Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Grimm Legacy” as Want to Read:
A Grimm Legacy
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

A Grimm Legacy (Grimm Tales #1)

by
3.33  ·  Rating details ·  112 Ratings  ·  63 Reviews
Enchanted castles and charming princes thought to exist only in stories come to life in this classically twisted fairy tale that combines the timeless quality of generations old folktales with the challenges of the modern world.

The woods of Elorium appear ordinary to Andi Grace, until birds start talking and elves answer doors. Along with three others, Andi has been whiske
...more
Paperback, 249 pages
Published October 29th 2013 by Patchwork Press (first published October 28th 2013)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Grimm Legacy, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A Grimm Legacy

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Anne
I received this from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This looked really cool, but the reality of it wasn't all that impressive.
It would probably be ok for younger children (middle-grade readers), but it definitely won't hold the attention of teens or adults.
The story was sort of all over the place, and I had a hard time getting interested enough in the characters to want to keep reading.
I'm also going to go ahead and assume that I read an ARC, even though it wasn't labeled as one. Tha
...more
Susana
Dec 13, 2013 rated it liked it
Recommends it for: Die-hard fans of retellings
3.5 stars




Arc provided by Patchwork Press through Netgalley

Yes, here's another fairy tale retelling review.
As you can see, or better yet "read", it seems I can't get enough of them.

The idea to place contemporary teenage characters in a fairy tale scenario was extremely well done, which lead to this interesting adventure through quite a few of Grimm Fairy Tales.

Plot wise, let me tell you that this one could merit a 4 to a 4.5 stars!!
The plot is truly creative, and I never had an idea to where it
...more
Anna
Nov 15, 2013 rated it it was ok

Writing: I have no idea if I got an unedited copy or what, but the writing was terrible. I don't mean like a low level or something, no, it was totally and utterly confusing. Many words which should have been plural, or agreed with the rest of the sentence did not. Not only that, but often times it felt like an entire paragraph was missing from the story. And then, to go on top of all of that, the punctuation was off, and sometimes so was the formatting. This made it a very confusing read in it
...more
Marjolein
Read all my reviews on http://urlphantomhive.booklikes.com

I don't have too much to say about A Grimm Legacy. I finished the book a few weeks ago (I know it, I'm horribly behind on my reviewing) and frankly - but unsurprisingly - my eReader did yet another reboot deleting all my notes.

Which brings me immediately to the biggest problem with the book. The story is quite forgettable. I remember some of the details but the story itself is a bit of blur. Not that it was that much better immediately
...more
MermaidsReadBooks
I received this from Netgalley for an honest review:)

So if I ever wrote a non-review, I think it would be this one. I liked the idea of this story more than the actual story and I felt like I read a lot of description. Or maybe not read, more like skimmed. This book has promise, though. There were parts that made me laugh and other parts that just felt blah.

I have the second as well and I'm going to read it.
Samantha
Jan 13, 2015 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: scookie-reviews
Recommend: Middle grade, but there are much better fairytale themed novels out there.

Damn it. I wanted to love it. It’s fairytale themed which is one of my favourite genres. The cover is beautiful and magical, and the blurb caught my attention.

I really had to reign in the editor in me here. I found a lot of issues, even for a review copy. Before I get into it, I don’t take pleasure in disliking a novel and I bet the author is a lovely person. Right. Now for my highlights:

It didn’t take many pag
...more
Sharon Tyler
A Grimm Legacy (Grimm Tales #1) by Janna Jennings is a book that takes fairy tales, including so that are not incredibly well known, and adds a special twist, combining the timeless quality of old folktales with the challenges of the modern world. The woods of Elorium appear normal to Andi Grace. At least they might seem normal if she had not been somewhere else mere moments earlier, birds are talking, and elves are answering doors. Andi and three other teens have been pulled out of the world an ...more
Eustacia Tan
Nov 13, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I doubt this is a spoiler since I guess this was happening from the title (the characters, on the other hand, did not), but if you don't want to know, skip this paragraph. But anyway, if you've heard of the web-cartoon series Ever After High, then odds are you won't be unfamiliar with the idea of fairy-tale characters having children.

A Grimm Legacy follows Andi, Quinn, Frederick and Dylan as they're pulled into a land called Elorium. They all come from different places and different families, bu
...more
Clare dooley
I'm really excited to take part in the "Grimm Legacy" by Janna Jennings book tour. I received this book for an honest review. I thought the book was fantastic. Patchwork Press has really caught my attention with the books that have been published & promoted by them." A Grimm Legacy" did not disappoint !
I rated the YA/ Fairy Tale genre title 4 $$$$ :) right off the bat I was enjoying the pace and quirkiness of the characters. Individually each was pretty basic teen, however as a group they we
...more
Maggie Nambot (macarons & paperbacks)
“I’m a girl of many hidden talents.” She gestured to her filthy, damp clothes. “Keeping myself out of trouble is not one of them.”

I loved A Grimm Legacy! The fairy tale world had me captivated instantly and I was rooting for the four main characters the entire time. Andi is the unwavering leader, the main link between the other characters and the fantastical world of Elorium. Fredrick, a compassionate southern boy, is the brave protector. Quinn, strong and selfless, is always quick-thinking in
...more
Sam
Oct 08, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: ebooks
Wow! Every so often you come across one of those books that grabs you and pulls you into the world you read. It twists your mind into believing that you are right there with the characters fighting off the ‘bad guys’ and getting you excited. I love Fairy Tales and The Brothers Grimm are right up there near the top of my list simply because they are different and different is good. This book was just that, different and very good. It reminded me of a combination between Alice in Wonderland and Th ...more
books are love
Dec 13, 2013 rated it really liked it
This is such a wonderful and new take on the Grimm tales. Ms. Jennings has tapped into a new and exciting way to relate the tales and make it relevant to today's society. Those who don't know the tales will like this version for it is twisted and exciting.

I wasn't at sure first about Andi she was a little off putting but she grew on me. I also didn't know if she was Cinderella or Red Riding Hood because I never recalled Cinderella having a cape but like I sad this is a new exciting take on the t
...more
Book Gannet
Nov 19, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I really liked this tale of modern-day teens caught up in traditional fairytales. Making excellent use of the Grimm tales, this book takes its reader – and the four main characters – on an adventure packed trip through old stories, new twists and unexpected outcomes as the four new friends just try to get home.

I loved the way old and new are crammed together in this story, with a mix of fashions and technology for the last two hundred years. The four main characters are great too, seemingly quit
...more
Julie
Oct 31, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Book Review: Grimm Legacy, Kellie Sheridan

I really liked this book. I loved parts of it. The plot idea of kids being descendants of real fairy tale characters is an intriguing one. The way the teens are written was believable, and I liked that they all came from different backgrounds, and weren't the blond-haired, blue-eyed cutouts we've become used to from Disney movies. The action was really good when they are pulled from their own worlds, and continued at a fast pace for pretty much the remai
...more
Ionia
Nov 11, 2013 rated it really liked it
If you like your fairy-tales to include all the elements of a traditional tale but also offer something new, this may be a book that you enjoy. Admittedly, in the beginning I wasn't sure what to think. Each of the first few chapters began with a different character and to be honest, at first I was a little lost.

Good news though, the author managed to work them all into one nicely flowing, interesting story with an abundance of magic and mystique. This was a fun, light book to read on an afterno
...more
Karen Cole
Jan 05, 2014 rated it really liked it
Following my review of Fairy Tales from the Brothers Grimm by Philip Pullman recently, I couldn't resist this children's book inspired by the stories. Set in modern times the book follows four teenagers who are suddenly whisked from their regular lives and end up in the fairy tale land of Elorium. Fairy Tales in the modern world isn't a new idea of course, currently the TV shows One Upon a Time and Grimm both feature the characters from the stories as "real life".
Nevertheless this is an enjoyabl
...more
Rebecca
Sep 14, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book was an unexpected and interesting read, with good characters and a very interesting premise for the rest of the series which I very much look forward to reading.

The main characters are Andi, Quinn, Fredrick and Dylan. For each of the main characters they start off in a normal world but then get magically transported to a fairy tale world where the characters we'be known and loved since Disney introduced us to them are alive and all with secret agendas. Each of the main character has to
...more
Harry Brake
Jan 12, 2016 rated it liked it
Take Into the Woods, every fairy tale you thought you knew, and add Mark Twain's riverboat travels and add Janna Jennings' spin on those Grimm fairty tales, and you have a fantastical, exciting adventure.

Not knowing anything about Jennings' YA novel, you jump headfirst into what was, what could have been, and what will be. It was nto difficult to follow, survive, and advance through thepages with Jenning's imagination and seeing how Jack, Cinderella, Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel, and more interact
...more
Sara
Dec 16, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was provided with a free copy of this book in return for a fair review.
This one started out a little rocky, with a couple places where the narrative was a little contradictory, and all four main characters being introduced too quickly in too few chapters. That being said, I really love fairy tale rewrites and the premise of this one was well thought out and amusing. I love it when fairy tale rewrites include some of the lesser known tales. I had trouble throughout distinguishing between the c
...more
Crystal
Oct 16, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book follows four seemingly average teens who get thrown into a fairy tale world. Andi, Quinn, Fredrick, and Dylan are all from different places and don't seem to have anything in common. Yet they all have been plucked from their life and dropped into the middle of Elorium. Elorium seems to be any ordinary town, until the birds start talking and elves seem to be a normal part of life here. It's not long that the four teens find each other, they know they have to work together to help find t ...more
Mandy
Nov 02, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
(4.5 stars)

I was given the opportunity to read this tale via NetGalley and enjoyed it! I am a huge fan of fairy tales retold, and this one does not disappoint.

Andi, Quinn, Dylan, and Fredrick all find themselves transported to an enchanted land called Elorium. They have no idea why they are there or why they have been ordered to be taken to an evil master named Herrchen. They find themselves in many "grimm" circumstances and soon the pieces start falling into place of why they were all brought
...more
Tanya Johnson
Feb 17, 2014 rated it really liked it
Andi was taken out of her home to find herself in a world with three others and where fairy tales are real. The four of them must find their way home or be forever stuck in the world of Elorium, where it appears they are descendants of famous storybook people. With the help of Mr. Jackson, can these kids find out why they are there, what they need to do to get home or will they be forever stuck in Elorium?



I enjoyed this whole other world where four individuals who have never met, must come toget
...more
Heather Rookey
Janna Jennings has taken the familiar fairytales of the Grimm brothers and put a fantastical new twist on them. A Grimm Legacy introduces the grand children of a few fairytale figures and sees them transported from the familiarity of our modern world into the realm of imagination. Janna Jennings has created a novel full of mystery, magic, and danger that is sure to capture readers imaginations.
This novel is targeted to young adult readers, but I think many adults who grew up on those stories
...more
Terri
Jan 19, 2014 marked it as did-not-finish
I couldn't make it through this one. The characters didn't grab me and seemed much younger than their apparent ages. This read far more like a middle-grades novel than the YA that the publisher's web page said it was.

If we look at it as an MG title, it would probably stack up better. The writing is simplistic and juvenile, and the plot is largely action-oriented. From chapter one, something is always happening. Why it's happening is not always clear, other than it's actiony and throws the chara
...more
Lizzie Andrews
Nov 16, 2013 rated it really liked it
I received this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review!

The cover is what attracted me to this book! From the red cape and shoes to the contrast of the lettering. I love fairy tales, especially ones that get twisted into stories for adults. This book however follows four main characters into Elorium and the author follows along a few fairy tales until they are able to get out.

I loved the combination of the different fairy tales, it really made the story unique. However, I do agr
...more
Bethany
Dec 26, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Yet another YA novel I was able to review from Netgalley that was an enjoyable read.I am very much looking forward to the next book in the series as the book kind of left you hanging.
Andi saw herself as an ordinary teen, but when she and 3 other young people wind up in a world where animals talk and fairy tales really do come true they realize that this world is anything but normal!

I really enjoyed this book and liked how it was told from all of the 4 young peoples perspectives as it made it mor
...more
Cheyenne
I want to say thanks to Patchwork Press and Netgalley for letting me read this book in exchange for an honest review. This is not what I was hoping for it to be. I loved it but for me it was really confusing for me to read. I didn't get a lot of what was going at all. It was focus on many different story lines. I think maybe if they were to focus on one thing at a time instead of doing everything at once then it wouldn't be confusing. I really had high hopes for this book. I couldn't pick out wh ...more
Mrs.
Jan 21, 2016 rated it it was amazing
A refreshing twist on the plethora of Grimm remakes. This book focuses on the adventures of teens who are plucked from reality into the land of Grimm. Readers will wonder the connection of these four teens, but will soon come to understand that the connection truly lies with the teens' grandparents and their connection to Grimm. A must read for the Grimm lovers. This book leaves the reader eager to pick up the next in the series.
Sherida
Jan 31, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I thoroughly enjoyed this book from beginning to end. It was full of suspense with the kids getting themselves into and out of different situations time after time with a little romance mixed in. Learning about Grimm stories that are lesser known and trying to figure out which fairy tale each kid is from really helped to move the story along. This is definitely a book that I would like to recommend to my friends.
Yara
Nov 19, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Though this story read more like a middle grade than YA, it was fun reading. I liked how the author found ways to connect the main characters to the fairy tale stories they got sucked into. There were a lot of grammatical errors, but since I read an ARC, very understandable. I enjoyed the story enough to read the 2nd book, so would recommend.
« previous 1 3 4 next »
  • Ennara and the Book of Shadows (Ennara, #2)
  • Follow the White Rabbit (Beautiful Madness, #1)
  • Entice: An Ignite Novella (Ignite, #1.5)
  • All Is Fair (The Split Worlds, #3)
  • The Rising (The Painted Maidens Trilogy, #1)
  • Uniquely Unwelcome (The Shadow World, #1)
  • The Mirror's Tale (Further Tales Adventures, #4)
  • Endless
  • Fairies in My Fireplace (Monster Haven, #3)
  • Don't Go Chasing Waterfalls (Pax Arcana #0.02)
  • Dark Child (the Awakening): The Omnibus Edition (Dark Child, #1)
  • Orenda (Orenda, #1)
  • Arrow of the Mist (Arrow of the Mist, #1)
  • Faerie After (Bones of Faerie, #3)
  • The Magic Mirror and the Seventh Dwarf (Accidental Enchantments, #2)
  • Will The Real Abi Saunders Please Stand Up?
  • Untitled (Stolen Crowns, #1)
  • The League of Delphi (The Delphi Trilogy #1)
57 followers
Janna is a Colorado based YA author who loves a good fairy tale. She’s married to her own real life Prince Charming, and will usually admit to being mom of three, including her incorrigible middle child, Benny. Besides wrangling her kids she can be found doing some therapeutic baking, dreaming of the ocean, and of course, curling up with a good book.
More about Janna Jennings

Other books in the series

Grimm Tales (3 books)
  • Grimm Memories (Grimm Tales, #2)
  • A Grimm Curse (Grimm Tales #3)

Fantasy & Science Fiction Deals

  • Son of the Dawn (Ghosts of the Shadow Market #1)
    $2.99 $1.49
  • Sanctuary (Nomad, #2)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Genome (The Extinction Files #2)
    $5.99 $2.49
  • The Jewel (The Lone City, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Mechanica (Mechanica, #1)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Wired (Wired, #1)
    $6.99 $2.99
  • Bandwidth (An Analog Novel Book 1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Sufficiently Advanced Magic (Arcane Ascension, #1)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Three Dark Crowns (Three Dark Crowns, #1)
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The Bees
    $12.99 $1.99
  • The Land: Founding (Chaos Seeds, #1)
    $2.99 $1.49
  • The Mists of Avalon (Avalon, #1)
    $12.99 $2.99
  • Fool's Assassin (The Fitz and The Fool Trilogy, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Gone (Gone, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Friday
    $6.99 $2.99
  • Dhalgren
    $17.99 $1.99
  • Moon Chosen (Tales of a New World #1)
    $8.51 $2.99
  • Homeworld (Odyssey One, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Recurve (The Elemental Series, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Deviants (Dust Chronicles #1)
    $4.49 $0.99
  • Before She Ignites (Fallen Isles, #1)
    $6.49 $1.99
  • The Kill Society (Sandman Slim, #9)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Out of the Black (Odyssey One, #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Acacia: The War with the Mein (Acacia, #1)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • The Menagerie
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Infinite (Gates of Thread and Stone #2)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Black Bird of the Gallows
    $7.99 $0.99
  • Eighth Grave After Dark (Charley Davidson, #8)
    $8.99 $2.99