Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Little Prisoners: A Tragic Story of Siblings Trapped in a World of Abuse and Suffering” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
Little Prisoners: A Tr...
 
by
Casey Watson
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Little Prisoners: A Tragic Story of Siblings Trapped in a World of Abuse and Suffering

4.22  ·  Rating details ·  1,896 Ratings  ·  114 Reviews
Little Prisoners is a harrowing, yet moving memoir about two innocent and frightened 'unfosterable' children who do not know what it means to be loved.

The shock that strikes Casey and her family when Ashton and Olivia arrive is immeasurable. Two frightened little waifs stand before them, hair running wild with head lice, filthy nails and skin covered in scabs. Ashton, aged
...more
ebook, 304 pages
Published June 7th 2012 by HarperCollins Publishers
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Little Prisoners, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Little Prisoners

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-10)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Ruth Turner

It’s always hard to read about the foster children in Casey Watson’s books. This one was even more so, not only dealing with terrible neglect but also sexual abuse and incest.

Watson’s writing style is fluid and easy and she does an excellent job of breathing life into Ashton and Olivia.

Distressing and hard to read. It made me cry.

Not for the faint-hearted.
Stephanie
Jun 30, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: non-fiction
A short but disturbing book. Disturbing not just because of the plight of the children, but also disturbing because so many people are unaware that this type of - or amount of - abuse exists. As a former teacher I know of similar instances. In once case a young man made it to ninth grade, and he would still soil himself knowing full well what he was doing. I found out he had been sodomized as a child for quite a few years, and this was a result of that abuse. Finally, by the time he was in ninth ...more
Andrew Hall
Having read Cathy Glass books, I find Casey's style of fostering and writing slightly more negative and less engaging. I think this may be because Casey does seem to get too attached. On a positive side her determination and tenacity, as well as empathy for these damaged children is extraordinary and it is only through this that these two children had a better chance in life.
Emy
May 18, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Well, that was harrowing, and a stark picture of the cycle of abuse.

It always amazes me how children like these ones slip under the radar of social services, but also I am well aware that social services are damned either way. Taking children into care requires sufficient evidence, and getting that evidence is made hard when the poor kids are coached into saying nothing.

I could feel Casey's frustration at the system in general in this one, more so than usual (though I get that frustration from e
...more
Katy Jane
Jul 09, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
1. I picked this book up at Walmart thinking it would be a good readalike for A Child Called It and it was.
2. I didn't realize this author had written so many other books and now I can't wait to read the rest.
3. I love that she's an actual foster mom, so we get the nitty gritty of the system and what the parents and kids go through. I'm a high school English teacher and I work with 4 foster parents in the high school alone, so I see this first hand. Our school is one of the biggest populations o
...more
Carla Harris
Feb 24, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Ashton and Olivia's lives are forever changed by the care of one family.

Casey and her family take in foster care kids that need a home fast. They are not the kind that keep the kids for a long stay. However, Ashton and Olivia stayed a little longer than most. It is horrible how these two little children fell through the cracks in the social system...but Casey doesn't give up once she has them...be sure to read how a woman with determination gets the job done for children in her care.
Trinka
Jul 11, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is a must read for all county social workers to see what their decisions do. Extremely well written horrible subject
J. A.  Lewis
Jun 14, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is the first memoir I've read of Casey Watson's and it won't be the last. She has a very down-to-earth way of sharing with her readers the trials and tribulations of being a foster parent. "Little Prisoners" starts when two children, brother and sister, are taken from their mother and brought to Casey's home. The children are infested with scabies and lice and are near starving. They have horrid toilet habits and are nearly like wild animals. Worse, the children have been sexually abused an ...more
Cheryl
Dec 06, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I read through the story about the Little Prisoners which was composed by Casey Watson, a real temporary caregiver for the kids who are experiencing abuse and neglect. This is the first time that I took close look at these cases, and figured out the complex relationships in certain cases.

I was totally involved in the situation which the book described and thought that it's optimistic the children with this kind of background and experiences to find their own lives and survive here in the CPR su
...more
Joanie Cox
May 22, 2017 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2017-to-read
I give this book one star not because of the writing, it is well written. The author and her husband are amazing people the work they do has to be unbelievably heart breaking. It's the story it's self. I have never read anything so heartbreaking & disturbing. When I picked this book up in the store I expected something else entirely, something inspirational with a hallmark type happy ending. This is not that kind of book. This book left me depressed & heartbroken. There is a special plac ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • A Baby's Cry
  • Baby X: Britain's Child Abusers Brought To Justice
  • Hush, Little Baby
  • Nobody Came: The Appalling True Story of Brothers Cruelly Abused in a Jersey Care Home
  • Silent Sisters
  • Groomed: An Uncle Who Went Too Far, a Mother Who Didn't Care, a Little Girl Who Waited for Justice
  • Don't You Love Your Daddy?
“After Anna had gone, I stood at the kitchen window for some time, just watching my daughter and grandson playing in the garden. What a lottery life was. What decreed the circumstances a baby was born into? What roll of the celestial dice saw to it that those poor children, currently residing in our family, ended up in such a hell hole as the one just described?” 0 likes
“formal meeting, in which all concerned parties are present, so that social services can give the new carers some background and so that a plan of action for the child or children’s future can be put in place. But in practice … Hmm, I thought, we’d been” 0 likes
More quotes…