Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Sonic Cool: The Life & Death of Rock'n'roll” as Want to Read:
Sonic Cool: The Life & Death of Rock'n'roll
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Sonic Cool: The Life & Death of Rock'n'roll

by
3.55  ·  Rating details ·  38 ratings  ·  5 reviews

In the tradition of Nick Tosches, Tom Wolfe and Lester Bangs comes an epic and riveting history of rock and roll that reads like a novel. Sonic Cool presents the saga of rock and roll as the closest thing we have to genuine "myth" in the modern world, and it is the first book about rock to be written in the spirit of rock. Immense, fierce, opinionated and hilarious, Joe Ha

...more
Paperback
Published December 1st 2002 by Hal Leonard Publishing Corporation
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Sonic Cool, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Sonic Cool

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.55  · 
Rating details
 ·  38 ratings  ·  5 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Sonic Cool: The Life & Death of Rock'n'roll
Simon Harvey
Aug 07, 2011 rated it did not like it
Awful book. Badly written, badly reasoned. The photo captions, which witlessly attempt to rip off Carducci's captions in Rock and the Pop Narcotic, are the cringe-inducing icing on the bad book cake.
Ciara
Nov 04, 2008 rated it did not like it
Recommends it for: other asshole would-be music critics
i hated this book. i would have given it zero stars if that could have dragged down its rating a little bit more. this is another ridiculously thick book printed on that hateful, thick, photo-quality paper for no reason other than to chap my ass. so the book weighed, i don't know, ninety-eight pounds or so. this is the kind of book that makes me seriously question my finish-every-book policy. i'm not even sure why i started reading it. i think i was hoping for a book full of salacious details ab ...more
Allen
Jun 03, 2016 rated it really liked it
While the first 75% of this book are negligible and misinformed, it's the last two chapters, about the 80's and the direction of music in the 21st century that make it a worthwhile read.
Without this tome I would never have discovered bands like The Hellacopters and Flaming Sideburns.
For that I am grateful.
Bruce Kirby
May 12, 2013 rated it really liked it
The thinking person's guide to the history of rock n'roll, this book definitely has an edge to it. A sometimes cranky but honest guide to what was the most popular form of music over the last 50-60 years from a musical and anthropological point of view.
Shawn Buckle
Sep 26, 2010 rated it really liked it
Hands down, the best music history book I've ever read. It's chronological retelling of rock n roll's origin credits the blues and honky tonk country. Harrington is able to talk history like a fervent fan who genuinely digs music.
Randy
rated it really liked it
Aug 31, 2007
Karen
rated it liked it
Nov 02, 2009
Jennifer Lewis
rated it it was amazing
Jan 08, 2015
Ken Mcintyre
rated it really liked it
Feb 17, 2019
Lowell AfdahlRice
rated it it was amazing
Jan 23, 2008
s
rated it it was ok
Jan 27, 2014
Jeff
rated it really liked it
Feb 18, 2010
Ed Schwalje
rated it really liked it
Nov 28, 2019
Chip Souza
rated it it was amazing
Apr 20, 2018
Rachel
rated it really liked it
Sep 04, 2016
Brian Bielema
rated it liked it
Mar 13, 2013
April
rated it really liked it
Apr 28, 2012
Tommy
rated it really liked it
Dec 08, 2010
ch heny
rated it liked it
Jul 06, 2020
Michael Rutkowski
rated it really liked it
Feb 26, 2019
Terry
rated it really liked it
May 15, 2016
Robert Edward Szekely
rated it it was amazing
Aug 15, 2017
Jennifer Springette
rated it liked it
Dec 11, 2014
Pat
rated it really liked it
May 24, 2017
David Laino
rated it really liked it
Jan 18, 2020
Francesca
rated it liked it
May 02, 2008
Brandon
rated it liked it
Mar 26, 2008
Devri
rated it liked it
Nov 10, 2010
Nat
rated it liked it
Oct 05, 2010
C.M. Crockford
rated it really liked it
Jul 22, 2015
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Scooby-Doo Team-Up (2013-) #76
  • Memes: Funny Memes By Ugandan Knuckles: Mega Epic Memes FunZ And JokEZ: Funny Memes Style
  • Sonic Quest: The Death Egg Saga #2
  • Sonic Quest: The Death Egg Saga #1
  • Sonic Quest: The Death Egg Saga #3
  • The Invisible Man
  • Bedtime Little Bear
  • The Jungle Book
  • A Taste of Twochubbycubs The Cookbook: EXCLUSIVE PREVIEW
  • What Can a President Really Do?
  • The Baby Brother From Outer Space!: World Book Day 2018 (Baby Aliens)
  • Walt Disney World
  • Quirk Books Throws You 5 Awesome Parties
  • REBEL GENIUS Sneak Peek
  • Microbiology
  • 5 Minute Tales - Bedtime Stories
  • Stories for 2 Year Olds
  • Overwatch #16
See similar books…

Related Articles

Punk rock legend, Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee, award-winning writer, photographer, activist, and all-around Renaissance woman Patti Smith is...
178 likes · 24 comments