Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Guardian of Deceit” as Want to Read:
Guardian of Deceit
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Guardian of Deceit

by
3.78  ·  Rating details ·  141 ratings  ·  101 reviews
Mike Boudreaux, as a trauma surgeon Chief of Service, must discipline an impaired surgeon performing unnecessary and dangerous surgery for the obese. He is Boudreaux's former teacher and mentor, and Boudreaux falls in love with his young, beautiful, New-Orleans-socially-prominent wife. Boudreaux cannot hide the adulterous affair that erodes his career authority and reputat ...more
Paperback, 4th, 312 pages
Published April 28th 2015 by StoryInLiteraryFiction.com
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Guardian of Deceit, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Guardian of Deceit

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.78  · 
Rating details
 ·  141 ratings  ·  101 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Guardian of Deceit
Aditi
Jul 17, 2014 rated it liked it
Shelves: my-reviews, ya, mystery
Guardian of Deceit by William H. Coles is all about lies, scandal, secrets and mystery. William H. Coles is an American author who has skillfully crafted this intriguing tale about a 17-year old teenager's painful life.

I'd like to thanks the author, William H. Coles, for giving this opportunity to read and review his book.

Darwin, a 17-year old, has to leave his nearly dying aunt in Pittsburg, who happened to be his only living guardian, since Darwin lost his parents 5-years ago. Now he is goin
...more
Kelly (spaceandlines)
Jul 28, 2013 rated it did not like it
Personally, I didn't think the characters were very well developed and that the storyline lacked a direction. There were also typos throughout the book - both spelling and grammar. There were also many gaps in the timeline of the characters. We find out rather suddenly about events that - I think - should have been important enough events to warrant at least a mentioning before hearing "He's getting married." Overall, I think the general direction of the book was good but the execution was lacki ...more
Sam
Jul 12, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
3.5 stars
Patricia Allen
Jun 02, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is a satisfying read within the intersecting circles of thriller, suspense, mystery, sports, medical drama, and popular fiction. William Coles' confident novel emerges in vivid, three-dimensional relief.

Darwin Hastings, our protagonist, is an everyday teenager, except for the fact that he has a famous quarterback cousin and also a celebrity in the field of sports. He is a smart kid and aims to become a doctor someday. He has his eyes fixed on his goal. Though he is already an orphan becaus
...more
Sue
I won a copy of "Guardian of Deceit" by William H. Coles through the Goodreads Giveaway Contest. I really enjoyed reading this book, and it had a bit of everything to satisfy any reader. This novel is a finalist in the 2012 William Faulkner-William Wisdom Creative Writing Competition.

Darwin Hastings, a seventeen year old was leaving on a flight from Pittsburgh to live with his cousin, Luther Pinnelli, a famous football player, in a mansion in Connecticut, within the Hampton Society. After the de
...more
Mary
Sep 05, 2017 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Darwin's parents had been killed in an accident and he had spent the past five years living with his grandmother. When she could no longer care for him, he was sent to live with his cousin Luther, a famous football player.

Luther treats people poorly. He makes Darwin earn his keep, even though Darwin has money in a trust fund that he will have access to when he is of age. Luther treats his girlfriend badly, as well as his staff.

The book seems a bit long and boring. If I'm being completely hones
...more
Amy
Dec 12, 2017 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2017-100-books
Darwin Hastings, the protagonist of Guardian of Deceit by William H. Coles, is a bright boy dreams of following in his deceased father’s footsteps and pursuing medical school. This teenager has a love of learning and history of academic excellence, putting him well on his way. After the death of both parents, Darwin is left a trust fund to ensure his educational needs are met. He has lived in a world of private schools that entail high quality education to challenge his sharp mind, and make him ...more
Jayme Carruthers

In Guardian of Deceit, we meet Darwin. His parents died when he was younger and he spent many years living with his aunt, being given an allowance and living expenses. His aunt gets older and is unable to take care of Darwin anymore, so he is sent to live with his cousin, famous football player Luther Pinnelli. At Luther's there is no allowance and not a lot of love. Although Darwin is positive he wants to go to medical school and has always been in a private institution, Luther tells Darwin tha
...more
simplexity
Jun 27, 2018 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
First off, I was slightly skeptical to pick up this novel after having read the blurb. It appeared to be more of an incoherent conglomerate of random events and people than it did an actual story. (Now that I’ve finished the novel, I can testify to the validity of that assertion.) Only a mere handful of pages into the story, I found myself constantly rolling my eyes in annoyance, or rubbing my temples in frustration, with how the characters and scenes were being depicted. Literally.

The protagoni
...more
Grant Leishman
Jun 11, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-2017
Reviewed for Readers' Favorite by Grant Leishman

When Darwin Hastings’ Aunt can no longer take care of the talented, young man, whose parents had died in a car accident five years earlier, Darwin’s guardianship reverted to his famous, football star cousin, Luther Pinnelli. In William H Coles, Guardian of Deceit, we first meet Darwin on the flight from Pittsburgh to New York, where he meets Doctor Adrian Malverne who will have a big impact on the young man’s future career and personal life. Stayi
...more
Madhuri Palaji
A good read with lot of drama

I must say I was intrigued by this book. The story is about a teenager named Darwin who comes to live under his celebrity Cousin's (Luther) guardianship. There are plenty of characters in the book and each character exhibits a different kind of characterization. I rate this book 3 out of 4 stars.
Darwin is way too matured for his age and finds his own way to make money when he is denied access to his trust fund. He sticks to his goal of becoming a doctor and works for
...more
Daniel Davis
Jun 02, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is my first William Coles book, and I can say that I love the twist and turns. The beginning was boring, but halfway through the book, it picked up in pacing.

The story itself drew me in from the first page. By the end of the first chapter, my mind was spinning. By the end of the second one, I had full body shivers and was desperately trying to figure out what was happening. My mind was filled with questions, and the more I discovered, the more questions I had.

I also want to point out that
...more
Ava WILLIAMS
Jun 02, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Guardian of Deceit is emotional and twisted and utterly mind-blowing. When I finished the book, I felt overcome with emotion and so many questions. Coles forces you to think. You get to choose if you think Darwin is truly believable and how you think his story ends.

I have never thought so much after finishing a book than I did this one. Normally, that's not what I want out of a book because I read for entertainment and as an escape. The Guardian of Deceit was different than anything I would
...more
Christopher Brown
If you get anything out of this review, I hope you read it twice, share it (if you'd like). I will begin by asking if you have read any of Coles's novels yet? If not, here's what you need to know:

Coles's writing is in a field, no-scratch that -- a universe of its own. But let me clarify, his writing is not an "it", it's his being, his soul! Coles is the most thorough author I've had the pleasure of reading. The detail he places into every sentence down to punctuation sends vibrations and the fee
...more
Edward Moore
Jun 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
One of the best books I’ve ever read. Powerful. Suspenseful. Gripping. Heartbreaking. An emotional powerhouse perfectly crafted and brilliantly written.

Again, this is one of the best books I’ve ever read. Absolutely and undeniably brilliantly written. The syntax. The word choices. The layers and sub-layers of meaning make it impossible to not get mesmerized by the story. To me, it felt like a multisensory experience. As if I were walking into a literary butterfly den, not knowing whether to get
...more
Mary Hall
Jun 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
If you believe that authors should write what they know, you should like this book. And even if you think that’s not true, as some authors do, you’ll appreciate that William Coles brings his profession as a former ophthalmic trauma surgeon to life in the pages of his novel, The Guardian of Deceit.

I'm pleased to read a novel, that if you strip it down, is a formulaic fiction. An inciting incident leads the protagonist into crisis, sub-plots introduce characters to provide the protagonist with dep
...more
Elizabeth King
Jun 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I am not even sure where to begin with my thoughts on this book! I haven't read one of Coles's books in a while, and I'm not sure why. His books are gripping; they remind us of faith, family, and ties in a multitude of issues that we see in the world today.

One of the things I loved about this story was the way some characters switched from bad guy to good guy. It kept me on my toes. Throughout the story, whenever a new tidbit of information was revealed about one of the characters, I processed
...more
Maria Lopez
Jun 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I've only read one other William Coles book before The Guardian of Deceit, but I know for sure, this won't be my last one! He hooked me from the first page and never let me go! Coles sure knows how to keep you on the edge of your seat while reading, and I love it when an author does that to me.

William Coles dealt with current issues. No spoilers, but it was refreshing to read about these issues and see how they were covered in a literary fiction book. I appreciated the principles he laid out an
...more
Princess  Poole
Jun 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
VAWC or Violence Against Women and Children is prevalent all over the world. The character of Luther Pinelli is a fitting representation of this issue. What he did to the women in the novel is dreadful. How could he do that?

Luther is a scumbag. He does not deserve the comfort he has in life. Letting a girl down, using her for gaining fame, all the promises he broke, all the women he had affairs with. All these despicable acts, I wonder why he deserved an ounce of comfort in life. He should be i
...more
Zackary Diaz
Jun 09, 2020 rated it really liked it
Though written five years before Coles's The Surgeon's Wife, Guardian of Deceit is a more sophisticated, richer work. Here Coles has set a larger stage to develop the characters. While reading, his style set the perfect distance which to watch the characters and to live with them. Here, the tension was strung with a fine thread waiting to engross a reader's mind.

The more I read of William Coles, the more I think he may be my favorite writer. It's weird because he seems to be exactly all those t
...more
John Smith
Jun 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
William Coles is so talented, and every single story he writes is unique and beautiful. When you pick up one of his novels, you know that he is going to give you his all, make you think, and ache for more in the process. His characters are real and complex. Although McDowell was my top read of 2019, The Guardian of Deceit will easily slide into that current spot for 2020. When you meet Darwin, you will see why.

Darwin is someone we all want to be like. You root for him because he is doing what w
...more
Charles Jones
Jun 02, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Guardian of Deceit is a compelling and pensive narrative that seems to live and breathe on its own. It’s real, disturbing, and brutally honest, yet hopeful. William Coles is an author who isn’t intimidated to write about the conditions that make us fragile or genuine.

Coles does not throw random words onto a page. Each one has a purpose and is placed where it delivers the biggest punch. Take this sentence for example. "Love is more than just being attracted or liking to be around someone. May
...more
Paula Parker
Jun 05, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
William Coles deserves a genre all his own. I knew his stories were twisted and mind-blowing after reading McDowell, which I will admit, I wasn't a big fan of. Maybe it was timing or my incessant need for a HEA in all my books that turned me off. With Guardian of Deceit, I wanted to keep an open mind and understand the madness. I finally got it.

The Guardian of Deceit is not a fairy tale, and honestly, it’s not a romance either (at least not in the traditional way) even though it has strong elem
...more
Joan Dela
Jun 07, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was never fond of sports. Be it basketball, football, or any of it; they do not appeal to me. More so that our main character, Darwin Hastings, having a famous quarterback cousin, is no big deal for me at all. For me, his cousin Luther is like any other sports enthusiasts who use more of their bodies than their brain cells. They are people who exhaust their body strength in playing sports to its full potential. In other words, their intelligence is a kinesthetic side.

Luther Pinelli is not you
...more
Janet Parker
Jun 07, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I loved this book! I drew close to the characters, and the storyline kept me guessing right up until the end.

Meet Dr. Malverne, a doctor whom Darwin met on the airplane ride on the way to meet his new legal guardian? That is Dr. Adrian Malverne, and this guy lives with his beautiful wife and two lovely daughters: Helen and Coral.

Helen plays tennis as her hobby. She is good at playing singles and takes pride in it. She is smart and critical. One of her unfortunate victims of criticism is Darwin H
...more
Faith McNeil
Jun 09, 2020 rated it really liked it
I am fortunate enough not to have had the novels of Dickens urged onto me as a child or been required to write about them at university. I encountered them properly in middle age and have re-read them with enormous pleasure since.

Now, William Coles books are on my fav list. First of all, the wonderful use of the English language employed by Coles, and the extent of vocabulary amazed me and is a lesson for all of us.

Secondly, the character development throughout the story is so strong that one
...more
George Taylor
Jun 02, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Every once in a while you stumble upon a book that leaves you confused - you like it and don't like it, you want to read it again, you want to tear out the pages you would rather ignore about yourself, you highlight every second page. And you have no idea how to put words in your review.

The Guardian of Deceit is one of those.

This book kept me awake all night because I couldn't put it down. I kept saying, one more chapter, one more chapter, and before I knew it, there were no more chapters to re
...more
Linda Young
Jun 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
You know a book is good when you read it in one sitting. This book grabbed my attention immediately, and I did not want to pull myself away.

The pacing was excellent, with tension high from the first page. The book was well-written with likable and realistic characters and an interesting plot. The world-building was excellent, bringing the story alive in my imagination without getting too technical or slowing the pace.

As for the romance, both main characters were better people for having met th
...more
Priya Gupta
Jun 02, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This literary fiction is well-written and captivating. Although the villains are obvious and the plot predictable, the reader cannot stop turning pages until the end.

After Darwin's parents died, he was left alone. I could not imagine the pain and sadness this caused, and I never want to imagine it. It was a horrific event in Darwin's life, and I admire how he coped up with the grief. I know it was not easy, yet he learned to deal with it. His aunt took him in after that tragic incident. And acco
...more
Margaret Scott
Jun 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
William Coles is a master storyteller who can spin a story that is rich with well-developed characters, an intense, interesting plot and a great setting.

Additionally, he creates intrigue with a good dose of romance to keep his readers coming back for more. He never disappoints with his ability to start a bit slow, then builds layer upon layer as the story progresses, until finally, the book is racing toward a surprising yet satisfying conclusion.

Overall, the Guardian of Deceit is a book I can s
...more
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Harvest of Souls Crossover Part 2
  • The Optical Lasso: Beware of Neptune's Dark Side
  • The Virus of Beauty
  • Ready or Not, Here I Come
  • For You, My Child
  • The Emerald Home Run
  • Through the Redwood Hollow
  • The Art of Creating Story
  • Not All Who Wander Need Be Lost: Stories of Hope for Families Facing Alzheimer's and Dementia
  • A Recluse No More: Battling with the Dragons of the Mind
  • Poems: Reflecting the Truth-Volume One: Over Fifty Years Researching the Truth
  • You're on Your Own
  • A Bitter Wind (Time Entanglement #1)
  • Three Degrees and Gone
  • Zen and the Art of Funk Capitalism: A General Theory of Fallibility
  • A Celebration of Humanity
  • Harvest of Souls Crossover
  • My Name Is Saul: A Novel of the Ancient World
See similar books…
61 followers
I am the owner and developer of the website Story in Literary Fiction as well as several mobile applications. I've written all of the content on my website: short stories, novels, essays, interviews and produced downloadable-audio readings of stories. I've also written several novels. My interviews include: prominent authors, educators, writers and editors.

In addition, I'm the producer and reader
...more

Related Articles

What will you do when it's your turn to pick your book club's next read? Well, this is what you won't do: panic. Why not? Because we've dug...
83 likes · 17 comments