Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “By Loyalty Bound” as Want to Read:
By Loyalty Bound
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

By Loyalty Bound

by
3.51  ·  Rating details ·  65 ratings  ·  6 reviews
With the scant remains of Richard III lifted recently from such humble soil, Elizabeth Ashworth presents us here with the results of her own excavation. Perhaps no other ruler has engendered such a spirit of ambivalence in the British public - murderer or maverick, disfigured disgrace to the throne or exciting, romantic anti-hero, unafraid of getting his hands dirty in the ...more
Hardcover, 204 pages
Published June 30th 2013 by Pen & Sword Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about By Loyalty Bound, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about By Loyalty Bound

The Aviator's Wife by Melanie BenjaminSeduction by M.J. RoseThe Firebird by Susanna KearsleyThe Midwife's Tale by Sam   ThomasThe White Princess by Philippa Gregory
Historical Fiction 2013
376 books — 2,575 voters
The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne FrankAnne of Green Gables by L.M. MontgomeryPersuasion by Jane AustenThe Boleyn Inheritance by Philippa GregoryThe Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory
"Anne"
123 books — 13 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.51  · 
Rating details
 ·  65 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of By Loyalty Bound
Margaret Skea
Oct 11, 2013 rated it liked it
Recommends it for: HF readers who want an easy and enjoyable read
Recommended to Margaret by: It was sent to me by th epublisher in return for an honest review.
Review for By Loyalty Bound By Elizabeth Ashworth.

To clarify. I was sent this book to review by Claymore Press, but was not paid for the review.


It is a fact of history that Richard III had two illegitimate children, recognized by him, but no-one knows who their mother was. This novel suggests an identity for the mother and tells her story. The premise of the book was fascinating and Anne Harrington a heroine with whom I could sympathize, though there were some parts of the plot that I didn’t
...more
Anita
Aug 15, 2013 rated it really liked it
I knew nothing about the alleged mistress of Richard II, as all the stories I have read speaks of a devotion to his wife, Anne Neville, daughter of the Kingmaker. However Ms Ashworth makes a very convincing case for Anne Harrington being the royal lover, an heiress at the mercy of a guardian of the Stanleys.
This complicated era of history is handled extremely well. Edward IV did not have an easy rule and no one was certain of which side to join, and many changed loyalties according to who was in
...more
Aurelin
Apr 26, 2017 rated it it was ok
Ok, I have read dozens of Wars of the Roses themed books these last few years, some brilliant, some quite good, some ok. I am the wrong age for this book, I think - if I'd been a teenager or about 20, I might have loved it. However, having read a lot of fiction of this topic, this book was one of the oh-ok-well-not-exactly-a-waste-of-time-but-still... type of books.
Reena Taylor
Mar 27, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Far from ruthless, Richard III, the most loyal and valiant man to ever rule England. He was brought to life in this medieval love story. This book demonstrates the greatness of not only a true King, but of the kind, loving, and brave man Richard was during his entire lifetime.

An excellent read. Love King Richard III
Sarah Morgan
Dec 29, 2013 rated it it was ok
interesting read. written a little simply. no way of knowing if any of it is true so a little disappointing on that front.
Donna Hamer
Jan 11, 2014 rated it really liked it
A fantastic easy read. Fact meets fiction but this is no less a book because of that.
Belynda Mime
rated it it was ok
Jul 12, 2018
rebecca
rated it did not like it
Jan 28, 2019
Natalie
rated it liked it
Feb 08, 2017
Megan
rated it it was ok
Jul 11, 2016
Jodi
rated it liked it
Jun 14, 2017
Ella
rated it liked it
Jul 11, 2015
Elena
rated it did not like it
Mar 23, 2017
Liz Burnside
rated it liked it
Dec 13, 2014
Ana Bucur
rated it liked it
Dec 03, 2017
Mădălina Rada
rated it liked it
Jun 27, 2017
susan power
rated it really liked it
Jul 16, 2019
Trixi
rated it liked it
Aug 05, 2016
Isabella
rated it did not like it
Feb 18, 2015
Ana-Maria Petrache
rated it it was amazing
Oct 15, 2018
Dana Arpquest
rated it it was amazing
May 29, 2016
L F Johnson
rated it it was ok
Jan 18, 2017
Amanda
rated it really liked it
May 22, 2014
Jeanette Mcbrearty
rated it really liked it
Oct 02, 2019
Bonnie Kelly
rated it it was amazing
May 01, 2016
jessica byrd
rated it it was amazing
Dec 27, 2015
Teresa Dowson
rated it really liked it
Jan 30, 2016
Éowyn
rated it liked it
Apr 13, 2014
Antony Mark Mundy
rated it liked it
Dec 14, 2017
Michele
rated it really liked it
Jul 26, 2015
« previous 1 3 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Sinopsis en Español // Synopsis in Spanish 1 2 Mar 09, 2015 09:26AM  
Since selling my first article at the age of eleven and my first story not long afterwards I've been published in a wide range of newspapers and magazines.

In 2006 the first of my non-fiction books, Champion Lancastrians, was published and since then Countryside Books have published Tales of Old Lancashire and Lancashire:Who Lies Beneath.

In June 2010 my first novel, The de Lacy Inheritance, was
...more