Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Let It Be” as Want to Read:
Let It Be
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Excerpt* *Different edition

Let It Be

by
3.22  ·  Rating details ·  354 ratings  ·  67 reviews
Let it be is a touching tale of loss, longing, and forgiveness that chronicles the breakup of a marriage, the destruction of a family, and the struggle to come together in the aftermath of what remains.

Searching for the love and happiness she feels she deserves, Michelle Jansen leaves her abusive, overbearing husband behind and takes her two kids to Amarillo, Texas, where
...more
Paperback, 236 pages
Published May 8th 2013 by Bracket Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Let It Be, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Let It Be

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.22  · 
Rating details
 ·  354 ratings  ·  67 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Aditi
Feb 19, 2015 rated it really liked it
“When the broken hearted people living in the world agree, there will be an answer, let it be.”

----Christopher Chase


Chad Gayle, an American author, has penned his debut novel, Let It Be that revolves around the life of a broken family tuning with the melody and flow of the Beatles very last album, Let It Be.


Synopsis:

Let it be is a touching tale of loss, longing, and forgiveness that chronicles the breakup of a marriage, the destruction of a family, and the struggle to come together in the af
...more
Bandit
Mar 06, 2015 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Lovely cover, the book was sort of average though. Nice story, but nice is just such an insufficient term. Part coming of age story, part family drama set in 1979 Texas to the last album of the most famous band in the world. Basic plot is...a young mother of two kids decides to leave her abusive husband and make a life on her own. When she starts dating, things get complicated and potentially dangerous. Sounds simple and straight forward and it is, it really is, there are no twists and turns, no ...more
Kim Brown
Apr 15, 2015 rated it it was ok
I have absolutely no idea why this book was written. It had a great beginning that drew me in:

"When my brother was ten years old, he almost killed a man."

But then the story became convoluted and confusing. I wasn't sure if it was about the pain from a divorce, the horrors of physical/emotional abuse, love of The Beatles or all of the above.
Brittany (brittanymariereads) E.
I received this book from Goodreads Giveaways.

Let It Be was so much more than I expected.

It was the story of a family that moved to a new town to escape an abusive situation. A mother struggles to create a new life for herself and her children while her ex husband and son do everything they can to stop it.

The book was well-written and extremely easy to read. I enjoyed every minute of it and I highly recommend it!

You can also read this review and more at http://brittanymariereads.wordpress.com
Victoria Noe
May 19, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Loved it! And not just because I'm a Beatles fan. But it takes you back to a time and place that's so vivid you can't help but lose yourself in it.

There are serious issues here - divorce, single parenting, abuse - and Chad Gale conveys the pain and hope in every character.

I was surprised that it was written by a man - but obviously a man who understands women.
Piper Templeton
Jun 29, 2015 rated it it was amazing
“Let it Be” by Chad Gayle is a poignant family drama set in the 1970s. The novel is framed by the Beatles’ “Let it Be” album, with each chapter named for a song on the record. As a Beatles fan who has also incorporated the Fab Four into my work, I found this to be very pleasing as well as effective. However, one does not need to be familiar with the Beatles to appreciate, understand and enjoy the novel.

The quote from protagonist Michelle (ma belle…) sums up the importance of the album in her li
...more
Michelle
Feb 24, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: ebooks, reviewed
In this well written debut novel "Let It Be" author Chad Gayle takes readers to Amarillo, in the Texas panhandle, and weaves a story of a brave determined young divorcing mother breaking free from domestic abuse and finding solace, comfort and inspiration in the lyrics and songs on the Beatles "Let It Be" album (1969). The story also raises awareness of the harmful effects of emotional abuse in a marriage, and dangerous consequences of domestic violence.

In 1979 Michelle Jensen relocated with her
...more
Judy
Jul 15, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
My Review: I really loved this book. It is told in such an understated way that is so enjoyable to read. I got real involved in the characters. I liked the story being told from the perspective of not only the mother but the children and even some from the mothers new love interest. At a time in history when divorce is becoming more prevalent Michelle leaves her controlling and sometime abusive husband and embarks on a new life that has her searching her very soul. Trying to juggle her new found ...more
Deborah Blanchard
I just finished this book, in 2 1/2 days and all I can say is WOW! Amazing! I am still crying from the ending. This book is so well written and so descriptive, I felt like I was Michelle. I felt what she felt. This author is so incredible of a writer, there are no words to express how deeply this book affected me. As a parent it made me question decisions that I had made in my life, it made me love my children more( if that is possible), they are now grown. This book has characters that are so w ...more
Katie
Mar 13, 2015 rated it did not like it
The premise was good, but the book didn't fulfill my expectations. The pace was slow and I continually wondered what the characters' motivation was for most of their decisions. There was a lot that could have been explored much more fully; I kept waiting for the "real" story to start, and suddenly the book was over. This isn't a book that will stay with me, and it's not one I'd recommend.
Beverly
A quick read, with a Beatles music connection, with good story line.
Robby Couch
Feb 12, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wonderful debut

Chad showed a family dealing with divorce in a brilliant debut. He paints a picture that is a work of art in itself.
Fran
May 09, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Let It Be: Chad Gayle

Let It Be: powerful words with multiple meanings behind them. Sometimes life takes people down more than one road. All too often there are obstacles blocking the path and times of darkness as the song says. But, simple actions take on new meanings for Joseph and Pam Jansen as their mother Michelle decides to carve out a new life for them. Texas was where she decided to set up their new home, Amarillo, to be exact. Lacking a college education and the skills for a lucrative pa
...more
Elizabeth
This book had potential, but entirely missed the mark. I liked the general theme of The Beatles running through the story line. I liked the premise of the book. But beyond that, it didn't work. Michelle is an abused woman who divorces her abusive husband and tries to protect her two children. Drama of course ensues. But all of it was glossed over. The characters were never fully developed. It was lacking significantly.
Laura June
Jan 14, 2018 rated it it was ok
The plot of the books was good, but the characters lacked depth and the writing lacked heart and direction. The other issue I took with the book was the painting of the abused woman (and mother) as martyr. That may not have been the author's intent, but coming from an abusive marriage myself that is what I took away and I'm not a fan of that idea being perpetuated. That a woman should have to give up her own happiness for her children and that being the right choice or the only choice.
Florence Primrose
Mar 08, 2019 rated it it was ok
Michelle is starting over with her two children as she tries to make a life she thinks she deserves. But her ex-husband wants her back even though he has been very abusive. He frequently comes to her new location to cause trouble. But her ten-year-old son is disturbed.

This is a story of loss, heartbreak as Michelle tries,to,come to terms of what is right for her and her children.
Anne
Nov 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I read this book in 2 days. It's an easy read and paints such an honest picture of domestic violence and the repercussions. Despite the heavy topic, the author keeps things fairly light with the exception of a couple scenes.
Anne  (Booklady) Molinarolo
Oct 07, 2017 rated it it was ok
Shelves: fall-2017
Not what I thought it would be.
Laura
Jun 05, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Let It Be
Chad Gayle
Published by Bracket Books
ISBN-978-0-9886610-0-4
220 pages
Reviewed by Laura Hartman

Genre: Fiction

Michelle leaves her husband for the second time with her son Joseph and daughter Pam. They move to “flat, dry” side of Texas, near her brother, Chuck. Joseph hates the tiny two-bedroom home his mother rents. He hates his sister being in charge during the day while their mother works as a secretary. And most of all he hates being away from his father, Bill.

The days turn into weeks
...more
Cindy S
Mar 04, 2015 rated it liked it
Bill and Michelle Jansen were Texans, and so were their children, Joseph and Pam. Their family was similar to many other families, in that it was torn apart by divorce. Pam was 13 and Joseph was 10 when he heard their mother and father talking in the other room, and the bluntness of his father's voice. It was then, that his father told him the story of the mockingbird and how it returned to its cage after being released because it turned out that it was too hard to live outside that cage. And it ...more
Shelleyrae at Book'd Out

I have been a fan of the Beatles since I was quite young and inherited some of my aunt's vinyl album collection when she passed away at a tragically young age. It was the promised connection between their music and Chad Gayle's debut novel, Let It Be, that convinced me to agree to a review.

It is the summer of the late 1970's in Amarillo, Texas and Michelle is trying to rebuild her life after fleeing her abusive husband, Bill, with her two children, ten year old Joseph and thirteen year old Pam.
...more
Kerri
May 10, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is the debut novel for Chad Gayle, a photographer and write originally from Texas. Let It Be is a complex story of a woman starting over after leaving her volatile husband. Michelle Jansen moves to Amarillo with her children Pam and Joseph. She is starting over, trying to find a job to support herself and the children, while having to continually push away her estranged husband, who is intent on getting her back. When she finally thinks things are going well- a new job, an interesting man- ...more
Paula
Sep 13, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Bobbie Grob
Jul 12, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Reviewed by Bobbie Grob for Readers’ Favorite

Music is often the backbone of a family, integrally weaved into its history. This is certainly the case for Michelle, a recent divorcee, and her two children, Joseph and Pam in Let It Be by Chad Gayle. The album Let It Be by the Beatles is the music that shapes this family’s lives one summer. As Michelle tries to form a new life with her children outside the sphere of the abusive marriage she left behind, her children likewise fumble through the new t
...more
Adrian
Oct 20, 2013 rated it really liked it
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of Let It Be through a Goodreads Firstreads Giveaway.

"LET IT BE is a touching tale of loss, longing, and forgiveness that chronicles the breakup of a marriage, the destruction of a family, and the struggle to come together in the aftermath of what remains."

Let It Be chronicles the story of a woman trying to help her family recover from the separation of an abusive husband and father. The story is gripping and emotional and it is really easy to fall in love with
...more
Kenneth
May 26, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Chad Gayle’s debut novel Let It Be is a masterwork of subtlety—the kind of book that sneaks up on you through the quietude, only to produce a taut, poignant climax.

Let It Be is set in the late-1970s in Amarillo, Texas, where single mother Michelle has escaped with her two children, 10-year-old Joseph and his 13-year-old sister Pam. Michelle is determined to remake her life from the ashes of her marriage to her estranged husband Bill, who is dead-set on winning her back through a calculated serie
...more
Lindsay
Aug 09, 2015 rated it really liked it
I received this book from Goodreads Giveaways.

I was drawn to this book because of the connection to The Beatles. The album Let It Be plays a role in the lives of the mother and son in this book, setting a soundtrack for a turbulent period in their family's history. I've read about divorce before from the child's perspective, but never from the perspective of multiple people involved: the sister, the father, the mother, the mother's new romantic interest. The author gave us a multi-angled, realis
...more
Krista
Nov 15, 2015 rated it liked it
The final chapters are well written; the beginning of the book felt rushed in comparison. Some editing for haphazard repetition, wordiness, and avoiding certain phrases would help this piece greatly. It absolutely has potential to be a better story, but there are loose ends that I would have liked tied together. Why start the book with Pam's perspective and never revisit her point of view again? I would have liked to see Joseph's bicycle trips making more of an imprint on his lifestyle - especia ...more
Michele
May 20, 2013 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
*I recieved a free copy of this book through First Reads*

As a lover of music and a lover of a good story, I was expecting so much more from this book. Although only 220 pages, this book seemed to drag on and on.
I waited for more than half of the book for something to happen... the description teased that "when passion and rage collide, one man will nearly lose his life, another will lose his freedom, and a family will be split in two." It sounded promising, but the actual confrontation described
...more
Gale Ward
A good fast read with warily well drawn characters. The writer seems undecided about whose story it is., and as a result the point of view is sometimes that of the mother and main character telling a story as it is happening or has recently happened or of the little boy telling a story that happened years earlier.


This indecisiveness about point of view makes the novel seem more like a draft than a finished work. Still, the story is complete, and the characters held my interest.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 next »
  • Americashire: A Field Guide to a Marriage
  • A Strange and Bitter Fruit
  • Naked: Stripped by a Man and Hurricane Katrina
  • Sebastian's Poet
  • The Dropper
  • The House
  • The Girl from Charnelle
  • Dogtag Summer
  • Once in Every Generation
  • Write About Me
  • The Man Who Built Boxes and other stories
  • Acts of Desperation
  • The K Street Affair
  • Wherever Grace Is Needed
  • Boost: Create Good Habits Using Psychology and Technology
  • The Man Who Left
  • The Tree of Everlasting Knowledge (Liberty, #5)
  • The Shells of Chanticleer
59 followers
Chad Gayle has written for literary journals, trade publications, and newspapers. Previously, Chad worked for Poetry Magazine in Chicago and taught English at several colleges including Texas A&M University. Born in Texas, Chad lives in Brooklyn, New York with his wife and two children; Let It Be is his debut novel.
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »