Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Wantin (Wantin #1)” as Want to Read:
Wantin (Wantin #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Excerpt

Wantin

(Wantin #1)

by
4.08  ·  Rating details ·  104 ratings  ·  79 reviews
Fate is relentless in its pursuit of Talia Jacobs. Presented with unimaginable turns of chance, she is drawn into the depths of tragic losses then catapulted to the extraordinary heights of life's joy. Take the journey with Talia as she undergoes her sexual, social and physical metamorphosis from a vulnerable girl into a mature young seductress. Nothing in life is ever as ...more
Paperback, 234 pages
Published August 1st 2013 by Publicious Pty Ltd
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Natalie
Aug 28, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Still slightly reeling after reading this on one train journey the day after receiving it.

Why?

Well, partly due to the style; mostly because of the human story - told at pace.

The style is unique, seemingly auto-biographical, sometimes naive in the way it doesn't patronise nor attempt to confound the reader.
You need to read the book yourself to discover the credibility of the main character through the choicest selection of dialogue interspersed with accomplished descriptive (and not just the ero
...more
Sandra Miksa
This book was so incredibly good that I finished it in one sitting – I stayed up until early morning it wasn’t very wise but it was worth it! I just couldn’t get enough. I was physically unable to put it down.

This book was just so enchanting; it made me feel like I traveled across the globe just by reading it.

I wasn’t able to predict what was to happen next.

The main character visits many places, discover different cultures, and encounters a lot different people. It awakened the spark of wanderlu
...more
Elizabeth Ehlen
Feb 19, 2014 rated it really liked it
Wantin, by Truth Devour, is the first in a series detailing the life of Talia Parker, a young heiress who lost her parents tragically at the age of 6 and grew up in the care of her aunt and uncle in Australia. At the age of 21 her aunt and uncle give Talia her parents’ will (per their instructions in it) and she discovers that she is independently wealthy and immediately starts to travel. She travels to discover her past, travels to discover her present need for love, and travels to shape her fu ...more
Mauoijenn ~ *Mouthy Jenn* ~
*NetGalley e-book*

I started this one out on my PC about 4 weeks ago and just finished it this evening. The start of the story was slow at first but it got it's groove after a few. I thought it was good. Not great or anything. I never read a book where the author could write a love scene in 4 sentences. Kind of thought we got robbed on that part. I might read #2 , maybe one day.
Debbie Carnes
Nov 10, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Loved this book, you follow Talia from the age of 6 to adulthood. You will read and feel every emotion you can think of.

Truth Devour is a wonderful writer I look forward to reading more of her books
Suzanne
Aug 12, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Talia is a complex character whose journey catapults from ordinary to extraordinary. I found the erotic scenes written particular well. Cannot wait for the sequal.
Catherine
Sep 02, 2014 rated it did not like it
Shelves: 2014-read, reviewed, 1star
I was messaged by the author who had uploaded the story for free for a short time. These are my honest feelings on the book and it is just my opinion, which is not meaning any offense to either the author or other readers. This review will probably contain spoilers. I'm writing this review as I'm reading it, so some things might turn out better than I feel at the time I write that portion.

I assume that the beginning, the sexual scene between the main character and some sort of mystery man, was m
...more
Cheryl Drake johnson
Nov 03, 2014 rated it really liked it
This is the 1st of A triology. It begins with Talia a six yr. hold who looses her parents while they are visiting a foreign country and she then meets her mothers sister her husband an is taken to their home in Australia where she was raised with their 3 children she was frightened when she first arrived but the younger brother Brad took her under his wing and they became very close through the years as they grew into adulthood even though Brad was a couple of years older he and Talia were more ...more
Lena
Dec 12, 2013 rated it it was amazing
[Source: ARC provided courtesy of Goodreads First Reads program. This review also appears on Words.Blank-Stare.com]

I find it refreshing to go on a journey with a narrator, watching their life unfold in front of them and follow their thoughts and actions as they process what it means in the grand scheme of their life. Wantin is a spectacular example of this, as it follows Talia as she embarks upon womanhood.

What intrigued me most about Wantin was the book itself. The book is white with a face bei
...more
Nicole Jenkins
Nov 09, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: first-reads
Review for Wantin by Truth Devour
!!!Spoiler Alert!!!
(I tried not to give too much away and feel that even if I did, it still wouldn’t compare to the experience of reading it all yourself.)
You know how you start to read a book and after a few paragraphs you just know you’re going to love it? Well for me, this was one of those books! I mean I had to go back and read the first chapter twice! The reason being… it started off with one heck of a sensual scene! What I didn’t know at the time was how m
...more
Jasmine G.
If it feels so good loving the wrong person, imagine how wonderful it is going to be when you love the right one.

When I began to read, I was instantly confused as to what was happening. I thought it was a dream that the main character was having, yet, after finishing the first book it is still unclear who she was with. Although, I do have my assumptions but I am definitely going to continue to read the next books in the series. This book is filled with so much imagery, you feel as if you are act
...more
Holly Newhouse
Oct 09, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Meet Talia Jacobs, a young woman who has suffered great loss at a young age who was raised by her loving aunt and uncle and their family. As she matures she finds out that she is independently wealthy. She decides to leave after falling in love with one she knows she can't have and who deserves to be loved by one who can love him back, a love that is not forbidden. Talia sets out on a journey of self-discovery while at the same time endlessly searching to fill the void in her own soul and life. ...more
Deborah Bean
Feb 19, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Wantin by Truth Devour is a fictional story about loss, unrequited love, life and finding yourself. The reader gets a look at how losing her parents at a young age affect Talia. We get to see the ups and downs as she struggles to find meaning in life.

Talia is 6 years old when she is left with a nanny in Haiti to attend school while her parents travel to different places. She experiences her first lost when her best friend has to leave the school to go home with his parents. Her second and thir
...more
We Said It: Literary Reviews  w/ Ts Blogging
Reviewed by T’s Blogging
11/20/14
11:50 a.m.

With each turn of the page I waited for a sex craved, pornographic story that would have me needing to release. Instead, I discovered a tale that had me refusing to sleep as I took an adult adventure with Truth Devour leading the way. Before being submerged into the lines filled with words, I was faced with a visual that stimulated my thirst to discover the hidden messages within the illustration of the book’s cover. Plagued by the title, at first glanc
...more
Elizabeth (Stuffed Shelves)
Oct 06, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: adventure
This book is more than just intense, it's extreme. I believe the first chapter is supposed to suck you in, but if you are deterred from it due to it's graphic nature and intensity, keep reading, because it all changes after chapter one. It's almost as if chapter one is a whole other story on it's own. The second chapter will jump right into Talia as she was at six years old, which is quite a jump from the first chapter.

As a child Talia, she travels the world with her parents. I think this is ev
...more
Amanda
Nov 16, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: contemporary
*Independent reviewer for Paranormal Romance and Authors That Rock*

4 fangs

Talia is a strange little girl. Her parents travel the world, to wherever their spirit takes them, dragging little Talia along for the journey. At six years old she really doesn't know her parents as they always arrange a caregiver for her. She's in Haiti finally attending school when her parents die. Their death doesn't affect her as much as her leaving Marlee. Her Aunt and Uncle take her in and it takes Talia a while to
...more
Selena
Dec 19, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I was gifted Wantin by Truth Devour in exchange for an honest review.
I was hooked from beginning to end. I am hoping I can read the second book as soon as I finish this review rather than be put on a wait list. Talia is an amazing woman. She is hurt. She has issues. She should have a blessed life, she is set for life and never has to work. She is a natural warrior. She has a family that loves her. She has men following her and wanting to be her only. She is not happy. She has so many issues and
...more
Britt
Jan 20, 2014 rated it it was amazing
What an amazing read. Wantin by Truth Devour, simply takes you on a journey from childhood to adulthood with Talia Jacobs. Talia Jacobs a young imaginative, spirited, multicultural young woman has experienced so many instances of love and lost in her young life. Devour in depth view of love and lost is quite developed within this novel. Devour's character Talia travels and with every new country and every new person she meets she grows. Grant it Talia does have a man problem; a longing to be lov ...more
Amy Barber
Nov 27, 2014 rated it really liked it
I didn't begin this book with any expectations. I am used to reading romance and erotic romance and this is a story of a young girl, Talia, who grows into a mature woman taking a very untypical path. The story begins when she is a 6 year old girl, traveling the world with her parents. She experiences many tragic events and moments of great happiness. The story takes place in many different countries and the author does a great job of introducing some of the unique culture into the story which I ...more
Marissa
Oct 29, 2014 rated it really liked it
Kindle Copy for Review from Author

Talia Jacobs knew her parents were wanders and died when she was young. Living in Australia with her grandmother she did not even her real last name until she turned twenty one when she saw a copy of her birth certificate and learned that her parents left her a trust fund and property around the world.

When her first cousin goes off to see the world , she goes on her own journey to find herself since they both are in love with each other but as first cousins it i
...more
Jane
Wantin tells the emotional development of Talia Jacobs from the time she is six, when her parents die into her twenties. Her emotional ups and downs, with her strong sense of privacy give the novel an unexpected depth into her character. She is on a search for love and is loved along the way but not by the right men. She also shows generosity, understanding and acceptance of people as she finds them and has no wish to change them and only asks that they do not ask her to change. Some of her conn ...more
Melody
Nov 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Wantin, by Truth Devour, is the first in a series detailing the life of a young heiress who after losing her parents when she was 6, goes to live with her Aunt and Uncle in Australia. When Talia turns 21 she is given her parent's will. She finds she is wealthy beyond words and decides to travel. During her travels, she will rediscover her past, discover her present needs, and seek her future.

Talia meets many loves along the way - it's fairly steamy in a few places beware. We follow her on her j
...more
Majanka
Book Review originally published here: http://www.iheartreading.net/book-tou...

Wantin is the first book in a series about Talia, a young woman who spends most her time traveling. Confronted with a terrible loss, she travels to make sense of the past, to find her true self, and to shape a future for herself. From heights to lows, Wantin follows her journey as she looks desperately for love.

The author did an amazing job describing the different cultures Talia comes across throughout her journey. T
...more
Misty Heverly
Nov 07, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I finished this book in 2 days! I absolutely loved it. It is filled with so many emotions and feelings that balance out pretty well. It's almost as if you lived this journey beside Talia. She has been faced with so many different situations throughout her life, and yet she doesn't let any of that stop her from perusing what she truely wants. It is filled with passion, adventure, romance and so much more! I don't want to give anything away. This is a must read!! I can't wait to start Unrequited : ...more
Fern blackmore
Nov 23, 2014 rated it it was amazing
the bit written from the 6 year olds POV was slightly odd, i personally think it was too old to be a 6 year old as they are still quite simple minded. however the rest of this story was brilliant, tantalizing and very erotic, the story was easy to follow and engaging.

this book isnt just a pornographic story, it offers a 'real' character whom you come to know and follow, it offers a storyline which evolves and becomes complex whilst still being easy to follow. the pace isnt too fast and doesnt d
...more
Sherry Haynes
Oct 19, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Wantin is a journey of a female who has dealt with a hard childhood with death of her parents. Her Aunt and Uncle treat her well and she loves them but appears to have a wall established so that she can't be hurt the way she was when her parents died. During her journey into a young adult she meets and establishes relationships and in that process she finds out who she is.

Wantin is an easy read and captures the reader from the beginning. Can't wait to see what is next in Talia's life and how sh
...more
Laura  Hernandez (TheVoluptuousBkDiva/YABkDivas)
This is the first book I've read written by this author and I was pleased. The writing style is different to others as it is indicative of someone with a free spirit. The plot is interesting and we get a feel for the places that Talia traveled to. I also loved the growth that this character went through. I had no expectations going into this book and I am happy to say that I look forward to reading the next book.
Nina Ivanova
Full review/Цялото ревю - click, click

Note: I received a review copy in exchange of my honest review

After-read thoughts:
I really, really wanted to like this book.
For review purposes, I'll divide the story into three parts - first, till Talia became of age and receive her parents' will, second - until she decided to trace out her roots, and last - from this point till the end of the novel.
Wantin started quite good. The first chapter may be shoking for some people, but for me, it just left me cur
...more
Jake Hainey
Dec 17, 2013 rated it it was ok
!!!WARNING SPOILERS!!!

Where to begin?...

Plot lines either spring up out of nowhere with little to no build up or build slowly for ages only to drop off the face of the earth with no warning.
The main thread of the story is her awkward relationship with her cousin who one evening, randomly admits to having loved her his whole life without the reader having been given even the slightest suggestion that this is the case. Talia responds pleasantly to this advance, suggesting she has similar feeli
...more
Thera (Travel with Books and Coffee)
Original review posted at Travel with Books and Coffee

I decided to read this book because the cover catches my attention. It's simple but colorful. A face of a young girl surrounded be different colors that makes me think that the girl's life must be so full of life and adventure.

The first chapter has nothing to do with the rest of the book. I thought it's just a peak of what's going to happen later in the book.


"I don't want you to go."
"I don't want to go but I have to. My mom and dad are headin
...more
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Rescue Team Nine: Life Struggle
  • Finding Promise (Promise, #1)
  • Original Sin (Crimson Shadow Series)
  • Dancing with the Devil (The Thorne Trilogy, #3)
  • Moondancers (The Beautiful Creatures of Beverly Hills #1)
  • Breaking Normal (Dream Weaver, #3)
  • Hot & Spicy (De La Cruz Saga, #1)
  • State of Grace (Resurrection #1)
  • Blood Web (Caitlin Diggs, #1)
  • The Seacrest (Paines Creek Beach #1)
  • The Last Kiss
  • Shadowlord (Shadow Born Trilogy, #3)
  • Echo (Species Intervention #6609, #2)
  • Compendium: The Horror Challenge Collection
  • Oblivion's Forge
  • Heavy Metal Heartbeat (Rock N Roll Paraphantasy, #2)
  • Forever Blue (Ruby Blue #4)
  • Keeper of the Peace (Graveyard Guardians, #2)
71 followers
Truth Devour is the pen name of an Australian born author who has published works available through various online stores. The pen name Truth Devour was created from the authors life philosophy of devour thy own truth. It stood as a reminder that in a world filled with deception, misleads and lies one should consider ensuring never buying into a false portrayal of themselves. Lie if you must but n ...more

Other books in the series

Wantin (3 books)
  • Unrequited (Wantin #2)
  • Sated (Wantin #3)
“Never hesitate to let the one you love know how you feel. Align your minds, synchronise your hearts and above be fearless when dancing with their souls.” 37 likes
“My soul will always find its way to yours because home is where the heart is.” 27 likes
More quotes…