Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Spin: How Politics Has the Power to Turn Marketing on Its Head” as Want to Read:
Spin: How Politics Has the Power to Turn Marketing on Its Head
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Spin: How Politics Has the Power to Turn Marketing on Its Head

by
4.06  ·  Rating details ·  53 ratings  ·  8 reviews
In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell’s Outliers and Daniel Kahneman’s Thinking Fast and Slow, Clive Veroni’s Spin is a fascinating investigation of how the techniques of political strategists are being applied to the world of consumer marketing. In the early twentieth century political operatives did their work in the backroom, a shady place of secret deals and dark arts. ...more
Paperback, 328 pages
Published August 23rd 2014 by House of Anansi Press (first published February 8th 2014)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Spin, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Spin

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.06  · 
Rating details
 ·  53 ratings  ·  8 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Spin: How Politics Has the Power to Turn Marketing on Its Head
Alanna King
Jun 10, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: bit15reads
Clive Veroni is a masterful writer and this is a timely book. Not until most of the way through this book does he reveal that his degree in English literature has served him well in the world of marketing...and it has also served him well as a writer. This 295 page book is tightly edited to emphasize the organization of Veroni's argument and and the marvelous flow of his ideas. Although it is largely a retrospective on politics and marketing in order to show cause and effect relationships, Veron ...more
Martha
Nov 17, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2014, nonfiction, canlit
I really enjoyed reading Spin. Veroni makes strong connections between political tactics and marketing, with plenty of fascinating examples from both arenas to illustrate his ideas. I particularly liked his points about appealing to a passionate minority instead of a safe middle group, taking creative risks in marketing campaigns and the importance of speed (think Oreo and the Super Bowl). A good read!
Chelsebelle
Nov 29, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Awesome read. Veroni presented the facts in an easy to understand way. Super interesting and I can't recommend it enough
Vinayak Malik
Jan 21, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Great book for the digital
Suresh Thalur
Jun 05, 2020 rated it it was amazing
One of the best books I have read.
Few books have altered the way I see the world - this is one of them.
Amazing that he wrote it before 2016 American election and I read it before 2016 too and this served as a template for me to see why things turned out the way they did.
It's a shame that this book isn't that popular. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to widen their perspective on the world we live in.
Tom Jarmyn
Jan 06, 2016 rated it really liked it
Interesting book that looks at new techniques from politics as they apply to advertising. However, it tends to over emphasize how much of a difference technology makes in modern politics and branding.

I tend to believe that the core objectives and methods are largely the same and these are just new tools of execution. Most telling is that as I was reading the section on branding, discussing Chipotle, for the second week in three Chipotle was on the cover of Businessweek - the headline [Outbreak]
...more
Iza October
Jan 08, 2020 rated it really liked it
Clive Veroni’s Spin is a riveting examination of the overlap between politics and marketing. Consumers have gone from passively receiving marketing messages to actively transmitting and promoting them. In cases where both marketers and politicians capture the imagination of the masses, whether it’s the Apple versus Mac ads or Obama’s Hope campaign, those masses do much of the advertising work previously relegated to television advertisements, billboards, and news spots. This book is essential re ...more
Christine
May 25, 2015 rated it liked it
Read this in preparation for an in class interview with the author. Was an easy read which doesn't bog down the reader with too much statistics and such. Many good points and valid arguments.
Michael Berry
rated it liked it
Jan 04, 2015
Braeson Holland
rated it it was amazing
Dec 29, 2017
Raymond
rated it really liked it
Dec 31, 2016
CJ
rated it really liked it
Feb 14, 2017
Vidia
rated it really liked it
Aug 05, 2019
Jason
rated it really liked it
Dec 16, 2014
D Haj
rated it liked it
Jan 04, 2020
Amalia B.
rated it it was amazing
May 02, 2020
Cheriee Weichel
rated it it was amazing
Feb 10, 2017
Steeve Carvel
rated it really liked it
Oct 13, 2016
Pixie Poe
rated it it was amazing
Apr 22, 2019
Nick Anstett
rated it it was ok
Jan 14, 2015
Brian
rated it liked it
Jun 15, 2018
Regan
rated it liked it
Sep 27, 2018
Scott
rated it it was amazing
Jun 06, 2020
Yoh
rated it really liked it
Jan 25, 2015
Samuel Smith
rated it it was amazing
Oct 10, 2014
Jeff Leiper
rated it liked it
May 18, 2020
Emily Ferko
rated it really liked it
Jul 14, 2015
Darrin Fiddler
rated it really liked it
Feb 16, 2018
Kailey
rated it really liked it
Jan 07, 2015
Alfred Hermida
rated it really liked it
May 06, 2015
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Inner Voice of Love
  • The Slow Regard of Silent Things (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #2.5)
  • The 48 Laws of Power
  • The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and Other Stories
  • Nine Parts of Desire: The Hidden World of Islamic Women
  • Factfulness: Ten Reasons We're Wrong About the World – and Why Things Are Better Than You Think
  • Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal
  • One Brother Shy
  • I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman
  • Sam Walton: Made In America
  • The Virgin Way: Everything I Know About Leadership
  • Primitive Technology: A Survivalist's Guide to Building Tools, Shelters, and More in the Wild
  • Deacon King Kong
  • Find Your Why: A Practical Guide to Discovering Purpose for You and Your Team
  • Songs for the End of the World
  • The Good Girls Revolt: How the Women of Newsweek Sued their Bosses and Changed the Workplace
  • Door to Door: The Magnificent, Maddening, Mysterious World of Transportation
  • No Logo
See similar books…
1 follower
Clive Veroni is a leading marketing strategist. He is a consultant on brand positioning, marketing strategies, new product development and advertising to a wide variety blue-chip clients across North America. He founded Leap Consulting in 1999. Prior to that he had a successful advertising career, including several years as partner and president of Stringer Veroni Ketchum Advertising before sellin ...more

Related Articles

If you haven't heard of record-smashing singer and songwriter Mariah Carey, is there any hope for you? Who else has sold more than 200 million...
48 likes · 20 comments
“The point is not that angering people should be the goal for every brand. It's that attempting to avoid controversy at all costs is sometimes the riskier option. It can deprive a brand of its distinctiveness and edge. Too often, marketers strive to please the broadest number of people possible. The result can be communications that no one hates. But no one loves either.” 0 likes
More quotes…