Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Justice For Emily” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
Justice For Emily
 
by
Sandy Wolters
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Justice For Emily

by
4.56  ·  Rating details ·  34 Ratings  ·  25 Reviews
The Paranormal Romance Guild nominated Justice For Emily as one of 2011's best reads.

Rachael Merchant is on a cross country trip running from the tragic images of her last case that are embedded deep in her soul. She is a City of Phoenix Homicide Detective that is trying to deal with the freak show her life has become.

Three days ago, she was sitting in a hospital room with
...more
Kindle Edition, 224 pages
Published (first published April 4th 2011)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Justice For Emily, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Justice For Emily

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Nancy Silk
Feb 16, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
"Mother Knows Best"
This is the first story I've read by Author Sandy Wolters. I have to say, she has drawn me into her amazing paranormal romance story at warp speed! Emily Campbell has a reputation in her small town as a woman of many great deeds. Her husband, Boyd, is the Chief of Police, the boss of Officer Patrick Sheehan. Boyd late one evening calls into his office reporting that his wife, Emily, has killed herself. Patrick reports on scene where Boyd tells him he wants no autopsy, no inves
...more
Jeannie Walker
Jan 16, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
OUTSTANDING...
Emily grew up in Brownwood, Texas. She was always extending a helping hand to all. She was only 33 years old when she died. While reading this extraordinary book- I was reminded of one of my dear friends who died when he was only 33. He was also always extending a helping hand to all. The difference being is that my friend died from leukemia and Emily died from what was at first thought to be a suicide. However, when a dedicated police officer, arrived at the scene there was a keen
...more
Marlo
Dec 03, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
One of the most memorable books I have ever read.
Katy
Jul 04, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: fans of thrillers, suspense, and romantic thrillers & suspense
Recommended to Katy by: Sandy Wolters
Shelves: ebook
Emily Campbell was loved by everyone in Brownwood, TX. She always went out of her way to help anyone who needed help. When she is found dead by her husband by an apparent self-inflicted gunshot wound, Patrick Sheehan is the responding officer. Patrick is suspicious of the circumstances, and believes her death was a murder, and that the murderer was her husband. The problem is, her husband – Boyd Campbell – is the chief of police, and he makes sure that the death is listed as a suicide and covers ...more
Sharon Buchbinder
When I first began reading Sandy Wolters' JUSTICE FOR EMILY, I was immediately engaged by her opening chapter with a grieving friend, named Patrick, standing beside Emily's grave. Patrick is a a cop who is convinced Emily's death was not a suicide as her husband insists. He is intent on proving it was a murder, and that the husband did it. The only problem is the husband is Patrick's boss, the Chief of Police.

Patrick needs help, but in this little Texas town, the Chief calls the shots. Patrick i
...more
Kelly Krance
Jan 23, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wolters describes this book as being very dark but don't let it scare you away. It's generally easy reading material until you really get to know the character of Emily and what she had to endure in her marriage from Hell.

There are two pages, especially, which are very disturbing but, after reading Coming Unglued: A Mother's Journey into Hell by Norma Budden, I can't say Wolters is the only author who writes with raw honesty when it comes to shedding light on spousal abuse. It may be disturbing
...more
Sandy Wolters
Jun 06, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
To learn more about my books, please go to my website at www.sandywolters.weebly.com.
Darian Wilk
May 07, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: for-review
I’ve had the pleasure of reading another of Sandy’s works, Maggie Mae, and jumped at the chance to read this book. While a completely different feel than Maggie, Sandy’s writing is just as strong and didn’t leave me disappointed.

Justice For Emily is about Police officer Patrick Sheehan, and a promise he made to his dead friend, Emily. Emily was an angel to those in times of need or misfortune – and spent her days helping them in whatever way she could. It was at home, where a wife should be safe
...more
Lynn Reynolds
Mar 26, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Publisher: CreateSpace
Release Date: April 05, 2011
Pages: 224 pages (paperback)/291KB (e-book)
ISBN: 9781470017743 (paperback)
Genre: Paranormal Romance, Ghosts, Mystery & Suspense
Rating: 4 stars

Brownwood, Texas
Patrick Sheehan is seen at a funeral for Emily Campbell. She was loved by so many people in this small town. She cared a lot about the town and the people that lived there. Boyd Campbell is Emily’s husband. Boyd is also Patrick’s boss and the Chief of Police.

Rachael Merchant knows Mic
...more
Sarah Ballance
Mar 21, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
If you like romantic suspense with a touch of the supernatural, you will absolutely love JUSTICE FOR EMILY! This story has it all: romantic tension, betrayal, deception, intense attraction, and, as the title implies, ultimately justice for Emily, a woman with a heartbreaking world of secrets she hides from the community she holds so dear.

From the moment he arrived on scene of Emily Campbell's suicide, Officer Patrick Sheehan knew something was wrong. Virtually every investigative tactic Chief Bo
...more
KyBunnies
I started reading this book because I like the title. Yes, I am one of those people who will read a book because of the title or what the cover looks like. I know do not judge a book by its cover but sometimes that is very hard. In addition, an amazing title and catchy cover is what will sell a book. I have purchased many books by just looking at the cover or reading the title.

Please remember that the following review is my opinion about the book I read. This is my opinion and does not show how
...more
Sylvia Massara
Sep 21, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This story has many elements: romance, humour, visits from a loved one who passed on, and the paranormal aspects that the heroine is blessed with and what protects her and makes her the strong and beautiful person she is. But the one aspect that jumped out at me and touched me deeply was the cold brutality that domestic abuse and violence invoked in the storyline. Straight away, my heart cried out for "justice"; justice for the character, Emily, and justice for all women in real life who are sub ...more
Patricia
All I can say about this book is wow . Sandy has done it again. The story centers around the death of Emily the darling of the small town and married to the police chief. She is now dead ,and deputy Patrick Sheehan wants justice, and when fate intervenes and brings him Rachel a Phoenix homicide detective. They are thrown together by fate and an Irish mother, who won't take no for an answer. Even though she has been dead for ten years. She brings the comedy relief to the situation. They are desti ...more
Barbara Ebel
Oct 07, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition

We all like our specific genres but once in awhile it’s nice to switch. It’s also nice to change your favorite book length once in awhile …you may have just read a voluminous 600 page saga and need a break or maybe you just read a too short, short story.

So that’s why I picked up Justice for Emily, a novella, and a detective story. It even haunts with a paranormal flavor over and above the plot of a gruesome Police Chief in Brownwood, TX and the hot romance between the two officers seeking ju
...more
Ashley Fontainne
Revenge. Retribution. Justice. Those are all themes that, as a writer myself, I adore. They don't tug, they yank, at the strings of our hearts.

And that is exactly what this book did.

Sandy has crafted a tale that takes you on a journey of varying emotions. One moment you are shocked by the paranormal aspects and the next, tears are rolling down your cheeks at the heartbreaking actions thrust upon Emily. Then, you might find yourself fanning the pages at the more than steamy love scenes.

This is a
...more
mountainmama
Sep 29, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Emily Campbell’s “suicide” seems suspicious to Deputy Patrick Sheehan, but when his boss orders the investigation closed without a proper examination of the evidence, the whole case starts to reek of “cover up”. Enter Rachael Merchant, a Phoenix detective trying to escape the horror of her last case. Rachael and Patrick team up to solve the case and bring about Justice for Emily.

Romance, ghosts, spousal abuse, murder, and justice are woven into a compelling story. It has a strong message about a
...more
J.T. Lewis
Jan 24, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A surprising mystery with a paranormal tie-in, this book surprised me. The sheriff's wife kills herself to the grief of the whole town, but there are those that think this explanation is just a little too convenient. One such is one of the sheriff's own deputies. Looking for help to prove his theory, he stumbles upon one of Phoenix PD's finest on vacation, who just happens to be a beautiful woman.

This starts the story rolling as they uncover one clue after another, sometimes with the help of the
...more
Shonda
Jun 06, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I enjoyed Justice For Emily for many reasons. The characters are interesting and Rachel is sassy! As the story progresses, you learn disturbing details of the life and death of Emily. The description of the town of Brownwood, TX is spot on, including each of the restaurants. I would know because I spent a lot of time there growing up. If you like reading murder mysteries, romance novels and/or paranormal thrillers, I'm sure that you will enjoy Justice for Emily as much as I did!
Helen
Jun 06, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I very much enjoyed this book! I liked the characters and their interactions with each other, and the details regarding the murder investigation. I was surprised at some of the events, and found the story was detailed and believable. The authors’ description of places and food almost made me see and taste what she was talking about.
Laronda Atchison
Mar 16, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I won this ebook of Justice For Emily. I loved it! It had everything - a kick-ass strong female cop, sexy scenes, a little ghost/paranormal activity and a happy ending. I'm a sucker for happy endings. If you like any of the above - you too, will love Justice for Emily.
Norma Budden
Dec 31, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: female readers, people who like paranormal books with an element of mystery
This book was absolutely outstanding and the only way I can truly tell you how I feel is to suggest that you read it for yourself...
Jeff Dawson
Mar 01, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Paranomal fans for sure

Hmm, where do I start? Did I like the story. Absolutely! I was a little slow in realizing it was a novella and was looking for more development. Seriously, Miss Walters kicks the book in gear and doesn't allow the reader a chance to "catch-a-breath" until the main characters Rachael and Patrick wind-up in each others arms for how shall I say, a very long intimate interlude. Now this is one of the scenes I didn't care for, not that I'm a prude by any stretch of the imagination, but because this w
...more
lafon حمزة نوفل
I'm laughing so hard right now, at around 30% in. Not a bad book, and certainly I will give it three to four stars right now.

I decided in the end that I would give it three stars instead of four. This is not the best writing I have ever seen. The plot is hurried and rather amateurish at times. The romance is forced and physical way too soon (I mean they have sex within hours of meeting each other, and fall in love ten minutes before said action). What perhaps makes this three stars instead of th
...more
A.B. Shepherd
Feb 20, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Three and a half stars (rounded up for convenience).

This book is written a bit differently than your typical fictional murder story. From the beginning we know who the murderer is. We just need to prove it. This is pretty much where the story begins.

See more of my review here: http://abshepherdsreinventedreader.bl...
Aileen
rated it it was ok
Apr 07, 2015
Claude
rated it it was amazing
Sep 22, 2013
Abigail
rated it really liked it
Feb 18, 2012
Daisy
rated it it was amazing
May 05, 2013
M.G. Wells
rated it it was amazing
Feb 01, 2012
Dannye
rated it it was amazing
May 26, 2012
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
JUSTICE FOR EMILY by Sandy Wolters on sale at Smashwords for $.99! 1 1 Jul 20, 2014 06:28AM  
95 followers
I’ve been an avid reader for years. To my husband’s dismay, I have bookshelves full of books, rooms full of books, boxes full of books. My cars have books in them. I just can’t seem to get rid of them after I read them. You just never know when you will want to read it again, right?

About two years ago, my husband gave me the dream gift, a Kindle. It was love at first sight and my first foray into
...more
More about Sandy Wolters