Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Six Train to Wisconsin” as Want to Read:
The Six Train to Wisconsin
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Six Train to Wisconsin

(The Six Train to Wisconsin Series #1)

by
4.09  ·  Rating details ·  301 ratings  ·  106 reviews
Sometimes saving the person you love can cost you everything.

There is one person that ties Oliver Richter to this world: his wife Kai. For Kai, Oliver is the keeper of her secrets.

When her telepathy spirals out of control and inundates her mind with the thoughts and emotions of everyone within a half-mile radius, the life they built together in Manhattan is threatened.

To
...more
Paperback, 432 pages
Published May 2nd 2013 by Createspace Publishing Platform (first published April 16th 2013)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Six Train to Wisconsin, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Six Train to Wisconsin

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Zoeytron
Copy furnished by Net Galley for the price of a review.

I would have liked this a bit better if high school caliber jealousies and emotions hadn't run rampant with Oliver and Kai. Just too immature to ring true for a married couple in their late 20's, early 30's. The similes and adjectives were many. Too many.

The premise of a telepath whose powers are completely out of control lured me in, and I really enjoyed the dream walker sequences. Looking at the plethora of four and five star reviews post
...more
Dianne
Celebrate the release of THE GIRL WHO SAVED GHOSTS with K.C. Tansley! Enter her giveaway to win a SIGNED copy and fabulous Swag!

International - Ends Oct 27 - Click on Banner to Enter!


Oliver would do anything for Kia, including re-entering the place he ran from when it became his personal Hell. She is his world, his heart and soul and she is in danger of losing her mind or worse. Kia is a telepath and the weight of the crush of thoughts from thousands of minds in Manhattan are driving her mad, dr
...more
Monique
Oct 15, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
I was contacted by the author and asked to request a copy of this book off Netgalley

So I was actually contacted by the author and asked to request this off NetGalley in anticipation orthe sequels release. This is a love story at its core. I found this to be a little slow in the beginning but once the pace picked up and there was an air of mystery surrounding the main characters, I was hooked. The characters are flawed and I thought the author did a great job of giving both Oliver and Kai some mu
...more
Joanne
Sep 06, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Thank you to Netgalley for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

This is a hard book to review. There were parts of if I really loved and parts I really did not. The telepath and dreamwalking parts of the story were amazing, as was the plot itself.
This is a book about how we let the past haunt us long past the point we should. The main characters Kia and Oliver are messy, complicated and hard to like it really worked. That being said I found Kia to be the most an
...more
BOOKAHOLIC
One of the best mystery thriller novels I have ever read.

The book contains everything to make it delicious ranging from super-powered yet mentally tortured wife, her loving husband with a shameful secret, flirtatious ex-girlfriend, dead best friend, vindictive ex-husband of the ex-girlfriend, dream-walker brother-in-law detested by the husband. And one super awesome plot.

Summary:- There is one person that ties Oliver Richter to this world: his wife Kai. For Kai, Oliver is the keeper of her se
...more
Sheila
Jun 13, 2013 rated it it was amazing
The Six Train to Wisconsin shows how true it is that “love is a journey, never a destination.” With shifting first person narratives, we’re brought into the minds of Oliver and Kai as they try to understand each other and themselves.

When the story opens, Oliver and Kai are married and living in New York City. As a telepath, the painful thoughts of everyone within a certain radius threaten Kai’s sanity.

Kai is all that matters to Oliver. He brings her to his boyhood home in Wisconsin and there he’
...more
Miranda ❤️
Going into this book I was under the impression that it was a fantasy. After reading over 50% of this book I would say it's a contemporary with bits and pieces of a supernatural aspect thrown in every once in awhile.

There are several of reasons I decided to DNF this one.

1. It felt depressing to me. Kai and Oliver love each other very much but their relationship is pretty tough. Almost every chapter they would have some sort of argument or disagreement. Rather than rooting for them to overcome
...more
Abby
Oct 22, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
Kourtney Heintz is an amazing author, and this book was exciting and suspenseful! I could not put this book down, and I loved all the plot twists. It felt really real to me, since I live in Butternut.
Roxanne Crouse
Apr 29, 2013 rated it really liked it
The Six Train to Wisconsin is a contemporary fantasy that is mostly true to life except some of the characters have special abilities such as hearing thoughts or being able to enter other people's dreams. The main characters, Oliver and Kai, are a married couple living in New York. The concentrated population is having a detrimental effect on Kai who hears everyone's thoughts and experiences their deaths if they are in close enough proximity. To make the situation worse, Kai works as a social wo ...more
Cas
Oct 22, 2016 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of conflict
Recommended to Cas by: Author Kourtney Heintz
~I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review~

Kai is a telepath. She is able to hear others' thoughts, and see emotions. When her state steadily worsens, she becomes suicidal and often unable to keep up her shield which protects her from the constant onslaught of emotions. Her husband Oliver takes it upon himself to move her out of the busy city of New York and back to his hometown of Butternut, Wisconsin. But the town is filled with demons from Oliver's past and people he
...more
H.A. Fowler
THIS BOOK!

I received a copy of this book, as well as its upcoming sequel, HIGHWAY THIRTEEN TO MANHATTAN, from the author in exchange for an honest review.

I was simply blown away by this story. The characters, the premise, the emotion, and most of all, Ms. Heintz's writing style. No wonder SIX TRAIN won so many awards. It's one terrific piece.

It's a unique genre mash: part romance, part suspense thriller, paranormal without being paranormal, all mixed into a story of a married couple struggling w
...more
Stoffe
May 28, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Oliver is a man with a problem and possibly a solution, or one that he is fairly certain will work. That is if he can pull everything off without a hitch. The problem is his wife, Kai, a social worker with a fragile psyche. When one of her cases, a twelve year old girl, is killed by her own father, Oliver fears for her safety, as well as sanity. He then decides to execute his plan; to kidnap his own wife and move her to his old family home in Butternut, Wisconsin. There is only one issue; Kai is ...more
Katherine Hayward


The book is told from two viewpoints- that of Oliver and that of his wife, Kai. Oliver wants everything for Kai, and loves her so much. That's clear throughout the book. Kia is a telepath and, although it was unclear where and how Kai got this special ability, the life the couple led in Manhattan and also the strain and different emotions she goes through precisely because of her telepathy have left her incredibly fragile emotionally.
Be prepared for strong language and sexual scenes in the book.
...more
Marissa
Feb 11, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: goodreads-win
Goodreads Autographed Copy

This about two people saving each other but in doing so they might end up losing each other.

Kai and Oliver found each other during a difficult time in their lives and soon found strength in each other. Oliver kept her sane when her telepathic abilities threatened to kill her.

But when one case as a social worker where one of the kids dies, her suicidal thoughts start to get out of hand. Fearing for both of their lives, he kidnaps her and takes her to his small hometown i
...more
One-Click
Audiobook

Narration - Christa Lewis - Pretty Good. This is not a narrator who is doing character voices. She drops her pitch a bit for males and raises it for females, but for the most part, she's just a good story teller and I enjoyed listening to her.

The story was really an interesting and kinda unique concept for a paranormal story. So as the blurb says, they leave New York for Wisconsin (actually Oliver pretty much kidnaps Kai for her own protection) It starts out pretty interesting and the
...more
Vanessa-Jane Chapman
Feb 05, 2016 rated it it was amazing
At first I wasn't sure how much I was going to enjoy Six Train - the premise implied it wasn't the sort of thing I would usually go for. As soon as I started reading though I felt immediately immersed and so knew I was going to really like it. By the second half of the book I couldn't put it down, and by the end I felt a sense of loss that I wasn't going to be part of their lives any more.

I admired Heintz's skill in writing it, it's definitely not an easy story to write, it could have been real
...more
K.
Jun 01, 2013 rated it it was amazing
From page one of this story, I felt the beyond-caffeinated jolt of fresh, honest storytelling and a depth of human insight that makes this one of the great and most suspenseful love stories I've read. Not once does the story descend into clichés. Oliver and Kai's love for one another is deep, but the plot keeps you wondering whether they'll be able to surmount their many obstacles; Kai's telepathy makes her vulnerable to every thought and emotion in a 20-mile radius. Oliver does the only thing h ...more
Linda
Dec 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I won this book through a Good Reads Give Away. I had my attention from the first page to the last. Very Good book
Jay Williams
Sep 02, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is a difficult story to read because of the intensity of the material and some of the actions described. However, once you get past learning the contents of someone's mind during periods of stress, it becomes an interesting mystery as a young boy is kidnapped and cannot be found. The story has many twists and turns, romantically as well as physically. Hard to read, but impossible to put done.
Liv
Oct 03, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book I was able to picture everything as it unfolded and the book was so descriptive I loved the dynamic between Kai and Lukas and Kai’s relationship with her brother this book had a very fascinating concept and I was able to have the story stick with me even when I read most earlier in the year I cannot wait to start the next book. This is an amazing work of fiction.
Chantelle Atkins
5 STARS! From Underground Book Reviews

A unique book which successfully crosses into several genres. The plot revolves around the two main characters Kai and Oliver, a married couple with some unusual problems. Kai is a telepath, whose absorption of the thoughts and feelings of others has pushed her to the brink of suicide. Oliver is determined to save her but keeps his own painful past off the radar. Oliver takes Kai back to his home town of Butternut, Wisconsin in order to save her, but in doin
...more
Underground Book Reviews
A unique book which successfully crosses into several genres. The plot revolves around the two main characters Kai and Oliver, a married couple with some unusual problems. Kai is a telepath, whose absorption of the thoughts and feelings of others has pushed her to the brink of suicide. Oliver is determined to save her but keeps his own painful past off the radar. Oliver takes Kai back to his home town of Butternut, Wisconsin in order to save her, but in doing so, he is forced to confront his pai ...more
Aquileana
May 19, 2013 marked it as to-read

You can read this book here:

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17...

May 17, 2013 Roxanne Crouse rated it 4 of 5 stars

The Six Train to Wisconsin is a contemporary fantasy that is mostly true to life except some of the characters have special abilities such as hearing thoughts or being able to enter other people's dreams. The main characters, Oliver and Kai, are a married couple living in New York. The concentrated population is having a detrimental effect on Kai who hears everyone's thoughts and
...more
Jackie Trimble
Sep 16, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Well, it took me long enough! I won this from Goodreads more than 2 years ago and somehow just got to it. I didn't know there was a series and there's a #2 -- I have definitely put it on my shelf as a "want to read!!" This is a very readable book and it's hard to walk away from the Kai/Oliver viewpoints of the book. Part of me didn't want to like Kai, but now part of me can't wait to see what comes of her in the 2nd book. Heintz shows a great imagination and talent for telling stories.
Sara Strand
Nov 26, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I've had this book, and the sequel, on my review shelf for a few months and I'm just now getting to it. I actually flew through this book rather quickly despite it being a little over 400 pages. The point of view switches between Oliver and Kai. Oliver would do anything for his wife Kai, he literally would go to the ends of the world for her. Kai would do the same for Oliver but she is so wholly dependent on him because she's a telepath who makes terrible choices. She feels extreme guilt and wan ...more
Stacey Bookerworm
Jul 15, 2016 rated it liked it
I loved the plot of this story and the little dramas that occurred within. Thank you to Netgalley for the opportunity to read this book.
Kai is a powerful telepath living in Manhattan with her husband Oliver. Kai loves New York and she loves her job working with children in need but dealing with all those emotions regularly brings her to the verge of being suicidal.
In order to save her from herself Oliver takes her to his hometown of Butternut, Wisconsin but will his past and her ability allow t
...more
Marissa
Aug 18, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
I received a copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

The Six Train to Wisconsin is a book that captures what it truly means to love someone and do just about anything for them. Readers are introduced to Kai and Oliver living their lives as a married couple in Manhattan, going about their day to day business and jobs. However, their situation is incredibly unique in that Kai is a telepath. Imagine not only being married to someone who can read your
...more
Rebecca
Jun 18, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kindle-free
Mixed feelings. Not because of problems with writing, but things in the characters I wasn't fond of.
Yana
Aug 16, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
You can find a copy of this review at: https://thequidnuncblog.wordpress.com...

It is going to be a while before I come to terms with what I think about this one. I was instantly attracted to it, because who doesn't love a story about special people with telepathic abilities and I was in the mood for a true love story. I can't help it once in a while I want my cheesy fairy tale.

The novels started out really strong, you are literary sucked into both Oliver's and Kai's heads and experience the worl
...more
Gwen
May 06, 2013 rated it really liked it
Imagine for a moment how life would change if you possessed telepathic power. If you could hear the thoughts and feel the emotions of everyone around you, within a half-mile radius. Blessing or curse? Now complicate this scenario and put yourself in the most densely-populated urban area in the United States: Manhattan. Thousands of voices swirling through your mind, day after day. How do you filter it? How do you keep it from dominating your life? This is Kai Richter's reality in The Six Train t ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Book Giveaway 2 10 May 20, 2013 06:56AM  
  • The Schuman Shenanigans
  • Penance
  • Carnival of Hope
  • Summer (The Survivors, #1)
  • Sun Stroked
  • Eight Days in August
  • Love Struck
  • Overlooked (Gives Light #6)
  • Expedition Indigo
  • Desire's Sirocco (WindWorld, #1)
  • City Falcon (Falcon, #2)
  • Lunar Fire - Preview Edition
  • DJ Dangerfield
  • Agency of Extraordinary Mates Vol. 1 (Agency of Extraordinary Mates #1-3)
  • To All a (Very Sexy) Good Night
  • Best Gay Romance 2008
  • Lost in Love
  • The Music of the Spheres
250 followers
Kourtney Heintz is the award-winning and bestselling author of The Six Train to Wisconsin (2013), the first book in The Six Train to Wisconsin series. She also writes bestselling young adult novels under the pseudonym K.C. Tansley.

She is a member of the Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, Romance Writers of America, and Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.

She has given
...more

Other books in the series

The Six Train to Wisconsin Series (2 books)
  • Highway Thirteen to Manhattan  (The Six Train to Wisconsin #2)