Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Beltane” as Want to Read:
Beltane
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book

Beltane

by
4.20  ·  Rating details ·  15 ratings  ·  9 reviews
In 1558 a young French woman sets out for Scotland with her servant/companion, to fulfill a bargain made by others: but all is not as it seems. Colin McLean has something her family wants, and they have something he wants. Caught in the schemes of others more powerful than she is, Margarete is forced to look for the sources of her own power.
Taking a catholic wife is no li
...more
ebook, 530 pages
Published February 24th 2013 by Christine Malec
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Beltane, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Beltane

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-39
Average rating 4.20  · 
Rating details
 ·  15 ratings  ·  9 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Beltane
Shomeret
Jan 02, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This is my favorite historical fiction of 2013. I won it a Historical Fictionistas giveaway. It takes place primarily in 16th century Scotland and I found it very authentic. I feel that this author knows the people of Scotland and this period.

I find this problematic to review. Other reviews here have danced around the topic that sets this book apart because it's a huge spoiler. I could put it in spoiler brackets, but I don't find that adequate. I was more open about it in the blog version of m
...more
Jacqui Pegg
Apr 30, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I really enjoyed this book. I found the characters complex, whole, interesting and nuanced, very likeable but also realistic. The relationships between the characters were excellent -- their different ages, life experiences, positions in society, cultural and religious backgrounds and so on were well and realistically rendered in their interactions, and I liked how the relationships grew and changed. I appreciated how even her more peripheral characters felt like real people.
Malec's understandi
...more
Tracey Tief
May 21, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Although I am curious about life in other places and periods, I have never gotten through a work of historical fiction, appreciating neither idealized romance, violence/ warfare or brute sex. Beltane had me reading "just one more chapter" and though it was a substantial book, left me wanting a sequel.

The main characters are so roundly portrayed, complete with charisma, flaws, politics, nuanced religious beliefs, pasts, presents and hopes and fears, that had I never read the book, I feel I would
...more
Dottie D
Aug 27, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Highly original work, with vivid characters and evocative period touches that made me settle right in. The writing style is formal and really works with a story set in the past. There are stories within stories, and the characters themselves enjoy hearing and telling tales. There's lots of racy stuff, and the author has definitely taken some license in imagining the sexuality of people, especially women, in the past. If occasionally straining credulity when it comes to sexual adventure - and why ...more
Jason
Aug 19, 2013 rated it really liked it
I didn't know much about this period in history when I began this book, but it was a fun way to learn. The characters are extremely alive and well developed, and the writing style is so smooth and almost lyrical that I had trouble putting it down.
The author uses language deftly, and the plot moves easily from political to personal to spiritual to sensual. The characters and relationships develop in ways I didn't expect.

Chris W
Aug 28, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was a really good read!
I was quickly drawn in to this very original story. The characters of Margarete and those around her are skillfully developed and compelling.
I enjoyed the explorations of religion and sex that pervade this story.
I was sorry to to reach the end and have to put this book down.
Ayla Feasel
Sep 24, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: europe
I got this book from first reads it is different from the books i usually read but it was very interesting and highly enjoyable.
Gina
Oct 20, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This was one of the most beautiful and eloquent books that I've ever read. I really wish that I could rate it more than 5 stars.
It tells the story of Margerite, and Lise. They're traveling to Scotland, because her soon to be husbands family wants something her family wants, and vise versa.
Margerite and Lise were both such amazing characters, as were Owen, and Colin. I'm just kind of in awe, as far as the emotions this book made me feel. Sometimes I laughed, and sometimes I cried, but I do know
...more
Chris
Jun 01, 2014 rated it liked it
An unusual story. I found that I was unsympathetic to the main characters, and disliked the deciept.
Janelle
rated it it was amazing
Apr 03, 2016
Sheen
rated it liked it
Dec 16, 2014
Rebecca
rated it it was ok
Nov 10, 2014
Vida Hamilton-sandler
rated it really liked it
Oct 09, 2013
Deirdre Vogel
rated it really liked it
Aug 25, 2015
Samantha Richardson
rated it really liked it
Jan 01, 2015
Christine Malec
Mar 19, 2013 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Beth
marked it as to-read
Apr 26, 2013
Hilda Reilly
marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2013
Rachel
marked it as to-read
May 22, 2013
Melanie
marked it as to-read
Oct 03, 2013
Stephanie
marked it as to-read
Oct 14, 2013
Tricia
marked it as to-read
Mar 27, 2014
Orla Hegarty
marked it as to-read
May 21, 2014
Cerae Speidel
marked it as to-read
May 23, 2014
Karen Carlson
marked it as to-read
May 24, 2014
Karrie
marked it as to-read
May 24, 2014
Pauline Gregorio
marked it as to-read
May 31, 2014
Micki Levin
marked it as to-read
May 31, 2014
Nadine
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2014
Sandy from Alaska Colón
marked it as to-read
Jun 04, 2014
Karen Osborne
marked it as to-read
Jun 05, 2014
Erin
marked it as to-read
Jun 06, 2014
Liza Perrat
marked it as to-read
Jun 15, 2014
Jessica
marked it as to-read
Jul 01, 2014
Patricia
marked it as to-read
Jul 17, 2014
Maureen
marked it as to-read
Jul 17, 2014
Cathy
marked it as to-read
Jul 18, 2014
Jennifer Sioui
marked it as to-read
Sep 10, 2014
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
9 followers
I’ve loved reading and writing ever since I was a kid. Both as a writer and a reader, I’m drawn by the lure of escape, either into the past or the future. What things about us are consistent across time and culture? I have been a practising Massage Therapist since 1995, and I do occasional editing and transcribing work, which satisfies my love of bringing order to chaos. I play guitar, and can occ ...more

Related Articles

While dealing with her husband's illness, this debut author turned to the refuge of Jane Austen's work. That refuge turned into her highly anticipa...
88 likes · 13 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »