Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Santa Claus vs The Aliens” as Want to Read:
Santa Claus vs The Aliens
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Santa Claus vs The Aliens

by
3.91  ·  Rating details ·  58 ratings  ·  46 reviews
A Christmas story for middle school students with a science fiction twist.

When Edwin cuts his finger, dripping a few drops of blood onto a bone-colored tracking device he becomes a target of a group of aliens that think he holds the secret to the human race’s defeat. The only person who seems to know what to do is a fat man wearing a Santa Claus suit and he somehow seems t
...more
Paperback, 1st, 120 pages
Published June 19th 2013 by SJI (first published January 1st 2013)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Santa Claus vs The Aliens, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Santa Claus vs The Aliens

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.91  · 
Rating details
 ·  58 ratings  ·  46 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
megHan
Aug 26, 2013 rated it it was amazing
UPDATE: Please read the end of this review for my update on this book.

I saw this book and thought it looked really interesting, so I added it to my TBR list here on Goodreads. A short while later, the author contacted me and asked me if I would be interested in receiving a free copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. Of course. Not only was it a book that I had wanted to read, but I have also done several r2rs for authors on here AND I love Christmas books.

He asked me if I could read
...more
Carmen
Oct 16, 2013 rated it it was amazing
**Revised Review at bottom of page!**
(Please read both review AND revision)

I give this book 4.5 STARS!!

First off, I received this as an e-book from the author and agreed to do a review when finished. I was finally able to get back to it after many delays and here's my take on it.

The story is about a boy named Edwin. It's set in 1954 NYC, the day before Christmas, so Christmas Eve day. He lives in a Childrens Home because his family couldn't afford to care for him (I had no idea that places like
...more
Bailey
Sep 20, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: reviewed, favorites
"A person can only play the hand that they are dealt and my cards...they weren't so good you see."
-Fundy

Please note that I received a free copy of Santa Claus vs The Aliens from the author in exchange for an honest review.

One day, Fundy witnesses a strange object falling out of the sky. It gets stuck in the nearby mud, and a strange man comes out of it. Fundy first believes the object to be something like an asteroid and hopes to sell it for money, but when he realizes a person is in it, he h
...more
Patricia Hamill
Sep 06, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Love it. The right mix of humor, danger and whimsy...

Santa Claus vs. the Aliens follows young Edwin Cardona on an unexpected adventure in New York City. Edwin, the son of Puerto Rican emigrants, lives in a children's home where his father left him temporarily while he got on his feet. In a moment of frustration, Edwin throws away his father's most cherished possession, a gaudy ring with a face that looks like Santa. The story begins with Edwin setting out from the children's home on a quest to r
...more
Lana Axe
Oct 16, 2013 rated it it was amazing
This is a fun adventure for young readers. Main character Edwin is a typical boy, and he is highly relatable to kids. His thoughts and actions are typical for a kid, and the story is just complex enough to keep ages 9-14 interested without being confusing.

I enjoyed the new origin for Santa Claus. The back story is well thought-out and gives an interesting new twist to an old tale. I also enjoyed the parts that gave just a glimpse into Puerto Rico’s history and culture, and I think kids would enj
...more
Enrico Antiporda
Aug 26, 2013 rated it really liked it
I've reviewed this book before and I promised the author that I would reread it after rewrite. I'm happy to say that he was successful in tightening up the storytelling.

Santa Claus Versus the Aliens tells of the Cardona family's extraordinary experience with Santa Claus and blank-faced alien beings. The novel itself spans several generations, but is focused mainly on a single story arc. It follows a long-used plot device where an object (in this case a weird-looking ring) transfers possession ov
...more
Marc Secchia
Sep 16, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: middle-grades
A welcome breath of fresh air in the stale genre of Christmas stories, Santa Claus vs the Aliens is an original take on Santa Claus' origins, told in a lively style suitable for a middle grades audience and older readers alike. Santa Claus is not who you think he is! This book has a retro feel to it which gels well with the plot and subject matter. The action, especially in the latter half of the book, is well described and keeps the plot moving along nicely. There is a feel-good ending after so ...more
Flewts
Aug 31, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: first-reads
Youth Fiction for Boys

Boys who think they don't like to read will find this story appealing. It has humor, fart jokes, and reverent irreverence all rolled into one. The protagonist is 14 years old, but the story aims really at a slightly younger crowd.

A boy feels alienated by his divorced father's remarriage. He is being followed by mysterious beings. Santa Claus (is it really Santa?) kidnaps him. How is this going to resolve, especially since it's Christmas Eve? There are religious themes here,
...more
Kirsten Jany
Sep 03, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: young-adult
Don’t be fooled, this has (thankfully!) nothing to do with the dreadful sci fi movie by a similar name. Santa Claus vs. the Aliens offers a creative new way to explain the Santa Claus myth for modern times.

In this story the members of the Cardona family pass on from generation to generation, we meet their ancestor Fundy, who has a strange late night encounter with what appears to be Santa Claus. He helps him free his weird looking sled. Santa mysteriously takes off, but leaves behind a strange l
...more
Terri Christie
Oct 16, 2013 rated it it was amazing
"Edwin convinced himself more and more as he thought about how the days events were becoming more and more impossible. “Yeah, that’s it. I got some kinda cold or flu or summin’ and I'm de-‐loosional. None of that stuff happened today. No, can’t be. That’s crazy tawk. To think I actually thought that that all really happened! Ha! Whatta dope I am!”"

If Santa had just saved me from these freakishly creepy guys who are following me all over NYC, I would totally think I was out of it too.

We meet Edwi
...more
Mike Zinn
Sep 01, 2014 rated it really liked it
As most of the reviewers here have stated - I received this in return for an honest review from the author. I also see that there are 2 versions, and I'm not sure which one I have, but as it stands I would certainly give this book at least 4 stars. I really enjoyed it, and I imagine that its target audience - middle school boys - would enjoy it too. If all I was rating was the story - and that is the most important part - I would probably give it 5 stars. I just kept pulling me along, and of cou ...more
Scott Spotson
Nov 05, 2013 rated it really liked it
The story was fast paced and quite very unique. This story takes place during the Depression Era, in the late 1930's when La Guardia, one of the most famous mayors of the United States, was king. (LaGuardia Airport, anyone?)

I enjoyed reading about the chase through the department store, all decked out for Christmas, and the harrowing escape through the elevator shaft. The book did have a 1930's - 1950's feel about it, and a New York one too at that.

There was so much action in this book, it was a
...more
Angie Rhodes
Nov 15, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I was asked if I would read, and give an honest review, of this book,by the author, James Cardona, and I agreed.
I adore the madcap,books of Terry Pratchett, so I wanted to read it,
Edwin is living in a childrens home run by penguins(nuns), and his prize possession is a very ugly ring,, given to him,by his father Fundy,, he came by it, from a very strange man,, after he,and his horse Paulo, him, get his transport going,,
I loved reading this, it had me laughing out loud, the language, the Aliens
...more
Patricia Walker
Sep 01, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
This is an absolute gem of a story aimed at our 8 -10 yr olds, maybe even slightly older. It brings a wonderful slant to a timeless classic that seems to have always lived around Santa Claus and the gift of Christmas, bringing us closer to that Original Christmas. Amid the dashing through a city to escape strange people chasing him our hero discovers many things about himself that he has never thought about at all and he learns just how valuable family really is when he realises that only he can ...more
Gemma Farrow
Nov 01, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: for-review
This is a fun and interesting read. I loved the period the story was set in and found the characters engaging and lively. I empathised with Edwin and felt really bad about his family situation.
The aliens were disturbing, and the history behind Santa Claus' origins was fantastic.
The festive spirit was of course the backdrop, but against it was the loneliness Edwin felt, and his fellow roommates, at the Children's Home. There was also the sense of disconnection between the youth and the older gene
...more
Kate
Aug 28, 2014 rated it really liked it
Children's Christmas story set in the 1950s with a science fiction twist. It was a funny short Christmas book with funny moments; Based in New York with a 14 year old boy in a children's home. The story had funny moments with a child's look on things. It includes a bit of history of the 50s with a Spanish background. I was impressed how interesting, funny and heartwarming it was all together. With a family message at the end of the festive novel, it ended with lessons about religion and family. ...more
Taija
December 2017 Book Club Read.

Oi vey.

I can see why this is a middle school book. But then again, so is ‘Holes’ by Louis Sachar, and that book is a 5 star read.

Did I laugh? Yes. But did I also cringe at the grammar, spelling and sentence structure? Yes. Would many nine year old boys find this humour funny? Well, what nine year old doesn’t crack up when the word “fart” is said, never mind reading sentences like: “Buuurp! Fart! Fart! Buuurp! Fart! Fart! Fart!”, and “let us ask God to help, you sa
...more
Vardan Partamyan
Aug 24, 2013 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed this mash-up of a Christmas tale about a dysfunctional family coming together with science fiction with a darker edge. I liked the period and the setting of the book as well as the retro feel of the situations and the conflicts. The pace of the novel was brisk with events moving forward smoothly and the reader constantly engaged with new developments. The language used was simplified for the younger readers of the novel but I believe it can appeal to a wider audience due to the ...more
Edward Jr.
Nov 06, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Quit the adventure for this lad!

This is such an interesting read. It will be a great read for boys especially around 14 years old.

Cardona spins a very clever story spanning a couple generations, but focusing on Edwin Cardona and how he is growing up and the adventures he faces. I won't give anything away, but it's very well written and boys of any age will enjoy. If you grew up in the 50s, you'll enjoy it too and it will bring you back in time a little.

It's got aliens and Santa...come on, it's j
...more
Kelly Thomas
Oct 16, 2013 rated it really liked it
This books is very well written and older children/young adult will enjoy this if they like scifi books. I liked the main character Edwin and liked that the author told us the history about his dad and how the story all started. I thought the ending was very good and happy where Edwin finaly feels like he belongs somewhere a very good read. would recommend this for anyone who wants to read something abit different for Christmas time. I'm not usually into scifi but did enjoy this book.
Emily
Oct 17, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fiction
I loved it!!

This is a great sci-fi read for any adult, young or old, especially boys. It's got good guys, bad guys, not to mention aliens, and a most unlikely hero (or two). Cardona kept me guessing until the end whether Edwin and Santa would save the day!

Even though the timing of the story does take place around Christmas time, I would recommend this story for any day of the year!
Doram Jacoby
Dec 17, 2013 rated it really liked it
Cardona VS The Aliens!

I thought this was a sweet book.
It's always nice to get a new perspective on familiar stories and Cardona dis that well.
I really enjoyed the creepy aliens and I also enjoyed the Santa character but wished there was more of him in the story.
Emily
Aug 27, 2014 rated it really liked it
A fun and original take on the traditional Santa Claus Christmas story, perfect for reading to a group of kids and the glossary at the end is a interesting additional teaching aid.
Amber
Dec 09, 2017 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Oh. My.
Even skimming this book was painful.
Tracy
Oct 30, 2013 rated it really liked it
The author contacted me and sent me a copy of this book for an honest review.

Updated review: The author contacted me stating that he had revised the last two chapters of the book taking into consideration feedback he had already received. He sent me those two chapters. I would like to revise my earlier review and say that I would rate this book higher at a 4 star rating. The revised chapters brought tears to my eyes in multiple places. The author toned down the religious message and reworked it
...more
Julie Drucker
Sep 13, 2014 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Children and Adults
Shelves: first-reads
I finally got a chance to read this book and found it fun, lighthearted, and enjoyable to read. Thank you to James Cardona for sending me the e-book and trusting me to write an honest review. Loved the cover art-very creative! The text flows along pretty well, not too long or to wordy for a young or old reader. Kids should like the story, even though it is set in the year 1954, it kinda gives Santa a more modern twist. I don't think the references to 1954 or the great depression will defer kids ...more
Bianca
Sep 17, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
As a 22 year old i was surprised just how much I enjoyed this little book aimed at children aged 9-12.

Not to give too much away, this story starts by introducing the main character Edwin and then promptly jumps to the past to introduce his father Fundy and explain how he got involved with aliens. The rest of the story follows Edwin and how he gets caught in the middle of alien business. I do not want to write too much about what happens in this story because i wouldn't want to give anything awa
...more
Ana Mesquita
Sep 05, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: owned, first-reads
Full review at Ana Reads

Blurb of Review:
Santa Claus vs The Aliens is a fast-paced, children’s holiday sci-fi story, that tells the story of 14-year-old Edwin Cardona and his unforgettable Christmas adventure. Alongside an odd man dressed as Santa Claus, they must attempt to stop aliens and save the planet in Manhattan, circa 1950s.

This story will definitely appeal to those of a younger audience (middle grade students), but can also appeal to adults alike. I enjoyed the fast-paced and entertain
...more
Laura Reading
Sep 01, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Yes, I was given the book by the author in exchange for an honest review, but these thoughts are honestly my own.

I am of the era that went to the theater to see Santa vs the Martians.
From the title of this book, I was curious if it would have a similar theme. Not at all!
This book has a fresh spin and is unlike any other Christmas or Santa book I have ever read.

I will try not to give spoilers, but while there are aliens trying to find Santa, Santa himself (as expected) is not exactly human. This
...more
John Duggan
Oct 31, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I'm a book lover (who isnt on this site) and a father of a young girl (4) so I quite often read childrens books and books for youths/young adults as well. I was given a copy of this one to check out and the title made me think of an old scifi that Mystery Science Theater covered "Santa Claus Conquers the Martians".

I enjoyed the book, my daughter liked it, but for her it was too long (I did point out she is 4) though I think my older Nephew might enjoy it more. I had been warned that it had a "C
...more
« previous 1 next »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Galian Spear
  • Water from Stone
  • The 7 Policemen and the Troublesome Time Machine (Book 1)
  • Saint Nick
  • Mr. Katz is a Zombie (Goethalsburg Ghost Squad, #1)
  • Passion of an Angel (Shade of Light #1)
  • Prince of Alasia
  • Cut the Lights
  • The Jaguar Key: The Eternals: Rosamond's Story
  • Tangled Magick
  • Dragoncrown
  • Maya Vanishing
  • Death Storm (Hungry Gods, #1)
  • Correlation
  • The Dragon, the Captain, the Mermaid, and Me
  • Compromising Willa (Accidental Peers, #3)
  • Omni (The Omni Duology Book 1)
  • Code Breaker (Taya Bayliss #3)
See similar books…
55 followers
James Cardona received his Bachelor’s degree in Computer Science from the University of Delaware with a minor in Religious Studies.
He enjoys all things creative including the typical things such as drawing, painting, music and creative writing; and the not-so-typical such as building robots and writing computer code.
James has written five books and is planning on writing many, many more.
He also l
...more