Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Long Live Earth” as Want to Read:
Long Live Earth
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Long Live Earth

by
4.32  ·  Rating details ·  19 Ratings  ·  8 Reviews
Want to be part of the solution? Join Long Live Earth in celebrating it's 20th Anniversary!

Originally published by Scholastic in 1993 and uniquely illustrated with hand stitched quilt squares this reflective tale is more timely, and more important, than ever...

Embark on a lyrical journey which begins at Earth's very beginning, explores what people have done to our planet
...more
Paperback, 20th Anniversary Edition, 32 pages
Published December 2nd 2013 by Oliben Press (first published 1993)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Long Live Earth, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Long Live Earth

Community Reviews

Showing 1-50
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Kat Ward
Nov 05, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Long Live Earth not only has a most pertinent message, but the artistic work in the quilts made by the author are impressive. Her rhyming is sweet, funny, silly, and potent, yet easy enough for toddlers and young kids to understand. It should be in every elementary school library and classroom and on every home bookshelf. It's a feel good book encouraging kids to care and take action without being preachy. Its bright colors and wonderful quilt pictures made it a must read for my girl when she wa ...more
Caylina
Nov 23, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: first-reads, children
First read winner.

I thought this book was very cute and helps raise good points on what we can do to help our environment and world. It is easy for a child to understand how they can help. I cannot imagine how long it took to make each quilt square. The amount of detail is unbelievable. I am very honored to have received this since it was out of print for so many years. I am glad that it is back in print because this is a topic that we should be teaching our children today.
JC
Nov 08, 2013 rated it liked it
This is a quick and easy read. The stitchwork is pretty incredible that is done and the book is decent, but I did feel like it was trying a bit hard to drive it's point across. All the same, a decent read and still impressed by the stitchwork.
Isabel
Sep 24, 2013 rated it really liked it
I really liked this book. I was actually looking for something for my four year old sister to read but I didn't want to get her just anything, this book was perfect, it has a strong message and it is something that can we can read together.
Mary Beth
Apr 21, 2008 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I read this for Eath Day every year to the K kids--great book about taking care of the planet. Good for budding Evolutionists, too, as it references the earth being way older than 6000 years--and prehistoric man! The illustrations are actually quilt squares--beautiful.
Jan Greene
Oct 01, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Parents and teachers of kids K-5
Shelves: a-good-read, for-kids
A great book to remind kids about caring for the environment. The quilted artwork is pretty incredible too!
I will read this to each of my grandchildren.
Denise Murray Wong
Jan 27, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: read-reviewed
Morrison's son served as her inspiration for the rhythmically timed verses of this story of conservation appropriate for readers both young and not-so-young. Beautifully illustrated by original quiltwork lovingly created by Morrison, the meaningful poetic words communicate the importance of environmental conservation on every level- from reusing paper to addressing elected officials as concerned activists. While out of print for some time, Long Live Earth now has been re-released in celebration ...more
Karen Pajot
This book talks about taking care of the planet. It would be great to read on earth day and we could also start projects to help the planet, such as recycling.
Angela Cunningham
rated it it was ok
Sep 24, 2013
Asad
rated it it was ok
May 15, 2017
Glenn
rated it it was amazing
Oct 15, 2013
Small Footprints
rated it it was amazing
Jan 09, 2014
Justme
rated it really liked it
Dec 26, 2015
Caroline Anastasia Mccaskill
rated it it was amazing
Oct 14, 2013
Henrich Joy
rated it it was amazing
Feb 06, 2015
Kathleen
rated it liked it
Mar 18, 2017
Meg Wezet
rated it it was amazing
Oct 01, 2013
Mary
rated it it was amazing
Nov 22, 2011
Amber
rated it it was amazing
Oct 15, 2013
Roy Wano
rated it it was amazing
Oct 08, 2013
Nathan
added it
Feb 09, 2014
Manidipa Mandal
marked it as to-read
Apr 10, 2016
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Gracey Thomason
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Teresa Lavender
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Cathy
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Sarah Crawley
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Grace
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Sue
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Larry Hall
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Pamela
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Jared
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Diane
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Andréa
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Rickie Hinrichs
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Kim Coomey
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Eileen Johnson
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Kim McHughes
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Douglas Settle
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Diana Senn
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Luisa Gonzalez
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Michele Rock
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Joy Adams
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Michael Capp
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
Skylar
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
James Young
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Secret Shortcut
  • Allison
  • Popcultured: Thinking Christianly about Style, Media and Entertainment
  • Energetic Keys to Indigo Kids: Your Guide to Raising and Resonating With the New Children
  • All the Colors of the Earth
  • The Tub People
  • Just Juice
  • A Letter to Amy
  • Ten Black Dots
  • I'm God's Girl? Why Can't I Feel It?: Daily Biblical Encouragement to Defeat Depression & the Blues
  • LET'S TALK DEMENTIA-A Caregiver's Guide
  • The 9 1/2 Principles of Innovative Service
  • This Journey Is a Process
  • Make It a Party with Sizzix: Techniques and Ideas for Using Die-Cutting and Embossing Machines - Creative Ideas for Invitations, Decorations, and Gift Packaging
  • The PR Masterclass: How to Develop a Public Relations Strategy That Works!
  • Animal Rain
  • Soul Repair: Recovering from Moral Injury after War
  • Shadow of the Piper
5 followers
Meighan Morrison studied fine art and illustration at Boston University and Parsons School of Design. Her award winning artwork has been exhibited internationally and is included in private collections around the world.

Her first children's book, Long Live Earth, was published in 1993 by Scholastic. A new 20th anniversary edition of Long Live Earth is due to be released in December.

Her second book,
...more