Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Blood in the Valley (Vigilati, #2)” as Want to Read:
Blood in the Valley (Vigilati, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Blood in the Valley

(Vigilati #2)

by
4.10  ·  Rating details ·  30 ratings  ·  18 reviews
The daughter of a Las Vegas hustler, Raven Sabatier grew up trusting nothing and no one-she doesn't even trust herself to stay in one place for longer than a minute. When her quest to find out the secrets of her past leads her to the mountains of North Carolina, she's set on a collision course with the one man she thought she'd never see again. In Appalachia consulting on ...more
Paperback, 412 pages
Published April 24th 2013 by Sapphire Star Publishing LLC
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Blood in the Valley, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Blood in the Valley

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.10  · 
Rating details
 ·  30 ratings  ·  18 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Blood in the Valley (Vigilati, #2)
InD'tale Magazine
This is a well-thought-out story populated with a cast of characters who really care about each other.

Read full review in the 2013 Dec/Jan Holiday issue of InD’tale Magazine.
...more
E_bookpushers
Review originally posted here: http://thebookpushers.com/2013/05/27/...


Publisher: Sapphire Star Publishing
Publish Date: Out now
How I got this book: ARC from the publisher

The daughter of a Las Vegas hustler, Raven Sabatier grew up trusting nothing and no one—she doesn’t even trust herself to stay in one place for longer than a minute. When her quest to find out the secrets of her past leads her to the mountains of North Carolina, she’s set on a collision course with the one man she thought she’d
...more
Nancy (The Avid Reader)
The following review is my opinion and not a paid review. I was given a free copy of the book from the author for an honest review.

Ray Sabatier is a man that has had a rough life. He grew up with an abusive father and a psychotic step-mother. His father was never around when he was growing up. He was always out drinking and whoring, leaving Ray with his step-mother. Ray knew he couldn't stay there or he would end up dead. His dad would he up killing him from one of his beatings or Ray would kill
...more
The Book Tart
May 21, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
review originally posted http://thebooktart.com/book-review/th...

Blood In The Valley is the second book in J.K. Hogan’s Vigilati Series. It’s an exciting paranormal romance with passion, heart, and humor. The characters are complicated and relatable and my emotions were all bound up for their journey. I couldn’t put this book down!

I love the world building in these books. There are demons, magic, shapeshifters, and witches oh my. The Vigilati are part of an ancient race of witches, the Bruixi, a
...more
Marni
May 29, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A follow-up to the highly rated book Fire on the Island, this second book in The Vigilati Series is making its mark on today’s contemporary paranormal market. I have to say, having been given this book in return for an honest review, that I have not read the first book and will be doing so quite soon. Yes, that’s just how good this book is and what a great writer that I was able to jump into the second book without hesitation.

Blood in the Valley take place in the mountains of North Carolina. The
...more
Lillie
The Vigilati series continues with Raven. Former con woman/grifter, she's taken her special skills and went legit but still doesn't always play on the side of angels. After failing to steal a book from Drew Deveraux, she continues her search for answers about her "gift" until fate puts her on another collision course with the anthropologist. This time, she can't run away. Drew can give her what she needs but first she'll have to do something she's never done; depend on someone else. As Raven and ...more
Proserpine
Apr 16, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I really enjoyed the first book in this series: Fire on the Island by J.K. Hogan. I liked the intrigue and the main subject, which is about witch and witchcraft of some sort. Plus, everything is happening in Ireland! YAY!

J.K. Hogan return with this sequel and I was plunge again in a thrilling new ride about the Vigilati, the feradux, the lochrime... every paranormal elements were welcome and well exploited! Raven is a kick-ass character and even if her past and present sucks in a way, she's a fi
...more
KindleJo Jo
Apr 12, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: All fans of PNR and UF
Original review posted along with an interview with J.K. Hogan here: http://wp.me/p2F7sT-1tF

What I liked loved:

The expansion of the wonderful world J.K Hogan has created, the characters, the action, and the romance .

I have adopted Drew as one of my book boyfriends, he is caring, sweet, vulnerable, damaged, HOT, and most of all: he handled the changes to the world around him (and happening in his life) the way my dream man would.

I have also decided that in my next life, I want to be Raven, she ha
...more
Angie
Synopsis: "The daughter of a Las Vegas hustler, Raven Sabatier grew up trusting nothing and no one—she doesn’t even trust herself to stay in one place for longer than a minute. When her quest to find out the secrets of her past leads her to the mountains of North Carolina, she’s set on a collision course with the one man she thought she’d never see again.

In Appalachia consulting on an archeological dig, Anthropologist Dr. Drew Deveraux comes face to face with the indomitable beauty who broke int
...more
S.M. Blooding
May 09, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: paranormal, new-adult
The thing that I absolutely LOVED about the first book was the plot. I thought it was absolutely freaking amazing. I found the character arc to be awkward and I didn't really believe the leap of love. As I said, I'm a gradual leaper...which is to say, I don't leap at all. I used to be. That's the only way I can explain the vampiric US Government assassin. *helpless shrug*

Book 2 was much better on the character arc. I really liked Raven right away, and Drew got me. He wormed his way into my heart
...more
Susan
May 29, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: finished
J.K. Hogan continues to thrill us in this paranormal romance...."Blood in the Valley" is the second book in 'The Vigilati Series' and picks up where they first book left off. Her characters came alive in their chemistry, leaving us with plenty of sexual tension, romance and a touch of humor. I do suggest reading the books in order so your not losing anything in the storyline. A must read series for all paranormal romance lovers.

This review is based on a complimentary copy from the author which w
...more
Beverly
Jun 13, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Tremendous story. Fabulous characters. Interesting setting and a creative and compelling plot. Couldn't put it down. I haven't read book 1 and didn't feel lost in the story at all. But I enjoyed it so much I plan to read book one now - and anything else I can get my hands on by JK Hogan.
Julia
Jun 20, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: first-reads
this book was an amazing sequel to the first. I had no idea this book was going to be so good. Great writing style, great everything!
Laura
May 07, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Review to come at http://spankyousilly.com on May 21. ...more
Leslie Stokes
4/5 stars

Really good paranormal mystery/romance.
Read my full review at http://indtale.com
...more
Liz
Aug 04, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Fun read, hard to put down.
Joy
Jun 04, 2016 rated it liked it
This book forever to finish. I did not like Raven, but I loved the rest of the characters. I loved that she brought back Isla and Jeremiah.
Tori
DNF-I may try to pick up and review at a later date
Julia Hahn
rated it it was amazing
Nov 05, 2012
KritikaB
rated it really liked it
Mar 25, 2015
Laura Eder
rated it really liked it
Jul 11, 2013
Darla Davis
rated it really liked it
Feb 23, 2013
Laura Eder
rated it really liked it
Jun 28, 2013
Michelle Boesch
rated it liked it
Mar 06, 2014
Aetc
rated it it was amazing
May 20, 2017
Nicola
rated it it was ok
May 30, 2014
Mia
rated it it was amazing
Jun 22, 2013
Darla Davis
rated it really liked it
Jun 08, 2014
Ellen
rated it it was amazing
May 07, 2013
Sonia
rated it really liked it
Dec 17, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
276 followers
J.K. Hogan has been telling stories for as long as she can remember, beginning with writing cast lists and storylines for her toys growing up. When she finally decided to put pen to paper, magic happened. She is greatly inspired by all kinds of music and often creates a “soundtrack” for her stories as she writes them. J.K. is hoping to one day have a little something for everyone, so she’s branche ...more

Other books in the series

Vigilati (3 books)
  • Fire on the Island (Vigilati, #1)
  • The Serpent's Fate (Vigilati, #3)

Related Articles

Space operas, magic, destiny, dystopia, aliens: There's a bit of something for everyone in 2020's latest offerings in science fiction and fantasy...
42 likes · 4 comments
“Love. She was aware that, to some people, this would be a warm-fuzzy type of feeling. For her, it was pure, unadulterated terror.” 5 likes
“Suddenly her head swiveled around like something out of the Exorcist, and she once again pinned Drew with her fathomless gaze. “Storm’s blowin’ in, Dr. Deveraux.” 1 likes
More quotes…