Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Tap the Magic Tree” as Want to Read:
Tap the Magic Tree
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Tap the Magic Tree

4.26  ·  Rating details ·  3,370 ratings  ·  435 reviews
The acclaimed interactive picture book about the changing seasons. “Like Hervé Tullet’s Press Here, Matheson’s Tap the Magic Tree proves you don’t need apps for interactivity,” praised the New York Times.

Every book needs you to turn the pages. But not every book needs you to tap it, shake it, jiggle it, or even blow it a kiss. Innovative and timeless, Tap the Magic Tree as
...more
Hardcover, 40 pages
Published August 27th 2013 by Greenwillow Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.26  · 
Rating details
 ·  3,370 ratings  ·  435 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Tap the Magic Tree
Laura
Mar 13, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: childrens
Great interactive book that goes through the four seasons.
Andréa
Fun, interactive book that introduces kids to the growth of trees and the changing of the seasons. It will be great for a storytime -- I'll probably have one child come up to help me at the book, while the rest can help from their seats. ...more
KC
Mar 10, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A tree's life in a delightful rhyme. ...more
Alison
A clever, interactive picture book in the vein of Herve Tullet's Press Here, Tap the Magic Tree invites young listeners to tap, rub, or shake the book, then turn the page to see how their actions have changed the "magic" tree. In this way they move a tree through the seasons and watch as it changes from bare brown to leafy green then flowers, grows fruit (apples!), changes colors, loses its leaves, and finally (with the help of the reader) sprouts leaves again. This would be a great book to use ...more
Kris
Jan 20, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
Christie Matheson’s books are great because they are a gentler kind of interactive book. The pictures are lovely and simple. I like this one for a one-on-one reading session rather than a storytime for a group.
Emily Briano
Nov 23, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I can't wait to read this beautifully simple and charming interactive picture book with my daughter someday! ...more
Kerry
Apr 30, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Such a fun interactive read aloud. I recommend this book to anyone teaching in an early childhood classroom or with young kids themselves.
Elaine
Sep 28, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: storytimes
A great way to interact with a story and to entice young readers to the magic of books!
Zack
Jan 10, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Personal response: tonight I read this book with my cousins Aubrey who's five and Boston who is three. This is one of their favorite books they got from grandma for Christmas. I gave the girls a couple of books to pick from, and I think they picked this book because the cover was very colorful.

Plot: The plot of the book is the tree or the seasons and his magic and you had different task to do in order to get the tree to get the tree through the seasons. It starts with the bare Brown tree of win
...more
Heidi-Marie
A great book to introduce the seasons, as well as the year-cycle of a tree. It has the great interactive format like "Press Here." This will be great to try--and works any time in the year.

4/22/15 A great opener for my Tree Storytime. Kids and adults loved it. These are of course more fun in lap-reads, but still works with the crowd.

6/28/17 Used in T theme. I picked this shorter one as a regular book rather than literacy moment because the other 2 books I had selected were longer (and might be o
...more
Stella Fowler
Mar 18, 2014 rated it it was amazing
It's interactive! I love interactive. There's no better way of helping a reluctant child discover the wonders of books than an interactive book. And the children who do love books just love that the book is reacting to them.

This is a lovely book. The illustrations are simple and inviting.

Unlike other interactive books, this one follows a theme. It goes through the seasons as you tap, jiggle, rub and shake the tree, which makes it even better. There are so many opportunities for teachable moment
...more
Robin
A fun book to share; in the manner of Press Here, the reader is encouraged to tap the page, blow the leaves, rub the trunk etc. Each action has a result: leaves sprout, then buds, flowers and eventually apples. In the fall the leaves turn colors and fall, and then we see a nest being built. Magic happens!
Vivian
Dec 22, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: picture-books
Absolutely enchanting. The children attending story time at the library were captivated by this imaginatively interactive presentation of seasons. The text prompts the magic (as suggested by the title).
Nancy
Dec 24, 2014 rated it really liked it
Recommended to Nancy by: Vivian
Shelves: children-s, favorites
A delightful 'interactive' book, asking the reader to participate by tapping, rubbing, touching, jiggling, wiggling, brushing, blowing, shaking, knocking, patting, clapping, and being patient :) Very simple and wonderful. ...more
June
Nov 15, 2013 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Arbor Day and tree requests
Recommended to June by: Cap Choices
I hope my system gets this. I read it very quickly at a Capitol Choices meeting and I am interested in using it at a story time. I love interactive books.
Caitlin
This is a guaranteed storytime success! Preschoolers were squealing with delight over each magical page.
Sara Harrison
May 22, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture
This book has lovely illustrations and my kids loved it.
H
May 31, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: children
But is it really the tree that is magic, or the tilt of the earth?
anna ♡
Oct 06, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Can't wait to read this to the kids! Such a clean and simple book. :) ...more
Chenoa
A wonderful, interactive book about the life cycle of trees! We had so much fun with this one at storytime; the kids felt like they were doing magic!
Ms Threlkeld
May 23, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
Fun, interactive book about the life cycle of a tree.
Tilly
Dec 06, 2016 rated it really liked it
Probably my favorite picture book from the library so far!
Emilee
Jan 12, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Fun book for preschoolers!
Raina
Apr 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: children-s-books
So fun! Lots of action and surprises for kids as the pages turn.
Christine
Oct 18, 2018 rated it really liked it
simple but fun (for babies and toddlers)
Marisa
Dec 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
How did I miss this little gem published 5 years ago. Wonderful interactive story time book.
Tricia
Jan 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I used this book in a music program where the children made tambourines and they followed along with the actions in the book using the tambourine as their "tree". It worked wonderfully! ...more
Michelle
Mar 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A fun interactive book
Aneesa
Apr 14, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
Unlike most who read this book first, I liked the other one better (which I read first).
Joyful
Dec 17, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: kids-stuff
great for interactive read-aloud
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Watermelon Seed
  • Don't Push the Button!
  • Leaves
  • Open Very Carefully: A Book with Bite
  • Sophie's Squash
  • Press Here
  • Bear Stays Up for Christmas
  • Can You Make a Scary Face?
  • Bruce's Big Storm
  • If You Plant a Seed
  • The Box Turtle
  • The Circus Ship
  • This Book Just Ate My Dog!
  • Mix It Up!
  • Duck! Rabbit!
  • Snail Crossing
  • Over and Under the Snow
  • Max Attacks
See similar books…
24 followers
Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the Goodreads database with this name.

News & Interviews

  Die-hard mystery fans are always on the hunt for their next supremely satisfying whodunit. To help you stock that Want to Read shelf, we asked...
58 likes · 23 comments