Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Animals: Love Letters Between Christopher Isherwood and Don Bachardy” as Want to Read:
The Animals: Love Letters Between Christopher Isherwood and Don Bachardy
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Animals: Love Letters Between Christopher Isherwood and Don Bachardy

by
3.57  ·  Rating details ·  28 Ratings  ·  5 Reviews
The love story between Christopher Isherwood and Don Bachardy—in their own words

The English novelist and screenwriter Christopher Isherwood was already famous as the author of Goodbye to Berlin when he met Don Bachardy, a California teenager, on the beach in Santa Monica in 1952. Within a year, they began to live together as an openly gay couple, defying convention in the
...more
Hardcover, 528 pages
Published May 13th 2014 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (first published September 12th 2013)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Animals, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Animals

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-58)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Ije the Devourer of Books
Very long but very intriguing!

Through this series of letters between Don Bachardy and Christopher Isherwood we get to witness the true love and devotion between the two men.

Their's is an improbable relationship but one that showed the depth and resilience of their love for each other. And it is a love that survived ups and downs over thirty long years until Christopher Isherwood's death.

Christopher met Don when he was 48 and Don was 18. They began a relationship despite the disapproval of friend
...more
Vivek Tejuja
Dec 05, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This has to be one of the best non-fiction books I have read this year. Or rather one of the best books of letters which I have read in a very long time. “The Animals” – Love Letters between Christopher Isherwood and his long-standing lover Don Bachardy is a treat for anyone who loves being in love and reading about unconventional (so to say) love.

Christopher Isherwood was an acclaimed writer when he met Don Bachardy on a Santa Monica beach in 1952 and their love affair – or rather romance – or
...more
Josh
Nov 20, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Inspiring, Insightful and Romantic.

This collection of letters is so beautiful, I only wish there had been more!! Highly recommended.

It's not just for romantics. If you are interested in 50/60's show business, theatre, cinema or literature you will also enjoy this.
Sam
Feb 29, 2016 rated it did not like it
Shelves: bailed
I am not a person who can read books of letters. I am sure Isherwood was an amazing person with amazing stories (as evidenced in his other books) however letters with personal shorthand and a million footnotes and to who is whom and what events were going on is not my cup of tea.
Matthew Gallaway
Jul 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing
A great read for fans of Isherwood, and Bachardy is no slouch either. I wrote a full review of the book for the LARB, which can be found here:

https://lareviewofbooks.org/review/an...

William Harless
rated it really liked it
Aug 29, 2014
Michael M
rated it liked it
Mar 09, 2016
Gretchen
rated it liked it
Oct 05, 2014
Kimley
rated it really liked it
Apr 30, 2014
Kristin Moriah
rated it it was ok
Aug 10, 2014
Amy Karon
rated it liked it
Jan 14, 2015
James Worsdale
rated it it was amazing
May 31, 2017
Henry Giardina
rated it it was ok
Apr 18, 2015
Clifton Guterman
rated it really liked it
Jul 30, 2014
Matt Smith
rated it liked it
Oct 14, 2014
Heber Maia
rated it it was amazing
Nov 17, 2014
Isabel
rated it liked it
Oct 24, 2015
Chris Richards
rated it it was amazing
Aug 04, 2013
Melissa
rated it did not like it
Sep 18, 2016
Kay Johnson
rated it really liked it
Oct 10, 2015
Ruixue
rated it really liked it
Jul 23, 2017
Chris
rated it liked it
Dec 19, 2014
Luise
rated it really liked it
Jul 31, 2017
Dave Yan
rated it liked it
Apr 20, 2014
Lana
rated it it was amazing
Feb 21, 2017
Olga
rated it did not like it
Jun 28, 2014
Julie
rated it it was amazing
Oct 27, 2014
Winter Peterson
rated it really liked it
May 18, 2014
Christine
marked it as to-read
Aug 18, 2013
Donovan Lessard
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2013
Erykah
marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2013
Simone
marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2013
Alexandra
marked it as to-read
Oct 12, 2013
Oscar
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2013
Caffeine
marked it as to-read
Dec 09, 2013
René-Raphael
is currently reading it
Dec 28, 2013
Jess
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2014
Rowena
marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2014
Yara (The Narratologist)
marked it as to-read
Jan 26, 2014
Sophia
marked it as to-read
Jan 31, 2014
Mila
added it
Mar 24, 2014
Chris Maxwell
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2016
Nicolas Chinardet
marked it as to-read
May 30, 2017
Rabenfrau (Molls)
marked it as to-read
Aug 08, 2013
Holly
marked it as to-read
Sep 08, 2013
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2014
Danielle
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2014
Kim Coomey
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2014
Diana Senn
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2014
Haven Gordon
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2014
J
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2014
Christopher Ceria
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2014
Steveinie
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2014
Rebecca
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2014
Donna Schubert
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2014
Debbie Carnes
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2014
Nikki Tegtmeyer
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2014
Cindy
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2014
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Day of Shelly's Death: The Poetry and Ethnography of Grief
  • Silent Witnesses
  • Growing Pains
  • Nights at Rizzoli
  • Tony Allen: An Autobiography of the Master Drummer of Afrobeat
  • Winning Marriage: The Inside Story of How Same-Sex Couples Took on the Politicians and Pundits--And Won
  • Hold Tight Gently: Michael Callen, Essex Hemphill, and the Battlefield of AIDS
  • Young Sherlock Holmes
  • The Renaissance: The Best One-Hour History
  • Lavoisier in the Year One: The Birth of a New Science in an Age of Revolution
  • Leaving the Rest: Gay Men on Alcoholism and Sobriety
  • Fighting on the Home Front: The Legacy of Women in World War One
  • A Shooting Star Meets the Well of Death, Why and How Richard Halliburton Conquered the World
  • Finding Masculinity: Female to Male Transition in Adulthood
  • The Wedding Heard ’Round the World: America’s First Gay Marriage
  • Lords of Aether Volume One
  • The Mafia and the Gays
  • The Backwash of War: The Human Wreckage of the Battlefield as Witnessed by an American Hospital Nurse
10229
Christopher Isherwood was a novelist, playwright, screen-writer, autobiographer, and diarist. He was also homosexual and made this a theme of some of his writing. He was born near Manchester in the north of England in 1904, became a U.S. citizen in 1946, and died at home in Santa Monica, California in January 1986.

Isherwood was the grandson and heir of a country squire, and his boyhood was privile
...more
More about Christopher Isherwood...

Share This Book