Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Firefly Hollow” as Want to Read:
Firefly Hollow
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Firefly Hollow

4.25 of 5 stars 4.25  ·  rating details  ·  8 ratings  ·  5 reviews
Hardcover, 304 pages
Expected publication: August 18th 2015 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Firefly Hollow, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Firefly Hollow

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 60)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Munro's Kids
This was the cutest book ever!!!

Firefly and Cricket are not very typical insects. Firefly wants to fly to the moon while Cricket dreams of being a baseball catcher. They live in fear of the giants (humans) and are told to stay away from them at all costs. But when they meet Peter, a miniature human, they find a kindred spirit and have to decide whether to be "normal" or embrace who they really are.

I think this book would be good for fans of The One and Only Ivan, or maybe Kate DiCamillo. It's ve
...more
Bookphile
It was cute, but it didn't totally grab me. More complete review to come.

Full review:

Firefly Hollow is a very sweet little book with cute, engaging characters, but it never completely reinvents the wheel. I didn't dislike anything about it, but I never found it new enough or different enough to elevate beyond a nice book that children will likely enjoy. Some minor spoilers to follow.

The book tackles a few important themes that are pretty standard for children's literature, such as grief and nonc
...more
Cindy Dobrez
I thought I'd make to the end without crying, but nope. Firefly, Cricket, Vole, and Peter got to me. This is the kind of book that makes me wish I were a fourth grade teacher and could read this aloud. Or that my children were young enough to cuddle and read to. I can't wait to see the finished copy in August as the full color sample paintings by Christopher Denise in the galley are beautiful. It's going to be a beautiful gift book, too.
Suzze Tiernan
I only read the first 50 pages (couldn't find an advance copy of the entire book. Although at first I thought it was a bit wordy, I got involved in the story of a firefly, a cricket and a vole and would like to find out what happened when they met a human! (It definitely seems to be leading that way).
Jillian Heise
An enchanting story of friendship, following dreams, and reaching beyond limits others put on you. Endearing characters and writing, combined with a quietly adventurous plot, create a story that warms the heart and leaves the reader hopeful.
Anna
Anna marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2015
Elizabeth
Elizabeth marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2015
Alice
Alice marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2015
Kim
Kim marked it as to-read
Apr 14, 2015
Scott Harrell
Scott Harrell marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2015
Donalyn
Donalyn marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2015
Aliza Werner
Aliza Werner marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2015
Tasha
Tasha marked it as to-read
Apr 07, 2015
Ms.Gaye
Ms.Gaye marked it as to-read
Apr 04, 2015
Reneereads
Reneereads marked it as to-read
Mar 26, 2015
Janet
Janet marked it as to-read
Mar 21, 2015
Ellen
Ellen marked it as to-read
Mar 20, 2015
Christina
Christina marked it as to-read
Mar 19, 2015
Maral
Maral marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2015
Sarah
Sarah marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2015
Lisa Nagel
Lisa Nagel marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2015
Ashley
Ashley marked it as to-read
Mar 17, 2015
Poorti
Poorti marked it as to-read
Mar 17, 2015
Michele
Michele marked it as to-read
Mar 17, 2015
Adrienne
Adrienne marked it as to-read
Mar 17, 2015
Stephanie
Stephanie marked it as to-read
Mar 17, 2015
Jennifer
Jennifer marked it as to-read
Mar 17, 2015
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
6261
Alison McGhee is the award-winning author of picture books, poems, and novels for all ages, including the young adult novel ALL RIVERS FLOW TO THE SEA and the #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestseller SOMEDAY, illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds. Alison McGhee lives in Minnesota.
More about Alison McGhee...
Someday Shadow Baby Julia Gillian (and The Art Of Knowing) All Rivers Flow To The Sea Snap

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »