Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Desert Gods (DMB Files, #2)” as Want to Read:
Desert Gods (DMB Files, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Desert Gods

(More DMB Files #2)

by
4.21  ·  Rating details ·  14 ratings  ·  3 reviews
DESERT GODS (DMB Files Book Two) is for fans of Jim Butcher, The Dresden Files, Harry Dresden books, science fiction, action and adventure, and science fiction adventure.

In effort to protect his daughter, Jim Buckner plunges into the heart of the Rub' al Khali. But the closer he gets to silencing the nightmare man of his childhood, the closer he gets to his worst nightmare
...more
Kindle Edition, 205 pages
Published April 24th 2013 by StoneGate Ink
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Desert Gods, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Desert Gods

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-33
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
David Brown
Apr 25, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
If you have gotten to book two, hopefully you realize Jim Buckner and I are one in the same. (But only within the universe we call "reality.")

Is it a bit cheeky to rate your own book with five stars? Maybe. But would it be better if I rated it less? Hey, I wouldn't be a writer if I didn't believe in my supreme talent.

Desert Gods is the tense, and at times humorous, follow up to De Novo Syndrome. In it, Buckner and his daughter, Evie, are challenged to truly function as a team. Desert Gods also d
...more
Nikki
Jun 12, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
First off, this is definitely a series you need to read in order. If you are thinking of picking up this novel, check out “De Novo Syndrome” if you haven’t already read it. “Desert Gods” by Jim Buckner (David Mark Brown) is the second novel in his DMB Files science fiction/thriller series. This novel follows Buckner and his daughter on a wild ride to save humanity. Of course, nothing goes as planned, and in the end nothing is as it seems. There are quite a few twists and turns in this novel; it ...more
Gavin Wilson
Apr 26, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Awesome; a wonderful no-holds barred, white knuckle ride of a book. Clever, funny, action-packed and very well put together.

I've been lucky enough to be a beta reader for David for some time now, and I have great pleasure in saying that the more of his work I read, the more I forget about what I'm meant to be doing and just get dragged headlong into the latest installment of his work. Desert Gods is no exception. The ever grouchy Jim Buckner is a favourite, and this time his daughter Evie plays
...more
Aaron
rated it liked it
Apr 27, 2017
Cathy Montgomery
rated it really liked it
Jul 16, 2015
Eric G. Laughton
rated it it was amazing
Oct 28, 2015
Remmik Petra
rated it really liked it
Apr 26, 2013
Kylelib
rated it liked it
Dec 17, 2014
Katy
rated it it was amazing
Jun 28, 2013
Sahaja J
rated it really liked it
Dec 12, 2016
Ryan Permeh
rated it really liked it
Jan 21, 2014
Chris Poole
rated it really liked it
May 14, 2014
john e hanna
rated it liked it
May 29, 2017
Wanda
rated it it was amazing
May 03, 2017
Glen Robinson
marked it as to-read
Apr 25, 2013
Julie S
marked it as to-read
Jul 04, 2013
Jeremy
marked it as to-read
Nov 02, 2013
Ryan
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2014
Rick
marked it as to-read
Feb 16, 2014
lmjwebber
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2014
Mathew Carruthers
marked it as to-read
Nov 13, 2014
SilverIn Stars
marked it as to-read
Jul 10, 2015
Mary Kort
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2015
Alice
marked it as to-read
Dec 23, 2015
Dave
marked it as to-read
Dec 27, 2015
John Kerley
marked it as to-read
Feb 16, 2016
Noah Hicks
marked it as to-read
Jun 01, 2016
Ritika Chhabra
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2017
John
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2017
Gregory W Lawrence
is currently reading it
Jan 07, 2018
Krys
marked it as to-read
Aug 01, 2015
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
55 followers
Raised in Central Texas, David Mark Brown learned to ride horses at a young age. Then learned to hate them after a disastrous attempt to impress a girlfriend. He was five.

Turning instead to a life of poetry and prose he eventually migrated north to the University of Montana (the Berkeley of the Rockies) and became the Redneck Granola.

Falling in love a chainsaw wielding mountain woman forced him to
...more

Other books in the series

More DMB Files (2 books)
  • De Novo Syndrome (DMB Files, #1)
“A man that knows how to be a friend will always find a friend when he needs one.” 1 likes
“The old man attempted to kill me with his bushy, gray eyebrows.” 0 likes
More quotes…