Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Pirate Named Molly (56 Limericks for Kids, #1)” as Want to Read:
A Pirate Named Molly (56 Limericks for Kids, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

A Pirate Named Molly (56 Limericks for Kids #1)

by
4.13  ·  Rating details ·  15 Ratings  ·  6 Reviews
A PIRATE NAMED MOLLY - 56 Limericks for Kids contains a smorgasbord of 56 all-new limericks for kids ages 6 - 13. The limericks range from the traditional A Pirate Named Molly to the folklore inspired Naughty Young Shepherd (The Boy Who Cried Wolf). Holiday limericks include A Reindeer Named Charley and A Creepy Old Witch. Nursery Rhyme adaptations include A Spider Named M ...more
Paperback, 36 pages
Published March 28th 2013 by Tenkids Publishing Company (first published January 12th 2013)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Pirate Named Molly, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A Pirate Named Molly

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-44)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Jules
Aug 31, 2013 rated it liked it
This was a cute book for elementary-school-aged kids. It was full of goofy little limericks. Some of them were theme-based (holidays and such, or with a mini-lesson to learn), and some were just for fun.
I won this book through Goodreads, so maybe my copy was different than the one you might find in a store, but it had plenty of marks suggesting which limericks should stay in the book, and which should be edited out. That was kind of distracting.
One thing I would like to point out - this book
...more
Don O'goodreader
Jun 13, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: first-reads, juvenile
G-rated limericks for the 4-14 set. There is something universal about the limerick, more structured the haiku and more accessible than the sonnet. The limerick is poetry for everyone.

For the youngest, this is a good book for parents to read, and for the older ones, there is a section at the back on how to write limericks for them to try their hand at this universal art.

A charming book for the K-8 crowd.

For more see: http://1book42day.blogspot.com/2013/0...

I won a copy of this book in a Goodrea
...more
Erin Elizabeth
Dec 30, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I ordered this book last week and I absolutely love it! As an elementary teacher, I like to collect books that I can use in the classroom. This is the perfect tool to use to introduce poetry and limericks! It has a variety of poems that students love from silly and fun, to educational and holiday themed. I especially like the how-to guide at the end. It is easy to use and kid-friendly! I recommend this to all teachers and anyone who loves limericks!
Carole
May 07, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
A book of 56 imericks for Kids. A Lot of Fun. Includes a "How to Write Limerick Guide" and a "Rhyming Word Cheat Sheet" so kids can experoiment making up their own limericks. I am sending it to my grandchildren I know they will love it.

I am looking forward to the next book, "A Pumpkin Named Lilly. I won this on Goodreads.
Alicia
Jun 11, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Won this copy & just got it today and it was pretty cute :) I might have to give it to my little nephew so he can enjoy this. I also love the Rhyming word sheet at the end so kids can write their own stuff and maybe rhyme with some stuff in their story. Its a pretty great book for little kids :)
Erika Thomas
Jun 08, 2013 rated it really liked it
great book - my 7 year old granddaughter just loved it.
Janet Aylmer
rated it really liked it
Feb 03, 2015
Susie
rated it liked it
Nov 28, 2014
Faye
rated it it was amazing
Jun 12, 2013
Jonathan Oag
rated it really liked it
Apr 16, 2013
Terri DelCampo
rated it it was amazing
Aug 19, 2014
Carol Ann
rated it liked it
Jun 04, 2013
Chasity Nowicki
rated it it was ok
Jan 27, 2017
Pamela
rated it it was amazing
Apr 29, 2013
Miriam
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2013
Tammy
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2013
Ashley Barrieau
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2013
Cheryl
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2013
Daniela
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2013
Alison Fisher
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2013
Cindy Gates
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2013
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2013
Paul
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2013
Lisa Ann
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2013
Barry
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2013
Darlene Howard
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2013
Christina Browne
marked it as to-read
Apr 02, 2013
Nicky
marked it as to-read
Apr 02, 2013
Cassy Lieberman
marked it as to-read
Apr 02, 2013
Kim Coomey
marked it as to-read
Apr 02, 2013
Zoe Tuffen
marked it as to-read
Apr 03, 2013
Robert Piacquad
marked it as to-read
Apr 03, 2013
Jenny Hamm
marked it as to-read
Apr 03, 2013
Amber
marked it as to-read
Apr 03, 2013
Pam
marked it as to-read
Apr 03, 2013
Corrie
marked it as to-read
Apr 04, 2013
Darby
marked it as to-read
Apr 06, 2013
Zandt McCue
marked it as to-read
Apr 07, 2013
TaraLynn
marked it as to-read
Apr 07, 2013
Max
marked it as to-read
Apr 09, 2013
Alan Towle
marked it as to-read
Apr 11, 2013
Katie
marked it as to-read
Apr 11, 2013
Catherine Roy
marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2013
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Liam and the Grump
  • The Waffler
  • Night Tree
  • Luna and Floyd Visit Their Grandparents: An Interactive Book
  • Sir Thomas the Hesitant and the Table of Less Valued Knights
  • Up in the Air
  • Project Utopia: A Novella
  • Animal Friends: Floating Orange Cubes
  • Ancient Egypts Wildlife: An AUC Press Nature Foldout
  • More than a Mouse
  • Hope for Film: From the Frontline of the Independent Cinema Revolutions
  • The Scientific Revolution: The Best One-Hour History
  • Ben Franklin For Beginners
  • Endangered Species, Book 1: "Diary of an Eco-Warrior"
  • Uncle John's The Haunted Outhouse Bathroom Reader For Kids Only!
  • The Inconceivable Adventures of Cabbage Boy: In the Beginning
  • Volcanoes
  • Desert Mojito

Other books in the series

56 Limericks for Kids (2 books)
  • A Pumpkin Named Lilly (56 Limericks for Kids, #2)