Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting-Improvised Men” as Want to Read:
The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting-Improvised Men
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting-Improvised Men

by
4.25  ·  Rating details ·  65 ratings  ·  14 reviews
Though H. P. Lovecraft is famed mostly for the influential body of short fiction he left behind, he was also one of the most prolific correspondents of his time, the author of more than 100,000 letters. Undiscovered and unpublished until now, The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting-Improvised-Men is the last letter that Lovecraft wrote, finishing it just days before his death ...more
Paperback, 194 pages
Published October 28th 2013 by Civil Coping Mechanisms
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

Be the first to ask a question about The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting-Improvised Men

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.25  · 
Rating details
 ·  65 ratings  ·  14 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting-Improvised Men
Vasilis Manias
Mar 21, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Το βιβλίο αυτό το αγόρασα κατα λάθος. Όταν είδα τον τίτλο του θεώρησα πως ήταν ακριβώς αυτό που έλεγε, η τελευταία δηλαδή επιστολή της παρανοϊκής μεγαλοφυίας που άκουγε στο όνομα Λαβκραφτ, όταν όμως το ξεκίνησα με μεγάλη ανυπομονησία, απογοητεύτηκα. Εντελώς.
«Η φυσικη αποσύνθεση φευγαλέων ανθρώπικων σκιών» δεν ήταν αυτό που έλεγε, ο συγγραφέας του μέσα σε έναν τρομερά περίεργο πρόλογο «εκμυστηρευόταν» στον αναγνώστη του πως την επιστολή την «ανακάλυψε» καταστρέφοντας ιατρικά αρχεία όταν απο
...more
Peter Tieryas
Jun 14, 2013 rated it it was amazing
When you figure out what's really going on, it will either blow your mind or drive you mad. Full review coming at HTMLGiant at some future date. This will probably be my last formal review of the year and am real glad it was such an incredibly complex and interesting book to review.

http://tieryas.wordpress.com/2013/07/...
Ross Lockhart
Jun 15, 2013 rated it it was amazing
One of the great tropes of Lovecraftian horror is that of found manuscripts--letters, documents, and old, weird books that prove beyond the shadow of a doubt the existence of cosmic terrors past the periphery of human existence. Furthermore, Lovecraftian horror concerns monstrous alien god-beings, degenerate demi-human cults, and stranger things, the exposure of which threatens to send us careening into the far more comforting realms of madness, paranoia, sorrow, and darkness. When realized ...more
Amber Sparks
Jun 14, 2013 rated it it was amazing
The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting-Improvised-Men is fiendishly clever, endlessly byzantine, and brilliantly tongue-in-cheek-in-cheek. In this book and his equally clever Shadow Man: A Biography of Lewis Miles Archer, Blackwell has essentially invented a new genre, the inverted quest: having started at the Holy Grail, the seeker works his way backward into mental and spiritual derailment. Gabriel Blackwell tips his hat not only to Lovecraft, but also to Thomas Bernhard, Samuel Beckett, David ...more
Tobias
Jun 20, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: read2013
Thoroughly unsettling stuff: metafictional horror that works on about a half-dozen levels.
Michael Seidlinger
Jun 19, 2013 rated it it was amazing
We lose and find ourselves in every great piece of fiction. Sometimes you want out; other times you wish you could remain lost in those words.

Gabriel Blackwell's latest fits into the latter category.
Smassing Culture
Mar 27, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Ολόκληρη η κριτική στο Smassing Culture

Ένας κειμενικός διάλογος πέρα από τα σύνορα του χρόνου

Το ελληνικό κοινό δεν είναι ξένο με το έργο του X.Φ. Λάκβκραφτ. Αντίθετα μάλιστα, το όνομα του ερημίτη από το Providence είναι, πλέον, μια ένδειξη ποιότητας και εμπορικής επιτυχίας για όλους τους εμπλεκόμενους. Αυτό δεν αφορά μόνο τα έργα του ίδιου, αλλά και μια πληθώρα μεταφορών σε άλλα μέσα, προσαρμογών και παραλλαγών της μυθολογίας που αυτός ο εξερευνητής του αγνώστου άφησε πίσω του. Έτσι λοιπόν, το
...more
David
Jun 08, 2013 rated it it was amazing
It certainly didn't hurt that Lovecraft is wrapped up in this one, but that wasn't the only reason I ended up adoring this book. A falling apart version of a questing novel, the narratives buried in meta narratives compel reading of the text in the same way that the texts in the text pull in the narrators of those various intertwined narratives. It's undertow, powerful and sinister undertow. I mean, a character purported to be the author presenting what may or may not be a malevolent letter (in ...more
Panagiotis
Mar 22, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
4,5 Επιτέλους μετά από χρόνια διάβασα έναν αξιοπρεπή εφιάλτη
Matt
Oct 05, 2013 rated it really liked it
This was a very enjoyable wrap-up to the GB first-year trilogy, I think sort of completing the arc traced in Shadow Man and referring explicitly to the speaker in this and SM as also being the author of Critique of Pure Reason. We sort of see, by the endnotes, the emergence from the academic crysalis of the GB persona as a "writer." Or maybe editor-critic, or something like that.

I loved reading Lovecraft as a kid, though that was tempered with some irritation at his florid language, which I
...more
Ευθυμία Δεσποτάκη
Λόγω συμμετοχής του βιβλίου στα βραβεία Public, σχόλιο και αστεράκια μετά το πέρας των διαδικασιών. :)

5/5/18:

Πολύ φιλόδοξο. Έβαλε ψηλά τον πήχη (ήξερα τι έπαιρνα, ότι ήταν προϊόν μυθοπλασίας δηλαδή κι όχι ακαδημαϊκή σπουδή στον HPL), αλλά και πάλι, είχα πολύ υψηλές προσδοκίες. Και δε λες κι ότι γκρεμοτσακίστηκα κιόλας, αλλά εντάξει, όχι για να τρέξω να το αγοράσω, όπως έτρεξα να το αγοράσω.

Το εύρημα είναι καλό, αλλά για μένα δυστυχώς δεν δουλεύει όπως θα έπρεπε. Χρειαζόταν να παρακολουθώ δύο
...more
Edward Rathke
Sep 28, 2013 rated it it was amazing
So very awesome. One of my favorite novels read this year, and though it's early in the year, I imagine I'll keep coming back to this statement. Reads beautifully and it winds in on itself and reflects itself. Does so many great things, and is in the tradition of both House of Leaves and Pale Fire, but also distinctly its own take on fake memoir/academic exploration.

Interview to come.
John
Mar 31, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Difficult to know quite what to say. Voice is the best HPL impersonation (proper) I've come across. Unsettling, unpleasant and disturbing. Quite possibly mad, like Schreber. Imagine if Lovecraft wrote 'House of Leaves' without leaving his head. What is happening to me?
Brooks
Oct 30, 2013 rated it it was amazing
"...the roaming of a dreaming brain without any of the snares set by the nerves, so that I felt as though I had no body, as though my vision had no connection to the eye."
Fo10
rated it it was amazing
Sep 25, 2018
Harris Allgeier
rated it really liked it
May 04, 2014
Yvonne
rated it it was ok
Aug 29, 2014
Jordan West
rated it really liked it
Jan 22, 2014
Michael Depriez
rated it liked it
Feb 02, 2016
Harris Siahamis
rated it liked it
Jan 03, 2020
Magnus
rated it really liked it
Feb 12, 2014
justin louie
rated it it was amazing
Jan 12, 2018
Jeremy Maddux
rated it really liked it
May 09, 2014
Ravi
rated it it was amazing
Oct 17, 2013
Ben Robinson
rated it it was amazing
Dec 30, 2015
Joseph
rated it it was amazing
Aug 03, 2016
Nora
rated it it was amazing
Jan 22, 2015
Richie Hr
rated it it was amazing
Jan 10, 2015
Joep
rated it it was amazing
Jul 10, 2017
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Haunter of the Dark (The H.P. Lovecraft Omnibus, #3)
  • The Rats in the Walls
  • Pickman's Model
  • The Picture in the House
  • The Whisperer in Darkness
  • The Lurking Fear
  • The Music of Erich Zann / The Nameless City / Nyarlathotep
  • The Haunter of the Dark
  • The Call of Cthulhu
  • The Shadow Out of Time
  • On the Suffering of the World
  • The Divine Comedy
  • Στην Τρανσιλβανία
  • The Novel of the Black Seal
  • Patriot
  • Rashomon
  • Ο Συλλέκτης
See similar books…