Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Fire on the Island” as Want to Read:
Fire on the Island
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Fire on the Island (Vigilati #1)

by
3.85  ·  Rating details ·  105 Ratings  ·  51 Reviews
"She who wields the mark is the barrier between man and monster. She is the daughter of gods, the mother of man, protector of all. Vigilati Usque Ad Mortem" All Isla Macallen wanted was a simple existence on her little Scottish island, free from her mother's insanity and the prying eyes of neighbors. What she got was embroiled in a war for the souls of mankind. A war of go ...more
Paperback, 384 pages
Published August 2nd 2012 by Kdh Publishing (first published July 9th 2012)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Fire on the Island, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Fire on the Island

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Misty Baker
I was reading an article the other day on “How To Write Paranormal Romance” (don’t ask me why, it was totally random) when I stumbled upon a quote by Christine Feehan (author of Ghost Walkers, Dark Series…etc.) that summed up perfectly my complicated feelings towards paranormal literature. They asked her:

“What is paranormal romance to you?”

Her reply (much cleaner and shorter than I would have ever been to able to express it) was this:

“To me, paranormal is something out of the ordinary. Something
...more
Jonetta
I love a story steeped in lore that unfolds gradually, treating you to new discoveries along the way. It's even more gratifying when the main characters are figuring it all out at the same time you do. You feel like you're actually standing beside them as they face the next obstacle that surfaces.

There's plenty of action and romance and Isla and Jere make a great couple, even if she dragged her feet initially (it only heightened the tension and that's a good thing). Her genealogy is a mystery t
...more
Lillie
Sep 22, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2012
4.5 stars

New Orleans native Jeremiah Rousseau has spent his life studying the paranormal. When more information about the obscure bruixi witches shows up at the same time his publisher insists he take a vacation, he takes it as a sign and heads for a small Scottish island where local legend tells of a witch that matches the bruixi description. Once there, he finds more than he bargained for with his immediate attraction to Isla Macallan.

All Isla wants is acceptance. After her mother tried to kil
...more
Rhomy
4.5 stars don't need to be explained!

Wow!Such a good book!

When I first read the blurb I wasn't thrilled but I liked the idea of this book being set in Scotland. So I decided to give it a shot.

I wasn't disappointed at all.
This is a compelling story. The plot is original and entertaining. It was a fast read and I was drawn since page 1.

Just the paragraph when the author describes how everybody found out about Isla's mark is amazing and from that moment I knew this book was great.

The story is fast
...more
Jessie Potts
Oct 19, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is a great NA pararom and had a ton more plot then a lot of PRs I read. This was a good thing, but not if you were just looking for a sexy read. The main character is a witch and this of course explodes everything. There’s demons, a hot nomad traveler, a demon king, souls and a lot of ‘problems’. I loved the plot, the setting, the bad guys, the fights, they were epic and I enjoyed every minute. I do feel like Isla and Jeremiah could have used more life infused in them, but it’s such a minor ...more
Natalie
Sep 14, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: books-i-own
I won this book on First Reads! Woo! (First one I've ever won xD). I enjoyed this book. I like it's story. The action I felt was well balanced. Some books, I feel, tend to drag on in order to prolong the "what's going to happen?!" moment. This book I felt was perfect in talking about what was going to happen and then it happened. I really liked the characters. I liked the supernatural world her characters became a part of. I look forward to more books in this series and seeing these characters a ...more
Nancy (The Avid Reader)
The following review is my opinion and not a paid review. I was given a free copy of the book from the author for an honest review.

Isla MacAllan loves her little island, the Isle of Arran, Scotland, UK. Isla's has her own little cabin that is surrounded by dense forest of trees. The tourist or anyone else couldn't see her place she lived in isolation she the way she preferred it. She moved to Arran about ten years ago from the city of Glasgow where she was born. She arrived on the island with no
...more
The Book Tart
Sep 28, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
originally posted on The Book Tart at http://thebooktart.com/new-fiction-re...

I love to read a good paranormal romance. One that will sweep me into it and take me on a magical adventure. Fire on the Island does exactly that and I loved the journey. This book is rich in detail and world building. It has a unique take on witches and demons and I was captured by this story.

Oh! side note- The cover of Fire on the Island is exquisite. I want that corset. :)

The heroine of this adventure is Isla. She l
...more
Leslie
Aug 17, 2013 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Those who enjoy a story about magic and love in an exotic setting
Fire On The Island was a nicely written tale of a young woman finding out who she really is while finding a deep love and fighting the forces of evil. I know this synopsis touches on familiar grounds, but books that take these familiar plot points and inject a different life into them are books that are worth the time given to them. Fire On The Island is worth the time you give it and you will get an enjoyable and charming read.

I enjoyed how the setting of the story, a Scottish island called Arr
...more
Lizzy Lessard
Aug 25, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: paranormal, reviewed
Overall: I’m so thankful that this paranormal romance has the characters actively doing stuff. Isla is a tour/mountain climber guide in Scotland and for the majority of the book she actually is involved in her job. You can tell that she knows what she’s doing with the occasional climber jargon, but it isn’t so over the top than people like me (who have never climbed) can’t follow exactly what is going on. That said, not only is Isla actively working/rescuing people, there is plenty of magic for ...more
Rea
Aug 27, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: romance, paranormal
4.5 stars

Full review can be found here.

First of all, what a setting! I love the Scottish islands: they’re picturesque, they’re remote enough to each have a very distinct personality, and they’re the perfect getaway. I’ve been to several of the Scottish islands (Colonsay, Jura, Mull, and Islay) and my memories of them are all of a rural paradise, the kind that you don’t tend to find very often in Britain nowadays (though the beaches leave a lot to be desired). The author shows an obvious passion
...more
Christina  Torretta
Ohhh for the love of witches! I’m so excited to read another witchy book! Witches and Scotland! A win/win! This one really excited me from the start. All the talk about Bruixi witches, their guardians and those that want to kill them made it feel like J.K. Hogan did some serious homework but the way she explained everything in the book was so simple. Isla, the witch, doesn’t even know what is going on, so as she and the people around her start to find out about her powers she learns, as do we! E ...more
Aliaa El-Nashar
I am not always into paranormal books, by that I guess I mean I can stomach some, just not others. It really depends. This book had me drawn - yes due to the amazing cover. But also, the Synopsis didn't sound half bad. Not that it didn't sound good, it's just as I mentioned I am always reserved when it comes to Paranormal books. With this type of book I usually take my time, and almost never finish it on the same day, but with this one, I was surprised to find myself finishing it in a matter of ...more
Danielle Smiley
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Publisher Type: Small Press

My Review:
This, my friends, is a great read. It's unique and creative, full of heart-stopping action and sizzling romance. I love witch and magic books because you never know what to expect from them, more-so than books of other paranormal creatures. I love the history that is built for the Bruixi witches and how it unfolds throughout the story. I found all the hiking, rock climbing and other outdoorsy activities to be a fun addition to the sto
...more
Franjessca
Review also posted on Book Lovin' Mamas
I always love a good witch story and of course this book definitely had me intrigued when it was set in Scotland. I absolutely adore Scotland! Cannot wait to make a trip out there myself. =)
Isla Macallen has come to the little Scottish island to get away from what happened to her when she was 8 years old. The people on the little island are not so intrigued by her. They actually fear her because they're not sure about her. Something is different about her a
...more
Proserpine
Aug 08, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I read a great and interesting adventure. Fire on the Island was totally my kind of read: action, a nice plot, great characters, paranormal situation and supernatural creatures, hot scenes and a tory who take place in Scotland (near it). Yes, this book had everything I love and it actually had conquered my heart.

J.K. Hogan has great writing skills and knows how to build an intriguing and mysterious plot. At first I thought: another witch story, as many others: another vampire story, another were
...more
Natasja
Aug 25, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Fire on the Islands by J.K. Hogan is the first novel in the Vagilate Series and I liked it. I think I cannot get enough of the paranormal genre; I just love it too much. This novel isn’t an exception because it had the entire right basis; witches, demons, magic, danger, action and let not forget love.

Isla and Jeremiah are the main characters and I just love them. Jeremiah is a doctor and a writer; ever since he was young he was intrigued by the paranormal activity in the world. When he stumbles
...more
Angie
Synopsis: "“She who wields the mark is the barrier between man and monster. She is the daughter of gods, the mother of man, protector of all. Vigilati Usque Ad Mortem”

All Isla Macallen wanted was a simple existence on her little Scottish island, free from her mother’s insanity and the prying eyes of neighbors. What she got was embroiled in a war for the souls of mankind. A war of good versus evil, of witches versus demons, and Isla learns that she alone can end it.

Dr. Jeremiah Rousseau was a sel
...more
Kathleen Kelly
Aug 26, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
As I love anything to do with Scotland and witches...anything that falls into those categories as far as reading material always grabs my attention. Fire on the Island fits right into these categories. It takes place on an island off of Scotland, Arran, and involves witches, one of them being the main character Isla. Isla is owner of Expeditions, a company on the island that guides interested parties in kayaking or hiking . She is a pariah on the island as people can and will be superstitious of ...more
A.R. Von
Oct 25, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
WOW! There’s was a ton going on in this story, all of it very exciting and original. A very different paranormal read with different elements from what we would normally see in a paranormal romance. A definite must read for all paranormal romance fans that crave something different.

Jeremiah is one of the most magnificent male characters I've ever met! Strong, mysterious, intelligent, kind, handsome, brave and I can keep going on and on, he’s just that great! No stranger to the paranormal, he’s s
...more
S.M. Blooding
Dec 21, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: new-adult, paranormal
This book….oohhhhhhh….this book. It had my heart racing, my brain scrambling, and my butt bouncing on the edge of my chair. It was *singing* faaaaabullllous!! The plot is fan-FRIGGING-tastic!! It’s dark and rich and unique. It’s deep! I think my brain was doing backflips the entire time I was reading this book! OMW! It was so fascinating!

The setting was rich. There was obviously a lot of research done, but J.K. Hogan didn’t feel the need to overburden the reader with clumps of data. She expertly
...more
Marissa
Aug 23, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a really nice creative story. I love that it takes place in Scotland. There were good descriptions, that can make you feel you are with the characters. The story itself was very good, interesting, and I felt that there were a good amount of mystery, ahh yes romance, paranormal elements including witches and demons, and there was a good pace, nice flow, throughout the whole story. The characters were well developed, including Isla, whom had an unstable mother when she was young, and ever ...more
Jenn
Aug 10, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved this book. Seriously. I cannot wait for book two to come out. I love that it takes place in Scotland. I love that it's about witches, but has a different spin than any other witch book that I've ever read.

Isla, is our heroine, and she is a spunky, self-sufficient gal. She does what she thinks is right even when the people of the island she lives on, treat her bad because she is a witch. She has faced a ton of adversity in her young life, but it has made her a stronger person. Her relati
...more
KindleJo Jo
Dec 05, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mkr, paranormal, romance
Review originally posted here: http://mamakittyreviews.com/?p=5188

I am always looking for a new paranormal series to read, and I found one!



This first journey into the Bruixi world brings us to the Scottish island of Arran and our heroine, Isla Macallen. Isla owns a successful tour guide business, (although the locals think she is just a guide), and thinks of herself as an ordinary woman who has overcome a traumatic past. Because of the strange tattoo on her neck, the locals have shunned her as a
...more
Ricki
Aug 02, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Fire on the Island is a paranormal tale that mixes together a good brew of essential elements - love, death, mystery, intrigue, magic and demons, to name a few - that brings the reader into a modern day world with the age old battle of good vs. evil.

The reader will love J.K. Hogan's pairing of romance with the paranormal as she weaves a tale that pulls us into this mysterious and magical world. It is easy for the reader to get lost in the lives of the inhabitants of Arran, an island filled with
...more
MGGMMGGM
Fire on the Island was an amazing journey for me. The novel was a great mix of paranormal, love and humor. Humor was not the element that I was expecting but it was a great addition to the novel.

Isla and Jeremiah was a great combination. Isla a witch, Jeremiah a curious paraphysics expert. I wasn’t expecting them to click but when they did, they made a cute couple. The supporting characters were funny and memorable too. I’d say that overall, the character were well rounded and strongly written.
...more
Kimmie
Aug 12, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: adult
I loved Fire on the Island! It has been awhile since I read a really good paranormal romance, so I was pretty happy when this one turned out to be so good!

Honestly, I don't think there was anything I didn't like about this book. It had a fabulous cast of characters, a beautiful setting, a great storyline, and the pacing of the book was perfect.

My favorite aspect was definitely the setting though. I loved that this book was set on a Scottish Island. All the places the author describes in this boo
...more
M.A Grace
Sep 11, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
To be honest the story is more a 3.5 but after careful consideration I felt there was enough to bump it up to a 4 instead of dropping it down to a 3.


The story is compelling. The characters sometimes fall short but the story keeps you interested enough to keep reading. The Paranormal is many ways in this story as you have witches, shape shifters, and demons. Good Vs Evil. And the whole I didn't know I was a witch is a great theme.

I enjoy watching those come into their powers and the adventure tha
...more
Cami Hensley
Aug 15, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
http://myaddictionisreading.blogspot....

In the age old Good vs. Evil plot this book centered on Witches and Demons in Scotland. Often times in a Paranormal Romance you get too much of either the paranormal or the romance and I felt that in this story JK Hogan really did an amazing job of balancing the two.

The characters were easy to get behind and well developed and their interaction with each other and how the supporting characters stood out really added to the story.

I personally loved that wh
...more
Mandy Baggot
Aug 20, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Pow! Wow! This is paranormal romance that packs a mighty punch! I have to admit this is the first paranormal romance I've read and I wasn't sure how I would get on with reality and fantasy combining. However, then I met Isla and Jere and the fantastic writing of J K Hogan and I was drawn into this world so easily! The history, ancestry and elements of the supernatural were all brilliantly described and the intricacies of the plot were always well explained so paranormal virgins like me were able ...more
« previous 1 3 4 next »
  • Halo of the Damned
  • Goddess On The Run
  • Child of War - A God is Born (Of War # 2)
  • The Fractured: Elena (Fractured, #1; Blemished, #2.5)
  • Mirror of Shadows
  • Fighting For You (Redemption Series, #1)
  • Adrift (Last Selkie, #1)
  • Shadow Slayer (Shadow, #2)
  • Gone at Zero Hundred 00:00 (McSwain & Beck #1)
  • Revelation (The Seven Signs, #1)
  • Barbarossa's Bitch
  • Prodigal Son (Truth Seers, #1)
  • The Dream Slayer (The Dream Slayer, #1)
  • Falke's Renegade (Puma Nights #3)
  • Eternal Revelations
  • Witches
  • I Know What You Need
  • Bitten (The One Rises #1)
264 followers
J.K. Hogan has been telling stories for as long as she can remember, beginning with writing cast lists and storylines for her toys growing up. When she finally decided to put pen to paper, magic happened. She is greatly inspired by all kinds of music and often creates a “soundtrack” for her stories as she writes them. J.K. is hoping to one day have a little something for everyone, so she’s branche ...more
More about J.K. Hogan

Other books in the series

Vigilati (3 books)
  • Blood in the Valley (Vigilati, #2)
  • The Serpent's Fate (Vigilati, #3)

Romance Deals

  • The Wedding Shroud (Tales of Ancient Rome, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Release Me (Stark Trilogy, #1)
    $2.99 $0.99
  • Better Off Without Him
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Veronica's Dragon (Icehome, #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • No Prince Charming (Secrets of Stone Series Book 1)
    $6.99 $2.99
  • A Loyal Heart (An Uncertain Choice, #4)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Surrender (Steel Brothers Saga, #6)
    $7.99 $2.49
  • Forged in Smoke (Red-Hot SEALs, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Hunted (The Warrior Chronicles, #2)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • A Husband's Regret (Unwanted, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Be My Reason
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Jewel (The Lone City, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Cuffed (Honor Bound Book 2)
    $6.99 $2.99
  • His Unlikely Lover (Unwanted, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Love Me Sweet (Bell Harbor, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Forged in Ember (Red-Hot SEALs, #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Taking Catie (Temptation Saga #3)
    $5.99 $2.49
  • Desire After Dark (Gansett Island, #14)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • The Scotch King (Scotch #1)
    $6.99 $2.99
  • This Love of Mine (Mirror Lake, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Your Scandalous Ways (Fallen Women, #1)
    $6.99 $1.99
  • The End of Feeling
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Seaside Hearts (Love in Bloom: Seaside Summers #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Forgotten Secrets (Singing River Legacy, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Knight (Endgame, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Storm Warrior (Grim, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Bayside Passions (Bayside Summers, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Misadventures with a Rookie (Misadventures, #11)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Finding Libbie: A Novel
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Love at Last (Love in Bloom: The Bradens at Peaceful Harbor, #6.5)
    $2.99 $1.49
  • Nitro's Torment (Sydney Storm MC #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • A Strange Hymn (The Bargainer #2)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Only You
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Lily and the Duke (Sex and the Season #1)
    $5.99 $2.49
  • A Girl's Best Friend
    $9.99 $1.99
  • My Once and Future Duke (The Wagers of Sin, #1)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Surrender/Submission Bound Hearts 1 & 2
    $2.99 $1.49
  • Burn (Steel Brothers Saga, #5)
    $7.99 $3.49
  • Mistress of Magic
    $6.99 $1.99
  • The Duchess Deal (Girl Meets Duke, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • INK: A Love Story on 7th and Main
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Misadventures of a City Girl (Misadventures, #2)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • A Ruthless Proposition
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Hearts at Seaside (Sweet with Heat: Seaside Summers #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Hometown Girl
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Mind (Trinity Trilogy #2)
    $6.99 $2.49
  • Rhapsodic (The Bargainer, #1)
    $2.99 $1.49
  • The Room Mate (Roommates, #1)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Surrender My Love: Cole Braden (Love in Bloom: The Bradens at Peaceful Harbor Book 2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Decaying Empire (The Vanishing Girl, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Forgiving Hour
    $2.99 $1.49
  • Bright Side (Bright Side, #1)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • The Fixer Upper
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Room for More (Cranberry Inn Book 2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Neanderthal Seeks Human (Knitting in the City, #1)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Chasing I Do (The Eastons #1)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Forever Hunted (Forever Bluegrass #9)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Slow Dance in Purgatory (Purgatory, #1)
    $4.99 $1.49
  • The Cafe by the Sea
    $9.99 $1.99
  • That Month in Tuscany
    $6.99 $2.49
  • My Brother Michael
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Something in the Way (Something in the Way, #1)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Elect (Eagle Elite, #2)
    $2.99 $0.99
  • Just Friends
    $7.80 $2.99
  • To Taste Temptation (Legend of the Four Soldiers, #1)
    $6.99 $1.99
  • Ghosted
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Dodging Temptation
    $2.99 $0.99
  • The Billionaire's Final Stand (Billionaire Bachelors, #7)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Find Me (Corrupted Hearts #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Blackmailing the Billionaire (Billionaire Bachelors, #5)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Hunger (The Energy Vampires #2)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Healed By Love (The Bradens at Peaceful Harbor #1; The Bradens #13; Love in Bloom #32)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Billionaire Falls (Billionaire Bachelors, #3)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Runaway Heiress (Billionaire Bachelors, #6)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Treading Water (Treading Water, #1)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Life Next Door (Love Not Included Book 3)
    $2.99 $0.99
  • Undeniable Love (Journey Of Love Book 2)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Bittersweet
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Mr. Perfect (Mister, #1)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Made for You
    $3.99 $1.49
  • The Light In Summer
    $5.99 $1.99
  • For Love and Honor (An Uncertain Choice, #3)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Collision Point (Brute Force, #1)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • The Journey Home
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Heirs of Grace
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Storm Bound (Grim, #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Unforgettable Love (Journey of Love Book 3)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Prom Night in Purgatory (Purgatory, #2)
    $4.99 $1.49
  • The Valiant (Spy Girl Book 4)
    $6.99 $2.99
  • Dear Aaron
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Running Barefoot
    $5.95 $1.99
  • Wrecked
    $3.99 $0.99
  • The Sapphire Heist (Jewel, #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Other Side of the Story
    $10.99 $1.99
  • One Fell Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Out of Focus (Adams Grove, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Eighth Grave After Dark (Charley Davidson, #8)
    $8.99 $2.99
  • What If
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Journey's End (Gilded Promises)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Light After Dark (Gansett Island, #15)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Pecan Pie and Deadly Lies (Adams Grove, #4)
    $4.99 $0.99
  • How To Marry A Werewolf (Claw & Courtship, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99