Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Katydid Effect (Throckmorton Family #2)” as Want to Read:
The Katydid Effect (Throckmorton Family #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

The Katydid Effect

(Throckmorton Family #2)

by
4.04  ·  Rating details ·  25 ratings  ·  15 reviews
This is an ACE for ISBN13:9781482669831 The Katydid Effect

The Katydid Effect should appeal to pragmatist and romantic alike. The story follows the lives of Maryanne and Alexander Throckmorton over a period of thirteen years. In 1954, they met by chance at a roadside diner in Appleton, Wisconsin. They fell in love, married, and traveled to their new home in Pensacola, Flori
...more
Paperback, 310 pages
Published March 1st 2013 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (first published February 26th 2013)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Katydid Effect, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Katydid Effect

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-54
Average rating 4.04  · 
Rating details
 ·  25 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Katydid Effect (Throckmorton Family #2)
Sharon Huether
Aug 24, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: chick-lit, fiction
This story continues from the first book "A Cream Packard" Alex mets his father, who he thought was dead from the war. He also finds out he has twin daughters, that will live with he and Anne. His father knows a lot more than Alex Jr. thinks. The conclusion will be in the next book " A Bridge to Cross" I loved the story with all it's twists and turns. I recieved this FREE book from the author for my honest review.
Stacy
Dec 22, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Katydid Effect takes up the story of Alexander and Maryanne Throckmorton where "In A Cream Packard" left off-- from newlyweds embarking on their life together on their horse ranch in Florida to 13 years later, and encounter some challenges along the way. Family secrets and some pain need to be tackled and dealt with in order to move on-- and some of the secrets end up being life changing-- but Alexander and Maryanne's love for each other is strong and they manage to weather the storms togeth ...more
Sophie Dufort
Jul 01, 2014 rated it really liked it
A e-copy of the novel was provided to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

This is the third of Edward’s books that I am reading, and I must admit that I am getting addicted to his writing. It is so enticing and fluent, I just can’t seem to be able to walk away from the computer once I get started. As I said before, Edward has a way with words. His writing is not seamless, nor very strong, yet it has an appeal that just keeps me glued to the pages. It is melodious, elegant, maintain
...more
Mkittysamom
Mar 16, 2014 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Romance, Simple Romance,1950's 1960's history, Music lovers
This is book 2 of "The Throckmorten Family Novels". It opens up at the end of Alex and Annie's honeymoon road trip toward her new home on Alex's horse farm in Chumuckla, Florida. They drove down "In A Cream Colored Packard" from Appleton, Wisconsin (Annie's hometown).

I think Annie is a wonderful wife for accepting one giant surprise after another, as well as participating in finding the truth of the Throckmorten's family secrets!!
In the 2nd book, Alex and Annie meet Nicolas (his father) and fam
...more
Debbi DuBose
The Katydid Effect by Edward Hackemer is an absolute joy to read! He made my memory tingle with his very descriptive sights and sounds of the late 1950's to early 1960's. This is the second book in the Throckmorton Family series. It continues the storyline begun in: In A Cream Packard. In 1955 Alex and Annie are raising horses on their farm near Pensacola, Florida. Alex, reunited with the "Old Man" he thought was dead since 1946; and Annie, are getting to know his Dad. Five years later in Januar ...more
Cathy
Jan 02, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I have really enjoyed this whole series, reading 3-5, then 1 and 2. I don't buy many books but had to this time; I was hooked! This book followed Alex and Annie in the years after their whirlwind wedding. As with his other books, Mr Hackemer shows great historical knowledge and enables the reader to experience the decade along with the characters. There is a real genuineness to his books and I look forward to more from this author.
Joy
Aug 19, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book. The only problem was the book ended too soon. I hope the author writes another update novel on the Throckmorton clan. The characters are real, warm and interesting. I want to know what happens next with them.
Jasmine
Mar 16, 2014 rated it it was ok
Shelves: first-reads
The book wasn't that good. The charters are not the best and some words are repeated to often. Although, I really enjoyed how Edward Hackemer writes a setting. you can see it in your head. I got a chance to read this book through Good Reads First Reads.
Terry
Mar 16, 2014 rated it really liked it
I have thoroughly enjoyed this series. Longer review to follow.
Sharon Heaverly Machuga French
The Katydid Effect is the sequel to In A Cream Packard. I have read and loved both of these books. The story takes place in the 1950s and the author's descriptions of the products used at that time are so correct of the times. I grew up in this time period and if I didn't remember seeing these things, I remembered my parents talking about them.

I never would have picked up this book of my own choice but the Edward R Hackemer gifted me the third and fourth books in this series. My OCD convinced me
...more
Debbi DuBose
The Katydid Effect by Edward Hackemer is an absolutely delightful read. This is the second book in the "Throckmorton Family Novels". It continues the story begun with: In A Cream Colored Packard. It's 1955 and Alex and Annie are living on their horse farm near Pensacola, Florida raising horses. Alex has just been reunited with his father, Nick, whom he thought had died in 1946 in WW II. There is definitely a mystery to this storyline!! Then five years later, in January of 1960, their lives are i ...more
Edward Hackemer
Jul 06, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Goodreads asks the author to submit a review of their work, so here it is:
"Of course, it's a biased review. I wrote it then read it. Lots of times."
This is book #2 of the Throckmorton Family Novels. Alex and Annie's lives are turned on edge as surprises and secrets of the past are revealed.
Renate Dusquesne
Jul 12, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Not as much romance as I would have liked, but all together it was a very good story. It had more drama than In a Cream Packard and somee interesting twists in the family jar of surprises! A nice summertime read.
Sheila Cohen
Oct 15, 2014 rated it it was ok
Shelves: first-reads
The story was good but there's a ton of irrelevant detail in the book that distracts from the story. The car (Packard) is treated almost like a character. The writing can be stiff and awkward. However, I finished the book fairly rapidly and was interested in it.
Skye
Jun 02, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
The story was interesting but the writing was repetitive and forced. There was not enough conflict to create excitement. It was okay but not great.

I received this book free from GoodReads Giveaways.
Pamela Liakopoulos
rated it really liked it
Feb 13, 2019
Javier Carrasco
rated it it was amazing
Jun 20, 2017
Brenda Knight
rated it it was amazing
Jun 19, 2016
Donna
rated it it was amazing
Jun 21, 2019
Willow Wind
rated it liked it
Jan 10, 2014
Johann Laesecke
rated it it was amazing
Dec 10, 2016
Xolandaluza
rated it it was amazing
Aug 16, 2020
Darlene
rated it it was ok
Oct 10, 2015
Julie Christianson
rated it liked it
Jun 03, 2020
Donna
rated it it was amazing
Jun 17, 2019
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Feb 17, 2014
Kim Coomey
marked it as to-read
Feb 17, 2014
J
marked it as to-read
Feb 17, 2014
Pamela
marked it as to-read
Feb 17, 2014
Callie
marked it as to-read
Feb 17, 2014
Sue
marked it as to-read
Feb 17, 2014
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Feb 17, 2014
Lisa Cromwell
marked it as to-read
Feb 17, 2014
Haven Gordon
marked it as to-read
Feb 17, 2014
Christine
marked it as to-read
Feb 19, 2014
Sona Geoffrey
marked it as to-read
Feb 19, 2014
Amy
marked it as to-read
Feb 20, 2014
Robin Jedele-pescador
marked it as to-read
Feb 21, 2014
Pei Pei
is currently reading it
Feb 22, 2014
Lydia
marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2014
Diana Senn
marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2014
Kailey
is currently reading it
Feb 23, 2014
Mary Wright
marked it as to-read
Feb 23, 2014
Sharon
marked it as to-read
Feb 23, 2014
Carol Giles
marked it as to-read
Feb 24, 2014
Tasha
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2014
Donna Schubert
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2014
Carmela
marked it as to-read
Feb 28, 2014
Samantha
marked it as to-read
Feb 28, 2014
Katie Harder-schauer
marked it as to-read
Mar 01, 2014
Danielle
marked it as to-read
Mar 02, 2014
Vykki
marked it as to-read
Mar 02, 2014
Phyllis Adams
marked it as to-read
Mar 03, 2014
Tatiana Sanchez
marked it as to-read
Mar 03, 2014
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Fallen King (Court of the Sea Fae, #2)
  • Birthday Girl
  • Vicious (Sinners of Saint, #1)
  • The Hunter (Boston Belles, #1)
  • The Air He Breathes (Elements, #1)
  • The Peer and the Puppet (When Rivals Play, #1)
  • String of Pearls (The Mulligan Sisters #3)
  • Westering Women
  • Professional Genealogy: Preparation, Practice & Standards
  • The Patriot Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower, #4)
  • The Golden Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower, #8)
  • The Express Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower, #9)
  • The Loyal One (Walnut Creek, #2)
See similar books…
201 followers
¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
Edward R Hackemer lived in Western New York for 55 years before retiring from government service and moving to North Georgia; roughly halfway between Atlanta & North Carolina.
His college education was abbreviated by induction into the US Army in 1968. Ed's civilian employment history runs from paperboy, dishwasher, paper mill laborer, laboratory technician, warehous
...more

Other books in the series

Throckmorton Family (6 books)
  • In a Cream Packard (Throckmorton Family #1)
  • A Bridge to Cross (Throckmorton Family #3)
  • Dollar to Doughnut (Throckmorton Family #4)
  • The Flying Phaeton (Throckmorton Family #5)
  • Sangria Sunsets (Throckmorton Family #6)

Related Articles

Fresh off the success of her World Fantasy Award–winning novel Witchmark comes a standalone romantic fantasy from author C.L. Polk. In The...
41 likes · 2 comments