, after nearly 3 months of waiting :( But I don't mind the wait, I just look forward to reading it, although it may be a while before I can make time for it as I am currently reading Shadowplay, The Hobbit and The Knife of Never Letting Go, but I will read it I reckon in about a month's time.
Linda
Aug 22, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fantasy
Erynn and Adena are still on the run from Lord Caden and Marik. Every moment could be their last. However, Soren/Krystalix has given Erynn a gift, a gift that could save her and her friends if she only can figure out how to use it.

Quick paced and exciting.
Bill Tillman
Second novel of Cael Stone fantasy series. Erynn learns she is a daughter of Megan and can talk to dragons. Finds her father's killer and is in constant fear of being captured by him. Is captured and escapes several times. And receives a mysterious gift from Krystalix.
Hafiza
Jun 17, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Would have liked just a little romance thrown in with all the action
Bryan Brown
Jan 04, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Fun and fast paced!

As expected, it was better than the first book (which was also good!). There was plenty of action - and elves...my favorite of the Faery Folk!
ronald norris
Interest and lack of ending

Great story line which kept me interested. Writing skill and sentence structure average. The lack of a finish in the saga highly disappointing.
Mary MacKintosh
rated it really liked it
Aug 07, 2014
chriszero
rated it it was ok
Jan 03, 2016
Betty
rated it liked it
Jun 02, 2019
Karen Elkins
rated it really liked it
Jun 11, 2014
Katie Z
rated it liked it
Mar 17, 2017
Jesse
rated it really liked it
Apr 07, 2015
Nicola
rated it it was ok
Jun 12, 2014
Cheryl Mcleod
rated it it was amazing
Jun 11, 2014
Linda Ulleseit
rated it it was amazing
Dec 08, 2013
Jessica Tucker
rated it really liked it
Sep 02, 2014
Cassandra Johnson
rated it really liked it
Oct 15, 2016
Kathy
rated it really liked it
Jul 19, 2018
Mary Dyar
rated it really liked it
Jun 22, 2019
Susan
rated it it was amazing
Dec 23, 2014
David A Lombardi
rated it really liked it
Jun 13, 2014
Janet Leedham
rated it liked it
Mar 19, 2015
David Ramsden
rated it really liked it
Oct 18, 2016
« previous 1 3 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: New Series Title 3 161 Sep 29, 2013 11:47AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Last Enchanter  (Celestine Chronicles #2)
  • Guardian's Rise (The Sons of Masguard, #2)
  • The Griffin's Boy (The Griffin Riders' Chronicles, #1)
  • Ennara and the Fallen Druid (Ennara, #1)
  • Venom of the Serpent's Cunning (Andy Smithson, #2)
  • Reader and Educator Guide to "The Hobbit" and "The Lord of the Rings"
  • Trusted (Dragons' Trust, #1)
  • If A Dragon Cries (The Legend of Hooper's Dragons Book 1)
  • Mark of the Dragon Queen
  • The Light of Kerrindryr (The War of Memory Cycle, #1)
  • Dragon's Rook (The Lost Sword, Book 1)
  • The Black Dragon: A Claire-Agon Dragon Book (Claire-Agon Dragon #3)
  • Protector of the Grove (The Bowl of Souls, #7 / Jharro Grove Saga, #2)
  • The Dragon in the Driveway (Dragon Keepers, #2)
  • Out of This World
  • Darkin: A Journey East
  • The Six (The Gateway Chronicles #1)
  • Thaddeus Whiskers and the Dragon
See similar books…
41 followers
Colleen Ruttan grew up in North Vancouver, BC, and currently lives in Chilliwack, BC. She is the author of THE CAEL STONE, a traditional fantasy adventure story being told over the course of several books, and is currently hard at work on the third volume of the story (THE RING & THE CROWN). The first volume, THE LAST FALCON, received a starred review from Publishers Weekly and was listed on t ...more

Other books in the series

Cael Stone (2 books)
  • The Last Falcon
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »