Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “In Our Humble Opinion: Car Talk's Click and Clack Rant and Rave” as Want to Read:
In Our Humble Opinion: Car Talk's Click and Clack Rant and Rave
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

In Our Humble Opinion: Car Talk's Click and Clack Rant and Rave

3.30  ·  Rating details ·  92 ratings  ·  23 reviews
Every weekend they strike a chord with millions of listeners through their relentlessly irreverent, hilariously on-target rantings-on just about everything but cars. Fortunately, Click and Clack's rants and ramblings are available on weekdays too-in this popular hardcover collection. Packed with musings, theories, observations, parables and anecdotes, In Our Humble Opinion ...more
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published May 1st 2000 by Perigee Trade (first published 2000)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about In Our Humble Opinion, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about In Our Humble Opinion

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.30  · 
Rating details
 ·  92 ratings  ·  23 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Book Concierge
Oct 12, 2013 rated it it was ok
The book is subtitled: Car Talk’s Click and Clack Rant and Rave and that is exactly what this book is – a collection of rants on a variety of subjects from poor drivers, to the sorry state of education, to global warming.

I love National Public Radio’s Car Talk program. Listening to the brothers laugh their way through the various dilemmas posed by their audience was entertaining and laugh-producing. A wonderful way to start a weekend. I was expecting that kind of reaction to the book. There wer
...more
Kim
Jan 02, 2008 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
"If you are a fan of the program, you'll love every page of this." (Baltimore Sun) Very true. I liked learning more about their lives. Their arguments were well thought out. One of the most enjoyable chapters discussed whether progress in certain areas was a good thing.
Christopher Gullen
The Magliozzi Brothers, hosts of NPR's Car Talk, do it again but this time in written form rather than audio form. While there is a lot of ranting and raving in this book, it's all supported, well articulated and very funny.
Cindy Wyatt
Jan 04, 2016 rated it liked it
This book was just fun - I love Car Talk.
Jill Porter
Apr 27, 2015 rated it really liked it
Well written and very funny. It reads just like I am listening to them on the radio.
Steven Freeman
Feb 01, 2016 rated it really liked it
My favorite NPR hosts impart a wide variety of wisdom (with a few dumb things thrown in).
David Desautels
Dec 06, 2015 rated it really liked it
Funny and easy read. Their philosophy is not at all what I would have thought.
Mel
Dec 31, 2018 rated it liked it
Not what I expected. It is a funny book and this alone is worth the effort to read it. As an avid listener to the NPR radio show I gained knowledge of the personalities (Tom & Ray) I did not know. This additional insight gained by reading this book enhanced my comprehension of their show. Overall an enjoyed, unserious, little book which covered subjects I had not expected! Not what I expected but it is an uncumbersome, enjoyable read. Wish I could expect more.
Rayjan Koehler
Jan 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Loved this book, but I already knew to some extent what the book would be about. These brothers are hilarious on their radio show Car Talk.

Love these guys!

R.I.P. Tom.
Evannn
Dec 31, 2007 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Click and Clack are awesome and wicked funny, you know this. Maybe i didn't read the cover closely enough, but i was expecting a book more like their show, which this isn't. It is, though, exactly what it claims to be, a book of rants by curmudgeonly Cantabrigian car connoisseurs. I think they would appreciate the alliteration there. Many of the rants are funny, but by 2/3 of the way through the book i was more than ready for it to be over. Ray's interesting take on education in the last few cha ...more
Laura
Nov 14, 2015 rated it really liked it
In Our Humble Opinion is a must read for "Car Talk" fanatics. In addition to "cars, car repair, and the answer to last week's puzzler.," the book offers insight into the lives of radio personalities, Tom and Ray Magliozzi. The book is divided into six distinct sections: "a humble beginning" (personal life), cars, musings, rants, "founding fathers" (government), and education. The eldest of the pair, Tom is the primary author of the book, due to his strong opinions and his urge to share them with ...more
Steve
Jul 14, 2008 rated it it was ok
I really thought I would love this book. I wanted to love this book. I like Car Talk, I like the Magliozzi brothers, and I generally find them funny and entertaining, so why is this book so painfully dull? I suppose it should have been self-evident from the title that this book is nothing more than a long extended rant, but I guess I just wasn't expecting it to be so completely random and pedantic. By the end I really had to make myself finish it just to make sure that I wasn't missing the best ...more
Joan Roll
Feb 10, 2015 rated it it was ok
Shelves: nonfiction
Tom and Ray Magliozzi write about cars, marriage, education and many things in between in their book titled In Our Humble Opinion. They each write their own chapters and give their humble opinions as well as rants on many topics. However, Tom is certainly the more prolific of the two as his chapters outnumber those written by Ray.

Even though I know nothing about cars I have listened to the radio show and have enjoyed their lively banter. I may have even learned a thing or two. That is why I dec
...more
Melanie Page
Jun 28, 2016 rated it it was ok
You ever meet a grump ol' white man who thinks he knows everything about the world and that everyone else is just too stupid to do what he wants?

This book has two of them. It starts out funny when Tom and Ray give their bios. But then the expound on life, which includes the thesis statements of little girls spend their whole lives conniving to financially injure their fathers, and people who aren't rich shouldn't be allowed to buy plane tickets.

I'll still listen to Car Talk re-runs, though. I'm
...more
Evanston Public  Library
Most of National Public Radio is serious. Thankfully, “Car Talk” is not. On Saturday mornings, the Magliozzi brothers guffaw their way through a dozen calls about cars and car repair, answering listeners’ questions and also commenting most un-humbly on topics ranging from American history to mass media to messy relationships. In this often hilarious book they joke and muse, as well as rant and rave. Try reading some parts out loud, with a Boston accent. (Jeff B., Reader’s Services)
Steve
May 14, 2009 rated it liked it
Shelves: humor
A collection of short rants on everything from cars to the education system. A few of their thoughts were a bit too radical. While the book was amusing and an easy read, I don't think it was up to the typical Click and Clack standard.
Katie
Aug 19, 2011 rated it did not like it
I love Car Talk, but their book is- and I can't believe I'm saying this-, well.... boring. Part of what makes Car Talk funny is listening to them laugh and Tom and Ray bantering off each other- which you can't get in a book.
Bradley
Feb 06, 2010 rated it liked it
Tom and Ray Maglioozzi entertain every weekend on NPR's Car Talk as Click and Clack from 'our fair city, Cambridge, Mass." The MIT educated mechanics tender their opinions and share much of their backrounds. Pure fun for their fans.
Sam
Mar 26, 2015 rated it it was ok
Wanted to like this, and some of the rants/stories were amusing, but most of them were just boring, completely unrealistic, or petty; The best part of Car Talk is their back-and-forth banter, which is missing here
Jocelyn
Jan 25, 2009 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: cars
Love the radio show, this book's a little preachy.
Anne
Apr 12, 2007 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Apparently Ray does not believe in global warming. At least that's what he thought in the year 2000, when this book came out.
Mary
Aug 06, 2011 rated it liked it
Entertaining. The best part was at the end: The Education Trilogy (in 4 parts!) Tom made some good points about education. Read it just for this part!
Susan K
rated it liked it
Sep 07, 2010
Paige
rated it really liked it
Oct 03, 2010
Duncan
rated it it was ok
Jan 19, 2015
Joshua Wells
rated it really liked it
Jan 20, 2017
Deb
rated it it was amazing
Mar 22, 2012
Jay
rated it liked it
Jan 09, 2008
Trisha
rated it liked it
Sep 30, 2012
Bob
rated it it was ok
Jan 26, 2010
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »